Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racer trend coming back?

• 02-02-2014 5:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭

Sooo... Spare time at work = new topic from Sobanek.

Have you guys noticed the recent increase in the amount of fart cans on the road?

Had a douche try to race me in his Civic on my way to work - sorry, 350Nm beats your puny 1.4 petrol :D

The amount of AE86s and (surprisingly) Integras went up too.

I thought they all switched to Golf GT TDIs? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Im in mayo and havent seen the boy racer trend come back its dying more and more all the time to be honest I was as big a boy racer as anyone in my late teens early twenties in 2006-2009 but the simple truth is that all the jdm cars that came from japan in the boom are all either crashed broken for parts rusting to peices or exported to uk and mainland europe. It will never return to what it was the boy racer scene was prob the largest subculture ireland has ever scene it was huge.
    Ive been out of the scene for a few years now but ill admit if my financial situation was a bit better id be tempted by an ae86 or a k20 ek9.

By the way be careful of them 1.4 civics some of them have a special k hiding;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

1.4 Civics are dirt. I've never seen a decent one yet. No sign of resurgence in Wexford, pity, I used to get a bit of fun beating them in the Transit... The daughters bf had a 1.6 Civic, vetc this and jdm that,roll cages, vented discs the obligitary monster exhaust. I trashed him in a 105 hp diesel octavia ffs. All show and no go horrid little cars....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

jca wrote: »
    1.4 Civics are dirt. I've never seen a decent one yet. No sign of resurgence in Wexford, pity, I used to get a bit of fun beating them in the Transit... The daughters bf had a 1.6 Civic, vetc this and jdm that,roll cages, vented discs the obligitary monster exhaust. I trashed him in a 105 hp diesel octavia ffs. All show and no go horrid little cars....

I don't understand why you would encourage and condone a young male to race his vehicle when there is a good chance your daughter may be in the car the next time he does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Oh I saw a horrific looking thing with lights under it last week in Waterford. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

michellie wrote: »
    Oh I saw a horrific looking thing with lights under it last week in Waterford. :(

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.:pac::pac:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Riva10 wrote: »
    Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.:pac::pac:;)

Oh god it really wasn't beautiful !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Fart cans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Fart cans :)

hur hur hur you said fart:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭colincork

I think the trend of car enthusiasts is coming back and there is always going to be a minority of boy racers in this group.

One cannot generalise anyone who modifies their car as a boy racer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

colincork wrote: »
    One can not generalise anyone who modifies rices their car as a boy racer.

FYP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I thought they were all driving S4 130 tdis these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

I thought they were all driving S4 130 tdis these days.

Boooooo racers.
    "serious booo off her lad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Ahoy Ahoy

What age are you? Racing your daughter's boyfriend......you sound like a complete spide/chav. As another posted alluded too, if you think that's a good example to set to your own daughter and her boyfriend you are a disgrace and an unfit father. The whole boy racer thing seemed strange to me-in my town they used to park in the bus depot from 8 and stay till like 4 in morning while the rest of us went out to bars and socialised. Not criticising....just seemed a waste of time to me and an awful waste of petrol. It seemed to be very popular a few years back but seems to have died off. I remember the law used to be down checking their cars all the time and giving them a hard time!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

I don't mind them. At least these kids show a little bit of individuality in a sea of bland econoboxes.

They will grow into enthusiasts with nicer cars as their funds allow later in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Ahoy Ahoy wrote: »
    The whole boy racer thing seemed strange to me-in my town they used to park in the bus depot from 8 and stay till like 4 in morning while the rest of us went out to bars and socialised. Not criticising....just seemed a waste of time to me and an awful waste of petrol.

Some might say that going out to a club to spend in excess of €50 on drink that serves no purpose other than to ensure that you wake up with a hangover is a waste of money. Each to their own!

I was never into the whole "boy racer" scene (I really hate the term boy racer btw as it is used to tar anyone with a performance car with the same brush), but it is my experience that lads who hang around car parks etc in their cars do so because they dont go out to pubs/clubs and dont spend their money on drink, but instead choose to spend their money on what they are into, ie their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Everything does a full circle, they will be back when things pick up, boys and their toys, a whole new generation awaits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Not a boy racer, never have been, but shouldn't we be a little grateful to them. Isn't it because of boy racers that we have hot hatches and the likes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

in my town they used to park in the bus depot from 8 and stay till like 4 in morning while the rest of us went out to bars and socialised. Not criticising....just seemed a waste of time to me and an awful waste of petrol.
    How much does petrol cost in comparison with alcohol and which one are you marinating your internal organs in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I don't mind them showing off cars.
    No issue whatsoever with any of that aspect of it.

What's annoying is racing and dangerous driving on public roads.

No Pants wrote: »
    How much does petrol cost in comparison with alcohol and which one are you marinating your internal organs in?

Neither.....I don't drink alcohol....never have. I still go out most sat nights and have a great night out. I have many friends who do the same...so don't be slabbering on an Internet forum when you don't have a clue what your on about. Also as we all know petrol is very expensive...to fill up and run a high performance,modified car is extremely expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

Ah I hope it comes back there so funny, I know a chap that did up a 2000 fiat punto. Id say he put at least a grand into it, lowering it, body kit, rims, lights, exhaust the works. Its as slow as **** and I find it pretty ugly. He went to sell it there for 3grand with no success :D

djimi wrote: »
    Some might say that going out to a club to spend in excess of €50 on drink that serves no purpose other than to ensure that you wake up with a hangover is a waste of money. Each to their own!

I was never into the whole "boy racer" scene (I really hate the term boy racer btw as it is used to tar anyone with a performance car with the same brush), but it is my experience that lads who hang around car parks etc in their cars do so because they dont go out to pubs/clubs and dont spend their money on drink, but instead choose to spend their money on what they are into, ie their cars.

As I said I don't spend the money on drink and many many people go out for a night and don't drink and still have a great time. I also know people who go out and spend 50 and wake up the morning and be pro active....cycle,football etc....so as you say each to their own.

There is a danger element when I'm sure the minority of the boy racers decide to race....we all know it happens. As I said the minority but it happens and is very dangerous.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I don't mind them showing off cars.
    No issue whatsoever with any of that aspect of it.

Completely agree.....it happens and deaths have occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

As I said I don't spend the money on drink and many many people go out for a night and don't drink and still have a great time. I also know people who go out and spend 50 and wake up the morning and be pro active....cycle,football etc....so as you say each to their own.

There is a danger element when I'm sure the minority of the boy racers decide to race....we all know it happens. As I said the minority but it happens and is very dangerous.

Even if you dont drink, you will still end up spending something in the pub (I also dont drink, so I know full well that you are not going to sit there sipping water or drinking nothing all night), and Im not really sure how much petrol you think it costs to drive a car around a town/park in a car park for a few hours, but I can tell you I have never spent more money on petrol in a night than I would have done in a pub, even if I wasnt drinking.

And there is no need to take it personally; Im not aiming these comments at you (I obviously have no idea who you are or how you spend your spare time, so I have no idea why you are seemingly taking the replies so personally). There is a general irony about the people who mock lads for spending evenings in their cars when the reality is the majority of those who mock probably spent that same evening in a pub, spending many times on drink what it cost the lads to run their cars for the same time, and coming home with nothing other than a hangover and an empty wallet to show for it. Im speaking from experience here.

Its a social scene, same as Irelands drinking/pub going social culture. One group of people like to congregate in pubs, another like to hang around car parks in their cars. They are not too different.

As for the safety issue, I agree fully that there are a minority of dickheads who love to take the piss and race around like lunatics. There are also a minority of dickheads who have a skinfull of drink on a night out in the pub and then think its okay to drive home afterwards. No group of people are perfect, but like in all situations its the minority who often give the majority a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I agree. Everyone finds their own way on spending money.

I used to be at some of those carpark meets meets myself. In fairness 95% of the times Cars that were in those meets were cleaner, nicer, better looked after then any collection of cars from local Tescos or Lidl. Even if all those cars were generally 10-15 years older.
    Some of the coolest cars I sow in my life were in those carparks: Supras, GTRs, Cossies, Mad Subarus, ek9 with k20 engines etc, 320hp Glanza, 240hp 1.2 Punto.
    Same way people socialised in pubs, the same way people socialised in carparks. It was fun. Go around carpark, see nice cars, talk to owners, listen to advice.

I know we were all painted by same scumbag boyracer brush, but I did not care and I dont care now. Those were fun times back then and I met some amazing people, who were more intelligent, more skillfull and down to earth then Majority of monkeys that call themselves experts in cars.

Like any hobby, you would always had tools. General public sees one tool and surely that means that all other thousands are tools too.
    I was in events where people did Drag racing on public roads too. In their defence it was in the middle of the night with look outs on both ends. No one ever died, killed on injured anyone.
    I am not saying illegal drag racing is good, but feck all where everyone could go. Only some events, which were done once a month on the other side of the country. Thats of course another topic and even deeper can of worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭RedDeadMarshal

I guess it's coming back all right. Well in Dublin I still hear the odd fart can at 9 o'clock in the morning, But that's it nothing like back in 2008-2009 you would be sleeping in the middle of midnight and then wake up to the sound of v-TEC. It seemed as if the car was in front of your drive way it's so loud. I remember a lad who lived on my road. Had a r32 skyline gtst I think? and a bmw 318is or 316i coupe with an Msport bodykit all lowered but no fart can, except for the skyline. I see many young lads in a yaris, micras but most of all golfs, must be the new v-TEC civic with only 75bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Dunno which of you is the bigger boy racer, you or him...you may not have had the goods but you certainly talk like you acted like one and to think you have a daughter who's old enough to drive. Shouldn't you have had a bit more sense? Racing a teenager? Your as bad as he is/was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Some of the coolest cars I sow in my life were in those carparks: Supras, GTRs, Cossies, Mad Subarus, ek9 with k20 engines etc, 320hp Glanza, 240hp 1.2 Punto.

:confused::confused:

CJC999 wrote: »
    Dunno which of you is the bigger boy racer, you or him...you may not have had the goods but you certainly talk like you acted like one and to think you have a daughter who's old enough to drive. Shouldn't you have had a bit more sense? Racing a teenager? Your as bad as he is/was.

He was having a bit of crack. Jesus lay off the man. Props to him he probably teached that punk a lesson.

What age are you? Racing your daughter's boyfriend......you sound like a complete spide/chav. As another posted alluded too, if you think that's a good example to set to your own daughter and her boyfriend you are a disgrace and an unfit father. The whole boy racer thing seemed strange to me-in my town they used to park in the bus depot from 8 and stay till like 4 in morning while the rest of us went out to bars and socialised. Not criticising....just seemed a waste of time to me and an awful waste of petrol. It seemed to be very popular a few years back but seems to have died off. I remember the law used to be down checking their cars all the time and giving them a hard time!!!!!

Is that you Daddy?? :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

mb1725 wrote: »

missed out the decimal point. 24hp. It had a failed coil.

They aren't performance cars. That's the whole point. They drive bog standard 1.1's and THINK they're driving a performance cars because they tacked on some cheapo crap from Halfords.

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Not a boy racer, never have been, but shouldn't we be a little grateful to them. Isn't it because of boy racers that we have hot hatches and the likes?

Any proper hot hatches I've seen in Ireland are being driven by aul lads...

Neither.....I don't drink alcohol....never have. I still go out most sat nights and have a great night out. I have many friends who do the same...so don't be slabbering on an Internet forum when you don't have a clue what your on about. Also as we all know petrol is very expensive...to fill up and run a high performance,modified car is extremely expensive.

Are you long out of the Priesthood?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭wildcatares22

SpaceTime wrote: »

from my experience the above statement applies to all the big shot bmw, mercs and audis that blow ya off the road as they hurl past at autobahn speeds.

True that if you buy a bmw, Mercedes or audi you have to used it to the fullest. If you got a 3.0 or even 2.0 why not use it. I like those kind of people. They at least don't try to pretend in a 1.0 or 1.4 like the young pupils on the road. They have every right to drive like that, Hell even I give them a run for their money in my 2.2 d4d Toyota AUDI style (glued to their ass and flashin them lights at ya).

CJC999 wrote: »

Better, I won:pac::pac:

mb1725 wrote: »

It was one of those GT Punto with forged internals. Mad thing and ran like mad little yellow rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

I think it great to see the cars comin back again, I had to go diesel for 3 or 4 years cos of low funds and that but in the last year I've had a vzr pulsar, vti civic coupe, 98 spec type r integra, 96 evo 4 and Currently have a 95 mr2 turbo , much rather spend my money on nice cars than wastin it on drink fags and drugs like most people my age

Rice cars...

Well, what is not a BMW, Audi or VW is a RICE car these days. :rolleyes:

True true. At least they are proper performance cars ( the japs I mean)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

Never liked them 1.4i civics, used to love beating them in my old little jap 1.3 carbed eg. Made a lot of people unhappy :-P Went on to have a levin after that and then just lost interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I agree, there are plenty of 'boy racers' / 'girl racers' in their 50s driving large powerful 'exec' cars too.

I know it's only anecdotal evidence and personal experience, but I actually find that I am more shocked by drivers of that era than I am by younger drivers. I think perhaps they don't cause quite as many accidents due to their cars having better brakes and perhaps having more experience on the road, but I've seen some absolutely awful driving from middle-aged / 60-something drivers.

For example, I've never had a 'boy racer' drive up to my bumper at and try to drive me way beyond 100km/h on a narrow twisty road, but that's happened to me several times while in front of an 'aul fella' in a big car who knows his local roads and thinks you should do 140km/h on a boreen in the midlands somewhere.

I'm just saying that I don't have a problem with the tacky looking under lights, the music systems, the whole sub-sculture that goes with it. I only have an issue with dangerous driving, no matter who's doing it.

I think we need to be careful that we don't just brand a load of young guys (and some girls) as some kind of hoodlums much like the way teenagers with hoodies were getting tarred with the same brush in the UK in particular.

There's a big difference between a car enthusiast and a maniac driver.

I would actually say that some of the worst young drivers I've seen have been in suburban Cork behind the wheel of what appears to be daddy or mammy's powerful BMW or Merc basically joy riding.
    I always get a bit worried when I see 3 or 4 17/18 year olds in a what looks to be a very new, very powerful car that they clearly don't have any idea how to drive.

Quite scary to see a large, new BMW, Merc, Volvo etc spin its wheels when some kid floors it at traffic lights clearly having no idea just how powerful the machine he (or she) is in control of is!
    Parents really need to keep the car keys locked up a bit more securely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Neither.....I don't drink alcohol....never have. I still go out most sat nights and have a great night out. I have many friends who do the same...Also as we all know petrol is very expensive...to fill up and run a high performance,modified car is extremely expensive.
    You must have some mad nights out altogether, you and your friends going out almost every Saturday, hanging out in all the coolest bars and...not drinking. As much fun as a vegetarian conference in a butcher shop I'd say.

How much petrol do you think a car uses in a carpark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

I trashed him in a 105 hp diesel octavia ffs. All show and no go horrid little cars....

Lol no you didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

They've all graduated to ****e diesel VWs and tacky looking 3 series.

kona wrote: »
    Lol no you didn't

I did. He sulked for days. His car needed plugs needed a service blah blah blah. All it really needed was a driver.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

I did. He sulked for days. His car needed plugs needed a service blah blah blah. All it really needed was a driver.....

You just didn't beat a b16 civic in a 105hp ovtavia. maybe it was a 1.4 he had. I'd well believe it if it was a 1.4.

kona wrote: »
    You just didn't beat a b16 civic in a 105hp ovtavia. maybe it was a 1.4 he had. I'd well believe it if it was a 1.4.

Well according to the insurance assessors when he wrote it off later that summer and got his insurance cancelled. It was a 1 6. He's bumming around oz now, best place for him.