Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you get on with your mother in-law

• 23-01-2014 6:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

Well what can i say about my mother in-law only she is a wagon and wrecks my head,when she calls to our home she sits there all fecking day talking crap about everything and anything .she can`t keep her nose out of our business i am totaly convinced she hates me ..i just hope my missus don`t turn out like her ,are all mother in-laws like this or am i the unlucky one to get this cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

fartman wrote: »
    Well what can i say about my mother in-law only she is a wagon and wrecks my head,when she calls to our home she sits there all fecking day talking crap about everything and anything .she can`t keep her nose out of our business i am totaly convinced she hates me ..i just hope my missus don`t turn out like her ,are all mother in-laws like this or am i the unlucky one to get this cnut.

I think they are put in our lives to really test our limits.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Yes because we both make allowances. She avoids smart comments about my lack of religion and in particular my refusing to have my child christened (she's big on religion) while I don't swear or blaspheme in front of her.

Works a treat and we get on grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't know why she'd hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Why is it always mother in laws? It's weird. You never hear this stuff about father in laws.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

On, in, it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fartman

kneemos wrote: »
    Don't know why she'd hate you.
    me to its when she looks at me in eye its fecking scary love to know whats she is thinking ,even my own mother can`t stay in the same room as her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I've mine on ignore. How do they wreck peoples heads? Ever hear of the phrase "Feck off love and don't be annoying me".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

we get on grand not seen them in 15 months and when I do it's for 2 weeks and we can never have a one on one conversation.:) I'll see them again in the summer :)

lucky you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Why is it always mother in laws? It's weird. You never hear this stuff about father in laws.
    They get to scare the **** out of men before the marriage. They tag in the wife some time around the engagement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yeah, we get on great, she's come to our house for the last nine Christmases running. Next year I'm thinking of letting her in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

:eek: She fecken' wishes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I don't really know her. She won't be my mother in law until May, I've only met her twice. My fiancé is a real mammy's boy though, but she seems really lovely.

I think it's my sister in law I might not get on with :( She seems a bit nosey and pushy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Mines'a a Milf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭madfcuker

My mother in law is some pain. Sticking her nose into our business and give us useless sh!te that goes in the bin. We don't need any calenders or clocks or anything like that. Thank god I got an excuse not to go see her.

Mines'a a Milf.
    Mine's a treasure, actually that's my nickname for her. 'Treasure'.

She reminds me of something that's been dug up.

Mine's a treasure, actually that's my nickname for her. 'Treasure'.

She reminds me of something that's been dug up.

You must have a '70's jokebook or a collection of Tommy Cooper DVD's like my granddad's.:)

This is great guys love ur posts ..can anyone come up with a plan in how to stop her from calling to our house ..can`t really shoot the ducker would upset wife to much.. hmm any ideas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Don't have one, but my last long term bf's mother loved me and I loved her. We went drinking together every weekend and she loved having me come visit so much that she invited me to move in and offered me a new job in her area if I chose to move in.

The next one will probably try murder me while I'm asleep, just to balance it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

wow! Thought it was only mine that was that much of a fcuking headache! Glad to know im not alone.

This is great guys love ur posts ..can anyone come up with a plan in how to stop her from calling to our house ..can`t really shoot the ducker would upset wife to much.. hmm any ideas

Show her your micky.

Candie wrote: »
    You must have a '70's jokebook or a collection of Tommy Cooper DVD's like my granddad's.:)
    Just like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

I get on really well with my Mother in Law. I do fundamentally and hugely disagree with the vast majority of her opinions (mad FF head, very public sector outlook on everything). However I have huge respect for her.
    She lost her husband in her mid 50's, when her youngest was still in collage, so instead of heading towards a happy and more relaxed time of her life, had to instead deal with loneliness and grief - which imho she did admirably.
    In addition she is now a great granny and is loved by my children.
    Last, but not least, she brought my wonderful wife into the world, and for that I an eternally grateful.
    So all in all, I can't complain too much.

I get on really well with my Mother in Law. I do fundamentally and hugely disagree with the vast majority of her opinions (mad FF head, very public sector outlook on everything). However I have huge respect for her.
    She lost her husband in her mid 50's, when her youngest was still in collage, so instead of heading towards a happy and more relaxed time of her life, had to instead deal with loneliness and grief - which imho she did admirably.
    Last, but not least, she brought my wonderful wife into the world, and for that I an eternally grateful.

Dude.

Aw, that's lovely :)
    Dude.

Shuddup you cynic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

the definition of 'mixed feelings' is watching your mother-in-law driving your brand new motor over a cliff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

We get along great. I'm very lucky, I hear some of my friends/female family members moaning about how much of a pain their mother in law is but mine is great, we go shopping together and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

I get on great with my MiL now that she is dead.

petrolcan wrote: »
    I get on great with my MiL now that she is dead.

Buried in the garden is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Buried in the garden is she?

Heh, sorta. Her ashes are feeding the roses in the front garden.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Don't have one thank feck, but I always got on with my longterm exes mums. Fathers were variable mind you, mostly no.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I haven't spoken to the bitch in 4 years, nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Do you get on with your mother in-law ?

Not really. There is only room for one on her broom stick. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

I get on pretty well with mine.

The wife isnt a fan of my mother though but then my mother is a tough woman to get on with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Yeah, she's lovely. I don't agree with her on everything but then again I don't agree with anyone on everything. She's very welcoming and generous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Yeah I like her and vice versa although she's very old school which is hilarious and mortifying in equal measure. Think Prince Philip in a granny wig and pinafore and you have the general idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

we have a love hate relationship, which is funny cause i too feel sometimes its balancing out, my ex's mum loved me, she thought me how to cook properly (from scratch) and how to knit, even going on long car journeys together to visit her grandchildren.

my current one (and one im stuck with for life unfortunately) has done some pretty ****ty things but then she's had some really tough times, so i try and be there for her if i can,

sometimes she makes me so angry i just end up venting at her. (probably not the best idea) although she seems to cop on for awhile after i do... :D

we are always civil and polite when my daughter is around as she is her grandmother and they deserve to have a relationship un-blighted by my feelings towards her and hers towards me,

someday maybe we'll get on, but for now i am just ignoring the ups and downs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

She died a number of years ago, but we got on fine. She was a very nice lady.

Father-in-law, now that's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

How do you stop your mother in law from drowning?

Take your foot off her head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Xidu

My MIL is a very negative person, but she loves commenting on everything we buy or we do. In the beginning I discussed this with my husband, his suggestion is to ignore her as sometimes she doesn't even know what she is talking about.

She loves to have my kids in her house almost everyday for a while as we live very close to each other. But she feeds too much sweets and junk snacks to kids before lunch or dinner, leave the TV on RTE junior all the time, my husband expressed many times to her that not to do this, she always says yes yes but nothing changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

anncoates wrote: »
    Yeah I like her and vice versa although she's very old school which is hilarious and mortifying in equal measure. Think Prince Philip in a granny wig and pinafore and you have the general idea.

http://l3.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/8PB8Fll8AOBKsFPHiORE7A--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTYzMA--/http://l.yimg.com/os/251/2012/06/01/PA2-jpg_121808.jpg

But why the hell do they need to know every fecking thing in your live ..i loved to tell her to fcuk off with her 101 questions ,sometimes it gets so bad i have to go to the garage ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Mines'a a Milf.

You know what to do. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭peter bermingham

if she was on fire i wouldn't piss on her to save her!

The only chance she'd have would be the streams of water running down my face from laughing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

She's an absolute sweetie tbh. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Mines'a a Milf.

Mines a Bint.

glad to hear i am not on my own ..can someone tell me whats a milf

Not my Mother-in-law anyway!!!!!!

MILF is "mother i'd like to fcuk"!!!!

hallo dare wrote: »