Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Evil 200+ 2014 edition (June 7th)

• 27-01-2014 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭

12174568365_fd13920423.jpg

Yeap, back for more. Last year's Evil ride was a big success with a large enough number of people showing up and finishing it as well. There were lots of broken bodies as well, mine included!

So this is what I propose for this year. I changed the starting point and the route since last year just to give us a new perspective as well as a couple of climbs that some people might have not tried before.

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/3969863

The last two years we had it on the same weekend as the Wicklow200 if memory serves right, we can do the same this year (7th of June) but will depend what the people are up for.

QP30UoR.png

And just to reiterate what the Evil200 is..:
    daragh_ wrote: »
    The Evil 200 is a bunch of people who happen to have come across this thread heading off for a spin around all the steep bits in Wicklow. There's no mechanical support, no food stops, no road markings, no marshals etc. It's entirely unofficial. You should be prepared for a long lonely day in the saddle with a ridiculous amount of climbing. There is no medal or commemorative jersey and when you get home nobody will care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

I'll do it as long as OP agrees to do it without any food after breakfast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

Throwing in Devil's Elbow towards the end is evil alright!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

My performance in this last year was shambolic but I'll be back for more...nice (well, you know what I mean) route Astra!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Good stuff Astra. I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Whats the pace like lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Carpenter wrote: »
    Whats the pace like lads

Spread out all over the road. From mountain goat to mountain giant pace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Whats the pace like lads

Will tell you after it's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

4000m!!!!! If this is done over the course of 3 days I'm in. If not I'll need a couple of Months to mull it over and see how my brutal climbing is progressing and will report back ;-)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'll start it (assuming I'm not on holidays)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

would it be roughly 24kph ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

My avg last year was almost 24, but I didn't complete the whole route, did 170k.

I hope we get as an amazing day as last year, it was so nice and sunny.

would it be roughly 24kph ????

I wouldn't worry about pace. It's about getting around and living to tell the tale. All you need is a bike, some climbing legs* and the mantra 'I will have my vengeance on Astra Monti, in this life or the next'.

*2 or 3 sets should do. They wear out quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

My average was 23.4 for 220km. http://www.strava.com/activities/59051952

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Shame, I'll be on holidays around that time. Looks like a lovely route, would love to have go.

Think my average was around 22km/h last year. Legs and arse were sore after it for a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

its always been the weekend of the wicklow 200 - why change it. Gives people the opportunity to do the ww200 the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭uphillonly

Whats the pace like lads

Most of us treated it as a last training ride before the Wicklow 200 the following day.....

Reality will kick in within the first few kms as Astra leads us up a 15% hill.

Great but painful day. Hope we get similar weather this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Shame, I'll be 'washing my hair' around that time. Looks like a lovely route, would love to have go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

There appears to be a public house, right at the finish line. Interesting...

Didn't get to do it last year but should be around this year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I will hopefully do this - by doing this I mean do the full event as opposed to doing 130km which was if truth be told just a coffee spin with Idleeater.

Astra if I can be so bold, for aficionados of suffering I will be running an evil Audax in Killarney on the August bank holiday weekend. 200k with stupid amounts of climbing over 9 categorised climbs and numerous drags - no flat roads whatsoever.

Might be something that folks that like evil but can't get to Dublin could target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

ROK ON wrote: »
    I will hopefully do this - by doing this I mean do the full event as opposed to doing 130km which was if truth be told just a coffee spin with Idleeater.

Astra if I can be so bold, for aficionados of suffering I will be running an evil Audax in Killarney on the August bank holiday weekend. 200k with stupid amounts of climbing over 9 categorised climbs and numerous drags - no flat roads whatsoever.

Might be something that folks that like evil but can't get to Dublin could target.

The Inner Ring 200? All the magic roads the Ring of Kerry avoids.

Great name for cycle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Pace last year was decent enough given the distance and climbing! http://www.strava.com/activities/59059159

I'm living in London now but if I'm home that weekend I'll tag along!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Excuse the noob but at 134km there is a do a U-turn on the route on that link? Why is this?

Probably just a mouse drag bug, I am on the phone now I ll check it later, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭okane1

I'm living in Killarney, do post this up when you know the route, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Probably just a mouse drag bug, I am on the phone now I ll check it later, cheers

Noticed that it leads up someone's drive. Well done Astra, you got us a food stop. You better let the home owner we'll be dropping in that day.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I was perfectly happy with my leisurely cycle in the sun shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

i think i'm going to say i'm in but i'll regret it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

Looks interesting to say the least, might actually attempt this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

lennymc wrote: »
    its always been the weekend of the wicklow 200 - why change it. Gives people the opportunity to do the ww200 the next day.

I did the wicklow 200 the next day it was a walk in the park after the evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭D!armu!d

Nice route - like the way there's no easy short cut home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Unlikely to make it to this one either, but good luck to ye all :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

D!armu!d wrote: »
    Nice route - like the way there's no easy short cut home!

The 200km is right on my doorstep. Thats enough for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

I will be available this year.

The chosen road from Ballynasmutton bridge to Lacken is like a bomb testing range...........

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Once I get my large rear cog, I am in.

I will be available this year.

The chosen road from Ballynasmutton bridge to Lacken is like a bomb testing range...........

Yeap especially the descent is deadly, you need to be super careful. I got a puncture there few weeks back while coming down at around 65-70, way too much speed for there. But, as people know already, there is always a fecked up part in the route, last year were a few kms of gravel.. :D

But in a good day, you really need to stop at the top and enjoy the view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

I could put up a photo but don't want to ruin the view for everyone before the day........:P:D

How did people support themselfs on this last year? Lots of water/food and coffee shop stops?

godtabh wrote: »
    How did people support themselfs on this last year? Lots of water/food and coffee shop stops?

Found a bottle of fizzy orange in a ditch. True fact.

We went through Laragh twice last year. So two coffee stops. With cake.

There are plenty of places to get water (Glenmalure, Rathdrum, Laragh, Roundwood).

The weather last year was perfect. I'm betting it will snow this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I did the wicklow 200 the next day it was a walk in the park after the evil

I did the evil and the wicklow200 in 2012. People had said the wicklow 200 was a tough spin. It was nothing compared to the evil. Just did the 100 last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭mirv

Found a bottle of fizzy orange in a ditch. True fact.

We went through Laragh twice last year. So two coffee stops. With cake.

There are plenty of places to get water (Glenmalure, Rathdrum, Laragh, Roundwood).

The weather last year was perfect. I'm betting it will snow this year.

Objection, your honour, the facts are incorrect. I take you to exhibit A.

club_rock_shandy_500ml.jpg

The last time I did 200km + I did it on one of the hottest days of the summer. Water almost came an issue a few times. That was solo so might be different this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭mirv

Also, a stabbing (or at least a firm poking with a stick) is mandatory for AstraMonti if he attempts to bail out. Especially after making us come up out of Lough Dan last year, that was agony.

Maybe we could go straight onto the N81 from the start rather than going on the firhouse road? Won't be much traffic at 7am, and we'd avoid all the curb/bike lane hopping and the lights on the firhouse road.

Also another suggestion is to go from the N81 - slade valley/saggart hill westwards - the lamb hill/cupidstown eastwards - sally gap, and it would avoid getting lost in the estates and park in saggart/rathecoole and add another 'scenic' hill.

mirv wrote: »
    Objection, your honour, the facts are incorrect. I take you to exhibit A.

club_rock_shandy_500ml.jpg

Ok, Ok. Mirv found a bottle of fizzy orange and I nicked it.

nicked it or necked it?

godtabh wrote: »
    nicked it or necked it?

both. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

I'm a noob but I've wanted to do something like this for a while.

I'm in!

Do you guys do any group training at all or just solo and meet up on the day?

I'm in!

i'd saw its solo

I'm in!

i'd say its solo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

No worries, I might look into doing some training with a club perhaps. I've just picked up a Defy 0 on BTW that I'm itching to try out, so who knows, maybe the Wicklow 200 the following day if I still have legs :pac: