Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking outside house, illegal or not?

• 02-02-2014 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

Got notification my car was parked illegally today. Even tho it was outside my house. It's on a main road but with a wide path so it wasn't obstructing the path. We have two cars and the other was in the drive.

Rang up and he agreed it was parked illegal and said it's illegal to park on the path outside the house or not. I always thought once it's outside your house, not obstructing anything then it was fine?

Is this true? Where else do they purpose I park my car?

Thanks.
    Ste-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Just to clarify; you parked on the footpath?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Parking on the footpath is illegal. The fact it's outside your own house is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Ging Ging

FOOT -path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I don't know your house but if there is a spot for the car and grass as well, you will have to knock the wall and get rid of the grass and put concrete down, in order for a space for second car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

I don't know your house but if there is a spot for the car and grass as well, you will have to knock the wall and get rid of the grass and put concrete down, in order for a space for second car

Won't he need planning permission for the car park?

That's just making things difficult. He can't park on street. He has no other option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

just put yer hazards on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

I used to live on a busy road with only one path on one side of the road close to a train station. Sometimes the car park would get full and the odd car or two would park up on the path. Anyone with a pram or in a wheel chair could possibly be forced onto this busy road with fast cars depending on the width of their apparatus and the mindfulness and skill of the parking driver and how much space they believe isn't obstructing. One day this one car was parked up so badly and I was walking past a woman with a pram who I watched who had to go onto the road herself. Later that evening I came back home, the parked cars back window was completely smashed in. Not entirely sure how it happened, but I wondered did someone do it on purpose, probably I guess.

Then there's streets where there are no parking spaces on that particular street and it seems everyone parks up on the path and no one ever seems to get a ticket.

Do I like when cars park incorrectly, no. But if there's really really no place for the car to park correctly within walking distance then what?.. Is the question. However I doubt that's ever really the issue. People just prefer the easy way and it's more convenient to park on the footpath rather than a few minutes walk away in a legal way. So if you only ever got one fine that's probably a cheap price to pay for all that convenience so far right? :-)

I was in court once a few years ago, and there was a case before mine where a man and a woman parked their car on the foot path and woman went into shop or something. A man with a buggy came along and had to go on the road with pram and knocked on window of car to give out to them for parking on footpath man jumped out of car to fight the guy with the small child.(He was supposedly off work for being injured) of course judge was in favour of guy with pram.
    He even said so your off work injured but had no problem fighting. The man and woman were shocked in the court room they thought they were in the right to park where they wanted and go fighting. They even said the garda said this and that, judge said doesn't matter what guard said I'm telling you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Yes it was a footpath. So all the thousands of cars around Dublin parked on footpaths are illegal? The path in question is wide enough do no reason to go on the road.at all if passing. Where to park then in the meantime if the garden did get converted? Hazard lights not an option as it's overnight etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Deleted: Breach of forum charter -promoting illegal activity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Ste- wrote: »
    Yes it was a footpath. So all the thousands of cars around Dublin parked on footpaths are illegal? The path in question is wide enough do no reason to go on the road.at all if passing. Where to park then in the meantime if the garden did get converted? Hazard lights not an option as it's overnight etc.

How is anyone supposed to advise u on where to park? This is an anonymous forum - nobody here knows where u live!
    When I bought my house I made sure it suited my needs- one of which is off street parking for 2 cars. You should have done the same. You could move to more suitable accommodation I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭KAGY

if youre not blocking the footpath, I wonder what the legality of parking on the drive way part of the path is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

The poster who said put your hazards on was taking the p!ss!! Hazard lights are for emergencies only. The common misconception is that they give you freedom to park anywhere. They don't!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Riva10 wrote: »
    <snip>

Criminal damage is never an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Got notification my car was parked illegally today. Even tho it was outside my house. It's on a main road but with a wide path so it wasn't obstructing the path. We have two cars and the other was in the drive.

Rang up and he agreed it was parked illegal and said it's illegal to park on the path outside the house or not. I always thought once it's outside your house, not obstructing anything then it was fine?

Is this true? Where else do they purpose I park my car?

Thanks.
    Ste-

Don't park it on the footpath.

It was never allowed in the first place, you just got away with it up until now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

doesn't make any difference that it's out side your house. You may not park on footpath, not even one wheel on the kerb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Got notification my car was parked illegally today. Even tho it was outside my house. It's on a main road but with a wide path so it wasn't obstructing the path. ......-

do the deeds to your property extend onto the road ?

if not, then you dont have an automatic right to park / use that area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

KAGY wrote: »
    if youre not blocking the footpath, I wonder what the legality of parking on the drive way part of the path is?

Assuming you mean the people who have the rear of the car hanging out the driveway, That's illegal too. It's not part of the property, just a way to access the property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

What's wrong with parking on the road? It's OK to force pedestrians into danger but not OK to slow down traffic on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Quick question on this topic,what's the story in private estates? Who'd enforce this if a car causes an obstruction by being parked either on the road or the footpath? I know it's not meant to be done but seems like it's let slide in housing estates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I was wondering that too. Just park on the road outside your house.

If it's illegal then why aren't they enforcing it everywhere then. Just find it farcical that one road is picked on one day all of a sudden when around the corner exact same practice is ignored and everywhere else in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Del2005 wrote: »
    What's wrong with parking on the road? It's OK to force pedestrians into danger but not OK to slow down traffic on the road.

In some situations its a lesser of two evils mainly due to bad planning.

There are places in the Country that shouldn't have parking on them at all but its just not feasible to not have parking spaces there.

Some two way roads in Cork for example are only wide enough for one car due to legally parked vehicles on the road. This makes it dangerous for everyone imo since people become frustrated with having to negotiate these choke spots.

There's just too many cars, not enough alternative options (public transport) cycle lanes are put on the back foot IMO I haven't seen many safe cycle lanes in Ireland, sticking some markings on the road doesn't mean the road isn't shared with cars anymore.

Dusseldorf (Where I work) has turned into a mini Ireland of sorts, with a small City getting too big too quickly, parking problems were the first symptom, then issues for cyclists and pedestrians alike. However they are pouring a ton of money into Public Transport and park and ride facilities. They are letting the minor parking violations (like parking on the footpath) slide because they know people don't have an option in some cases as long as its not taking the p1ss. (i.e. leaving space for cars to get by and leaving space for pedestrians/cyclists to get by safely)

On the other hand some very mature cities that have stopped growing pretty much enforce every rule to the letter because they don't need to grow anymore.

The point is there's the strictly legal point of view and the common sense point of view.

If you get a fine then you don't do it anymore, if you p1ss off your neighbours then you don't do it anymore. If you don't get a fine and you annoy no one and its not dangerous then people do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If it's illegal then why aren't they enforcing it everywhere then. Just find it farcical that one road is picked on one day all of a sudden when around the corner exact same practice is ignored and everywhere else in the city.

Driving alone on a learners permit isn't legal either.

take your pick of many other things that aren't enforced. Doesn't make them legal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

From http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1969/en/si/0170.html#zzsi170y1969a7

Places where parking prohibited

9. (1) A vehicle shall not be parked on a public road in any of the following places—

(a) the roadway at a road junction together with the roadway within 15 feet of the junction,

(b) a stretch of roadway having less than three traffic lanes and having along its centre an authorised continuous white line or more than one such line,

(c) a footway, whether the vehicle is so parked wholly or partly.

(2) Paragraph (1) (b) shall not apply to a motor-cycle (or similar vehicle) without a sidecar.

(3) Paragraph (1) (c) shall not apply to a pedal cycle which does not interfere with the free movement of pedestrians on the footway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

The odd visitor or whatever parks illegally, but with some consideration, and a blind eye is turned. Then people get multiple cars and plonk them there every single day without the least consideration for anyone, someone complains, and action is taken. This seems a wise use of discretion on the part of the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Plenty of laws have a blind eye turned to them, but they are still laws and you cannot be surprised if you get done for breaking them. Its illegal to park on footpaths, end of story. If you got away with it until now then more power to you, but you cant honestly expect to get away with it forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,398 ✭✭✭markpb

In some situations its a lesser of two evils mainly due to bad planning.

I agree with the rest of your post but this is pure rubbish. Are you suggesting that the lesser evil is to put pedestrians at risk and inconvenience disabled people rather than make some people park slightly further from their house?

People are lazy, they prefer to park close to their house even if it's illegal. The lack of enforcement of this rule means people think it's the norm and acceptable. I didn't think anyone thought it was legal but this thread had taught me otherwise.

Likewise I thought it was legal. Also.only got a warning not a fine anyone else think that's weird? The conspiracy theorist in me is thinking they want to clear the road in order for the installation of water meters but that's another days work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Can the OP change the title to 'parking on footpath, illegal or not?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Likewise I thought it was legal. Also.only got a warning not a fine anyone else think that's weird? The conspiracy theorist in me is thinking they want to clear the road in order for the installation of water meters but that's another days work.

Pretty sure obstructing the work of the council would be another offence. They have a right to access and maintain water systems etc and its reasonable for you to accommodate them. Remember, these are the lads you call when your house is being flooded or without water. A little consideration goes a long way.