Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking a man day

• 30-01-2014 11:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭

Onc3 or twice a year I like to take a 'man day' where I call into work sick but still leave to go to work as normal. Its a day of freedom where you can do what ever you like! I normally do it at the end of my very busy first quarter because everything else, ie hobbies, kind of gets out on the back burner and and before my busy last quarter.

Iv gone cinema, go karting, surfing, hunting and clay pigeon shooting on different occasions!!

Anyone else ever take man days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

What makes that a man day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

In what branch of the civil service are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Every day is a Man-Day. Ugh-Ugh-Uuuuuggghhhh!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I take a couple of 'man day's off a week, I call them the weekend.....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I dream about it but have never actually gone through with it. I think having to keep up the lies to both sides would just ruin the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Or else you could take a holiday and not leech sick days

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Could you not just use a day from your annual leave? It's what they are for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

aaakev wrote: »
    Iv gone cinema, go karting, surfing, hunting and clay pigeon shooting on different occasions!!

WHOAAAAA BODYFORM..............BODYFORM FOR YOUuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Did you ever join a parade and sing twist and shout that's a day off!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Well according to this eejit you're a sad git��

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057137148

I like to take a man-week, every 6 to 8 weeks I throw the dog in the car, leave the family at home and head down South for a few days fishing, hill walking and a few pints in the evening. Always come back refreshed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

I probably take one a year, although it has been quite a while.

My finest was about 5 years ago. Was on the bus in to work on a gloriously sunny day, think it was around Paddy's day time, and for a few weeks I'd been thinking about getting new rollerblades. Was a massive skater when I was a kid and played a lot of hockey, and I missed it.

Got off the bus early, went to a skate shop and spunked a few hundred quid on a pair of beauties. Got the bus home, made the call to work, then went for a mammoth skate out to Clontarf. I was so happy with myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I've done this but I have a vagina, worried about what I should be calling these days?

Coz up til now, "zero fucks shall be given" days has sufficed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I work nights in a bar, so I don't take time off very much, but tomorrow I'm taking a weekend away with one of my friends to Liverpool for a full weekend of carousing. It's be 18 months since I've had a weekend to myself, so I can't fookin wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

maximoose wrote: »
    I probably take one a year, although it has been quite a while.

My finest was about 5 years ago. Was on the bus in to work on a gloriously sunny day, think it was around Paddy's day time, and for a few weeks I'd been thinking about getting new rollerblades. Was a massive skater when I was a kid and played a lot of hockey, and I missed it.

Got off the bus early, went to a skate shop and spunked a few hundred quid on a pair of beauties. Got the bus home, made the call to work, then went for a mammoth skate out to Clontarf. I was so happy with myself :)
    keith16 wrote: »
    WHOAAAAA BODYFORM..............BODYFORM FOR YOUuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Yeah but then I came home and chopped down a tree, fired a pistol, grew a beard and then kicked a dog to balance it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Round here we call them P45 days.

As in you'll be getting yours in the post if you pull a stunt like that on my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭rivalius13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

Links234 wrote: »

Changing out of pyjamas and not watching true movies to make him cry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Onc3 or twice a year I like to take a 'man day' where I call into work sick but still leave to go to work as normal. Its a day of freedom where you can do what ever you like! I normally do it at the end of my very busy first quarter because everything else, ie hobbies, kind of gets out on the back burner and and before my busy last quarter.

Links234 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

It's not really gender specific... and to people under 18 it's known as "going on the mitch" - funnily enough most people who can afford to do this, are still in school, time to grow up OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Nope, I have a conscience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Glad to read you did these things on different occasions. I would be some feat to accomplish them all at the same time !

By the way, are you a staunch follower of the United Orthodox Jewish Free Presbytarian Church OP that rules out doing these activities at the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Nope, I have a conscience.

The company which employs you doesn't. So I wouldn't worry about them. Worry about other employees maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Or else you could take a holiday and not leech sick days
    Could you not just use a day from your annual leave? It's what they are for.

Never pulled a sicky ever no? Everything you do is 100% upright and honest. I hope to god you are not posting this on a work computer or on work time. Otherwsie that would make you leeches as well.

I have a man weekend once or twice a year where I head down to West Cork, sometimes on my own, others with a few buddies. No lady prattle to annoy em all weekend and its great.

Herself does similar. Its good to recharge with some solitary eating and drinking and lazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

gramar wrote: »

One that knows not to do that to a sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

very apt username

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

2 sick days every year? that's 20 more than I've had in the last 10 years. . .perhaps that's why the hair is thinning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

fantastic idea OP

Fook the haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Do you know so little about the civil service that you think there workload changes around quarters?

This man clearly works in the private sector but the idea that someone in the private sector would take a sicky doesn't suit your agenda. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

beks101 wrote: »
    I've done this but I have a vagina, worried about what I should be calling these days?
    A snatched day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

If you were taking a man day then go to fcuking work like a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Lapin wrote: »
    Glad to read you did these things on different occasions. I would be some feat to accomplish them all at the same time !

By the way, are you a staunch follower of the United Orthodox Jewish Free Presbytarian Church OP that rules out doing these activities at the weekend?
    I do these things on the weekend but around the 1st and last quarter I dont have time to do them because of work. I work long hours and am contactable all evening and weekend. Weekends I spend with my partner and 2 kids! Im lucky if I get 3 hours a week in the gym this time of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

As in you'll be getting yours in the post if you pull a stunt like that on my time.

If I made you as much money as I do for my boss you wouldnt begrudge me a sick day or two!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Ficheall wrote: »
    A snatched day?

Boxing Day, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Yeah - it's called The Cheltenham Festival :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

stoneill wrote: »
    If you were taking a man day then go to fcuking work like a man!

Or just take a legitimate day off and do whatever you want.

They're your annual leave days, use a few for yourself every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

I usually pull a sickie once every two months sometimes just a day sometimes two. The back is a great excuse for it. Usually just catch up on house work DIY etc.. although nice to relax sometimes. Not in PS btw lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

jimgoose wrote: »
    Every day is a Man-Day. Ugh-Ugh-Uuuuuggghhhh!! :cool:

Tim the tool man Taylor fan huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Bacon and Cabbage

roadsmart wrote: »
    I like to take a man-week, every 6 to 8 weeks

That seems awfully frequent...

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Tim the tool man Taylor fan huh?

Oh yeah. :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

gimmick wrote: »
    Never pulled a sicky ever no? Everything you do is 100% upright and honest. I hope to god you are not posting this on a work computer or on work time. Otherwsie that would make you leeches as well.

I have a man weekend once or twice a year where I head down to West Cork, sometimes on my own, others with a few buddies. No lady prattle to annoy em all weekend and its great.

Herself does similar. Its good to recharge with some solitary eating and drinking and lazing.

You don't get breaks?

I think the idea is not to tell anyone at work that you are off enjoying yourself rather than being at home sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Bueller...Bueller...Bueller

Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Why not , nobody will turn around on their deathbed and say "I wish I had spent more time working"
    Life is for living

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Look look everyone !! ... he went to the cinema by himself hahahahahaha.... all alone haaaahaaaaa. He must be a right oddball.
    Hark at his lonliness. ha ha. ha ha.
    Lets give him a shifty look and then gossip about him... I heard he keeps a stuffed sheep he calls Clyde and masturbates in the library to the droopy titted women in the libraries national geographics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

jimboblep wrote: »
    Why not , nobody will turn around on their deathbed and say "I wish I had spent more time working"
    Life is for living

Life is for living, not lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭qapmoc

Do not insult the word "man". Real men pull their weight in the economy and do not steal from their bosses. Your booss presumably already pays you for weekends / days off. Annual holidays. Bank holidays or their equivalent time off. And yet you still steal. There are hundreds of thousands of people who would take your job, and salary, and not steal from tyour boss. Why do you not brag to your boss about your exploits or is he at the same carry on?

There are 8764 hours in a year. Your boss (or the taxpayer) probably pays you to work for about 1500 to 1850 hours per year. Yet you fail to pull your weight that is expected because you claim "everything else, ie hobbies, kind of gets out on the back burner"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

jimboblep wrote: »
    Why not , nobody will turn around on their deathbed and say "I wish I had spent more time working

They might if they were working on a cure for whatever killed them eg. boneitis