Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What price is rented ground making?

• 28-01-2014 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what good grazing/silage ground is making this year, with maps and without?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

crazy money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

180 here with maps but no entitlements. Sheds are coming in deal though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Can't even find any here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭thetiredfarmer

I'm paying €150 and €120 for two 12 acre plots.I can take 3 cuts or graze,whichever I like due to absent (uninterested)owners,however the bloody land struggles to produce two crops of silage per year and then its not worth moving stock out to it after 2nd cut.Maps with both plots.PS.I only have it cos others think it is not worth it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

farmerjj wrote: »
    Just wondering what good grazing/silage ground is making this year, with maps and without?

Up to €300 an acre in south tipp!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

heard of a seven year deal for €250:D:D, €220 seems to be the new buzz number for yearly deals. long term tenants being put out on their ear so that the big guys can willy wave. I dropping land as its becoming uneconomic to farm IMV. Currently just trying to sort a landbank to offload slurry and if I can get this sorted, I will reduce rented acres substantially. Im seriously thinking that my land is costing me money having it, if I could lease it all for €220

I'll be probably buying in maize and wholecrop this year instead of renting, certainly not worth spending big money on rent anyways.

Mine is on a 5 year term and other on 10_yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

70 acre block near me went for 250 an acre with no maps.and it's all been put into maize.pure fookin madness,the guy that took it is a 150 plus dairy man with quota full since November.the mind boggles!!

180 here with maps but no entitlements. Sheds are coming in deal though

That sounds ok to me

mahoney_j wrote: »
    That sounds ok to me

Its in DAS but nothing wrong with the land. We would have have gone a bit higher if we had to but we didn't know what sorta money we were going to get on it. Still don't ha

70 acre block near me went for 250 an acre with no maps.and it's all been put into maize.pure fookin madness,the guy that took it is a 150 plus dairy man with quota full since November.the mind boggles!!

Did you here about the lad in tipp who has been caught by.l the dept? Shipped 500k litres of milk to someone and gkanbia knew about it. Supposedly a well known farmer with a few farms

It wasn't me!!.heard about it last week.know who it is put not personally.goingvto be in a lot of trouble and also the guy that took in milk.500000 Ltrs don't know how in the name of jaysus either party thought they'd get out of that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

300-500 for vegetable/spud ground in north county Dublin area.

micraX wrote: »
    300-500 for vegetable/spud ground in north county Dublin area.

There must be some money in spuds and veg!!!!

There's not, just limited ground, which drives prices up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i think yed agree with me jerry, land around nrth tipp has gone crazy lately. block of 80 acres coming up soon around alot of dairymen with no entitlements, id say 250-300 if not more:eek:

If rented land is making 300/ac, how much do any of yas think I'd get to rent my full farm? Including all cows/followers/sheds/machinery etc? 4/500quid? If I could get that, it would certainly pay me to, and go back and get a job in my previous line of work!!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i think yed agree with me jerry, land around nrth tipp has gone crazy lately. block of 80 acres coming up soon around alot of dairymen with no entitlements, id say 250-300 if not more:eek:

Yeadh lads around north tipp get an afull horn when land comes up,paying 250 ,300 and plus an acre is a bit crazy.hard to see how money will be made paying those prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Can someone explain to me how maps/entitlements work when renting land please? Say to make life easy I rent one acre at €100, if the farmer is drawing down a SPF on this land what happens it? Does he get that or do I get that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭jaymla627

C0N0R wrote: »
    Can someone explain to me how maps/entitlements work when renting land please? Say to make life easy I rent one acre at €100, if the farmer is drawing down a SPF on this land what happens it? Does he get that or do I get that??

If he keeps the maps he gets it, you cant actually draw the sfp of that ground even if say gave you got the maps with the land, the entitlements are in his name, he could for instance rent you the land with maps for say 200 an acre and in-turn he could take land with maps for 100 an acre and use this ground to draw down his sfp once the same acerage is being took

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Ok thanks so say I had 40 hectares with an average SPF of €300. If I rented the whole place out at €250 a hectare and ceased to farm any land myself where does the SPF go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭jaymla627

C0N0R wrote: »
    Ok thanks so say I had 40 hectares with an average SPF of €300. If I rented the whole place out at €250 a hectare and ceased to farm any land myself where does the SPF go to?

You"d sell your entitlements for in our around twice their face value maybe more depending on the market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

jaymla627 wrote: »
    You"d sell your entitlements for in our around twice their face value maybe more depending on the market

No what you do is what lads round here have done for the past 6 or 7 years is you rent the entitlements with the land, the lad renting the land get paid the sfp but pays it straight back to you with the rent each year.
    The landlord gets the sfp back in full when the lease is finished, therefore getting his rent plus the sfp for 7 years and still has the sfp to sell for twice face value if he wishes
    Im sure also, the landlord after singing a long term lease and if over a cirtin age will get the sfp tax free as well as the rent up to I think 12K

And then they wonder why there is so little land mobility and armchair farmers!

Now maybe this will change with the new system?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

ellewood wrote: »
    No what you do is what lads round here have done for the past 6 or 7 years is you rent the entitlements with the land, the lad renting the land get paid the sfp but pays it straight back to you with the rent each year.
    The landlord gets the sfp back in full when the lease is finished, therefore getting his rent plus the sfp for 7 years and still has the sfp to sell for twice face value if he wishes
    Im sure also, the landlord after singing a long term lease and if over a cirtin age will get the sfp tax free as well as the rent up to I think 12K

And then they wonder why there is so little land mobility and armchair farmers!

Now maybe this will change with the new system?

jayus are lads that hard up for land, i suppose if you are dairy then the additional land adds up and increases profit, but no way would that work in suckling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

hugo29 wrote: »
    jayus are lads that hard up for land, i suppose if you are dairy then the additional land adds up and increases profit, but no way would that work in suckling

Are ya mad? It's the tillage lads drive it nuts here followed by beef men, I suppose they're keeping the Sfp local at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Just sit back and let the mad lads on it won't be to long when these dairy lads get the big slap and the tillage lads got a little bit more of it, like in 2013 with price drop and diesel,
    How can these dairy men give such money for land they must not look at the bottom line figure,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

Tillage men guilty here as well , don't many dairy or beef men renting.

dairy guys bulling it around here, lads that wouldnt be used to having high rent bills. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

As there is almost zero tillage around my area, and 4 co-ops paying 4 of the countrys highest milk price's, dairy operations are really driving land rents up. 250 an acre is standard, if you offer a lad 200 an acre around here. .... you will not rent any land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

delaval wrote: »
    Are ya mad? It's the tillage lads drive it nuts here followed by beef men, I suppose they're keeping the Sfp local at least

ahh never thought of tilage, we dont have that to consider up these parts.
    different ball game then i suppose

if i was trying to rent, he could have the SFP but would pay no rent, if that did not suit he could keep the fcuking thing and let some other sucker pay him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Around here it used to be the tillage men taking land with beet and spuds making the mad money but since last year the dairy men are looking for silage ground as they begin to expand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Around here it used to be the tillage men taking land with beet and spuds making the mad money but since last year the dairy men are looking for silage ground as they begin to expand
    And nitrate derrogation

delaval wrote: »
    And nitrate derrogation

taking land to comply with the nitrates directive is stupid. advertise your slurry and get it shifted for small money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

taking land to comply with the nitrates directive is stupid. advertise your slurry and get it shifted for small money

Are ya allowed to 'export' slurry?

you sure are and as much of it as you like aslong as the land you are exporting it to can take it. there are liimits to amount of N and P land can get

hugo29 wrote: »
    ahh never thought of tilage, we dont have that to consider up these parts.
    different ball game then i suppose

if i was trying to rent, he could have the SFP but would pay no rent, if that did not suit he could keep the fcuking thing and let some other sucker pay him
    Why do people never think of the tillage lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭lalababa

How much should I ask for 2 cuts with fertilizer spread (2 bags can & summer slurry for 2nd cut) per acre ? The fields are pure grass but has not been reseeded in 20yrs+. Many thanks.:)

lalababa wrote: »
    How much should I ask for 2 cuts with fertilizer spread (2 bags can & summer slurry for 2nd cut) per acre ? The fields are pure grass but has not been reseeded in 20yrs+. Many thanks.:)

Let it out, grand fresh ground fir spuds, where are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Destoning ground for spuds wrecks the soil structure.
    How do the dept keep track of nitrates and phosphate applied to land other than stocking rate , do they take the farmers word on what inputs they purchase

Destoning ground for spuds wrecks the soil structure.
    How do the dept keep track of nitrates and phosphate applied to land other than stocking rate , do they take the farmers word on what inputs they purchase
    Ah it doesn't really. And you don't always have to destone for spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 foley_b

I'm thinking of putting some tillage land back into grass,what can I expect to get for two cuts of sillage and who fertilises it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

foley_b wrote: »
    I'm thinking of putting some tillage land back into grass,what can I expect to get for two cuts of sillage and who fertilises it ?

Around here it's around €100 euros / acre for first cut, €75 / acre for second cut, if the buyer fertilises.
    Be aware tho, that usually the buyer will use urea to push on the grass, so you will be down on P and K after taking off the grass.

It would be better to cost out your fertiliser, fertilise it yourself so you know what's going into the ground and then charge accordingly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 fire_me

im amazed reading this thread , I asked teagasc last year about how much my widowed mother should ask for 45 acres of grazing land with maps

he said 150 euro per acre and when I mentioned 170 , he dismissed such a price as laughable

fire_me wrote: »
    im amazed reading this thread , I asked teagasc last year about how much my widowed mother should ask for 45 acres of grazing land with maps

he said 150 euro per acre and when I mentioned 170 , he dismissed such a price as laughable

It really depends on where you are, what the demand is locally, land quality, facilities etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭blackdog1

fire_me wrote: »

Asking teagasc was your first mistake. Land is making 150 no fertiliser for 1 cut of silage no maps. Thats good land in cork

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Asking teagasc was your first mistake. Land is making 150 no fertiliser for 1 cut of silage no maps. Thats good land in cork

150 eh?

Where abouts in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

blackdog1 wrote: »

Yet again, big difference between making it and actually getting PAID:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

nashmach wrote: »
    Yet again, big difference between making it and actually getting PAID:rolleyes:

There's a 70 acre block for rent close to me. Been rented to the same farmer foy at least 15 years in the best of heart. They had it on a 5 year then 10 year lease so looked after it well. At least half of it was reseeded in the past couple of years and the remainder was done in the lifetime of the last lease. I read s couple of posts complaining about dairy guys driving up leases, around here we just call them farmers, there's very little else going on farming wise. Did I mention that there's a hardcore road into the centre of this block that accesses most of the fields. The putative rent is the subject of a lot of comment locally. What was it supposed to have been up to last weekend? Anyone?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 fire_me

It really depends on where you are, what the demand is locally, land quality, facilities etc.

I didn't realise that price per acre included a shed , their is a shed on the farm but the tenant didn't need it last year , had she rented the shed , their would have been an added cost

btw , how much does renting land as part of a long term lease usually add to the price , would an extra 10 % be about right