Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Mini the Apple of Cars?

• 28-01-2014 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

A friend is looking to buy a new car and was interested in getting a Mini. My immediate impression was that they are overpriced for what they are, the same way you can get a much better PC or Android phone for the same price an Apple product might be. I've never looked into it much so not sure.

My friend does like the look of the Mini (cooper, or whatever the latest ones are called) but at the same time isn't a motorhead at all so I was thinking something a bit cheaper to buy, tax, insure and maintain would suit better?

The budget to buy is about €5,000. Reliability and comfort are important here too and I don't want to suggest anything on the other scale, like a Micra which doesn't look the nicest at all.

Any suggestions welcome, I guess in the 1-1.6L bracket. Friend is a female by the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

not much similarity between a Mini and a Micra other thn 4 wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

cormie wrote: »
    A friend is looking to buy a new car and was interested in getting a Mini. My immediate impression was that they are overpriced for what they are, the same way you can get a much better PC or Android phone for the same price an Apple product might be. I've never looked into it much so not sure.

My friend does like the look of the Mini (cooper, or whatever the latest ones are called) but at the same time isn't a motorhead at all so I was thinking something a bit cheaper to buy, tax, insure and maintain would suit better?

The budget to buy is about €5,000. Reliability and comfort are important here too and I don't want to suggest anything on the other scale, like a Micra which doesn't look the nicest at all.

Any suggestions welcome, I guess in the 1-1.6L bracket. Friend is a female by the way!

Would a fiat 500 suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd doubt you would get much of a Fiat 500 for €5k though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I thought they were very different to drive with the Mini having much better cornering, felt wider and was lower to the ground.

Having the speedo in the center of the dash was a bit stupid imo, looks like a broken clock gone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If she wants a Mini then she should get one. If you suggest another car she won't like after a while you'll never hear the end of it.

That said - Yaris, Honda Fit and similar might fit the bill.
    And don't knock Micras, there's tonnes of them about which means knowledge and spare parts are common. Not the prettiest but solid.

The only other cute car like that I can think of is the Figaro, built on Micra. It's like a cupcake car. Built in the 90s it has the Micra issues from those years, mainly rust.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

biko wrote: »
    If she wants a Mini then she should get one. If you suggest another car she won't like after a while you'll never hear the end of it.

That said - Yaris, Honda Fit and similar might fit the bill.
    And don't knock Micras, there's tonnes of them about which means knowledge and spare parts are common. Not the prettiest but solid.

The only other cute car like that I can think of is the Figaro, built on Micra. It's like a cupcake car. Built in the 90s it has the Micra issues from those years, mainly rust.

Problem is, none of those cars match the mini for all round use. They are a great little car, handle extremely well and if in cooper s guise, decent performance.

I suggest the OP have a drive in one and see how they go.

I would imagine Tesla are the Apple of motor cars, because of the technology and innovation, the rest of the car makers are rather dull and boring in comparison.

You may be able to get a slightly higher spec Android to apple, however having an Ipad Air and Android Samsung, I have to say that the Apple software is what sets the two apart. The Apple software is light years ahead of Android.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

I think you would be scraping the bottom of the barrel for 5k when looking for a mini. All that will be in that price range will be high milers and the intro model 02 ones which will inherently have quite high mileage. Having said that they put up miles quite well apart from an appetite for wheel bearings. Look out for gearbox issues too. And to answer your question yes they are expensive but so are many other premium brands such as bmw Audi etc

I certainly wouldn't consider the Mini to be a premium product, premium price though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Hehe, was hoping this wouldn't end up an Apple VS Android or similar thread, let's try not go there :D

Thanks for all the suggestions. Have never driven a Mini myself and don't really have any knowledge of the other cars being suggested either. I did have a micra as my first car and I know they are reliable, I don't think she would like it though :)

Maybe something like a focus even? Although it might be best to keep the tax lower, I don't think insurance will be too different between cars for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

A Fiesta, Staid looks but great to drive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

citroen ds4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

f140 wrote: »
    citroen ds4?
    for 5k?!! :eek:

I'd say all of the above mentioned cars are dull, boring and under powered. Exception being the Tesla of course !

For 5K a prius is one of the most reliable 2nd hand cars you're going to get with 55-65 mpg and it's a decent sized car with enough poke for a 1.5 petrol automatic. High mileage ones with a full service history will last well beyond 300,000 miles !

I'm not saying the Prius is exciting but it's more practical and more reliable.

I'd say all of the above mentioned cars are dull, boring and under powered. Exception being the Tesla of course !

For 5K a prius is one of the most reliable 2nd hand cars you're going to get with 55-65 mpg and it's a decent sized car with enough poke for a 1.5 petrol automatic. High mileage ones with a full service history will last well beyond 300,000 miles !

A mini isn't that dull and boring tbh. A prius on the otherhand is dull and boring.

I can't see anyone who has their heart set on a mini opting for a prius over one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Must say I wouldn't say no to a Mini Clubman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Ah here... Seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Do you ever give it a rest :rolleyes:

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

I can't see anyone who has their heart set on a mini opting for a prius over one.

Well because for one the prius is one of the most reliable cars in the world.

It isn't a bad car at all to drive, I've been in much worse. The suspension is pretty decent, not much roll at all and goes around corners pretty well, imo it has a proper balance between comfort and handling.

Do you ever give it a rest :rolleyes:

Do you ? :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Must say I wouldn't say no to a Mini Clubman

Mrs. kceire has a love for the Mini Country man at the moment!

That they may be, but there is far more exciting cars out there that offer the same reliability.
    It isn't a bad car at all to drive, I've been in much worse. The suspension is pretty decent, not much roll at all and goes around corners pretty well, imo it has a proper balance between comfort and handling.
    Ah come on, a prius is grand for a-b no fuss motoring like a corolla, but for someone looking for a car like a mini they just don't cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

bazz26 wrote: »

I've driven that particular car years ago, lots of extras on it IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I would imagine Tesla are the Apple of motor cars, because of the technology and innovation, the rest of the car makers are rather dull and boring in comparison.

Apple? Innovate ?

tumblr_mcsvlhuTDs1r6vrl1o1_500.gif

Apple innovated , everyone else copied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

A Mini Cooper or Cooper S is not overpriced for what you get: there are no Micras or Yarisses in the same league. Our second car is an 06 Cooper, and it's fun just to drive down the street.

The Mini First and Mini One are a bit crap, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

A friend is looking to buy a new car and was interested in getting a Mini...My friend does like the look of the Mini...but at the same time isn't a motorhead at all

+
    If she wants a Mini then she should get one

That pretty much sums it; Couldn't agree more with Biko if I tried. Your friend understands nothing about cars, likes the Mini and wants the Mini, she should get one.

Provided she can afford one and the connected expenses (insurance mainly) all the other considerations, in her eyes, are moot and invalid.
    I would imagine Tesla are the Apple of motor cars...

Not quite; BMW is, and it has nothing to do with the actual products but with marketing strategy and acumen, paired with customer loyalty so blind it goes into fanatism :)

A blown compressor on a reasonably newish car would extract anger and venom from any motorist but a BMW driver, who'd shrug it off as "oh it's a characteristic, they tend to do that!" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

Great cars to drive. Years ago I was trying to convince herself to buy a reliable civic hatch versus a more expensive mini. Thought they were all about the styling, an accessory on wheels.
    One drive of a mini cooper and I was the one changing my mind! Great handling, great fun, wish it had a bit more horsepower - Will have to convince her to get a cooper s next time!

The suzuki swift is the sensible reliable Japanese alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My aunty got a new mini last year and I would agree they are overpriced. But in the few minis I've been in including that one I find you can't but smile when in them. There just so much fun specially when being driven on. I don't know wether You would get board of one quickly if you owned it and were driving it everyday. But if your friends heart is set on a mini I don't think there is any good substitute car for the mini there just something about a mini that other cars of that size don't have.

Thanks for the replies everyone. I don't think she's ever driven one and I think is choosing purely from a visual perspective. She really only drives to get to a-b and wouldn't go for a spin for the enjoyment of driving so I'm not sure if the driving ability of the car will matter too much.

Forgot about the Suzuki Swift :)

She really only drives to get to a-b and wouldn't go for a spin for the enjoyment of driving so I'm not sure if the driving ability of the car will matter too much.

Wait and see: if she test drives a Cooper, she'll love it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Apple innovated , everyone else copied.

You got that right, except the wrong way round.
    Apple took everyone else's ideas, put them into nice, shiny hardware with all the customisation possibilities removed and charged twice the price for it.
    It's technology for people who don't know about technology, i.e. housewives.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Generally yes, but a mate has had nothing but niggles with hers. The mpg touted can be wildly overblown too.
    It isn't a bad car at all to drive, I've been in much worse.
    and I've been in many more cars that were many times better.
    The suspension is pretty decent, not much roll at all and goes around corners pretty well, imo it has a proper balance between comfort and handling.
    Handling + Prius? Seriously? Eh.... No. I really dunno what your car history is and whether you've driven a dynamically sound car? My goes in a couple of Prius' over the years? The brakes were vague, the steering felt like you're phoning in the inputs via an exchange in Bangalore(near zero feedback involved) and the car wallows in the twisty bits and the wallowing increases with more input. I would not like to be coming in hard on a bend and anything go funny mid corner in a Prius. Upside down in the ditch with a battery wedged up your arse springs to mind... To be fair I did find the throttle response good for a fly by wire system(I generally dislike those), even if power was lacking. Nothing wrong with all that in fairness, the Prius doesn't even attempt to be a dynamic sporty car. That's not it's raison d'etre after all. It's a practical family hatchback, well bolted together with decent fuel consumption, end of. Personally and beyond all that I find it's "styling" to be the very epitome of beige.

Maybe I've been spoiled over the years but... No way could you compare the handling and the styling of a Prius with a Mini.
    Wait and see: if she test drives a Cooper, she'll love it.
    This. Minis are a grand car, but the cooper adds in the fun. Well bolted together and as others have said, fun. Handy in the twisty bits too. I didn't like them particularly when they first came out, but I have to say having driven a few they've grown on me. I like the central clock BTW, I think it's stylish and stands out from the crowd, while harking back to the old Mini(and other older cars) with the same arrangement, but I'm mad in fairness.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Is the blue Mini linked to above a good deal do yee folk reckon?

If she happened to change her mind and go for a cheaper to buy/tax/insure/maintain but still with decent enough looks, what's the best from the bunch?

Suzuki Swift, Fiesta and Polo probably look the nicest anyway and all come in 1L as far as I know so would be cheap enough too?

Wibbs wrote: »
    This. Minis are a grand car, but the cooper adds in the fun. Well bolted together and as others have said, fun. Handy in the twisty bits too. I didn't like them particularly when they first came out, but I have to say having driven a few they've grown on me. I like the central clock BTW, I think it's stylish and stands out from the crowd, while harking back to the old Mini(and other older cars) with the same arrangement, but I'm mad in fairness.

I definitely would like to try one, there's so much of a dismissive attitude going on, like "Oh it's a girl's car" that people are so blinded by their own prejudice they won't even give it a try.
    It's not a girl's car in countries that know about cars.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I definitely would like to try one, there's so much of a dismissive attitude going on, like "Oh it's a girl's car" that people are so blinded by their own prejudice they won't even give it a try.
    +1000. Girls car my arse. I've heard similar about other cars like the MR2 and they're great craic. For me, if I had to categorise cars(and I wouldn't), I'd split them into two broad categories; cars and drivers cars. The aforementioned Prius is a car(again nada wrong with that), but you'd have to be trippin on bad blotter acid to describe one as a drivers car.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

In the older modelss bonnet vent = supercharged (or a bonnet swap)

160 bhp and associated mpg makes it hard to recommend for someone who doesn't specifically want that. (but hey, if running costs are not a deal breaker, go for it!)

Cooper is what you want, rather than cooper s.

There was a 1.4 diesel (toyota yaris) engine, dunno if that came as mini one and/or cooper spec. Also dunno what price they are fetching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

It's not a girl's car in countries that know about cars.

It's considered an "hairdresser's car" in Italy as well; See, the point is very simple: regardless of how good the handling actually is, the kind of driver that's often seen in a Mini clearly doesn't have the faintest idea about what "dynamic characteristics" means, and bought the car for its "cool and fashionable" status.
    INSURANCE ALERT

How old is your friend, how long has she held a full license and does she have any NCB? If she's rather young and/or has no NCB, chances are that insuring a 160 HP car will be virtually impossible.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    regardless of how good the handling actually is, the kind of driver that's often seen in a Mini clearly doesn't have the faintest idea about what "dynamic characteristics" means, and bought the car for its "cool and fashionable" status.

One kind of driver, maybe - but there is a reason why the Mini is a success and the Beetle a failure: they both had cute retro styling suitable for posers, hairdressers and girlies-without-a-clue, but the Mini is good to drive, and the Beetle isn't.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    It's considered an "hairdresser's car" in Italy as well; See, the point is very simple: regardless of how good the handling actually is, the kind of driver that's often seen in a Mini clearly doesn't have the faintest idea about what "dynamic characteristics" means, and bought the car for its "cool and fashionable" status.

INSURANCE ALERT

How old is your friend, how long has she held a full license and does she have any NCB? If she's rather young and/or has no NCB, chances are that insuring a 160 HP car will be virtually impossible.

A friend of mine is actually Italian and he did own a Cooper S (Supercharged I believe) back in Italy, he owned it for one thing: Beaning the thing around. He said it was great, but you'd want to be near a petrol station at all times.
    Must ask him for the perception of them in Italy.

The mpg touted can be wildly overblown too.

Boll&*ks !
    My goes in a couple of Prius' over the years? The brakes were vague, the steering felt like you're phoning in the inputs via an exchange in Bangalore(near zero feedback involved) and the car wallows in the twisty bits and the wallowing increases with more input. I would not like to be coming in hard on a bend and anything go funny mid corner in a Prius.

I would agree with you on the steering, however since the recall was done it is a multitude better, I don't have complaints, before it felt like a post man pat car in a shopping centre.

Regarding the handling, BS, there is nothing wrong with the handling of a Prius, if you find it bad then you're driving leaves a lot to be desired.

As for the brakes, they're certainly different, buy I warn you, do not drive close to the back of one because they stop pretty damn fast if they need to !
    Maybe I've been spoiled over the years but... No way could you compare the handling and the styling of a Prius with a Mini.

I wasn't trying to.

stock-photo-too-much-emotional-stress-and-noise-loud-woman-blocking-noise-by-putting-fingers-in-ears-31530643.jpg

/\ this!
    Mad lad, there's a time and place for the prius and hypermiling talk, and I find it educational/interesting when I do tune in but bringing it in here and comparing prius handling favourably with a mini?

/\ this!
    Mad lad, there's a time and place for the prius and hypermiling talk, and I find it educational/interesting when I do tune in but bringing it in here and comparing prius handling favourably with a mini?

Are you blind ? read the last part of my previous post !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

If practicality is not a priority these are infinitely better value than a MINI and every bit as "hip" I reckon.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-mx-5-1-8-litre-petrol/5877784
    24168278.jpeg

If practicality is not a priority these are infinitely better value than a MINI and every bit as "hip" I reckon.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-mx-5-1-8-litre-petrol/5877784
    24168278.jpeg

If only they didn't suffer from major structural corrosion do to poor rust protection.

I would agree with you on the steering, however since the recall was done it is a multitude better, I don't have complaints, before it felt like a post man pat car in a shopping centre.
    It's still well below par as a drivers car in the steering dept. Though of course it's not a drivers car, so not unexpected.
    Regarding the handling, BS, there is nothing wrong with the handling of a Prius, if you find it bad then you're driving leaves a lot to be desired.
    Hey I'm no Senna behind the wheel, but after a few decades behind the wheels of quite the number of cars I can generally gauge whether a car is going to be my friend in the handling dept when pressing on and a Prius ain't one of them. The steering is woolly, uncommunicative and artificial, the car itself feels heavy, the brakes are odd(down to the two stage nature of them) and the car's roll rate is high. What keeps it out of the hedges are the electronics and you can feel them working. Yep it's safe, but no way is it rewarding. Like having sex via webcam while wearing a prophylactic made by Goodyear. Again that's not what it was designed to be. It is what it is. As generic a "car" as one could imagine, with economy and shopping trips to the fore and design by wind tunnel and committee. A cardigan on wheels.
    I wasn't trying to.
    No? You were coming into a thread discussing a fun car for the OP's mate who liked the Mini and offered a Prius as an alternative. Akin to asking for a steak in a restaurant and getting served porridge. Then you suggested Prius = good handling. At which point I pinched myself to see if I was really reading that or dreaming. OK it's clear to all you have the major trouser tent for the Prius and that's cool(well...), we all have our personal foibles, but at this stage you're reading like the unquestioning PR dept of Toyota.

... A cardigan on wheels.

No? You were coming into a thread discussing a fun car for the OP's mate who liked the Mini and offered a Prius as an alternative. Akin to asking for a steak in a restaurant and getting served porridge tofu. Then you suggested Prius = good handling. At which point I pinched myself to see if I was really reading that or dreaming. OK it's clear to all you have the major trouser tent for the Prius and that's cool(well...), we all have our personal foibles, but at this stage you're reading like the unquestioning PR dept of Toyota.

Always saw the Prius as more of that, since porridge has a place and a purpose as some kind of real food.
    Tofu is just an artificial thing that people choke down and tell themselves "I don't miss meat! I don't miss meat! I don't miss meat!"
    Nobody eats tofu and says "I really like tofu". Is! Not! Food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

a 2006 from a dealer asking 6k below, new model came in from 2007...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mini_Hatch

http://www.carzone.ie/search/MINI/Hatch/ONE/37013891979627280/advert?channel=CARS

tell your mate to go for the 1.6, the 1.4 is awful in comparison...

they do command a premium, but like an apple product, they have good residuals...