Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone ever burn a rude celeb?

• 02-02-2014 4:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

just reading the rudest celeb you have met and its full of stories of celebs being arrogant and saying rude things to ordinary people/fans, anyone ever experienced this but came back with a killer line or just tell them to f**k off and put them in their place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I was once talking to Roger Dean (artist who painted the Yes album covers) in about 1980. Duran Duran who were fairly unknown were making an 'appearance'. Simon Le Bon asked me if I was waiting for an autograph. I said "No, I'm just talking to Roger Dean".

Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

just reading the rudest celeb you have met and its full of stories of celebs being arrogant and saying rude things to ordinary people/fans, anyone ever experienced this but came back with a killer line or just tell them to f**k off and put them in their place?

Told Noel Gallagher (Oasis fame for you kids) to **** off once when he turned up at a night club I was working. Threatened to "smash my teeth in" after getting refused, used the whole "do you know who I am" ****e. Got bored so told him to **** off somewhere else. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Not me but my dad seen The Edge from U2 walking into his studio just off Ringsend. Edge saw him looking and smiled and stood at the door for a sec, probably thinking he wanted an autograph or something. My dad then shouts "YOU LOOK STUPID IN THAT HAT!!" and walks away. The smile quickly left his face and he walked inside in huff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Years ago, when I was working in a pub, Bruce Jones (aka Les Battersby) came in bladdered and was promptly refused.

'Are you saying I'm too drunk?' he shouts

'No', says I, 'it's just that we don't serve twats in here'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    Not me but my dad seen The Edge from U2 walking into his studio just off Ringsend. Edge saw him looking and smiled and stood at the door for a sec, probably thinking he wanted an autograph or something. My dad then shouts "YOU LOOK STUPID IN THAT HAT!!" and walks away. The smile quickly left his face and he walked inside in huff.

The Edge comes across a bit better than your Dad in that story, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I saw Katie Price get burned in my local nightclub whilst she was doing a guest appearance. She was posing for a photo with a fella nicknamed forty (40 bellies).

Lads were jeering "Get your tits out"

Jordan wasn't impressed and said "in your dreams guys"

So someone responded "we're not talking to you, we're talking to forty!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

bumper234 wrote: »
    Told Noel Gallagher (Oasis fame for you kids) to **** off once when he turned up at a night club I was working. Threatened to "smash my teeth in" after getting refused, used the whole "do you know who I am" ****e. Got bored so told him to **** off somewhere else. :D

Why did you tell him to f*ck off in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

Note to your Dad: That's called "being a dick"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Kurt Angle was singing autographs in HMV on Grafton Street and when he finished, he was hurried out the back doors. Some kids dad was there asking him nicely for an autograph for his kid and Kurt told him ''no'' and proceeded to jump in to his van.
    The man replied, in typical Dubliner style ''Ah Kurt! Don't be gay!''
    I cracked up laughing. Still makes me laugh to this day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I thought it was pretty funny, actually.

No children or animals were hurt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

So your Dad was a dick to a celebrity being pleasant. Ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Well that was just rude. He only smiled.

thecatspjs wrote: »

Hammered drunk and off his tits, had about 15 hangers on in worse condition than him and he strolled straight past the queue and started telling me that he would require a VIP area with table service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

that's true, hes a bit of a dick. Poor edge was just minding his own business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

that's true, hes a bit of a dick. Poor edge was just minding his own business

Edges da would batter your da!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Brendan O'Carroll stopped to ask me and my friend for directions once upon a time. We were about 10 and wary of strange men in cars so I mumbled something random and we ran off. My friend recognised him but ran with me anyway. That kind of counts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Roose

thecatspjs wrote: »

It's easy to tell famous people to fcuk off in fictional stories.

Roose wrote: »
    It's easy to tell famous people to fcuk off in fictional stories.

Something you will never have to worry about jazzy :D

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Brendan O'Carroll stopped to ask me and my friend for directions once upon a time. We were about 10 and wary of strange men in cars so I mumbled something random and we ran off. My friend recognised him but ran with me anyway. That kind of counts?
    Did he ever work at the BBC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

glen hansard: "I suppose you want an autograph"

my mate: "who are you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Oryx wrote: »
    Did he ever work at the BBC?

He MADE the BBC!!

So, to answer your question, I have no idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Had a chance to tell Jason Byrne to **** off and didn't take it, regretfully. He is an awful prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I didn't burn a celebrity but more made a massive faux pas. I was working in a pub about 10 years back, it was a few doors down from a recording studio and we often had musicians call in during recording breaks. Anyway in walks Jim Corr with a really hot chick who I presumed was his sister Andrea Corr. I served them coffee and sandwiches and when taking the money I said to both of them 'really liked your last album, some great tracks on it'. To which yer one looked at me in a state of shock and said 'I'm not his sister'. With that the penny dropped, at the time Jim Corr was shagging Andrea Roche who looks pretty similar to his younger sister Andrea Corr. I had just mistaken his girlfriend for his sister, and made it as obvious as it could possibly be:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Once I told Michael Ryan from Nationwide to fuck off, but it was only a dream. Still felt good though. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Mate of mine (RIP) once tried to set Dave Fanning's jacket on fire. If that counts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

greenflash wrote: »
    Mate of mine (RIP) once tried to set Dave Fanning's jacket on fire. If that counts?
    Only if Dave was being rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

So abusing someone after they smile at you is cool now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I found myself standing behind George Clooney in our local chipper one night last year.He was holding up the queue as he wouldn't pay fifty cent extra for a sachet of tomato sauce for his batterburger,saying loudly "The tomato catsup is always included with my burger at Di Luca's on Rodeo Drive in Hollywood, and they always give you a shovel of chips for choice inanyways" Seizing my chance, I took out my lighter and ignited his tuxedo, causing him some light charring before Stefano put out the fire by tossing a two-litre bottle of Lemon Fanta over the screaming star of such movies as Up in The Air and Oh Brother Where Art Thou. Fair play to him, when he calmed down he saw the funny side of my little prank, and we had a good laugh about it . That is the only time I burned a celebrity, although I did push Beyonce against a hot radiator at a glamorous Vegas party one night, but luckily she was wearing her fireproof bloomers, and didn't feel a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Anyone ever misread 'burn' as 'bum'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Muise... wrote: »

Yeah that would have been a better thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Burn... I brought the nuclear flames... the cleansing fire!!!
    And the Oscar goes to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Muise... wrote: »

"You rude, impudent bastard... bend over"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Noel Gallagher walked past me and the mrs in the mgm in vegas we ignored him. Knob was walking through the hotel lobby in his dressing gown giving it socks to the receptionist, started to swagger round when he heard our accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

This guy made Justin Bieber take a picture of him and Selena Gomez, and then walked away.
    http://i.imgur.com/q9BmuVM.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

bernard dunne was in my town there a couple of years ago(1 week after he was knocked out by a guy in the 1st round), he was refused entry into the night club at the end of the night, he said to the bouncer do you know who I am? the bouncer said I do, I was up to see you fight in the O2 last week, you were shite lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

bumper234 wrote: »
    Hammered drunk and off his tits, had about 15 hangers on in worse condition than him and he strolled straight past the queue and started telling me that he would require a VIP area with table service.

where was it?..go on spill:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

I am not in the business of burning anyone, even if celebs are a rather annoying bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Joe prim wrote: »
    I found myself standing behind George Clooney in our local chipper one night last year.He was holding up the queue as he wouldn't pay fifty cent extra for a sachet of tomato sauce for his batterburger,saying loudly "The tomato catsup is always included with my burger at Di Luca's on Rodeo Drive in Hollywood, and they always give you a shovel of chips for choice inanyways" Seizing my chance, I took out my lighter and ignited his tuxedo, causing him some light charring before Stefano put out the fire by tossing a two-litre bottle of Lemon Fanta over the screaming star of such movies as Up in The Air and Oh Brother Where Art Thou. Fair play to him, when he calmed down he saw the funny side of my little prank, and we had a good laugh about it . That is the only time I burned a celebrity, although I did push Beyonce against a hot radiator at a glamorous Vegas party one night, but luckily she was wearing her fireproof bloomers, and didn't feel a thing.

lols

He MADE the BBC!!

So, to answer your question, I have no idea.

Careful now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

When a guy I went to school with who's now a comedian tried to look cool by introducing me to Andrew Maxwell I didn't have a breeze who he was and said "so your a mate of John's from UCD then?".
    Andrew Maxwell looked like he couldn't care less but the other guy was shooting me filthies for ruining his big moment.
    I don't know if he counts as a celeb but it happened about 3 years ago and he was on the telly a good bit back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yeah I set Alicia Keys on fire.

You should be in receipt of some royalties, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

So your Dad was a dick to a celebrity being pleasant. Ok

Russian Reversal on celebrities being dicks. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yeah, I set Gordon Ramsays eyebrows on fire once, he was not happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Kurt Angle was singing autographs in HMV on Grafton Street and when he finished, he was hurried out the back doors. Some kids dad was there asking him nicely for an autograph for his kid and Kurt told him ''no'' and proceeded to jump in to his van.
    The man replied, in typical Dubliner style ''Ah Kurt! Don't be gay!''
    I cracked up laughing. Still makes me laugh to this day

Would yer man not have queued like the rest of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Roose

Would yer man not have queued like the rest of them?

How's he supposed to know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I never burned a celeb but I think I embarrassed one. I was in a bar in Stockholm when Udo from Accept (80s heavy metal band for you kids) came in, sat down and started drinking. It was a rock bar full of old rockers so you'd think they'd be a bit excited but it looked like no-one recognised him. So I stood up, pointed at him and loudly declared "Look, it's Udo from Accept!" My Swedish friend came over and said "Ssh! That's not very discreet!" Turns out everyone had recognised him but they were doing the typical Swedish thing of not wanting to embarrass someone by drawing attention to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭olly_mac

Not really a burn, and it reflected badly on me but had a happy outcome...

A good many years ago I walked into The Norseman pub in temple Bar. I had a few pints on board as it was, was a regular in the shop and knew most of the patrons there on a Friday early evening. Anyhow, when I went in there was a guy on his knees, singing "Up Town Girl" to one of the women regulars. I just looked and said in a very loud voice "Jasus, look at yer man, he thinks he's Billy Joel!!" Everyone cracked up laughing... it was Billy Joel!! He came in for a few pints, and intergrated into the afternoon crack in the pub :D

I ended up sharing a few rounds with him and his group. A really decent bloke. No airs and graces on him at all. It took me ages to live that one down!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

Once worked in a bar and completely ignored Jimmy from Fair City for no reason. Still haunts me to this day.