Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care about Palestine?

• 23-01-2014 10:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭

Personally I’m a bit worried about making my credit union repayment at the end of the month. I haven’t missed a payment yet and the loan is almost paid off, but Christmas spending this year knocked me back a bit. In addition I have my driving test in 2 weeks so I’m focused on that. On the bright side, I'm looking forward to the football next week! Moyes can't catch a break!

I have enough going on in my own life so I don’t see why I should care about Palestine. Do you care and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

I do, other humans live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Im behind on payments on my new 141 bmw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Personally I’m a bit worried about making my credit union repayment at the end of the month. I haven’t missed a payment yet and the loan is almost paid off, but Christmas spending this year knocked me back a bit. In addition I have my driving test in 2 weeks so I’m focused on that. On the bright side, I'm looking forward to the football next week! Moyes can't catch a break!

I have enough going on in my own life so I don’t see why I should care about Palestine. Do you care and why?

Y'see lads, this is why yiz shouldn't be letting new accounts start threads in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

We call it East Israel...... in another few years it will be middle Israel:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

It's cool not to care. People far away with problems. You're wrecking my buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Do you care and why?

Most people do not care about their next door neighbour. Let alone another part of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I do, I don't care about Israel

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭RonnieRocket

Most people do not care about their next door neighbour. Let alone another part of the world.
    I do actually care about my own community. I always pick up litter along my street and make an effort to get to know my neighbours. I let them know they can knock on my door if they ever need help.
    I don't see why I should put people 4000 miles away before my own community here in Ireland...unless someone can convince me otherwise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Why care whether other people care or not?
    I'm thinking... because you probably do care a small bit. You could say the above about absolutely anything but you chose Palestine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I haven't done anything or made any attempt to do anything about it, whether it be protest, petition those in power or donate money to some organisation trying to help. In my view that means I don't care, anything else would just be about me feeling good about myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭140490

Its in my heart, God help them, young kids looking at their parents on floor dead ..... It does hurt :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

it is **** what is happening over there - no denying that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I do actually care about my own community. I always pick up litter along my street and make an effort to get to know my neighbours. I let them know they can knock on my door if they ever need help.
    I don't see why I should put people 4000 miles away before my own community here in Ireland...unless someone can convince me otherwise?

Good for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Can't decide who are the world's whiniest group, Palestinians or Israelis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

urabell wrote: »
    Can't decide who are the world's whiniest group, Palestinians or Israelis

What pro Palestine campaigners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

No. Doesn't interest me in any way.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I care about the people in Palestine about 23% less than I do the refugees flooding out of the Central African Republic and South Sudan; the people being hacked to death or mutilated in the Republic of Congo; the social and economic deprivation that the Chinese Government are festooning on the Tibetans etc.

I still want to use Chinese manufactured goods to complain about the plight of those in the West Bank though. Especially if Israel is involved. Not so much if the Jordanians and the Egyptians are being pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I care more about Israel to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

I dont care about what you dont care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Shut up.

I hope someone turns around to you after you lose a loved one, and says to your face that they don't give a fcuk, because they are more concerned about scraping together 90 cent to get a mars bar. Clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Nope, why would I? Personally however, purely from an academic stance I side with Israel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Shakti

Shut up.

I hope someone turns around to you after you lose a loved one, and says to your face that they don't give a fcuk, because they are more concerned about scraping together 90 cent to get a mars bar. Clown

I understand how you feel but I'd say the whole point of starting this thread to begin with was to get a response like yours.

It still remains laughable about how much this extremely complex geopolitical conflict raises the emotions of AH posters. Anyone following the situation in South Sudan at the moment? Or casting the cynical eye of history on what happened in the post Soviet Yugoslavia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

There is no such a place as Palestine so I can't care.. However I do care about the Palestinian people and their plight and oppression by everyone from the Israeli's to the torture, injustice and inequality forced upon them by their own governments.

That said there are other more pressing things I care about, I care about our troops serving in Syria and Lebanon have a safe tour more than I care for anyone else in the middle east.

I care that the body of Pte Kevin Joyce (18) kidnapped and murdered by Palestinians in 1982 will most likely never be returned to his family for a burial in his home soil.. The PLO know his faith, they know where his body is buried but won't reveal any details.

These are just some of the things I care about more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Why would people "side" with Israel and pretend Palestine doesn't exist?

Because it's, like, the "thing" to do to sock it to the "lefteeez"?

I don't expect answers. :)

I try to look at anything from a balanced perspective and I know not all the Palestinians are innocent victims, and not all Israelis, by a long shot, are aggressive hard-asses. I don't like the Ireland-Palestine Solidarity crowd. But Palestinians were there first, and they are the ones living under some pretty repressive conditions. It's no picnic for Israelis either - living under threat.
    It's pathetic to "take sides". :)
    It's also pathetic to deny certain realities though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

With all these terrorist Palestinians maybe the isreal government should put little yellow stars on them so you can tell hes a terrorist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Why care whether other people care or not?
    I'm thinking... because you probably do care a small bit. You could say the above about absolutely anything but you chose Palestine.

Because he knows he should care he's just under the impression caring takes effort and seems the kind of fellow who'd avoid any unnecessary effort.

Sorry state of affairs when you're too damn lazy to give a shít about other human beings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

yes I care very much about Palestine and the Palestinian people, who are being driven off their land by Israel, which is one of the most heavily armed nations in the world and are fully sanctioned by the USA.

Did anyone here care about black South Africans during Apartheid rule?

Israel's treatment of Palestinians is very similar.

With all these terrorist Palestinians maybe the isreal government should put little yellow stars on them so you can tell hes a terrorist.

Stunning insight.

I try to look at anything from a balanced perspective and I know not all the Palestinians are innocent victims, and not all Israelis, by a long shot, are aggressive hard-asses, but Palestinians were there first, and they are the ones living under some pretty repressive conditions.

See, this is the tricky part. If you're schooled in the Old Testament, like a lot of Orthodox Jews are, the land had been promised by God to the Israelites since the exodus and was where they settled after wandering in the wilderness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I am not exceptionally worried about Palestine, having regard for other troubled peoples.

However, I do hate Israel, therefore the oul Pallys get bumped up my list of people's I care about. :eek: :P

yes I care very much about Palestine and the Palestinian people, who are being driven off their land by Israel, which is one of the most heavily armed nations in the world and are fully sanctioned by the USA.

Israel's treatment of Palestinians is very similar

Well, not really. Would the apartheid government of SA had blacks in it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Arab_members_of_the_Knesset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I am led to believe that some workers in Dunnes Stores did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Just for this? Or do you apply that philosophy to everything? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭RonnieRocket

There is one guy in my group of friends who sees campaigning for Palestine as a hobby. We’ll be sitting in the pub watching the football and telling jokes and then every time without fail he drags the mood down by changing the subject to Palestine. A few times I caught a couple of girls laughing at him at the bar for wearing a keffiyeh. In fairness he does look ridiculous with it on.
    Myself and my other mates use Facebook for light-hearted chats but he spams the newsfeed with the latest news from Al-Jazeera about Palestine and pictures of charred bodies. One of the boys told him “to cop on, you’re Irish” and he went out in a huff. Very strange chap.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Well, not really. Would the apartheid government of SA had blacks in it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Arab_members_of_the_Knesset

Israel and the apartheid analogy

Israel's treatment of Palestinians is very similar.

No it isn't. That is one of the stupidest comparisons thrown out.

Offensive as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

On about the same level, or maybe less, than I care about the ongoing conflicts in Asia and Africa. Conflicts that have claimed many many more lives than Is vs Pa, but no-one else knows about because those conflicts aren't deemed newsworthy by media... I suppose media finds the Jew vs Arab war more interesting that African vs African.

Here's an old post about it
    biko wrote: »
    Unfortunately there just isn't enough room in the school curriculum (or in people's heads) for all the atrocities old and current during war.
    And some are deemed more newsworthy than others.
    For instance the Syria civil war or Palestinian plight in the West Bank are big news but various (much bigger and bloodier) conflicts in Africa and Asia are just not seen as news and never reach Irish ears.

For your perusing pleasure, current conflicts with more than 1000 dead per year, aka wars you probably haven't heard of..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ongoing_armed_conflicts#1.2C000.2B_deaths_per_year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

There is one guy in my group of friends who sees campaigning for Palestine as a hobby. We’ll be sitting in the pub watching the football and telling jokes and then every time without fail he drags the mood down by changing the subject to Palestine. A few times I caught a couple of girls laughing at him at the bar for wearing a keffiyeh. In fairness he does look ridiculous with it on.
    Myself and my other mates use Facebook for light-hearted chats but he spams the newsfeed with the latest news from Al-Jazeera about Palestine and pictures of charred bodies. One of the boys told him “to cop on, you’re Irish” and he went out in a huff. Very strange chap.

Maybe he's a closet muslim.

I wont given a feck about palastine as long as religious fanatics and extremists are running the place.

I hope they soon find the snackbar they always seem to be running around looking for.

Rabelais wrote: »
    No it isn't. That is one of the stupidest comparisons thrown out.

Offensive as well.

as offensive as the leveling of Palestinian dwellings, by bulldozers driven by Israeli soldiers?

Rachael Corrie, American activist killed by Israeli bulldozer

as offensive as the leveling of Palestinian dwellings, by bulldozers driven by Israeli soldiers?

Rachael Corrie, American activist killed by Israeli bulldozer

I'm well aware of what has happened in this conflict. Utter tragedy. But do you throw the same moral compass on other violations of human rights? Does your sense of compassion for the plight of individuals extend to the amount of people displaced in China through mandatory movement orders? Or the conflict between Thailand and Cambodia at the moment? Or what is happening to the people of Tibet?

This faux-compassion rarely extends to actually thinking about people outside this zone of conflict. See how many people the Chinese Government kill each year. Then check out where your laptop is made. Complete and utter hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I've always wondered why the Palestine cause gets so much attention, compared to other groups of people that go through far, far worse (an example that I only recently learned about is the Sri Lanka Civil War, where around 100.000 people lost their lives but which has gone pretty much unnoticed in it's last years).

Should they be treated better by Israel and get their own country ? Definitely.

Is it normal that the vast majority of UN Human Rights Council condemn Israel more than all other countries combined ? Not to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

I try to look at anything from a balanced perspective and I know not all the Palestinians are innocent victims, and not all Israelis, by a long shot, are aggressive hard-asses. I don't like the Ireland-Palestine Solidarity crowd. But Palestinians were there first, and they are the ones living under some pretty repressive conditions. It's no picnic for Israelis either - living under threat.
    It's also pathetic to deny certain realities though.

When does the we were here first thing run out? 50, 100 years?

I think the Jews claim they were there first also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 The Gimp of Dundalk

I do not care about Palestine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Honestly,No. It's not my fight,I have no Connection to anyone on any side in that conflict.If i'm watching the news and some story about an outrage or murder comes on I'll sit through it with the same level of bemusement and attention span as if I had just seen the Division 3 soccer results.

I.Just.Don't.Care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭con___manx1

If everyone thought like the op the world would be screwed. I doubt most young people in Ireland no feck all about Palestine. Most people under 30 have no clew about the Good Friday agreement in d north even. It's actually shocking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Anita B Jaynow

Where what now?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

Of course I care about the Palestinian people. They have been forced off their land and treated as animals by the Israeli people/army. Something Irish people were also put through no less than a hundred years ago by the imperialist British.

I would advise people who are "on the fence" or don't fully understand what is happening in Gaza and the West Bank to check out a documentary on netflix called "5 Broken Cameras". It takes a look at the struggles of a Palestinian farmer has to put up with. Shocking in parts.

It bewilders me that people on here would actually side with the Zionists. A bit worrying if even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I do care about it but I agree with the other posters who pointed out it receives a disproportionate amount of attention.

Incidentally, to claim Palestine 'doesn't exist' like Makikomi did, is a ridiculous attitude. Did Ireland exist under British rule? Did Greece exist under Turkish rule? Of course there is such a place as Palestine, even if much of it has been occupied by Israelis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

I care about a lot of global issues but I find myself zoning out on the Palestine/Israel issue, largely because it is impossible to have a rational conversation with supporters of either side about it.