Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daylight Robbery!

• 02-02-2014 5:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭

Was sitting watching TV when the Gardai pulled onto my street. Panicked thinking someone belonging to me had been hurt but turned out a neighbour on my road had been burgled......at 3pm-ish on a Sunday afternoon!

Now am freaking out a little coz we have a really big house just further up the road and I cant get the electric gates to close. I rang the electrician but he cant come til tomorrow. Now am a nervous wreck that they might come back and target our house now that they have seen it.

There is just me and my 16yr old son here.

Do you think they will come back tonight? Or will they be worried that the gardai will be watching this road tonight?

The house that was done is owned by a jeweler so he may have been targeted coz of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Would want to be one big sack to fit in all the daylight your robbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Yeah we'll be back at about 10ish so make yourself scarce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Don't worry, if you get robbed it'll all be down the nearest Cash For Gold and you can buy it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

No need to worry OP, no self respecting burglar will go near your house with the smell of bullshít emanating from within.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Where the fook you getting all these houses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Have you paid your property tax ? Other wise it cud be the goverment snooping around, beware OP beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

You must be head of the nieghbourhood watch op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭bockeys jollocks

Ohhh look at me with my big house and electric gates, nah.......nah, nah, na ..nahhhh........:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ah yeah, the electric gates would stop them in their tracks. Sure the reason people get burgled is because they forget to close the doors.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Most people get burgled through open doors and windows. They aren't looking to invade. That's why most of us have stopped using moats / drawbridges.

Make sure your doors and windows are locked. Does your house look unoccupied? Doubt it with two of you in the house. Don't worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

They are defo coming back, but there will be more of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

They are defo coming back, but there will be more of them.

And they will have 6 arms and a set of backup ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

It is a big house. Its my parents house. I live in a granny flat in the basement. Upstairs looks empty. Just got my son to go put some lights on up there. We have feck all of worth in it but it looks good from the outside! The gates may stop them taking a van in and trying to load it up as there are neighbours right across the wee road from us who would be disturbed by the sound of someone ramming the gates.

This is 100% not a bull**** story. Am actually really scared now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Witchie wrote: »
    It is a big house. Its my parents house. I live in a granny flat in the basement. Upstairs looks empty. Just got my son to go put some lights on up there. We have feck all of worth in it but it looks good from the outside! The gates may stop them taking a van in and trying to load it up as there are neighbours right across the wee road from us who would be disturbed by the sound of someone ramming the gates.

This is 100% not a bull**** story. Am actually really scared now.

You know they're coming. Set up booby traps like in Home Alone.

Other than that, stop being such a baby you're a grown man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

"Home Alone" the **** out of the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

The house that was done is owned by a jeweler so he may have been targeted coz of this.

I doubt it was a coincidence so I imagine he was indeed targeted and they knew he was away and likely to have some valuables. I wouldnt worry if I was you, big house or not I doubt they are going to go to the same amount of effort and risk in the same area in the hope you have some decent to rob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Relax OP. The chances are that they are not coming for your place. They have already done the house down the street successfully and should not be dumb enough to raid the same street twice in a short space of time.
    Lights on is a good idea. Also perhaps put a radio on in the hallway. Light and noise should do the trick IF they did decide to visit you.

You know they're coming. Set up booby traps like in Home Alone.

Other than that, stop being such a baby you're a grown man. woman

FYP.

Its not a street, its a small country road a few miles from town so an easier target in some ways.

I was just making food for my son and I when my son crept into the kitchen unheard like he often does. Saw his reflection in the kitchen window and freaked out. Good job I copped it was him before I stabbed him with the knife I had in my hands but the poor wee bollix got some telling off. Am still shaking!

I guess I just feel more vulnerable now that I know burglars have made it onto our road. We used to live in the house that was robbed and were there over 30 years without a person coming near it so its just kinda disturbing.

FYP.

Its not a street, its a small country road a few miles from town so an easier target in some ways.

I was just making food for my son and I when my son crept into the kitchen unheard like he often does. Saw his reflection in the kitchen window and freaked out. Good job I copped it was him before I stabbed him with the knife I had in my hands but the poor wee bollix got some telling off. Am still shaking!

I guess I just feel more vulnerable now that I know burglars have made it onto our road. We used to live in the house that was robbed and were there over 30 years without a person coming near it so its just kinda disturbing.

The fact its out of the way makes it all the more stupid to hit a second time. Just like you everyone in the area will be a little on edge for a while and every odd car, van, person, noise etc will all be clocked instantly. They wouldn't get away without being noticed a second time.

But just to put your mind at ease, surround your house with landmines.

Thanks Badger! yeah I suppose am over reacting a little coz was in shock. The guy who was burgled is such a lovely man and am so gutted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

OP, more than likely, the burglars didn't just rock up to their target house by accident. They would have been "casing the joint" before hand, so they have probably already seen your house prior to burgling your neighbour. If they had any intentions on your place, they would probably have had a go at yours at the same time.

Other than that, there is nothing anyone here can say to remove your fear. It's natural to be a little on-edge. Try not to worry tho! If someone is determined to burgle you, then there is not a whole lot you can do about it. No point worrying about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

Must have been an error, there is nothing worth robbing in Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

This reminds me of a former user and his long long driveway.

/Nostalgia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Just get a chair and place it outside your front door and sit there with a shotgun.

Either that or place a scarecrow in the garden.

Both will work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

They are strumming, they wont touch a house with someone in it.

It worries me that it is not very obvious that there is someone in the house coz we are underground! Have lights on and maybe will move my car from the garage to the front door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Move your parents into the basement for ''their own safety''. Use this situation to your own advantage.

It worries me that it is not very obvious that there is someone in the house coz we are underground! Have lights on and maybe will move my car from the garage to the front door.

Thinly veiled, I have a bunker and a garage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Just put a sign on your back door saying "There are no valuables left in this house over night" like the way the builders have them stickers on there vans - if it works for them it will work for you.

They are in Florida until April but maybe then I will! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Thats good, they case an area for empty houses, and when they find one they call it a drum becaues they know no one will be around, and when they hit the said house they call it a strum or stealing the drum.

They are in Florida until April but maybe then I will! :D

Thinly veiled, I go to Florida..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Put up a "beware of the Velociraptor" sign on the gate.
    Ain't no one got time for Velociraptors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

wazky wrote: »
    Would want to be one big sack to fit in all the daylight your robbing.

You'd want a big sack to hold the balls you'd need to hit the same estate twice in the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The kind of scumbag who breaks into a house in daylight is looking for something easy to steal (and easy to sell) that they can see from outside, purse or wallets, jewellery, car keys etc. They watch through a window for a person to go upstairs, open the back door take whatever it is and be away within seconds.
    That scumbag could have been at your house already, seen nothing worth taking and went on to the next house.

Thinly veiled, I go to Florida..............

Ha ha.....not a chance....am a struggling single parent student who won't let mammy and daddy pay for my going to Florida. Haven't been in 10 years despite them living most of the year over there.
    Sky King wrote: »
    You'd want a big sack to hold the balls you'd need to hit the same estate twice in the same day.

Estate?! Estate?! Don't insult Witchie Manor by saying it is in an Estate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I wouldn't worry too much op.

Look at it from a burglar's point of view, if you robbed a house in a street today, and the gards were now swarming that street, also the possibility your car/van whatever was spotted by a witness, and would you return to rob a house yards away from the first one?

Forget about it for the night. Have a beer, relax. If you need me to come over and mind you send a pm :pac:

Aww banjo you are all heart! :D

Thanks for the pm.

Are those real?

Shhhh that was a PRIVATE MESSAGE!

Thanks for the pm.

Are those real?

Do you need a second opinion ?

Dunno badger. Do you know anything about earrings :)???

Not much, I know someone who might know a jeweller though if that's any good to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

If you have a large property, you should have CCTV cameras around the place

DanWall wrote: »

We should but my dad is a trusting sort....and a bit of a tight git.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

they look for parked car in driveway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

DanWall wrote: »

Or a Wall, Dan.

they look for parked car in driveway

There pretty much never is at our house as we have a garage in the basement so never see a car really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

BNMC wrote: »
    Where the fook you getting all these houses?

Works for NAMA.

I don't understand BNMC's comment? All what houses?