Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
17-12-2013, 20:20   #1
docentore
Registered User
 
docentore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 404 not found
Posts: 1,498
UPC Thomson TWG-870U - Enabling "Cable modem" mode - basic guide

Folks,

I spent hours looking for solution to change Thomson TWG870U to cable modem mode.
I tried the html code injection based on great guide by DECEiFER, but without success.

I finally have managed to achieve this by changing value in MIB table. Here is how to: (use network cable connected directly to Thomson router, don't do this over WiFi)

Windows guide 1 (original one that worked for me)
1. Download application capable of MIB editing (I have used CM watch (client) - nice cable modem monitoring tool, can be downloaded here)

2. Download Net-SMP from here.

3. Make sure you set up your CM Watch correctly:
* Host - this is your router
* Leave community settings at public.
* we don't need (and we don't know) CMTS IP address.
* path to NET-SNMP installation.





4. Make sure you disable firewall on both your PC and router, disable any antyvirus software you have. Also enable 'Remote Config Management' on the Thomson





Once I've done all steps above I could see some info from the mode.

5. Select 'Set OID' from the icon bar.



6. Change following key:
1.3.6.1.4.1.4413.2.2.2.1.7.1.1.0
from 2 to 1
Type: Integer
Use bottom part of the 'Set OID' window. When ready just click 'Set'




7. Router should restart itself and change mode from 'Cable Home' to 'Cable Modem. That's it!

My Open-WRT have public IP now (on the picture below it is my pc to show the method working), speeds are a bit better but ping was greatly improved. Phone still works.

Windows guide 2 (thanks to Jonathanpbk)
Quote:
I could not get CMWatch to communicate with the Thomson at all. No matter what I did, it just wouldn't bring up any info from it.
So I ended up looking around for an alternative MIB browser.
I eventually found this. The free version works fine.

I put the routers IP into the bar at the top, clicked "Advanced" and entered "public" into the "Read/Write Community" fields.
Selected "Walk" in the "Operations" drop-down on the top bar back in the main window and clicked "Go". Straight away I'm seeing tonnes of info about the Thomson. I'm also seeing loads of MIB keys, so I search for the string in the first post and sure enough it's there, set to 2 as it should be. So I right-clicked (i think) on it and clicked "Set". changed the 2 to a 1 and saved it. Immediately my network connection died and started obtaining an IP again. Once it reconnected, I had a public IP on my PC!
Linux / Unix / Mac OS X guide (thanks to drabisan)
Quote:
For further reference, in case a Linux user is too lazy to find it by itself, command is
snmpset -v2c -c public 192.168.0.1 1.3.6.1.4.1.4413.2.2.2.1.7.1.1.0 i 1

Assuming Thomson's ip address is 192.168.0.1

Note 1:
Modem settings can be reverted to default by doing factory reset - just hold the reset button at the back of the modem for > 30 seconds
Note 2:
Router can be accessed under: 192.168.100.1

Last edited by bk; 09-01-2014 at 01:13. Reason: Updated for docentore
docentore is offline  
Advertisement
17-12-2013, 21:13   #2
DECEiFER
Registered User
 
DECEiFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Limerick
Posts: 2,664
Send a message via MSN to DECEiFER Send a message via Skype™ to DECEiFER
Brilliant find! I hope it does work on the TC2700 also because that will make a lot of people's day.
DECEiFER is offline  
Thanks from:
17-12-2013, 22:12   #3
Colmrenault
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Excellent docentore, well done for all your hard work figuring this out, cant wait to try it.

This will finally unleash the full awesomeness of my Asus RT-N56U, simultaneous dual band N600 router!!!

Last edited by Colmrenault; 17-12-2013 at 22:18.
Colmrenault is offline  
17-12-2013, 22:47   #4
docentore
Registered User
 
docentore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 404 not found
Posts: 1,498
No worries, I'll try to write up proper guide, but that might have to wait until middle of January as I'm mad busy right now.
Anyone wants to do the "noob" guide - please feel free to do so.
Router Modem can be still accessed on 192.168.100.1

docentore is offline  
18-12-2013, 10:46   #5
ArthurG
Registered User
 
ArthurG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 722
Sorry for the basic question, but what's the benefit of doing this?.

(I realise if I need to ask I probably don't need to know!!)
ArthurG is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
18-12-2013, 11:34   #6
Damo2k
Registered User
 
Damo2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by docentore View Post
Folks,

I spent hours looking for solution to change Thomson TWG870U to cable modem mode.
I tried the html code injection based on great guide by DECEiFER, but without success.

I finally have managed to achieve this by changing value in MIB table. Here is how to:
1. Download application capable of MIB editing (I used CM watch - nice cable modem monitoring tool)
2. Change following key:
1.3.6.1.4.1.4413.2.2.2.1.7.1.1.0

from 2 to 1.

3. That's it!

My Open-WRT have public IP now, speeds are a bit better but ping was greatly improved. Phone still works.

My apologies for very basic guide, I did this on using BootCamp partition on my macbook and just switched back to osx. Will update the guide when I'll have some more time.

(Might work also on Technicolor TC7200 as this one has also Broadcom chipset - needs to be confirmed)

I remember trying this before when I had the 870UIR, however for SNMP communication, this MIB wasn't available via public. You had to use private. And even though it was possible to obtain the private community string, accessing it was locked to LAN ip from UPC side e.g. 10.x.x.x.

It might have changed now though some firmware changes?
Damo2k is offline  
18-12-2013, 12:06   #7
docentore
Registered User
 
docentore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 404 not found
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damo2k View Post
I remember trying this before when I had the 870UIR, however for SNMP communication, this MIB wasn't available via public. You had to use private. And even though it was possible to obtain the private community string, accessing it was locked to LAN ip from UPC side e.g. 10.x.x.x.

It might have changed now though some firmware changes?
Strange, I was able to do this no probs from my internal (I use 192.168.10. subnet) IP.
docentore is offline  
18-12-2013, 12:11   #8
MaCXyLo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
hey dudes,
it's chirstmastime. so i have a present for ya:
http://www.4shared.com/zip/m81q_K34/...51-111216.html
This is a original archive from cisco...
inside are mib tables for a type of cable modem.

second found today:
http://www.pronext.com.pl/index.php?...d=3&Itemid=18#



kind regards

Last edited by MaCXyLo; 18-12-2013 at 13:06.
MaCXyLo is offline  
Thanks from:
18-12-2013, 20:46   #9
Skittle
Registered User
 
Skittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by docentore View Post
Folks,

I spent hours looking for solution to change Thomson TWG870U to cable modem mode.
I tried the html code injection based on great guide by DECEiFER, but without success.

I finally have managed to achieve this by changing value in MIB table. Here is how to:
1. Download application capable of MIB editing (I used CM watch - nice cable modem monitoring tool)
2. Change following key:
1.3.6.1.4.1.4413.2.2.2.1.7.1.1.0

from 2 to 1.

3. That's it!

My Open-WRT have public IP now, speeds are a bit better but ping was greatly improved. Phone still works.

My apologies for very basic guide, I did this on using BootCamp partition on my macbook and just switched back to osx. Will update the guide when I'll have some more time.

(Might work also on Technicolor TC7200 as this one has also Broadcom chipset - needs to be confirmed)
Does anyone know how to get CMWatch to connect to the Thomson?
Skittle is offline  
Advertisement
18-12-2013, 21:02   #10
docentore
Registered User
 
docentore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 404 not found
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaCXyLo View Post
hey dudes,
it's chirstmastime. so i have a present for ya:
http://www.4shared.com/zip/m81q_K34/...51-111216.html
This is a original archive from cisco...
inside are mib tables for a type of cable modem.

second found today:
http://www.pronext.com.pl/index.php?...d=3&Itemid=18#



kind regards
Good find. I've updated the OP to include the CM Watch3 download link
docentore is offline  
18-12-2013, 21:34   #11
white_westie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 413
Downloaded CMWatch and installed on win7- had a quick look at this with my TC7200
Tried to communicate with modem, but getting no response from CMTS.
Using a wired connection to modem - tried both modem address and public address.
Also ran exe as administrator, but no go either.

Do I need to configure any else besides Host?

WW
white_westie is offline  
18-12-2013, 22:47   #12
dub45
Moderator
 
dub45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 9,806
Isn't it absurd that UPC force their customers to go through these hoops and won't deign to communicate with customers as to why the basic facility isn't available.
dub45 is offline  
18-12-2013, 23:29   #13
docentore
Registered User
 
docentore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 404 not found
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by white_westie View Post
Downloaded CMWatch and installed on win7- had a quick look at this with my TC7200
Tried to communicate with modem, but getting no response from CMTS.
Using a wired connection to modem - tried both modem address and public address.
Also ran exe as administrator, but no go either.

Do I need to configure any else besides Host?

WW
Did you get ANY info off the router? I never got any response of the CMTS, neither CM status.
What I had was just MAC addresses displayed and some info on SNMP template screen. Just went to 'Set OID' and typed the values above into the lower part of the screen.
docentore is offline  
18-12-2013, 23:43   #14
Spear
Moderator
 
Spear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 13,403
I can't get any response out of my Thomson for this.

Though ironically, while testing I found my WRT350N with OpenWRT that I planned to use, has terrible throughput and chokes out at 75mbps, whereas the Thomson manages the full 150 mbps.
Spear is offline  
19-12-2013, 00:00   #15
white_westie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by docentore View Post
Did you get ANY info off the router? I never got any response of the CMTS, neither CM status.
What I had was just MAC addresses displayed and some info on SNMP template screen. Just went to 'Set OID' and typed the values above into the lower part of the screen.
No got nothing at all.
Status (bottom) line just shows host addr, Standby, Not Responding, No data from CMTS, No data from CMTS, Polling ON.

Did notice when I startup, it takes a few seconds to populate the status line - suspect it's timing out.

While looking for some info on using CMWatch came across a java based tool call DocsDiag - you run it from the command line.
Tried out the various parameters (eg: ip addresses, HFC mac address), but times out with a 'Host xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx not responding'
Cannot reset modem to test if snmp is being blocked by modem firmware.
Using info from here homepage.ntlworld.com/robin.d.h.walker/docsdiag

Will post if I get any further.

Would be nice if UPC just upgraded the firmware to the same version as used in The Netherlands!

WW
white_westie is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet