Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eircom NGB

• 22-01-2014 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭

Why do I have these pings to all the servers throughout Europe? I would have thought after complaining for 13 months last time to get this sorted, the fix would have last longer than a year.

This costs over 100 euro, and is worse than 56k latency.

219qcrt.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

What's the crack lads? NGB is advertised as being uncongested 

wa3ibk.png

Router Sync

21865/767 (kbps)

Line stats

5wkqw6.png

Distance to exchange

70-80 metres

Have you rang technical support

Yes, even spoke to a manager who had nothing technical to tell me

Any you annoyed

Yes. Tbh I really care much about the speed I'm receiving once its not crawling. I just want something that offers better quality of service than dial up, something reliable. If there was an option to reduce my bandwidth but provide stable pings I would jump at it.

Even to your own network the ping is lousy. Before 7 or 8 pm I get 12-15ms to eircom.net

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\PC>ping www.eircom.net

Pinging home.eircom.net [86.43.38.8] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 86.43.38.8: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=58
    Reply from 86.43.38.8: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=58
    Reply from 86.43.38.8: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=58
    Reply from 86.43.38.8: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 86.43.38.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 50ms, Maximum = 57ms, Average = 53ms

Everywhere else in Europe is 200, and the uk is over 100

Tracing route to home.eircom.net [86.43.38.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.254
    2 65 ms 64 ms 63 ms b-ras2.dbn.dublin.eircom.net [159.134.155.5]
    3 63 ms 64 ms 62 ms ge-2-1-7.pe1.dbn.cld-dbn.eircom.net [86.43.246.1
    57]
    4 65 ms 64 ms 63 ms tenge-3-1-1.core2.dbn.core.eircom.net [86.43.252
    .101]
    5 63 ms 64 ms 62 ms tenge-1-2-1.pe2.crz.crz-crz.eircom.net [86.43.25
    2.138]
    6 65 ms 62 ms 66 ms ge1-5.service4.cra.dublin.eircom.net [159.134.12
    5.46]
    7 73 ms 63 ms 61 ms isp1.eircom.net [86.43.38.8]

Trace complete.

European servers

2pq46d3.png

Things are fine up until 6pm and stay bad until 12pm

This is taken from Eircoms website, quote for quote

"We have great uncongested broadband with speeds up to 24Mb and we'll upgrade you for FREE when eFibre comes to your area. "

It was ngb enabled roughly a year ago, Would appreciate any info thanks

anyone?

Same craic again tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Conallmacker

get a vpn if your want a temporary solution to the problem, eircoms routing is ****

Don't think a vpn will sort it

have a look here http://i42.tinypic.com/2yobc6u.jpg

and here off heanet ftp server

http://i44.tinypic.com/1rrp6e.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Conallmacker

it worked for me, i can play in league of legends when i would normally have 150+ ping in the evenings at the normal 70 ping. but you could be having a different problem. here two speed test i did just there one without the vpn and the other with.

http://tinypic.com/r/2h3zde8/5

http://i39.tinypic.com/24mb63d.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Hate to hi jack the thread but how do i find out how far i am from the exchange?

Having continuous problems with speeds up and down all the time
    thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Hate to hi jack the thread but how do i find out how far i am from the exchange?

thanks lads

crasy dash wrote: »

thanks lads

Do you know what exchange you're on? If you find the stats line attenuation and SN margin in expert mode 192.168.1.254 under stats/dsl it should give you an idea what your line can handle.

Enter the values Downstream attenuation and downstream SN margin here http://www.speedguide.net/dsl_speed_calc.php

It should calculate a rough distance for you.

it worked for me, i can play in league of legends when i would normally have 150+ ping in the evenings at the normal 70 ping. but you could be having a different problem. here two speed test i did just there one without the vpn and the other with.
    Cheers for the suggestion mate, I play fps games and the first hop out of the router is 80 or so , so it probably won't be worth it. At least you found something that works for you, sad state of affairs when you need to vpn your own home connection just so its somewhat useable.

bump

I rang technical support already. I want some proper answers

"We say "up to" because the broadband speeds your line can receive may vary - this can depend on factors such as how far you are from your local exchange. With our uncongested Broadband you will not share your broadband connection with other internet users in your area - even at peak hours of the day! This ensures you will always receive the fastest speed your line can support and delivers a consistent online experience for you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭eircom: Alan

nuxxx wrote: »
    bump

"We say "up to" because the broadband speeds your line can receive may vary - this can depend on factors such as how far you are from your local exchange. With our uncongested Broadband you will not share your broadband connection with other internet users in your area - even at peak hours of the day! This ensures you will always receive the fastest speed your line can support and delivers a consistent online experience for you"
    Hi nuxxx

I have made our position clear on this on numerous ocasions to you throughout multiple threads on this forum and our own. Please review my responses.

Al

bump

Hi nuxxx

I have made our position clear on this on numerous ocasions to you throughout multiple threads on this forum and our own. Please review my responses.

Al
    Which is what? What is your position 

post edited after correspondence with eircom rep

Thanks nuxxx

As soon as I have more information on the progress of the reference number I sent you I'll let you know right away.

Al

An Engineer called out today and had a look at the line, recommended me to ring broadband support and lower the profile to 18Mb, did that tonight when the problems started but it didn't solve anything.

Any idea where to go from here?

Thanks.

bump

An Engineer called out today and had a look at the line, recommended me to ring broadband support and lower the profile to 18Mb, did that tonight when the problems started but it didn't solve anything.

Any idea where to go from here?

Thanks.
    Hi nuxxx

From what I see this has been re-assigned for further investigation but I will seek clarification from repairs on this and get back to you as soon as possible.

Al

bump
    Hi nuxxx

The issues may be also affected by the faults created by the weather but I'll still seek clarification on this for you :

http://community.eircom.net/t5/Service-Updates-and/Fault-Levels-Remain-High-due-to-weather-conditions/td-p/53924

Al

Ok

Post Edited.

Got a phone call from a tech manager who told me the local exchange no where near capacity, so that indicates a problem along Eircoms network somewhere. Anyway tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭vishal

Surely eircom should be able to see that people are being throttled and that there are problems with their network somewhere. What good is efibre when they can't maintain even maintain 7mbs . What a complete load of s***

And the same bad latency to everywhere :( I'm going to give it until Sunday week before deciding what to do next

Total amount due by 10 Feb 14 € 127.85 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

And the same bad latency to everywhere :( I'm going to give it until Sunday week before deciding what to do next

Total amount due by 10 Feb 14 € 127.85 :rolleyes:
    i have the same problem i have been in a contract with eircom 2 months i have emailed complaints department,had a technician out and he showed me my line is congested.
    i have tried to cancel my contract with eircom because they have told me the line is uncongested.
    i argued my case with them for 90 minutes on thursday as i want to cancel my contract,to say they were unhelpful is an understatement.

surely i can cancel my contract without having to pay the 400euro they quoted me to do so.

sorry for hijacking your thread.

no worries :)

The more publicity the better

http://i62.tinypic.com/2e4gapk.png

Same craic. Low download speeds poor latency

Some Eircom lad called today saying himself and another lad are going to fix this apparent fault on my line Monday.

heard nothing from any engineers today

1 week eircom, ball is in your court

Hi [font=Times New Roman","serif]nuxxx

I'm doing all I can to have this done as soon as possible and I'm giving you regular updates on the line fault. You have communicated you dissatisfaction on this on numerous occasions but I'm genuinely doing my best.

There is nothing further I can see with this but I'll ask repairs for an update and let you know as soon as I have an update.

Al[/font]

I know you're doing your best my problem isn't with you. I was lied to again by your company that someone would be out here this morning. My anger isn't with you at all so don't take what I write here personally.

Can you pm me the complaints no please.

I know you're doing your best my problem isn't with you. I was lied to again by your company that someone would be out here this morning. My anger isn't with you at all so don't take what I write here personally.

Can you pm me the complaints no please.
    Hi nuxxx

I PM'd it to you just now

Al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Mightycraic

Alan, probably not your department, but could you please try to enlighten me about the faults text service that Eircom (partly) use? In recent weeks, I have received 5 text messages asking if my fault has been resolved and, if not, to text UNRESOLVED to 50120 and I would be called within 24 hours. Those calls have never come (the last being at 16:35 yesterday). Like nuxxx's no-show, does anyone in Eircom understand how frustrating this behaviour is?

As we speak, it's the same old story with severe congestion on the NG network. Even got this a short while ago...

oops.jpg

Shortly after, once I could connect to something, I ran several Traceroutes to the same Irish server. Plenty of lost packets on their core routers (Crown Alley?). Difficult to blame this one on the local exchange.

tracert.jpg

3280410317.png

Pings are sky high too. Your broadband isn't uncongested. It has nothing got to with my phoneline, you're not providing the service that is advertised and I'm paying over 100e for. During the day pings are fine and I always get over 16Mb

This isn't directed at you Alan I know there's nothing you can do, I just don't know what I should do? I've complained here, on the Eircom forums themselves, rang technical support lots of times, had engineers here, logged complaints. Nothing changes.

3280410317.png

Pings are sky high too. Your broadband isn't uncongested. It has nothing got to with my phoneline, you're not providing the service that is advertised and I'm paying over 100e for. During the day pings are fine and I always get over 16Mb

This isn't directed at you Alan I know there's nothing you can do, I just don't know what I should do? I've complained here, on the Eircom forums themselves, rang technical support lots of times, had engineers here, logged complaints. Nothing changes.

Hi nuxxx

I have tried to explain on multiple occasions that there is an issue with your line and works are ongoing to resolve this for you. You have even been informed this by eircom engineers. We have also given our position on the congestion issues to threads to have posted on.

Al

Engineer finished the work this morning. Will post back results tomorrow. 

Delighted Eircom found an issue with my line that makes my connection go to crap only at peak hours but wont tell me what it is! Am I doing it right?

No1 has told me why my ngb is congested, if you don't have answers fine, just don't lie and treat me like a fool.

Engineer finished the work this morning. Will post back results tomorrow. 

Delighted Eircom found an issue with my line that makes my connection go to crap only at peak hours but wont tell me what it is! Am I doing it right?

No1 has told me why my ngb is congested, if you don't have answers fine, just don't lie and treat me like a fool.
    At least Alan is replying to your messages. All of mine are being ignored. Good manners cost nothing.

Alan, probably not your department, but could you please try to enlighten me about the faults text service that Eircom (partly) use? In recent weeks, I have received 5 text messages asking if my fault has been resolved and, if not, to text UNRESOLVED to 50120 and I would be called within 24 hours. Those calls have never come (the last being at 16:35 yesterday). Like nuxxx's no-show, does anyone in Eircom understand how frustrating this behaviour is?

[font=Times New Roman","serif]Hi Mightycraic

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, when there are a number of queries for different users on the same thread this can cause delays at times.

I'm also sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing surround the technicians text facility, there is not much light I can cast on their texting procedures but I do apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment this has created.

I see you have contacted technical support as this is now with engineers but if you would like to PM me the fault reference number I'll see if there is any further update to this for you.

Al[/font]

Have to say am getting 4.5mb ATM. This is the best it's been in a long time at this hour of the night. Normally get 13 mb during the day.

Spoke too soon. Speeds back to 2mb again. Welcome to 2002 again.

Same, and still horrible latency. Have contracted comreg. Tired of being lied to. A manager was supposed to call me yesterday with an update and as of today still nothing. Will be looking for a reasonable refund dating back to September. I kept my side of the contract.

Out of all the calls, images, posts I have made here and on the Eircom Forum, I have never gotten a reply of something like "Yeah that traceroute doesn't look right, let me send it on to the Engineers to have a look at" Not once. They've all been ignored.

I have never gotten a pm or phone call saying "There is x and x problem based in x and x and the time frame may be x" That's all I wanted, some kind of update but you couldn't even provide that.

Eircom Tony, who is the community manager, Ignored my PM aswell.

Take me off b-ras2 and put me on 1 and see if that makes any difference

That'd be enough to make me happy. To know it will be fixed and to have a time frame.  I think eircom could be doing this deliberately to push people onto 18 month contracts with efibre as opposed to continuing contracts with Vodafone/Sky. It's really the regulator that should be involved with this fiasco.

Speed has dropped to 1.43 mbs now

I agree, some update with an estimated time and explanation of a technical problem would resolve alot of my frustration. Like for example why does traffic leaving London to 90% of servers in mainland Europe add 100+ ms latency at peak hours.

2md32g7.png

To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it. This is a core problem on your network that Eircom are ignoring. It has been ongoing since September without any resolution.

Why do my pings go from 15ms to 80-90ms at night on Eircom's own network since the end of November. To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it.

Why does my download speed drop to 2Mb at peak times since the end of November? To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it.

I ring broadband support, I'm told be one of the technical guys there to try googling ways to reduce ping. I post here on the forums, I'm not given any technical information, they won't even tell me what the fault was on my line, but surprise, it was fixed today and I still have the exact same issues.

Please just don't fob me off again, admit there is a problem and give me some kind of update on what work are the Eircom Engineers doing to fix this. It has nothing to do with my phoneline, since Fiber began rolling out these problems began, before that there wasn't a single problem.

Why advertise something you can't provide? How would you react paying for Sky Digital or whatever and every night half the channels just don't work. You ring their support and you're told to try googling ways to get them back on, you're told to try turning the sky box off and on again. Sky send out engineers and tells you the problem is fixed. The same night you sit down to watch some TV and the problem still remains. How would you react being treated like this over several months and all the time being overcharged for it.

I want some information on my problem, not lies. I don't care if its good or bad news, I just want something. Being left in the dark like this is incredibility frustrating and my health is suffering as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

I agree, some update with an estimated time and explanation of a technical problem would resolve alot of my frustration. Like for example why does traffic leaving London to 90% of servers in mainland Europe add 100+ ms latency at peak hours.

2md32g7.png

To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it. This is a core problem on your network that Eircom are ignoring. It has been ongoing since September without any resolution.

Why do my pings go from 15ms to 80-90ms at night on Eircom's own network since the end of November. To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it.

Why does my download speed drop to 2Mb at peak times since the end of November? To me its obvious congestion on Eircoms side but no Eircom rep has ever even attempted to explain it or acknowledge it.

I ring broadband support, I'm told be one of the technical guys there to try googling ways to reduce ping. I post here on the forums, I'm not given any technical information, they won't even tell me what the fault was on my line, but surprise, it was fixed today and I still have the exact same issues.

Please just don't fob me off again, admit there is a problem and give me some kind of update on what work are the Eircom Engineers doing to fix this. It has nothing to do with my phoneline, since Fiber began rolling out these problems began, before that there wasn't a single problem.

Why advertise something you can't provide? How would you react paying for Sky Digital or whatever and every night half the channels just don't work. You ring their support and you're told to try googling ways to get them back on, you're told to try turning the sky box off and on again. Sky send out engineers and tells you the problem is fixed. The same night you sit down to watch some TV and the problem still remains. How would you react being treated like this over several months and all the time being overcharged for it.

I want some information on my problem, not lies. I don't care if its good or bad news, I just want something. Being left in the dark like this is incredibility frustrating and my health is suffering as a result.
    100% agree its a joke at this stage that they are allowed get away with the blatant false advertising and lies.

also how did you get on with comreg? i would be intrigued what they have to say...PM me there if you want.

Hi Mightycraic

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, when there are a number of queries for different users on the same thread this can cause delays at times.

I'm also sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing surround the technicians text facility, there is not much light I can cast on their texting procedures but I do apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment this has created.

I see you have contacted technical support as this is now with engineers but if you would like to PM me the fault reference number I'll see if there is any further update to this for you.

Al
    Alan, I appreciate you replying but I now have finally received calls from an Eircom manager who is calling when they promise to and is escalating as necessary. They did arrange a technician to visit the local exchange yesterday (nothing untowards found) and another is being despatched today.

Hi Mightycraic

Al
    Alan, I appreciate you replying but I now have finally received calls from an Eircom manager who is calling when they promise to and is escalating as necessary. They did arrange a technician to visit the local exchange yesterday (nothing untowards found) and another is being despatched today.
    Thanks Mightycraic

I do hope this can be resolved soon.

Al