Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else uneasy about this?

• 25-01-2014 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,833 ✭✭✭

I can't believe that kid, Daniel McDonnell, was convicted of shooting Melanie McCarthy last week on the basis of two letters he wrote and no other evidence whatsoever.

http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0124/499965-melanie-mccarthy-mcnamara/

Anyone feel this is a miscarriage of justice waiting to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Nah, I'll sleep ok tonight I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

If he's stupid enough to admit to murder, let him rot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

So he admitted it in two letters and in graffiti he daubed on his cell, but apart from that no evidence whatsoever. right.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 BanAllFirearms

Yes I agree with you OP it doesn't seem like there was alot of evidence to convict him with besides the letter he wrote and what he wrote on the cell walls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

I thought it was a slam-dunk.

"that other thing wouldn't have happened if I'd known she was in the car. It was meant for that other smell bag."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Smell bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The missus commented on this being a dodgy conviction. She is always correct, even when she isn't, so I agree with you OP - no evidence, no dna, no witnesses, just a young fella mouthing off. Maybe he thought it would make him look good. Young lads talk a lot of crap. Not enough for a conviction imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

I didn't hear what his defence was. Is he saying he wasn't the gunman, or does he deny completely that he was in the car with the gunman?k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

He must have had a crap lawyer.

no evidence, no dna, no witnesses, just a young fella mouthing off. Maybe he thought it would make him look good. Young lads talk a lot of crap. Not enough for a conviction imo.

I cannot fathom the level of stupidity that would lead someone to brag about something they didn't do when they're sitting in custody on suspicion of doing it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

SamAK wrote: »
    I cannot fathom the level of stupidity that would lead someone to brag about something they didn't do when they're sitting in custody on suspicion of doing it...

Worthy of a Darwin nomination at the very least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

OP, Maybe your basing your judgement on a report from a news organisation that is selective in the information it reports (the most sensational and understandable part of the trial evidence)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I can't believe that kid, Daniel McDonnell, was convicted of shooting Melanie McCarthy last week on the basis of two letters he wrote and no other evidence whatsoever.

http://m.rte.ie/news/touch/2014/0124/499965-melanie-mccarthy-mcnamara/

Anyone feel this is a miscarriage of justice waiting to happen?

It's a bit dodgy allright. Presumably they'll appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fuck him, if he admitted it three times in writing then that's good enough for me. I hope he has a thoroughly god awful time in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Worthy of a Darwin nomination at the very least.

could well be seeing as the other lad that got convicted has had his face slashed and got himself doused with boiling water mixed with sugar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Apparently there's hits out on him in prison?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

OP just going on newspaper reports of the case it does seem to me to be bit dodgy, But I am sure the jurors had more to go on ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Did you read the quotes from the letters OP? The defence didn't even deny he wrote them, tried to fob them off as "rants". Who would write a letter to a bloke "ranting" like he had killed his girlfriend. It says he later denied them; did he deny writing them or just what he wrote? He was also arrested on suspicion and wrote the letters in custody; presumably he wasn't just picked off the street. He also has previous records which would have counted against him.

After four hours the jury had made a unanimous decision. If he has a decent lawyer he'll appeal. Who's to blame for this "miscarriage of justice" the courts? The gards? The lawyers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I would put more faith in what he wrote than what he was coached to say

You've not met teenage/early twenties males so? There's a full spectrum of eejitry. Some would claim they rode shergar off Tower bridge if they thought they'd get attention/"respect".

deise08 wrote: »
    Apparently there's hits out on him in prison?

I wonder will they get him before his appeal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Looks a bit like Jay Spearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

He'll walk on appeal. no danger. It's a gravy train for the lawyers. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

If he did'nt say anything and nothing was writing under interrogation, should the miranda warning not apply.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miranda_warning

I think he is covering for somebody else, and he is just bragging or he thinks he is safer behind bars.

If he did'nt say anything and nothing was writing under interrogation, should the miranda warning not apply.

I think he is covering for somebody else, and he is just bragging or he thinks he is safer behind bars.

Was this case in the US?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

He deserves it for boasting about it like that anyway. Guilty or not, feck him. I'd make a great judge.

Was this case in the US?

Nope, but are not all laws based on the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,908 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Looks a bit like Jay Spearing.

So you're saying Jay is somewhere with a grin on his face knowing it was him all along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

There must be some legal provision for documents written while in custody can be used as evidence. But I don't think there's a loop hole where "I remained silent while I wrote that confession, it doesn't count" which seems to be what you're suggesting :confused:

You tell me. You brought it up.

So why question my post, did you not read the op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

No. We have a radically different system from most of Europe but we do have a right to silence.

In any case Miranda is about incriminating yourself whilst talking to police - it's a warning so that you can remain silent. People can incriminate themselves in private written conversation as happened here.

Get over the DNA evidence, or lack of it. Nobody would ever have been convicted in the past if you demand that level of evidence. Effectively this guy confessed to murder and probably the court got other evidence of motive ( the "smell bag" in the car would have had previous run ins with the accused). All the defence could do was claim the confession was invalid, which they failed to do. Its a perfectly reasonable conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

Jester252 wrote: »
    I would put more faith in what he wrote than what he was coached to say
    Witness coaching can lead to prosecuted for perverting the course of justice. It would seem this lad needed to reassure others about an event thus leading to self incrimination.

Very sad case indeed.

So why question my post, did you not read the up?

What are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

No. We have a radically different system from most of Europe but we do have a right to silence.

In any case Miranda is about incriminating yourself whilst talking to police - it's a warning so that you can remain silent. People can incriminate themselves in private written conversation as happened here.

Get over the DNA evidence, or lack of it. Nobody would ever have been convicted in the past if you demand that level of evidence. Effectively this guy confessed to murder and probably the court got other evidence of motive ( the "smell bag" in the car would have had previous run ins with the accused). All the defence could do was claim the confession was invalid, which they failed to do. Its a perfectly reasonable conviction.

Reasonable on the basis that communication with a friend is a legitimate confession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

miranda rights are an american law cant remember what the irish equivalent is called .
    i doubt all the prosecution had was letters unless as stated the defense was absolutely useless

19543261 wrote: »
    Reasonable on the basis that communication with a friend is a legitimate confession?

Two letters and graffiti. Sure. He might have lied in his confessions - which is what they were - to big himself up but the defence failed to make that case.

jimboblep wrote: »
    miranda rights are an american law cant remember what the irish equivalent is called .
    i doubt all the prosecution had was letters unless as stated the defense was absolutely useless

The judge said that's all the corroborating evidence there was. They also have motive, I assume, but motive isn't evidence.

well on the flipside of of that the defense of he was only acting the big man in the letters is a fairly flimsy one
    i havent seen the court report so working off some assumptions here did he have any sort of alibi

You've not met teenage/early twenties males so? There's a full spectrum of eejitry. Some would claim they rode shergar off Tower bridge if they thought they'd get attention/"respect".

I am an early 20's male, and can't stand people that lie and take credit for things they haven't done.

Like you said, full spectrum. As old brainy himself (Einstein) said - "Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and i'm not sure about the universe"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I cannot fathom the level of stupidity that would lead someone to brag about something they didn't do...

Isn't that what politicians do?

Genealogy Forum Mod

He deserves it for boasting about it like that anyway. Guilty or not, feck him. I'd make a great judge.

If we all got what we deserved for the stupid things we'd done or said, it'd be a very empty world. If he did it, feck him, if he didn't, well then what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Anyone who ever said "I'll fucking kill him / her" should be in prison, based on what some of you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

When the defence lawyers gave their closing statements, about the lack of evidence apart from the letters I thought to myself he's off the hook. This is crazy though. Anyone can write letters and act delusional. I could write a letter claiming I shot JFK and wouldn't get prosecuted based on just the letter. That's why we have DNA evidence, CCTV footage, witness statements, etc. Crazy. This isn't the last we've heard of this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The jury just took a few hours to reach their conclusion so they must have been pretty convinced by the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Anyone who ever said "I'll fucking kill him / her" should be in prison, based on what some of you think.

How's the Strawman build progressing?

what was his previous contact with the deceased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The biggest miscarriage of justice of all time is probably the hanging of the 19 year old British petty thief Derek Bentley in 1953. Himself and a 16 year accomplice Chris Craig attempted to rob a warehouse one night, a neighbour called the police and they quickly arrived and caged in the boys, the 16 year had a pistol in his hand, the policeman in question demanded that he give it to him, the 16 yr old resisted, Bentley then said "Let him have it". Craig had watched too many US gangster movies and misinterpreted this command by opening fire fatally wounding the officer.

Because Craig was underage Bentley stood trial for his life and was found guilty and hanged (Joint Enterprise) despite mass outpourings for leniency, with even MPs and members of the Royal family getting involved.

In 93, 40 years after the incident Bentley was given a Royal pardon, they had already allowed for his body to be moved from the prison cemetery to his families plot in 77, but it took another 16 years for them to admit that the legal system failed this young man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Wasn't the girl an innocent bystander and not the intended target? So no 'respeck' due for a killing that immediately caused widespread revulsion.

And, there are 3 different written confessions. You don't need to he a PhD student to pull a trigger.