Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the most under powered car you drove

• 30-01-2014 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

just wondering most under powered car you ever drove. can be a big car that just had no guts.
    I think mine was a 1.4 petrol skoda octavia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ford fusion, a rental one in France. Think it was 1.4 diesel. You could drive it, or have the air-con on, but not enough power to do both at the same time............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Like OP my first car was a 1.4 ta via.

Drove a 1.9 straight daysul berlingo for about and it made the octy look like a supercar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Mazda 3, 1.4 petrol....everyone said get the 1.6, I thought I'd be saving money on fuel..wrong, it had to always rev really high to go at any kind of acceptable speed, overtaking was a bitch in that car too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A friend of mine has an old 900cc Micra with automatic transmission. I drove it a couple of times and could not stop laughing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

Had A Simca 1100 way back when... Wouldn't pull a soldier off my sister!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Was thinkin of getting a Opel vectra 06 and drove one last week. 1.6 and fcuk all power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I once owned a MK1 Golf days and Christ was it slow after a 20 minute drive it lost all power and you had to pull in for a while and then off again..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

A Polish car called the Polonez. It was said to be a 1.9 diesel but it drove like a 1.1 Micra.
    Safe as houses though, sure it's just a big hunk of metal:

Polish cops even had them as Police cars......but they have Kias now....saying nothing.

Policja-02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Mine was a Mk2 Golf 1.6 diesel. It was dog slow, but still too fast for my level of maturity at the time - after one four wheel drift too many, I put it into a tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Dahaitsu Charade 1.0 diesel. 1.0, yes really.

The 1.4 Focus I had a few years ago was an absolute pig too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

00 avensis 1.6 petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Nissan Serena 2.3d, needed planning permission to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

my old 1.9 octavia before the turbo was cleaned/fixed....foot to the floor 90kph in 5th at a push...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

A one point something Ford Escort MK VI belonged to my uncle whilst he was checking something on my van at the time. I had work in Cork and on the way there, tried to v-max it but ran out of interest before I got to the end of the slip road onto the motorway. I was doing a massive 68MPH despite trying to find the limiter in each gear. Shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

1.4l Golf. Shed of a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Drove my uncles first gen kia Cee'd, I think it was the 1.4 litre one...that was horrible, really, really under powered, like to the point where I was having trouble getting to the speed limit on the on ramps, and driving at the speed limit on motorways engine was quiet high on the rev's so made the cabin quiet noisy and not a nice place to be for any extended period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

had a Citroën 2cv back in the 80"s slow but fun great for driving in Dublin exploiting the gaps in traffic. oh and going around corners with 45 degrees of lean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

bazz26 wrote: »

And yet this (or similar) is what was chosen as get away vehicle from a bank robbery yesterday not forgetting they were also pulling a trailer that contained an ATM machine. Im sure a garda on a bicycle would have kept up with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 mbyrnes

Had a old Daihatsu Charade 1.0L diesel back in the early '90's. Was afraid to to take it on the motorway in case it wouldn't make the minimum speed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

08 corsa 1.0 petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I drove a Lada (Riva I think) which belonged to a mate, wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

B-max 1.6 turbo diesel mint to have the power of a 2 liter, a 1 liter micra would **** it off the road

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Another one for the 3 cylinder Daihatsu Charade, I'm embarrassed just thinking about it :o couldn't pull it's own weight and definitely couldn't pull a bird :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

Corsa b, 993cc
    Accelerator was a volume adjuster mainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

Almost new 2010 Clio E85 flexifuel

It had a cammy 16V 1.1L or something and never felt like it was pulling unless you revved the tits off it. Completely inappropriate state of tune.

By comparison a FIAT 1.2L 8v develops max torque at something like 2500RPM so doesn't need its neck wringing just to get up to 40MPH on a trip down the shops. Ideal for a small city car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

I drove some sort of an Opel Corsa 1.3 eco (I think) rental in Italy a few years ago... jaysus you needed a push to get over a speed bump. And I've driven some underpowered cr*p in my day (the latest being the wife's 1.6 passat - scheeeesh -)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

1 litre corsa, stuck in traffic in westport one day with two adults plus me,and it would not go up the hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

1.2 L Corsa last year, the new model. Could not get over how slow this car was for a petrol and not a very heavy car either. Found it actually dangerous at junctions, pulling off it was so slow. Thought there was something wrong with it to be honest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

1.0 Mk3 Seat Ibiza 50bhp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

1974 VW Camper. 50hp when new...considerably less now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

opel astra, dire piece of junk......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

a 1.8L non-turbo diesel Ford Escort, it was a 1995 or 96 model, horrible horrible car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Charade for me too. And a Daf 44 Combi with 44bhp (allegedly)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Laguna II 1.6

Very slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

East German Trabant, although probably no slower than some of the cars already mentioned. They really are a horrible thing to drive for any more than 10 or 15 minutes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Peugeot 205 1.1. And a beetle. Both horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Pre-Lci E90 316i - shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

I think the issue hear is that we can expect certain cars to be slow, such as 1 litre yokes, but a number of mid sized cars are extraordinarily disappointing...

Mark II Ford Focus 1.4 petrol (worse than I expected)
    Avensis 1.6 petrol (shockingly bad)
    VW Golf/Bora 1.4 petrol

...but there is nothing like the old-skool non-turbo diesels to really describe being underpowered...

Opel Ascona 1.6D
    Opel Rekord 2.3D
    VW Golf/Jetta 1.6D

...you'd see glaciers overtaking you...

The 1.6 avensis is not that underpowered. It is lively compared to the likes of a 1.6 vectra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

b318isp wrote: »
    I think the issue hear is that we can expect certain cars to be slow, such as 1 litre yokes, but a number of mid sized cars are extraordinarily disappointing...

Mark II Ford Focus 1.4 petrol (worse than I expected)
    Avensis 1.6 petrol (shockingly bad)
    VW Golf/Bora 1.4 petrol

...but there is nothing like the old-skool non-turbo diesels to really describe being underpowered...

Opel Ascona 1.6D
    Opel Rekord 2.3D
    VW Golf/Jetta 1.6D

...you'd see glaciers overtaking you...

But of course there is also the phenomenon of really underpowered cars that feel a lot faster than they are. The Mini 850 and a Hillman Imp ,(the drum brake ones) 60mph in either feels like 90!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

The 1.6 avensis is not that underpowered. It is lively compared to the likes of a 1.6 vectra.

Not in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

1.6 FSI Passat. Slow and bellowed at revs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Mk4 Golf with the 1.9 SDI engine. That's a heavy car with only 68hp.

Actually a horse would have been a better option.

b318isp wrote: »
    Not in my experience.

You, me outside now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

My first car was a 1986 Fiat Uno 45s... just like this bad boy:

Fiat-Uno-45-S-i-e-SG-xpT2.jpg

It wouldn't pull me out of bed in the morning. 44BHP (yes, you read it right) Claimed top speed of 87mph. Yeah, right... it would start to shake apart if the needle approached 70mph. A truly frightening experience.

On the plus side, it was an environmentalists dream car because it slowly disintegrated as the bodywork dissolved around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Lofty123

bazz26 wrote: »

Slightly off topic, but this was also the most uncomfortable vehicle I've ever driven. Drove a brand new one as a Taxi, after a twelve hour shift my backside was numb and every bone in my body ached. Also numerous drunks had their hands/fingers caught in the sliding door, what a brilliant design! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The father has a 1.2 Seat Cordoba it's horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Renault 4 van belonged to a friend.

I was driving it home to Dublin for him from Navan, flat out at 45mph in 4th gear. We came to a tiny little rise in the road, too small to call a hill, and had to rrop it down into 3rd gear just to stay over 40mph.

He used to have to cover the whole Country in that van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Superdedupity

957 Mk 1 or 2 Fester, had both. You know youre a certain age when you can recall the distinctive noise they made...I had a Mk2 when I was 18, slow enough, fitted an xr2 bodykit with 15" rs wheels , thought I looked the bomb, literally was overtaken by 50cc scooters.

Its amazing what passed as acceptable power only 15 yrs ago, cant believe the sort of cars that are being described as woeful and a lot of people seem to have had models that needed repair rather than an inherent fault. Fair enough, a 1.6 Avensis is no rocket, but its the Starship Enterprise compared to what came before:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Superdedupity

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    My first car was a 1986 Fiat Uno 45s... just like this bad boy:

Fiat-Uno-45-S-i-e-SG-xpT2.jpg

It wouldn't pull me out of bed in the morning. 44BHP (yes, you read it right) Claimed top speed of 87mph. Yeah, right... it would start to shake apart if the needle approached 70mph. A truly frightening experience.

On the plus side, it was an environmentalists dream car because it slowly disintegrated as the bodywork dissolved around me.

yeah the 999 fire engine was where it was at:D