Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC and uTorrent not downloading

• 05-02-2014 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

Hi lads,
    So this is probably a stupid question, I'm sure pretty easy to resolve.
    I have just connected to UPC and am running uTorrent.
    When I go to download a torrent nothing happens, nothing at all.
    When I log into the router and set the SPI Firewall Protection to OFF, I can download, at a pretty good speed.
    So then I tried port forwarding. But I'm not too sure on this and have googled a few different places, and am not getting anywhere.
    So was wondering would one of ye kind folks send me on your actual port settings, so i can copy into my router (and do I need to put them into utorrent?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭DECEiFER

I'm with UPC using my own router with a bridged Cisco EPC3925 router/modem from UPC. uTorrent has always worked grand here with just UPnP enabled in my router. I used to port forward when I had a crap router back in the day (2006-2008 or thereabouts) but I've since used UPnP without any problems. It's the lazy, less secure way but as long as it works, I'm happy, and my PC is well-protected anyhow.

I don't know what device you have, though, it shouldn't be difficult to get things back up and running for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 brendanos

Thanks for the reply,
    Tried that on my Cisco router, and unfortunately no joy. I might try resetting the defaults in the router and give it another blast....

Try using another computer also and/or resetting uTorrent's settings to defaults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Make sure uTorrent isnt set to port randomize or it'll never work.

You shoudnt have to to port forward to download, only to seed.

ED E wrote: »
    Make sure uTorrent isnt set to port randomize or it'll never work.

You shoudnt have to to port forward to download, only to seed.
    Mine is never set to randomize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'm having some problems since receiving my new Technicolor router the other day.

Torrents have essentially just stopped working altogether. Have 120Mb connection so should theoretically be able to download up 15MB/s but the highest I've reached is 4MB/s, for about 10 seconds, and then it drops to 0 and doesn't ever go back up. As well as that, whenever I have uTorrent trying to download something, I can't open any webpages, at all. Even if the torrent is downloading at 0MB/s, I still can't open anything when the torrent is trying to download.

This happened to me on the Cisco router as well and I just needed to disable IP Flood detection and it worked fine again. This is disabled on my technicolor router.

My previous 50Mb connection on the Cisco router worked perfectly.

Thoughts?

Maybe UPnP is disabled by default? If so, and you don't have the port forwarded, then that's likely to be a problem. That's all I got since I'm not a TC2700 user.

DECEiFER wrote: »
    Maybe UPnP is disabled by default? If so, and you don't have the port forwarded, then that's likely to be a problem. That's all I got since I'm not a TC2700 user.

op62.png

UPnP is enabled. I have no ports forwarded.

Is the network status in uTorrent showing as okay?

Seems to be. No odd looking symbols anywhere to be seen which would tell me otherwise.

DHT is connecting to nodes.

Danger781 wrote: »
    Seems to be. No odd looking symbols anywhere to be seen which would tell me otherwise.

DHT is connecting to nodes.
    Do you have a standalone cable router to hand that's currently not hooked up?

Have an old EPC2425

I don't know if that would work as a router on its own. I was going to suggest that you bridge the TC2700. You could still do that without a standalone router, mind you. But you'd lose your protection and ability to connect a multitude of devices up. However, it's worth a test (you can switch it back to router mode when you're done), and if you are successful in both bridging and torrent downloading, a standalone router can be purchased a bit later and you should be back to normal.

See:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057106714 - Beginning of thread with instructions
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88388508#post88388508 - Same thread but this link is to a TC2700-related post some pages into it

I closed uTorrent, and reopened it.

Set a manual disk cache of 120MB as I noticed some disk overload 100% messages on the bottom of uTorrent.

Didn't change any settings on my router.

I did fiddle with some windows firewall settings but what I changed, I didn't think would make a difference.

Now downloading at a solid 4MB/s and my internet is not affected. That's a start at least.

I closed uTorrent, and reopened it.

Set a manual disk cache of 120MB as I noticed some disk overload 100% messages on the bottom of uTorrent.

Didn't change any settings on my router.

I did fiddle with some windows firewall settings but what I changed, I didn't think would make a difference.

Now downloading at a solid 4MB/s and my internet is not affected. That's a start at least.
    Torrents are difficult to gauge because without another known working connection/computer to test with, maybe 4MB/s is as much as the torrent can get you at this time. At least you're working toward something there.

Still, consider bridge mode. You'll find improvements when UPC's piece of crap devices are demoted to being effectively a standalone modem. I'm using an EPC3925 and I haven't gone near router mode since September 2012. No chance of it!

Sorted now it seems.. More fiddling with uTorrent settings, and a torrent from a different tracker..

Now downloading at 12MB/s and browsing boards without interruption :)

Edit: Now on 8kB/s..

Sorted now it seems.. More fiddling with uTorrent settings, and a torrent from a different tracker..

Now downloading at 12MB/s and browsing boards without interruption :)

Edit: Now on 8kB/s..
    Download a torrent you know will be well-seeded. Linux, or something else that's rock-solid.

It's a private tracker. Plenty of people with seedboxes and monstrous connections.

Connection seems to go from full, to nothing, then back to full, and eventually nothing.....

How about wiping uTorrent and starting from scratch?

This seems to be a problem with uTorrent itself..

When I close uTorrent it does a re-check once I open it again on current torrents, to see current download progress.

If I have one torrent downloading, and another checking, the checking one seems to freeze at a certain point and go no further, and the downloading one seems to just stop progressing as well. While this is happening I see the 'Disk Overload 100%' warning down the bottom.

Those two were downloading to separate hard drives.

Strange, but all seems well with just one active torrent at a time, and no checking happening in the mean time.

This seems to be a problem with uTorrent itself..

When I close uTorrent it does a re-check once I open it again on current torrents, to see current download progress.

If I have one torrent downloading, and another checking, the checking one seems to freeze at a certain point and go no further, and the downloading one seems to just stop progressing as well. While this is happening I see the 'Disk Overload 100%' warning down the bottom.

Those two were downloading to separate hard drives.

Strange, but all seems well with just one active torrent at a time, and no checking happening in the mean time.
    See if this helps you some way:
    http://lifehacker.com/disable-ads-in-utorrent-via-settings-826283231

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Even on android utorrent can drop everything till you reboot the device, had that problem with a tablet and a phone

Why would disabling ads help? :confused:

I had a similar issue where uTorrent actually locked up so I'm just saying that if you disable them, it might help, but it is a long-shot. It worked in my situation.

The only other suggestion besides trying bridge mode is to use another computer and compare the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭mrweatherman

I had a similar issue where uTorrent actually locked up so I'm just saying that if you disable them, it might help, but it is a long-shot. It worked in my situation.

The only other suggestion besides trying bridge mode is to use another computer and compare the results.
    What is your modem output level eg 50mbs etc, as for download speed simply go into utorrent right cluck on the file downliading go to bandwithe click on what level you want, im on 150mbs and have a 3gb downliad in 10mins

Knowing how to work uTorrent wasn't the problem here.... :o