Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raglan Road

• 30-01-2014 8:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭

Luke Kelly is dead 30 years today.

http://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0130/500946-luke-kelly-died-30-years-today/

He gave us one of the most beautiful songs ever written and sung. Its one of my favourite songs and anytime when I hear it for the first time in a long time, it gives me chills.

I think at times we get caught up too much in the present which at times can be dour and we forget how beautiful this island actually is and the great artists, poets and musicians that this country has produced. For our population we are punching well above our weight in this category and its something to be very proud of.

What are your favourite Irish artists of past and present?

That song gives me goosebumps every time.

Truly beautiful, the sentiments are timeless for those of us who've loved and lost in the past.

Written by Patrick Kavanagh, who's immortalised in the statue along the canal on Mespil Road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Wonderful use of the song in "In Bruges".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Old Patrick Kavanagh was a bit of a pervert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The air is The Dawning of the Day which lots of people will recognise as their first tune on the tin whistle. It's not the best fit to the poem, especially if you listen to the song at 2 minutes "I gave her gifts of the mind" etc. There is another song recorded by John McCormack to that air with a much easier scan on the ear.

I like the Luke Kelly version but I heard a version on the radio once by Cathal McConnell from the Boys of the Lough which was brilliant as well. I can't find it anywhere on the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Thanks for the legacy of music and memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

Hazys wrote: »
    Luke Kelly is dead 30 years today.

http://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0130/500946-luke-kelly-died-30-years-today/

He gave us one of the most beautiful songs ever written and sung. Its one of my favourite songs and anytime when I hear it for the first time in a long time, it gives me chills.

I think at times we get caught up too much in the present which at times can be dour and we forget how beautiful this island actually is and the great artists, poets and musicians that this country has produced. For our population we are punching well above our weight in this category and its something to be very proud of.

What are your favourite Irish artists of past and present?

When my baby was only a few weeks old, if she wouldn't stop crying, my dad would bring her out in the car and put on luke kelly.

To this day, if she's crying and she hears the first few notes of Raglan road coming from you, she stops crying and just listens. It's guaranteed to get her to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

For What Died the Sons of Róisín, was it fame
    For what flowed Irelands blood in rivers,
    That began when Brian chased the Dane,
    And did not cease nor has not ceased,
    With the brave sons of ´16,
    For what died the sons of Róisín, was it fame
    For What Died the Sons of Róisín, was it greed
    Was it greed that drove Wolfe Tone to a paupers death in a cell of cold wet stone?
    Will German, French or Dutch inscribe the epitaph of Emmet?
    When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it.

To whom do we owe our allegiance today
    To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
    Her sons at home to work and sing,
    Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
    Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
    Betray her to the highest bidder,

For what suffer our patriots today
    They have a language problem, so they say,
    How to write "No Trespass" must grieve their heart full sore,
    We got rid of one strange language now we are faced with many, many more,
    For what suffer our patriots today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Theres just something about the way he Delivers Raglan Road that can never be equalled - remember that George whats his face chap, he lasted long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Love Raglan Road as much as the next man, but he didn't write it so should we really be giving him credit? Granted his version is the definitive one, but I would honour the author of the words far more than the singer.

When Liam Gallagher dies will people be commending him for Live Forever?

Edit: Of course RIP to Luke. His legacy is not to be tarnished, just always wondered the above about Raglan Road more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

For what flowed Irelands blood in rivers,
    That began when Brian chased the Dane,
    And did not cease nor has not ceased,
    With the brave sons of ´16,
    For what died the sons of Róisín, was it fame
    Was it greed that drove Wolfe Tone to a paupers death in a cell of cold wet stone?
    Will German, French or Dutch inscribe the epitaph of Emmet?
    When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it.

To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
    Her sons at home to work and sing,
    Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
    Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
    Betray her to the highest bidder,

They have a language problem, so they say,
    How to write "No Trespass" must grieve their heart full sore,
    We got rid of one strange language now we are faced with many, many more,
    For what suffer our patriots today.

Me thinks the bold Luke could see into the future when he wrote that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Did you know that the woman about whom the poem/song is written is Dido's grand aunt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

niallo24 wrote: »
    Love Raglan Road as much as the next man, but he didn't write it so should we really be giving him credit? Granted his version is the definitive one, but I would honour the author of the words far more than the singer.

When Liam Gallagher dies will people be commending him for Live Forever?

Edit: Of course RIP to Luke. His legacy is not to be tarnished, just always wondered the above about Raglan Road more than anything.

Why not commend both the lyricist and the singer of a song?
    It's a beautiful poem by Patrick Kavanagh, but Luke Kelly's delivery gives it a unique dimension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Another favourite of mine from Luke and the Dubliners:

When i was looking for that i came across this cool version by a very young looking Glen Hansard:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Think I read somewhere that Lukes father was shot dead by British soldiers on bachelors walk after Erskine Childers landed the guns in Howth,does the dates work out or was it his grandfather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

tipptom wrote: »
    Think I read somewhere that Lukes father was shot dead by British soldiers on bachelors walk after Erskine Childers landed the guns in Howth,does the dates work out or was it his grandfather?

it would have to be grandfather if true

Luke died in the eighties and was only 43 so hid Dad would have to have been alive in the 1940s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

loubian wrote: »
    When my baby was only a few weeks old, if she wouldn't stop crying, my dad would bring her out in the car and put on luke kelly.

To this day, if she's crying and she hears the first few notes of Raglan road coming from you, she stops crying and just listens. It's guaranteed to get her to sleep.

My dad used to sing it to me when I was a baby, it was one of his favourite songs. We played it at his funeral and it was the first time I cried after his death. A powerful song that evokes stong memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Arthur Rimbaud

tipptom wrote: »
    Yes it was LK's father, but he was only injured.

Luke Kelly senior was an 8 year old boy when he was wounded by the British Army, and was living in a one room flat in a tenement building, with six family members. While he was not musically inclined himself, you can imagine how this must have informed his son's political outlook.

Yes it was LK's father, but he was only injured.

Luke Kelly senior was an 8 year old boy when he was wounded by the British Army, and was living in a one room flat in a tenement building, with six family members. While he was not musically inclined himself, you can imagine how this must have informed his son's political outlook.
    Thanks Arthur,had the story nearly right but for my minor detail about him being shot dead!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

loubian wrote: »

Has the same effect on me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

was he stalking her?? peeping through the bushes??

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Worse than that,he was a cantankerous old git as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

cml387 wrote: »
    Did you know that the woman about whom the poem/song is written is Dido's grand aunt?

That's not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

These two would bring a tear to a glass eye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

fryup wrote: »
    was he stalking her?? peeping through the bushes??
    He followed Hilda Moriarty (she was around 19/20 I think, at the time), the song's subject, to Kerry for Christmas and stayed in a B&B up the road. He hadn't been invited. :pac:

But I love Paddy Kavanagh.

Il Trap wrote: »
    He followed Hilda Moriarty (she was around 19/20 I think, at the time), the song's subject, to Kerry for Christmas and stayed in a B&B up the road. He hadn't been invited. :pac:

But I love Paddy Kavanagh.
    Meh,a mild bit of stalking perhaps,probably would have been counted as strong bit of courting at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

The poem/song was very loosely a rewrite of the old Irish song "Fáinne Geal an lae". The imagery is different but has the same basic theme, the lover lusting after an unavailable beautiful girl. The setting is moved from a rural idyll near Loch Léin to a contemporary urban background.

There was also an English language version of the song which Kavanagh would have heard.

The Dubliners also recorded the older song - Seán Cannon singing:

Just found the English version of the older song sung by John McCormack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Lately we've had proposals for a statue of Stephen Gatley and Nelson Mandella for Dublin, where's the statue for Luke?

It seems like a silly oversight for Dublin not to celebrate one of it's most iconic characters and greatest artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

My fav rendition of this song:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Luke's niece is a friend of mine and when she got married a few years ago the traditional Irish music played at the afters was nothing short of brilliant . The bride herself playing the fiddle and her dad (Luke's brother) singing made it the best wedding I've been to. The talent in the whole family is remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Hello Lady!

lukesmom wrote: »
    Luke's niece is a friend of mine and when she got married a few years ago the traditional Irish music played at the afters was nothing short of brilliant . The bride herself playing the fiddle and her dad (Luke's brother) singing made it the best wedding I've been to. The talent in the whole family is remarkable.

I know who you're talking about and even on a normal day in their house the music was flowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

My ma by the sink peeling vegetables for dinner

Why are you crying ma?
    Poor aul Luke is dead
    <sniff/cry a bit>
    He was a great singer

Who was he ma?

dasdog wrote: »
    My ma by the sink peeling vegetables for dinner

Why are you crying ma?
    Poor aul Luke is dead
    <sniff/cry a bit>
    He was a great singer

Who was he ma?

and your age at the time? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

conorhal wrote: »
    Lately we've had proposals for a statue of Stephen Gatley and Nelson Mandella for Dublin, where's the statue for Luke?

It seems like a silly oversight for Dublin not to celebrate one of it's most iconic characters and greatest artists.

We have the Luke Kelly Bridge over the Tolka down near Ballybough but its a horrible, impersonal piece of architecture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

conorhal wrote: »

the establishment in this country were no fans of Luke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Luke Kelly is the Voice of Ireland. That show on RTE on Sunday nights can stop searching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

Hazys wrote: »
    For our population we are punching well above our weight in this category and its something to be very proud of.

Every country thinks it punches well above its weight in this category - because people know a far greater proportion of their own artists than those from any other country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto