Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy birthday Brian O'Driscoll

• 21-01-2014 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭

He's 35 today! Happy birthday lad and have a great last hurrah this season.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Cheers, I'll try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Today is therefore Christmas II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭gaius c

Favourite moments?

The hat trick against France, the 2001 lions tries and that over-the-head pass that Hickie is still waiting for (at 1.53 below).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭LostArt

gaius c wrote: »
    Favourite moments?

bodhospital11.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

35 is still young - hope he re-considers, one more year , it being a WC year, love to see him bow out with a semi - his expierence would be invaluable , and a fitting stage for him to finally bow out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

thebaz wrote: »
    35 is still young - hope he re-considers, one more year , it being a WC year, love to see him bow out with a semi - his expierence would be invaluable , and a fitting stage for him to finally bow out

considering his form atm i hope he doesn't tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

The man is playing well. Happy to see him bow out with another Slam and European cup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Don't think anyone who has seen his last 4-5 games would say he's playing well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah. Like I said in another thread, he definitely isn't playing to his best, particular in defence. If he manages to string together a few big performances in the 6N and the HEC play offs I'll be delighted, because I'd hate to see him fizzle out on his last season. He's definitely stretching it anyway, he'd be way off the pace next year. I don't even think it's his age, just all the injuries catching up.

Yea the debate has been going around the last 4-5 games. As an avid watcher of the midfield, he has been playing well.
    http://www.thescore.ie/analysis-leinster-centres-castres-1266682-Jan2014/

He even did a John Mullane on it (I luv me countee!!).
    http://www.thescore.ie/brian-odriscoll-leinster-3-1211699-Dec2013/
    6 games ago!
    brian-odriscoll-scores-a-try-and-is-congratulated-by-jamie-heaslip-2-390x285.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Am I alone in thinking that people are being harsh on his recent performances?

Absolutely, he is not close to his form at peak, but to say he has been poor is more than a bit unfair.

He had a decent game away to the Saints, the pass that ultimately set-up Luuuuuuukes try and his own try. He was vital in his contributions against Castre, if even just for starting that row.

Or is it a case that unless he gets a 'good for TV'-'run the length of the pitch'-intercept try, he is playing badly?

Either way, I wouldn't like to see him stay, this is his final year, and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Under any circumstances, regardless of impact at ruck or in defence, he was poor against the Ospreys. You simply cannot be a centre that throws repeated passes that miss the receiver completely and offer no breaking threat and then claim to have not had a poor game. If it was any other player, people would be far more accepting of the evidence at hand rather than analysing every involvement in an effort to prove otherwise.

Regardless of form, BOD should have walked away last summer for his own health. He had nothing to prove to anyone.

Yea the debate has been going around the last 4-5 games. As an avid watcher of the midfield, he has been playing well.
    http://www.thescore.ie/analysis-leinster-centres-castres-1266682-Jan2014/

He hasn't been playing well, that's just not correct.

He was poor against Castres bar that crucial turnover, made an awful mistake against Connacht and seems ot be off the boil defensively and attacking wise.

Sure, it's hard to criticise BOD because he could come out with a once in a lifetime moment, but he's not playing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Kanrith

I though this thread was supposed to celebrate his birthday not criticize his recent performances.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Could people not just leave the "happy birthday" thread as a happy place to reflect on his many achievements in the game (and outside it)? You want to talk about how sh*t you think he's playing, should have packed it in etc, there are numerous Ireland or Leinster threads for that.

And the boy done good off the pitch too.

Brian-O_Driscoll_1672054c.jpg

Could people not just leave the "happy birthday" thread as a happy place to reflect on his many achievements in the game (and outside it)? You want to talk about how sh*t you think he's playing, should have packed it in etc, there are numerous Ireland or Leinster threads for that.

Sorry . Happy Birthday BOD

Kanrith wrote: »
    I though this thread was supposed to celebrate his birthday not criticize his recent performances.:confused:

My thought too but it's going to happen anyway.
    Just shout them out with happy tales!

Jaysus, the same preciousness that met ROG's demise is rearing its head again.

We're sorry for daring to critique to great one on the glorious celebration of his birthday

290042.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Uncanny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

It seems the last few days every thread has been talking about bod's form (and the agreement that his form has been shíte is pretty widely agreed). I think you're looking for something to be offended by if that's how you interpret someone asking that yet another thread not be devoted to the topic

odriscoll_lo.jpg

It's not preciousness at all. No-one is saying that his form shouldn't be debated, just that this is not the thread for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Kanrith wrote: »

I haven't see him play in a while, surprised to see so many say he's playing badly though, it must be very bad, perhaps gatty was ahead of the curve.

The man did give it all regardless of what colour jersey he wore, so maybe time has caught up with him. Hopefully he can put in another few good performances in green at any rate.

Tox56 wrote: »
    It seems the last few days every thread has been talking about bod's form (and the agreement that his form has been shíte is pretty widely agreed). I think you're looking for something to be offended by if that's how you interpret someone asking that yet another thread not be devoted to the topic

No I think you've that the wrong way around to be honest. I'm not the one looking to be offended, it's a rugby forum, expect talk about rugby form.

I replied to other posters taking umbrage by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I hope he will stick around with Leinster and Ireland after he quits.
    Help out the younger lads in terms of fitness and skill and his experience is definitely something that the younger lads can learn from.
    He was my inspiration years ago when I first started out as a 2nd centre ( open side flanker now) and I think a lot if lads look up to him on the squad and up and coming lads aswell so hope he stays part of the club

Rightwing wrote: »
    I haven't see him play in a while, surprised to see so many say he's playing badly though, it must be very bad, perhaps gatty was ahead of the curve.

The man did give it all regardless of what colour jersey he wore, so maybe time has caught up with him. Hopefully he can put in another few good performances in green at any rate.

Were you not saying last night have average Leinster have been in the HC this season?

And now you're admitting that you haven't seen them play in a while :rolleyes:

And the thread is officially f*cked.

Great.

I hope he will stick around with Leinster and Ireland after he quits.
    Help out the younger lads in terms of fitness and skill and his experience is definitely something that the younger lads can learn from.
    He was my inspiration years ago when I first started out as a 2nd centre ( open side flanker now) and I think a lot if lads look up to him on the squad and up and coming lads aswell so hope he stays part of the club

No doubt sbout that, the likes of himself and POC are invaluable to a squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

perhaps gatty was ahead of the curve.

Indeed, perhaps Schmidt should get ahead of the curve and drop SOB now, because in 2024 the guy just won't be up to standard

Tox56 wrote: »
    Indeed, perhaps Schmidt should get ahead of the curve and drop SOB now, because in 2024 the guy just won't be up to standard

Well let him get over his injury first, then we can take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭idle

When Brian O'Driscoll is mentioned in conversation a friend of mine always says the same thing

"Brian O'Driscoll is the Ryan Giggs of rugby...and by that I mean the most overrated player in the history of the sport!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Your friend smells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

idle wrote: »
    When Brian O'Driscoll is mentioned in conversation a friend of mine always says the same thing

"Brian O'Driscoll is the Ryan Giggs of rugby...and by that I mean the most overrated player in the history of the sport!"

Cool story, needs more dragons and sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭leftleg

I like stories

Never realised before just how crooked his nose is. When did he break it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

This thread is a bore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

And the boy done good off the pitch too.

Brian-O_Driscoll_1672054c.jpg

And in Lovely Leitrim.

The finest Rugby player I have ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Your friend is an idiot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,876 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Well he's wrong on both counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Why do I feel like this thread was yesterday's news...

Maybe the mods should sticky a birthday calendar for Ireland's starting XV, that way we'll never forget another birthday. "Hey honey, it's POCs birthday today, I'm out to celebrate with the lads"..."Yeah, I know I was out last week too, but that was for SOBs birthday"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Nobody? Nobody at all?

Go on then, i'll have it...

thebaz wrote: »

Amy would probably be happy as well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Oh, go on.....have a thanks, you seem so pleased.

Swiwi. wrote: »

Because it was. His birthday was yesterday.
    Maybe the mods should sticky a birthday calendar for Ireland's starting XV, that way we'll never forget another birthday. "Hey honey, it's POCs birthday today, I'm out to celebrate with the lads"..."Yeah, I know I was out last week too, but that was for SOBs birthday"...
    It's his last season, 35 is a decent milestone and IT'S BOD. Bit of harmless fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Buer wrote: »
    Oh, go on.....have a thanks, you seem so pleased.

Had to give you one back there Buer (see what i did there - jesus i'm on fire tonight).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Just thought I'd put this out there:

@simonrug: Lovely quotes from Paul O'Connell on O'Driscoll today, saying how he wished his son would listen to him like the Irish players listen to BOD

Swiwi. wrote: »

This birthday thread thing is only for special players like BOD, POC & NOC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

No criticism allowed? Good.

If I could invite 5 people from any era in history to a dinner date, BOD would be one of them. If I had my way, as long as he could lace his own boots, he'd be playing. The work he does off the ball is immense. In fact I've gone to games just to watch him play.

/stalk mode.