Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

********GW 24 Matchday Thread********

• 01-02-2014 7:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭

Balls deep on captain Giroud this week, hopefully the rocket up the arse my team needs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Start Hazard or Noone is my only decision. Any thoughts folks. Not so sure Hazard is fixture proof especially given Jose's likely tactics in this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

FHFC wrote: »
    Start Hazard or Noone is my only decision. Any thoughts folks. Not so sure Hazard is fixture proof especially given Jose's likely tactics in this one.

Hazard every day of the week

Citeh are still leaky at the back, could see him giving DeMac the runaround

Hazard every day of the week

Citeh are still leaky at the back, could see him giving DeMac the runaround

He scored 3, 2 &2 in his last 3 games v City. Not traditionally a player you can rely on in a big game.

FHFC wrote: »
    He scored 3, 2 &2 in his last 3 games v City. Not traditionally a player you can rely on in a big game.

I dunno, I just think he could get a lot of joy out of Demachelis and Kolarov/Clichy.

Can't see Jose parking the bus, he'll be buoyed by Aguero's absence and will have a right go.

Plus, on the counter attack, Chelsea are a far better team than Spurs so they'll fancy this and Hazard will be pivotal in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Boruc
    evans bardsley kos
    hazard silva lallana ozil
    suarez sturridge ade
    Ozils last game for me for a while, hoping for a nice double digit score as a send off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Needs more stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Boruc
    evans bardsley kos
    hazard silva lallana ozil
    suarez sturridge ade
    Ozils last game for me for a while, hoping for a nice double digit score as a send off.

I'm expecting a very hard game for Arsenal tbh. I think they could struggle. My team:

Boruc
    Bruce Mert Terry
    Hazard Yaya Lallana Mata
    Sturridge Suarez Ade

Mannone, Noone, Ward, Coleman

Not a great gameweek expected for me tbh. I can't see Terry or Bruce keeping clean sheets.

I also see the City Chelsea game as being very tight because I don't believe for a minute Jose will do anything more than park the bus. Lose and they will be six points behind City.

I'd prefer to have gone RVP rather than Sturridge but I'm not willing to take a hit when he's only back from injury. If he starts tearing it up I'll just move out an expensive defender.

Only two key leagues of mine still hang in the balance. In one, I was 40 points ahead and my opponents got it back to 20 when they wildcarded early. I gained 17 points on them though Wednesday night to go back to 37 points ahead. I'm hoping that knocks them for six.

In the other, I was near 40 points behind but gained 27 on my rival Wednesday night. I now lie just over ten behind (can't remember what exactly) so the hope now is to push on it due to my superior value.

At a value of over 113 million, I've 4 to 5 million on most of these opponents.

I'd happily end the season now though. At just under 2.5k in the world, chances are I'll go down rather than up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Chelsea to keep a clean sheet today!
    Half hope, half expectation.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I'm expecting a very hard game for Arsenal tbh. I think they could struggle. My team:

Boruc
    Bruce Mert Terry
    Hazard Yaya Lallana Mata
    Sturridge Suarez Ade

Mannone, Noone, Ward, Coleman

Not a great gameweek expected for me tbh. I can't see Terry or Bruce keeping clean sheets.

I also see the City Chelsea game as being very tight because I don't believe for a minute Jose will do anything more than park the bus. Lose and they will be six points behind City.
    It will be a tough game for arsenal still expect them to score 1 or 2 though. What do you think about rvp Im thinking of sturridge and ozil out for navas/eriksen and rvp with my two FTs next week.

PARlance wrote: »
    Chelsea to keep a clean sheet today!
    Half hope, half expectation.

Monday :p

Monday :p

They won't concede today... :)
    Can't believe I made one of those match day mistakes :(

2 hours sleep, little one up all night is my excuse

Cech
    Evans, Mert, Cahill
    Oscar, Silva, Lala, Ozil
    Sturr, RVP, Ade

Like every week from herein, with that team it could be a disaster or a great one.

It will be a tough game for arsenal still expect them to score 1 or 2 though. What do you think about rvp Im thinking of sturridge and ozil out for navas/eriksen and rvp with my two FTs next week.

Well he announced his arrival Tuesday night. I just edited my post to say I would of give with him over Sturrudge if I had the transfers.

I'm loathe to take hits tbh but I can see myself taking a -4 this week to take out an expensive defender and bring him in. I reckon Sturridge will only be in my team a week. I don't like having 2 strikers from one team.

Might even swap him for Benteke for next weekend.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Well he announced his arrival Tuesday night. I just edited my post to say I would of give with him over Sturrudge if I had the transfers.

I'm loathe to take hits tbh but I can see myself taking a -4 this week to take out an expensive defender and bring him in. I reckon Sturridge will only be in my team a week. I don't like having 2 strikers from one team.

Might even swap him for Benteke for next weekend.

Id 2 transfers this week and could have got rvp but would prefer to see how he goes today and what way they line up with mata, roo and rvp. Wouldnt be shocked either to see a role reversal of tues night with roo starting and rvp coming on for him on 60 odd mins.

More than a little bizarre that BT Sport opted for West Ham v Swansea over the Tyne/Wear derby from the 2 early kick offs today

Id 2 transfers this week and could have got rvp but would prefer to see how he goes today and what way they line up with mata, roo and rvp. Wouldnt be shocked either to see a role reversal of tues night with roo starting and rvp coming on for him on 60 odd mins.

I think Moyes will be aiming to get both lads back to fitness with the CL coming up tbh. As several have said, Rooney may now drop back deeper because they can't have a defender and 40 year old in central midfield every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

KevIRL wrote: »
    More than a little bizarre that BT Sport opted for West Ham v Swansea over the Tyne/Wear derby from the 2 early kick offs today

almost as bizarre as their choice to make us listen to michael owen for 90 minutes!!!

but yeah very strange decision, when i seen the newcastle game was on at 12:45 i assumed it was on tv. i doubt pubs will be packed to the rafters with people making their way on their lunchbreak to catch a glimpse of west ham and swansea. no 5:30 prem game on sky today either.

Hogey007 wrote: »
    almost as bizarre as their choice to make us listen to michael owen for 90 minutes!!!

but yeah very strange decision, when i seen the newcastle game was on at 12:45 i assumed it was on tv. i doubt pubs will be packed to the rafters with people making their way on their lunchbreak to catch a glimpse of west ham and swansea. no 5:30 prem game on sky today either.

Sky being smart enough with no 5.30 game today though. England v France on in the rugby starting at 5, thats a huge game. Better to have the big soccer match on Monday with no competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

My team for the weekend:

Mannone
    Azpilicueta-Koscielny-Williamson-Collins
    Mata-Hazard-Lallana
    Suarez(c)-Sturridge-Adebayor

Only worry is all 6 attacking players playing away from home. Really fancy a 0-0 in the Tyne Wear and in the Etihad, would take both no problem at all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

benched parker at home to southampton over sterling. easy decision to make given liverpool and sterling's form, would have liked to have included parker for this game but just couldn't drop anyone else
    marshall

sagna - bruce - shaw

hazard - toure - mata - sterling

giroud (vc) - Sturridge - Suarez (c)

subs - mannone - parker - mariappa - coleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Adrian
    Evans, Sagna, M.Olsson, Azpilicueta
    Hazard, Lalllana, Mata
    Suarez, Sturridge, Adebayor

Speroni, B.Johnson, Gabbidon, Ramsey

Still mulling a -4 to bring Yaya in for Ramsey. He would start in place of Azpilicueta.

Edit - Decided not to take the hit. I figure this will be a low-scoring GW so I'd rather start it from 0 than -4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Despite making three changes and taking a -4, I'm still forced into playing Ward away at Arsenal. My whole backline is from that game, 0-0 please! Bit of a toss up to play either Marshall or Mannone, but despite Cardiff's record will probably stick with the home keeper.
    Marshall
    Sagna Mert Ward
    Mata Ozil Hazard Lallana
    Suarez(c) Sturridge Adebayor

Would be happy enough to stick in the same position in the global league this week after having to take a 4 point hit. Need Liverpool, City and Southampton to concede, or at least two of the three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Only decision left is to start Oscar or Januzaj. I expected a 2 pointer from Oscar because Jose will undoubtedly park the bus, but I can't be certain whether AJ will start or not.

roryc wrote: »
    Despite making three changes and taking a -4, I'm still forced into playing Ward away at Arsenal. My whole backline is from that game, 0-0 please! Bit of a toss up to play either Marshall or Mannone, but despite Cardiff's record will probably stick with the home keeper.
    Marshall
    Sagna Mert Ward
    Mata Ozil Hazard Lallana
    Suarez(c) Sturridge Adebayor

Would be happy enough to stick in the same position in the global league this week after having to take a 4 point hit. Need Liverpool, City and Southampton to concede, or at least two of the three.

My only worry is having to play Speroni at Arsenal. But in opting for the Speroni/McGregor Gk rotation this was always a sticky week regardless of the red card.

Speroni
    Kos Sagna Yoshida
    Hazard Mata Cazorla Lallana
    Benteke RVP Suarez (c)

Probably last week of the double Arsenal defence.

Hoping for a solid if unspectacular week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭G1032

Boruc
    Baines, Koscienly, Azpil
    Hazard, Silva, Mata, Lallana
    Suarez(c), Adebayor, Sturridge

Electing another poor week but you never know with this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

To play Mannone or Marshall...

To get Sturridge or not at a 4 pts hit (couldn't make a decision last night...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭remoteboy

Great run of green arrows halted last week. Wildcarding upset the balance. Ended on 63. Hoping for a better run this weekend. Not expecting anything from defence. Coleman injured so only option is Baker.

Mannone
    Kos Cahill Mariappa
    Mata Hazard Johnson Yaya
    Suarez(c) Ade Dzeko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Anyone think de Jong will play today for Newcastle?

Adebayor or Dzeko lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Sczcesny
    Cahill, Mert, Bennett
    Mata, Yaya, Hazard, Eriksen
    Suarez(c), Ade, Sturridge

Not feeling that confident about the team, could go either way.

HighClass wrote: »
    Sczcesny
    Cahill, Mert, Bennett
    Mata, Yaya, Hazard, Eriksen
    Suarez(c), Ade, Sturridge

Not feeling that confident about the team, could go either way.

I think it looks a great team, very strong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Adrian or Mannone?

iroced wrote: »
    To play Mannone or Marshall...

To get Sturridge or not at a 4 pts hit (couldn't make a decision last night...)

I had the same dilemma's. Went for Marshall as he's the home keeper (and I'm off out shortly to watch the early kick off with some avid Toon fans so can't really be seen to be cheering on a Sunderland CS!)

Also got Sturridge at -4.

irish son wrote: »
    Adrian or Mannone?

Adrian I think.

Derby game for Sunderland Anything could happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

knee deep in arsenal here

szec
    sagna kos baines
    erik gerrard lallana mat
    jrod ade suar

benched
    yaya for the first time
    kolorov
    bennett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

Only decision left is to start Oscar or Januzaj. I expected a 2 pointer from Oscar because Jose will undoubtedly park the bus, but I can't be certain whether AJ will start or not.

Really can't see Janujaz starting away to Stoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭remoteboy

Feck it. Swapped Mariappa for Baker.

Benching Yaya is very silly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

roryc wrote: »
    I had the same dilemma's. Went for Marshall as he's the home keeper (and I'm off out shortly to watch the early kick off with some avid Toon fans so can't really be seen to be cheering on a Sunderland CS!)

Also got Sturridge at -4.

Finally gave in. Very annoyed of my hesitations yesterday night when I confirmed my transfer the price had just changed :rolleyes:... Realised I could have made a very quick £0.1m profit on Sturridge. I have an eye on Bentekke for the next 4 fixtures. Ah to hell with it. Hopefully my first try of the SAS combo will be as benefitial as it was for others earlier in the season.

Hoping Bardsley starts today, otherwise I'm down to 10 players!

Szcz
    Kos Bardsley Terry
    Hazard Johnson Yaya Lallana
    Suarez (c) Benteke Rodriguez

Davis Livermore Chester Coleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

Bought and captained RVP :O great record against stoke. Was gonna captain suarez again but I've a feeling himself and Lugano are gonna get very niggly.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

............Cech............

Baines.....Koscielny........Clyne

Yaya.....Mata.....Cazorla....Lallana

Suarez.....Sturridge.....Negredo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Made a last minute decision to bring in Giroud,despite Palace having improved I can see Arsenal getting 3 or 4 against them.I don't think I'll be matching my average of 69 over the past few weeks but this game always surprises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

carraig2 wrote: »
    I think it looks a great team, very strong

Looks good on paper, those are the type of teams that usually let me down though :o

HighClass wrote: »
    Looks good on paper, those are the type of teams that usually let me down though :o

That's true enough about the strong on paper teams not always delivering. I bought J Rod instead of Dzeko or Ade.
    Am now sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

hope janusaz is back in the team!

NUFC v @SAFCofficial (4-3-3): Krul; Debuchy, Williamson, S.Taylor, Santon; Tiote (c), Sissoko, Anita; Ben Arfa, Shola Ameobi, Sammy Ameobi.

#NUFC subs v @SAFCofficial: Elliot, Dummett, Haidara, Yanga-Mbiwa, Marveaux, Armstrong, de Jong

West Ham Adrian, McCartney, Nolan (c), Tomkins, Jarvis, Carroll, Taylor, Noble, Collins, Demel, Downing

Sunderland Mannone, Bardsley, Alonso, Brown, O'Shea (c), Bridcutt, Colback, Ki, Johnson, Borini, Altidore.

SWANS: Tremmel, Tiendalli, Chico, Williams (c), Davies, Amat, de Guzman, Shelvey, Dyer, Routledge, Bony.

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What are BT playing at showing West Ham Swansea instead of the Newcastle Sunderland game.

Newcastle game was originally scheduled for 3pm but moved to an early kick off late on by the local constabulary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,470 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

come on Big Andy, you big lump!