Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ghost Ship full of Cannibal Rats headed for Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

hard to believe this vessel was just set loose if it has a 600k scrappage value, ship looks in good nick as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

At least when they land they'll be among friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Well if they're cannibals we've nothing to worry about as they'll most likely devour each other before they reach our shores.

Seriously, who writes this stuff? And don't they at least look up the meaning of the word cannibalism before they print?

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/cannibal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

'We don’t want rats from foreign ships coming onto Irish soil. If it came and broke up on shore, I’m sure local people wouldn’t be very happy about it.’
    Racist! Or is that rattist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I for one welcome our new cannibal rat overlords

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I'm concerned. I've arrived over from posting comments on the Guardian to discuss this latest provocative and lurid headline from the Daily Mail. My online outrage balance is all over the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

mrDerek wrote: »
    hard to believe this vessel was just set loose if it has a 600k scrappage value, ship looks in good nick as well

The tow line snapped in rough seas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the towing op would cost close to that to run a sea going tug I'd imagine, not worth the expense for no return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Nuke it,we've enough dirty rats in this country ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I hope it arrives in Kerry and seeks out and eat that eejit Daithi o Shea

Rabelais wrote: »
    I'm concerned. I've arrived over from posting comments on the Guardian to discuss this latest provocative and lurid headline from the Daily Mail. My online outrage balance is all over the place!

Straighten yourself out quick sharp...you'd be an easy meal for them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Kilgore__Trout

What a headline. The Daily Mail is so ridiculous it's become a parody of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

If they were R.O.U.S's, then I'd be worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

biko wrote: »
    'We don’t want rats from foreign ships coming onto Irish soil. If it came and broke up on shore, I’m sure local people wouldn’t be very happy about it.’
    Racist! Or is that rattist?

Your in for it not now

Just because they don't look like us have tails and eat meat doesn't mean they don't have feelings emailing boards over this thread rat hatred filled vile

** Please not if you read this far I'm fecking joking i just happen to speak and type English and don't use smilies or stupiditycon **

If posters are still offended

Dial 1800 get a life

Nothing to do with bikos post just saying like

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

are the politicians, bankers and developers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Disease ridden rats. Opposed to the clean ones we have here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Are they Rats that became Cannibals or are they Cannibals that became Rats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

We don’t want rats from foreign ships coming onto Irish soil. If it came and broke up on shore, I’m sure local people wouldn’t be very happy about it

Our hard-working indigenous rats could be put out of the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭GopErthike

But, if it was a year ago it went missing, there will be only one rat???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Fear not,I recently informed some entreprenureial salvage engineers about 600 tonnes of scrap metal floating in the North Atlantic,now they're gone off all "Hunt for Red October".
    Said they'd do a good deal on my driveway as a finders fee.

Only the Daily Mail could do a story about a ship full of rats adrift at sea and still get a little xenophobia in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Read title as Cannibas rats, was confused reading article

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Anita B Jaynow

Stinicker wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2544444/Russian-ghost-ship-infested-CANNIBAL-RATS-beach-Britain-going-missing-Atlantic.html

Delightful story line from the Daily Mail I must say, I live in Kerry so I hope it doesn't end up here; Cork or Donegal would be most likely. Imagine a new breed of Cannibal Rats.
    Christ that's gas, if it's in the daily mail it must be true, some people will believe any auld sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Id be confident the ship sank

The warning signal that got picked up in like, March only goes off when the device comes into contact with water

GopErthike wrote: »
    But, if it was a year ago it went missing, there will be only one rat???

One giant rat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Boombastic wrote: »
    One giant rat

Nothing a bag of cats couldn't sort if they were dropped on board a few miles out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Its the old Fianna Fail crew coming back now that things are looking better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

crockholm wrote: »
    Fear not,I recently informed some entreprenureial salvage engineers about 600 tonnes of scrap metal floating in the North Atlantic,now they're gone off all "Hunt for Red October".
    Said they'd do a good deal on my driveway as a finders fee.

Well, they could sail her up the Shannon, turn right into the Deel, then onto home where they'd cut her up and sell her to the breakers yard in Tournafulla. And with all the radioactive gear on board ........ the rats' eye teeth may have turned into ivory tusks. A win win situation for those purveyors of all things dodgy.
    Best of luck with the driveway! :D

Arah lads, what's the panic? Sure there's only going to be two of 'em! Haven't the movies taught you anything?

So only two rats left that eat rat. Rat problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Are they Rats that became Cannibals or are they Cannibals that became Rats?

Neither, they're the offspring of The Fine Young Cannibals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Boombastic wrote: »
    One giant rat

A sort of 'King Rat' if you will.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-ZAUUApB-3Uk/UIO0UqRu0oI/AAAAAAAAA9E/7KovUI8PI4c/s220/rat_king.jpg

(file picture)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

If the boat comes ashore near a large population settlement, and the ship explodes, I can see the headline ' Boom! Town Rats!

I'll grab my overalls....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,088 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Screw the rats, This is a ghost ship, I'm worried about the feckin Ghosts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,088 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

And now I feel dirty for clicking on that link.

The Daily mail know how ****ty this article is, they're trolling the internet and every time someone clicks their links, they get more food.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

That isn't a recent picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

It was cut adrift nearly a year ago, the rats had nothing to eat but each other, yet the expect there to be thousands of them left? How many rats did this ship start out with? Millions???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Shenshen wrote: »
    It was cut adrift nearly a year ago, the rats had nothing to eat but each other, yet the expect there to be thousands of them left? How many rats did this ship start out with? Millions???
    Rats breed like crazy, they have amazing survival skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

WikiHow wrote: »
    Rats breed like crazy, they have amazing survival skills.

Not if all they have to eat is each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭melmoth77

There's actually a great horror story and radio play (IMHO) based on that premise:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_Skeleton_Key

From Relic Radio:

http://www.relicradio.com/otr/2013/06/h527-three-skeleton-key-by-escape/

Well if they're cannibals we've nothing to worry about as they'll most likely devour each other before they reach our shores.

Seriously, who writes this stuff? And don't they at least look up the meaning of the word cannibalism before they print?

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/cannibal

That's what they meant...
    Likely to have hundreds of diseased rats with only each other for food

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2544444/Russian-ghost-ship-infested-CANNIBAL-RATS-beach-Britain-going-missing-Atlantic.html#ixzz2rJDjbuNp
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Good target practice for the Aer Corps :)
    Then send the bill to the Canadians for fecking it into the sea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I read the title of that article as being cannabis rats and all I was imagining a couple of thousand very stoned rats cruising around the Atlantic.

*going back into box now ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

Is it not more likely that the rats have evolved to the point where they can now sail the ship.

I'd be very wary of any "cheap" cruise deals this summer.Just sayin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

bear1 wrote: »
    Good target practice for the Aer Corps :)
    Then send the bill to the Canadians for fecking it into the sea

Target practice? How and with what? They could always play see who gets closest by lobbing the crusts of their Freshways chicken and stuffing sambos out the window I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

I just assumed that this was some kind of sequel to 'Snakes on a Plane', no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

greenflash wrote: »
    Target practice? How and with what? They could always play see who gets closest by lobbing the crusts of their Freshways chicken and stuffing sambos out the window I suppose.

Probably from their rockets and heavy machine guns I'd say.... Would be great craic getting a few runs at the ship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

The ship could make someone very rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

It's sunk in the Atlantic according to Newstalk :( I'm away to put my rifle back, no zombie apocalypse this time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Brilliant article. Sometimes I really admire the DM for the sh(te they come up with.

Has the makings of a great horror movie though - ghost ship, cannibal rats, crashes into Inis Mor, overwhelm the island, devour the inhabitants, establish rat kingdom, has to be taken out by both ships of the Irish Navy using fire throwers. Like something between a Stephen King and 'Grabbers'.

I would watch this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

They lie in wait like wolves....waiting.....Eterrrrrnnnaaallllyyy waiting........................................................................and then....