Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad weather at Dublin Airport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What bad weather? Clear calm moonlit night here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Im firing up the BBQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

Aer Lingus regional Glasgow -Dublin went around a few times & dirverted to Belfast, Landed a few mins ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What bad weather? Clear calm moonlit night here.

The first fine night in Donegal for three months and he's gloating.
    Looking at the radar it'll be raining there within the hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's a bit nippy here on the best coast but other than that fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Thunder and lightning in cork!

Aer Lingus regional Glasgow -Dublin went around a few times & dirverted to Belfast, Landed a few mins ago

Those planes are fcuking terrifying.

I thought it was really far away, but it wasn't. It was just very small :(

And they make you sit all spread out to balance the plane. Well that's what I was told but I'm very naive and afraid of flying :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

It's raining.

Sideways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭zzap64

Mech1 wrote: »

And the Radar view can be watched here:

http://www.flightradar24.com/53.49,-6.52/8

Wow. I didn't know that data was publicly available. Very interesting to watch the current location and previous flight paths!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

in asia they can land in tornados

here if theres a bit of wind,they do a go around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

dmc17 wrote: »
    Sideways!

I'm at the wrong airport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Aquagakka

Looks like that plane SHT86U is having a rethink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

ofcork wrote: »
    Thunder and lightning in cork!

Very Very Frightning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

RYR719V just gone around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

That RYR719V flight (Brussels to Dublin) is having a game of loop the loop around Dublin Airport right now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It's just generally cross winds that cause the problems is it during landing?
    I know it's everything that actually plays a factor but I've flown no bother during some bad storms. Well I just sat there, the pilots were the ones flying.

RYR719V is making another approach :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Flight Sh1771NG-1T is apparently having a hard time landing too.

****TINGIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Flying in to Dublin around 10 in the morning. Hope to fook it's calmed down by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Look at that Dreamliner. It's half the width of the Irish Sea!!

RYR719V has to go around again ...

Ye have that ar5eways - that's the "Tour of Dublin bay" Cessna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Looks like its diverting up to Belfast!

Pacifico wrote: »
    Looks like its diverting up to Belfast!

Great value for money. Dublin Bay is a bit dull anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's a bit hairy out there all right. EIN62N (EI627 from Copenhagen) just went around, citing "significant wind change in last 500 feet".

EIN357 (EI357 from Munich) went around once already, started approaching again, was told to head north and is going to try runway 16 instead of the longer runway 10. All in a day's work. (The wind's coming from around 140 degrees).

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Site Banned Posts: 63 ✭✭Carrie Madshaw

i'm having a ball watching these.

this guy

http://www.flightradar24.com/data/flights/fr227%20/

looks like he can't even land in belfast and is going to scotland! god what a nightmare if you're just trying to get home to Dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭clickhere

He seems to have turned around,and heading some where else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Dr.MickKiller

Looks like he's landed at "Glasgow" Prestwick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

clickhere wrote: »
    He seems to have turned around,and heading some where else.
    Looks like Prestwick.

Another go-around (EI699 from Düsseldorf), this time due to wind shear warning on final. Eek.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Site Banned Posts: 63 ✭✭Carrie Madshaw

bnt wrote: »
    Looks like Prestwick.

Another go-around (EI699 from Düsseldorf), this time due to wind shear warning on final. Eek.

yeah D-dorf has tried to land a few times now, the passengers must be terrified! I wonder if the pilot just doesn't have the confidence to give it a bash when he gets close to the runway? Imagine the acceleration pulling back up!

They're my favorite kind of pilot. The ones who go "Feck it, I'll give it a lash lads!" worry me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The ones who go "Feck it, I'll give it a lash lads!" worry me.

Nah I admire their chutzpah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I've been on planes where they have pulled out of landing and the acceleration is unreal.

sullivlo wrote: »
    I've been on planes where they have pulled out of landing and the acceleration is unreal.

You have to raise both arms and shout "Wheeee!" for the full effect.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

How long is the crappy weather lasting? I'm flying to Dublin Saturday morning

another go around just now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Strong winds in Finglas at the minute.

Planes should be able to bat the wind away using technology in this day and age surely?!

Eh those two planes look very close together!!!

You mean the ones on the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Planes should be able to bat the wind away using technology in this day and age surely?!

yes.... technology has been able to predict sudden wind direction and speed changes for a long time now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It's just generally cross winds that cause the problems is it during landing?
    I know it's everything that actually plays a factor but I've flown no bother during some bad storms. Well I just sat there, the pilots were the ones flying.

Wind shear is also a major factor. The aircraft has the ability to detect wind shear and abort the landing but the pilot flying can also abort.

There was a number of crashes back in the day due to wind shear but now the phenomenon is well understood and all modern airlines are equipped with detection capabilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Very Very Frightning?

Me.

Mech1 wrote: »
    You mean the ones on the ground?

Haaaahahahaha is that what that means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

dmc17 wrote: »
    Sideways!
    ƃ
    u
    ı
    u
    ı
    ɐ
    ɹ
    s
    ʇ
    ı

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Seems the Ryanair is landing now after a brief stop off at lovely sunny Prestwick

yes.... technology has been able to predict sudden wind direction and speed changes for a long time now

Ehhh.... shields?! Technological shields?!

Think he's getting Ryanair mixed up with the Starship Enterprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Think he's getting Ryanair mixed up with the Starship Enterprise.
    You're thinking of Starship Airplane

He built Cork city on yaw and roll