Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you enjoy PE at school?

It was mostly basketball for the girls so I loved it, loved basketball
    Sometimes we did football, I was good at it but didn't like it really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

PE in my school?

Last hour on a Friday. "Here's a ball. There's a pitch. Go home at 4".

What PE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The only part of PE i used enjoy was when the girls would join us for football and get a sneaky rub off their boobs or elsewhere while supposingly tackling for the ball. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Earthhorse wrote: »
    We didn't have a PE teacher in my school. Posh gits.

The PE teacher would usually teach something else as well. Who taught you PE then?

I feel like one of those posh kids who ask the poor kids how they get to school if their parents didn't buy them a car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

WikiHow wrote: »
    The only part of PE i used enjoy was when the girls would join us for football and get a sneaky rub off their boobs or elsewhere while supposingly tackling for the ball. ;)

Every teenage boy, EVER! The sexual tension in school. For all ye who didn't go to a mixed school, ye missed out! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

The BEEP TEST!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

Hahahaha... No :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I liked it, I was the captain of the basketball team so I spent PE training.

Whether we were lazy or sporty, we always had fun. We had a great class, there were a few girls that were afraid of their own shadow but they joined in and had a laugh.

Double swimming on Mondays, Hockey outside or volleyball indoors if it was raining on Wednesday, and either basketball or soccer on Friday. Tennis and basketball after school a couple of times a week. Loved it all but was absolutely rubbish at it, especially the basketball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Liked it. Soccer when it wasn't raining during the spring/summer months, and sometimes basketball. Indoor sports of some sort during the winter. Didn't like that, as you'd have to walk across 800m of open ground. Not fun when it was cold and raining :/

But due it being a mixed school, you'd get some nice looking girls :D

I hated the bleep test, and I was fit at the time. Always lasted longest out of the girls, we had one bloke doing it and I thought he was going to run the tape out, he was from Nigeria and boy could he run. He was superhuman!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

'Twas alright. I must have gone to a posher school than I thought, because for a couple of 35-minute class periods a week we'd head for the main hall, which doubled-up as a gymnasium sort of thing, with vaulting-horses, gymnast's mats and what-have-you. We'd do various tumbling and jumping to officially the Naffest Music In The Known Universe, all under the supervision of a very nice late-middle-aged lady in a pink tracksuit. It was all a bit pointless, but never did anyone any great harm. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Had pretty class PE in first year in particular there were two teachers in our school, one was big into contact sports the other less so, we had the first guy.

Our first year consisted of

Rugby
    American Football
    Aussie Rules
    International Rules
    Hurling
    Lacrosse
    Cross country
    Tennis

I wasn't very big or strong, but I was beyond useless with my feet, so any sport that allowed me to hold the ball in my hands, or on a stick was preferable to Soccer or Gaa which required too many foot skills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

I loved PE in primary school, secondary not so much...

Mainly because the PE we did in primary was PE, not dancing or orienteering.

Primary school PE was deadly, I loved when they brought out that parachute thing and we played cat and mouse :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

The PE teacher would usually teach something else as well. Who taught you PE then?

I feel like one of those posh kids who ask the poor kids how they get to school if their parents didn't buy them a car...
    Nobody did. We didn't have PE.

We had to learn how to run around in a dis-organised fashion on our own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Nobody did. We didn't have PE.

We had to learn how to run around in a dis-organised fashion on our own.

But...but...but...how did your mammy and daddy buy you a plane if you were scared of flying? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I did love it, until I nearly maimed the PE teacher with a basketball and a scissors. Never really got into it after that incident....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    I did love it, until I nearly maimed the PE teacher with a basketball and a scissors. Never really got into it after that incident....
    Sounds like interesting story do tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Please tell me this was an all-lads school?

if only! All girls school, one poor girl had her eyebrows tinted and it looked like yer wan had drawn on her with permanent marker! I was conveniently allergic to all the stuff she used ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,966 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

PE was awesome, attended a mixed school so we got to splendour at heaving glistening breasts, nipples dancing through the whites of t-shirts. Our female instructor wasn't shy about barging in on us while we were showering. Pity, she had all the sex appeal of a dried up prune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

WikiHow wrote: »
    Sounds like interesting story do tell.

Hehe, I really should have been thrown out of the school.

Will tell in quick time.

The week before I got hit in the head with a basketball. It hurt...

Next week a basketball bounced into my leg, so I picked it up and turned and volleyed it.

Still plays in slow motion, the teacher(prominent Irish Olympics coach) climbing a step ladder with a scissors in hand to cut old basketball net down. Ball hits scissors, scissors sticks into teachers leg, teacher falls off ladder, I go white and nearly faint.:eek:

Teacher screams loudly on the ground for a while(seemed like a life time) gets up pulls me to one side and starts lashing the basketball at the gym wall.:mad:

I start screaming at him telling him I nearly got knocked out with it too. ( Didn't tell him that happened last week)

Got away with it without having to say sorry, which I was but I was so shocked that freak accident happened I couldn't even look at the poor guy in the eyes.

Laugh about it now, my class mates taught it was the funniest thing ever. God I felt lonely when he was kicking that basketball at the gym wall.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Loved PE, it was one of my favourite lessons in school. It's one of those subjects that you either loved or hated, there was always plenty of drop outs that either 'forgot their kit' or 'had their period'. I genuinely couldn't understand back then why they didn't enjoy it. It was pure escapism from the drudgery of books and study.

I don't remember having any structure to PE in primary school at all, but in secondary it was brilliant - outdoors we had

Basketball
    Tennis
    Camogie
    Athletics
    Hockey

And indoors in the school hall on rainy or cold days we did

Gymnastics - Trampoline was my absolute favourite
    Dodgeball - another favourite
    Volleyball
    Badminton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Personally, I disliked it due to the fact that week after week, it was always football.

I hear that.
    maguic24 wrote: »
    No, can't say I did. All we ever did was play soccer! Not that you would get half a chance anyway! I did Taekwondo outside school and loved it. I also love running and was a strong swimmer, so it's not like I hated sport....

I was exactly the same. I did Kickboxing, and swim and trained with the IWSA and loved doing them.

I hated it with a passion for primary school and up to Junior Cert. P.E. for me was run a lap of the two pitches then divide and play soccer for the remainder. My favourite part was the actual lap as it was the circumference of two soccer pitches and took up the most time.

I liked P.E. however in 5th and 6th year, they were the last two classes for us on a Friday, so we went to lunch at 1:00pm came back for roll call after lunch then p!ssed off out the side gate of the school at 1:45pm so we got home early on Fridays. By 6th year the teachers stopped even taking roll-call so we just went home at 1pm was great. Nobody ever said boo about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

We had 2 PE teachers in our school. 1 was also the CSPE teacher and the other was also the computers teacher who was about as useful as the lowest level of tech support reading from a script. Boys went and played football, girls basketball.

I got out of it for 2 years due to a medical problem which was great. Strangely once I started college I was doing about 2 hours a day during the week. The PE "course" needs to be overhauled with trying to find a sport or activity that suits a person so they can get involved in it for years after they finish school. But I suppose throwing a ball at them and getting them to sort themselves out is far easier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Bambi wrote: »
    Did your butler have to get into the pool as well?

No. He spent his time ironing the croquet lawn

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

phasers wrote: »
    In fifth year we had a PE module called "health and grooming" where some beautician bird came in and waxed our eyebrows and told us what colours we should be wearing. This lasted about 3 months.

Aside from that the school didn't really bother with PE, we had it on our timetable but everyone just did their homework from the night before instead.

Tell us more about this grooming stuff

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Bambi wrote: »
    Did your butler have to get into the pool as well?

I went to a mixed school, so the pool wasn't bad at all.

There was a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi option too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

****ing loved it!

Getting to see the girls jumping up and down. Getting to see the girls in their swimming togs.
    But not just that, it was an escape from the bull**** of normal classes.
    I know for alot of lads it was the only class they actually enjoyed.

It was great. I was never the sportiest or fittest young fella but I always looked forward to PE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Got a note most weeks off mammy that said I didn't have to do it. Used to just sit on the mats and listen to the radio for 80 minutes. Loved it!