Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superlevy?

• 05-02-2014 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lads i said id reignite my favourite thread:D! well lads is this weather gona help the situation, would ye hold back a couple of days milk for next year or not??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

dont think it will make any difference, theres too many cows in this country for the quota we have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Deffo make a difference, cows will be housed for longer restricting bfat and yield

Sorry Kev don't think it'll be enough though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Lads i said id reignite my favourite thread:D! well lads is this weather gona help the situation, would ye hold back a couple of days milk for next year or not??
    Ya ,weather definitely goin to help the situation, but I wouldnt hold up any milk:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Got 24k of temp quota through being locked up with TB in spring had hoped for more but half a loaf is better than no bread as the say..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

A poor first half of February isn't going to have much impact I would have thought. Regardless and I'm over quota, I want a good spring for my morale and that of my cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Gillespy wrote: »
    A poor first half of February isn't going to have much impact I would have thought. Regardless and I'm over quota, I want a good spring for my morale and that of my cows.

Agreed, cows still have to be fed anyways, and fodder isn't exactly plentifully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

The weather will affect things. And cows are a little later this year ( around here anyway). And last year people were driving on for Feb and March taking the gamble with SL, but most people that are over this year will be keeping their toe on the break.
    There will be a SL but a lot of small factors may reduce the severity of it. IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Anyone that is already over is ploughing on due to financial reasons

If he is over an reduces output he has less of a cash flow

At 39cpl base with good solids lads are covering costs after super levy deduction
    However if output decreases fixed costs are higher as diluted over fewer volume and could actually loss money by not motoring on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

tomorrows collection will put me over.... :(... makes me sad. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

stanflt wrote: »
    Anyone that is already over is ploughing on due to financial reasons

If he is over an reduces output he has less of a cash flow

At 39cpl base with good solids lads are covering costs after super levy deduction
    However if output decreases fixed costs are higher as diluted over fewer volume and could actually loss money by not motoring on

alot of guys apply their fixed costs to their quota only and persuade themselves that 39 cent less superlevy and variables will leave them with something ... note my previous post ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

country 1.5% over @ end of January

no hope of getting back under but levy may not as bad a s thought originally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

jt65 wrote: »
    country 1.5% over @ end of January

no hope of getting back under but levy may not as bad a s thought originally

If weather stays like this it might not be so bad, but still 6weeks 2 go:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

alot of fields are flooded around here, lads seem later calving also, it could bring it back abit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

kevthegaff wrote: »
    alot of fields are flooded around here, lads seem later calving also, it could bring it back abit

How many litres is 1.5%, and what would it actually take in feb/March to end up under quota? Would a spring like last yr do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Looks like this weather will continue for another week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Timmaay wrote: »
    How many litres is 1.5%, and what would it actually take in feb/March to end up under quota? Would a spring like last yr do it?

I"d take last spring over this one so far, cows where out full-time 1 st February last year, after the deludge of rain we got here this evening noting will be out before March just be a question will it be before our after paddys day, only saving grace is at least the silage left is good quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

I never want a repeat of last spring. This spring is fine, no panic stations yet. More important to get a good March and April than a good February.

Simon Covent is in Brussels trying to get a soft landing for overquota suppliers next year.

He's trying to amend the butterfat adjustment which will only add 1% to the quota

I reckon with any decent start to the year the country will be at least 5 % over next year

Proceed with caution

How are lads going to cope next spring that have a fee extra numbers this year and plan on calving 40% extra again next spring?
    That's what I would love to do but an extra 30 heifers calved in Feb march can put in a good bit of milk.

I could milk winter cows OAD but don't really want to.
    Is there a chance of any quota coming up next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

How are lads going to cope next spring that have a fee extra numbers this year and plan on calving 40% extra again next spring?
    That's what I would love to do but an extra 30 heifers calved in Feb march can put in a good bit of milk.

Walk before u run greengrass,it ain't all about increasing nos.u are more or less out of silage as it is leaving u a month to 6 weeks short ,throw ur extra 40% cows on that and cows will be licking the floor at Xmas!!
    My advice consolidate what u have for now ,reseed spend money on fert to grow more grass and iron out all current problems in ur herd.if I was u I'd also quit winter milk and go all spring milk especially as ur such a fan of the way things are done in kk. And x breeds.milking winter cows oad ain't on as it is a high cost operation which requires excellent silage and high supplementation with concentrate.extra milk in the tank most certainly dosnt mean more money in the bank

Walk before u run greengrass,it ain't all about increasing nos.u are more or less out of silage as it is leaving u a month to 6 weeks short ,throw ur extra 40% cows on that and cows will be licking the floor at Xmas!!
    My advice consolidate what u have for now ,reseed spend money on fert to grow more grass and iron out all current problems in ur herd.if I was u I'd also quit winter milk and go all spring milk especially as ur such a fan of the way things are done in kk. And x breeds.milking winter cows oad ain't on as it is a high cost operation which requires excellent silage and high supplementation with concentrate.extra milk in the tank most certainly dosnt mean more money in the bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

In all fairness Mahoney is one of the VERY few on here that understands bovine nutrition. Of course I forgot Bob. Apologies.

sheebadog wrote: »
    In all fairness Mahoney is one of the VERY few on here that understands bovine nutrition. Of course I forgot Bob. Apologies.

Still have a lot to learn though sherpadog,still no sign of bob.did he get blown out to sea last week in the storm????

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Still have a lot to learn though sherpadog,still no sign of bob.did he get blown out to sea last week in the storm????

Maybe just got blown!

She must of been good as he hasn't been seen in a week !!

My father has spent the last ten yrs trying to get up numbers and he has not been able to do it, so he wants to see the hundred cows in his nane before he retires, tgats his biggest aim.
    He hasnt too long left in the game.
    I'm sure you know the hardest part of increasing is when you have the land but you are not producing anything off it.
    I am after leasing land for all the young stock and for silage so I should have amble silage next year. I hope any way.
    I don't think I'll be able to quit winter milk as I will have a big mortgage to pay for a long time to come..
    As it is this year 1/3 of the herd are first calvers so getting them that far has cost a lot.
    We have a quite a few loans finished this year old last so there should be spare cash around to do more reseeding and do part of roadways

My father has spent the last ten yrs trying to get up numbers and he has not been able to do it, so he wants to see the hundred cows in his nane before he retires, tgats his biggest aim.
    He hasnt too long left in the game.
    I'm sure you know the hardest part of increasing is when you have the land but you are not producing anything off it.
    I am after leasing land for all the young stock and for silage so I should have amble silage next year. I hope any way.
    I don't think I'll be able to quit winter milk as I will have a big mortgage to pay for a long time to come..
    As it is this year 1/3 of the herd are first calvers so getting them that far has cost a lot.
    We have a quite a few loans finished this year old last so there should be spare cash around to do more reseeding and do part of roadways

100 Holsteins WILL produce more than 100 xbreds!

Runs for cover!

In water yes, in solids no :D
    100 is my fathers aim mine is higher. 100 cows will only be 2.5lu/ha.
    The farm has been stocked a lot higher the last few years

Runs for cover!

Profit??

Just to qualify that GG. To me, xbreds are a very extensive way of farming. Holsteins are very intensive. You have a finite amount of land so get the most out of it.

Having said that if I were farming in Ireland I would be farming xbreds because it's easy and it's very easy to replicate. Was never one to be happy on a defined amount of acres.

Just to qualify that GG. To me, xbreds are a very extensive way of farming. Holsteins are very intensive. You have a finite amount of land so get the most out of it.

Having said that if I were farming in Ireland I would be farming xbreds because it's easy and it's very easy to replicate. Was never one to be happy on a defined amount of acres.

We have tribled acreage on what we had so not going too bad. If I can do as same as the parents I'll be doing well

delaval wrote: »
    Profit??

Jeez Del you keep doing this yo me!
    I have to have hols here. If I had your yokes they would be the fattest, lowest yielding herd around!
    You know my cost per litre of production. (42 c/l) !

Runs for cover!

A hundred hol could leave 200k profit in a year like last

In water yes, in solids no :D
    100 is my fathers aim mine is higher. 100 cows will only be 2.5lu/ha.
    The farm has been stocked a lot higher the last few years

100 well bred high ebi Holsteins WILL produce mor volume and more kg solids than sny x bred .i get where ur dad is comming from gg and I hope for his sake he gets to a hindered cows.but u need to be the voice of reason here and realise that extra nos means more slurry storage,more feed ,more hassle on top of issues up already have.in all likelyhood it will leave less money in the bank.i stand by what I said earlier,quit winter milk,sell the contract sell the cows and go all spring milk as it seems to be what u know best.should be more profitable too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If ya took the roof of the cubicle shed they would make even more.

+1. Thanks Stan.
    However with my cost of production it doesn't feel like it !!

100 well bred high ebi Holsteins WILL produce mor volume and more kg solids than sny x bred .i get where ur dad is comming from gg and I hope for his sake he gets to a hindered cows.but u need to be the voice of reason here and realise that extra nos means more slurry storage,more feed ,more hassle on top of issues up already have.in all likelyhood it will leave less money in the bank.i stand by what I said earlier,quit winter milk,sell the contract sell the cows and go all spring milk as it seems to be what u know best.should be more profitable too

Not being smart but I never said 100 cows was my max. Even with ****e grass and a high sr we did well last year and year before only for lack of silage. I would be well able to stock it alit higher than 2.5. With good p and k and good grass.
    Winter milk here is a good money spinner Here due to high solids.
    I hope to feed very little meal this summer and make best use of grass.
    A lot of the issues we have now are because my father wasn't able to manage all on his own two here now so we should be okay.

Its not just as simple as say get out of writer milk.
    Big commitments Herr money wise so can't do that.
    A lot of lads that are winter and spring are making good money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

Lads what I don't understand is lads renting a hape of land paying big money to subidy there own and there own land not running on all cylinders, building huge stocking rates on milking block putting more pressure on grass and less chances of reseeding and building organic matter, surely there is little profit to be made at this ? I suppose what I saying is alk and build build cow numbers slowly, instead of renting expensive acres use the money for rent say and reseed and build organic matter and when your own place is running all cylinders then rent and stock higher, more cows doesn't mean more milk only means paddy and johnny up the road can say billy has a 150 cows.. sorry rant over

Not being smart but I never said 100 cows was my max. Even with ****e grass and a high sr we did well last year and year before only for lack of silage. I would be well able to stock it alit higher than 2.5. With good p and k and good grass.
    Winter milk here is a good money spinner Here due to high solids.
    I hope to feed very little meal this summer and make best use of grass.
    A lot of the issues we have now are because my father wasn't able to manage all on his own two here now so we should be okay.

Its not just as simple as say get out of writer milk.
    Big commitments Herr money wise so can't do that.
    A lot of lads that are winter and spring are making good money.

Very easy get out of it,guy not too far from me pulled the plug on it this winter with over 300 cows and close to 100 calving for winter .just don't bull the cows,tell the Creamry u won't be supplying milk next winter and sorted.structure ur loans to be paid from May to October .
    Most lads in winter even the good ones will tell u there's very little in it.costs are way higher because u need 76 dmd plus silage and prosb maize silage as well as a good quality but in parlour.
    As for feeding very little meal for summer wait till summer before deciding on that as u don't know what it'll bring.it is a possibility for ur x breeds though.it would be interesting to see ur profit per litre from winter milk,I know when my dad was in it he was always raving about how 'twas great to have a milk cheque to pay bills over winter but when we sat with accountant the accounts told otherwise.yes there was money and turnover but profit was nearly nonexistent

case 956 wrote: »
    Lads what I don't understand is lads renting a hape of land paying big money to subidy there own and there own land not running on all cylinders, building huge stocking rates on milking block putting more pressure on grass and less chances of reseeding and building organic matter, surely there is little profit to be made at this ? I suppose what I saying is alk and build build cow numbers slowly, instead of renting expensive acres use the money for rent say and reseed and build organic matter and when your own place is running all cylinders then rent and stock higher, more cows doesn't mean more milk only means paddy and johnny up the road can say billy has a 150 cows.. sorry rant over

Personally we had to take on land because land wasn't getting the chance to build p and grow grass because of such a high demand.
    Land we got a very reasonable prices compared to what it was making because owners had seen how much work we put into land we had and knew we would look after there's well.
    Its very hard to reseed when you have a very high sr

case 956 wrote: »

Hit the nail on the head there case

Very easy get out of it,guy not too far from me pulled the plug on it this winter with over 300 cows and close to 100 calving for winter .just don't bull the cows,tell the Creamry u won't be supplying milk next winter and sorted.structure ur loans to be paid from May to October .
    Most lads in winter even the good ones will tell u there's very little in it.costs are way higher because u need 76 dmd plus silage and prosb maize silage as well as a good quality but in parlour.
    As for feeding very little meal for summer wait till summer before deciding on that as u don't know what it'll bring.it is a possibility for ur x breeds though.it would be interesting to see ur profit per litre from winter milk,I know when my dad was in it he was always raving about how 'twas great to have a milk cheque to pay bills over winter but when we sat with accountant the accounts told otherwise.yes there was money and turnover but profit was nearly nonexistent

Good point Mahoney taken on board.
    May to October will be a hell of a lot of money to pay in those few months when you are trying to expand as well as have my sisters in college.
    Place using mine yet so I can't make them decisions

Agree, except first piece in bold

Top quality silage cheaper to produce than crap anyday, I know you know this;)

Good point Mahoney taken on board.
    May to October will be a hell of a lot of money to pay in those few months when you are trying to expand as well as have my sisters in college.
    Place using mine yet so I can't make them decisions

I've my farm loan structured thatcway as those 6 months are when most money comes in.as for expansion as I've said proceed with caution and think long and hard about it but most of all best of luck,just be open minded

Brilliant advice, the costs assosiated with expansion are massive without capex. Take the cost of rearing heifers it's topping €1500 and thats just one of them. If cashflow is tight stay in liquid for a while longer but add a few more cows every year and you wouldn't feel till you have surplus to sell. Don't be a moron like me and not sell.

delaval wrote: »
    Brilliant advice, the costs assosiated with expansion are massive without capex. Take the cost of rearing heifers it's topping €1500 and thats just one of them. If cashflow is tight stay in liquid for a while longer but add a few more cows every year and you wouldn't feel till you have surplus to sell. Don't be a moron like me and not sell.

I'll be in a position next year to sell winter milking cows/heifers I hope.
    28 calving this year. Only want 30 and I have a dozen heifers as well born this autumn

I'll be in a position next year to sell winter milking cows/heifers I hope.
    28 calving this year. Only want 30 and I have a dozen heifers as well born this autumn

Calve keep the heifers and the numbers will grow

i have 105 to calve down this spring, very slow at the moment. Gona cull down to 96 with another 40 replacements for next year. I have 210 40 acres too far from parlour, 170 of grazing ground but very hilly! 40% of the herd are crossbreds as they suit the high ground, good feet and no worries about nitrates. Im planning to milk maybe 110-120 next year. From now on im gona put everything in calf to WH and AA with the exception of AI the first 40. If i want to expand im gona buy in crossbred maiden heifers or incalf, as i want to stay as a one man system. I cannot wait till 2015 when the shackles are off! Ive already culled alot of high sccs, bad feet, yield etc so i hope to improve the herd. I know somelads dont like the xbreeds but i see it here on hilly ground, theres no maintenance with them, with little to no problems with health

Any percentage increase on the national quota for 2014/15 lads? Are ye gona hold milk for next year of supply as normal??