Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Gay marriage caused storms and floods" says Ukip councillor

• 18-01-2014 8:38pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭

“I wrote to David Cameron in April 2012 to warn him that disasters would accompany the passage of his same-sex marriage bill.
    “But he went ahead despite a 600,000-signature petition by concerned Christians and more than half of his own parliamentary party saying that he should not do so.”

Blaming the prime minister for the bad weather, he added: “It is his fault that large swathes of the nation have been afflicted by storms and floods.

“He has arrogantly acted against the Gospel that once made Britain ‘great’ and the lesson surely to be learned is that no man or men, however powerful, can mess with Almighty God with impunity and get away with it for everything a nation does is weighed on the scaled of divine approval or disapproval.”

The shite they come up with is hilarious at times but this has to be up there with "Physical exercise prevents you from becoming gay" :pac:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/uk/ukip-politician-claims-gay-marriage-caused-storms-1.1660625
    Ukip said the views expressed by Mr Silvester were “not the party’s belief” but defended his right to state his opinions.

It still scares me that members of Ukip actually hold a few seats in the Houses and Councils over there.

So do we have an Irish equivalent? I know a few TDs and councillors occasionally come up with sexist, racist or homophobic comments every now and again but I've yet to come across a vocal right wing party in Ireland as popular as UKip is in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'm trans. Watch out for volcanoes.

Shit be real, yo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

This lot don't even deserve our attention to be honest...Irish Times have gone down the drain in the last few months to be filling their pages with this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

He is a fool...

and an eejit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

"Repeat after me, 'And with this ring, I summon hurricanes and lightening all down on this mother, booyah!'"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I'm trans. Watch out for volcanoes.

Shit be real, yo.

Add a shark and you got yourself a SyFy channel film there! You will be minted!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Go sell crazy somewhere else.
    We're all stocked up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Because that's how God rolls . . . by retaliating with vague, ineffective water play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

God sucks at this tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Ah freedom of expression, it lets us laugh at the crazies so much harder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

What he said was beyond stupid but in the end, just an opinion. Feels like a bit of a non-story to me, and UKIP themselves said its "not the party’s belief".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

One of my favourite lines from Russel Howard was about someone saying something similar when they had bad weather in the States.

"Look at Ancient Greece all they did was read books and bum each other, Sunny all year round" or words to that effect.

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    The shite they come up with is hilarious at times but this has to be up there with "Physical excercise prevents you from becoming gay".

They've never seen a TV show with Louie Spence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Who gives a flying fig what that gobshyte thinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

ScumLord wrote: »
    Who gives a flying fig what that gobshyte thinks?

Other gobshytes, who can point to said gobshyte and convince still other gobshytes to agree with them by argument from authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

What he said was beyond stupid but in the end, just an opinion. Feels like a bit of a non-story to me, and UKIP themselves said its "not the party’s belief".

UKIP member suspended from party - one of the top headlines on tv news today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

The shite they come up with is hilarious at times but this has to be up there with "Physical exercise prevents you from becoming gay" :pac:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/uk/ukip-politician-claims-gay-marriage-caused-storms-1.1660625

It still scares me that members of Ukip actually hold a few seats in the Houses and Councils over there.

So do we have an Irish equivalent? I know a few TDs and councillors occasionally come up with sexist, racist or homophobic comments every now and again but I've yet to come across a vocal right wing party in Ireland as popular as UKip is in the UK.

It's like democracy and Sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

Nigel Farage, leader of UKIP, has said that the party will now purge all those members with " extreme, barmy or nasty" views. He should probably start with himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I will enjoy the scientific studies showing that sexuality has any affect on the weather. Surely they do have some backing and arent just spouting stupid. Christianity causes death. What percentage of Christians have died or will die? For 99.99 you can read my report were I also discover that rain causes death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

My powers are growing stronger every day. Fear me fúckers !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Westboro Baptist Church springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Can Graham Norton please give us a hot and dry summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Sometimes I'd love to be gay just to piss off some of theses conservatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

UKIP are right wing alright, but the way people are going on about this you'd swear the party extolled the views of that one individual.

He's been booted out of the party so fair play to them I say. You don't see that happen often here. FF councillor Sean McEniff wasn't thrown out of the party when he suggested that all travellers should be segregated from the rest of society. FG's Eugene Dolan wasn't shown the door when he said they should all be sent to Spike Island.

Fine Gael just recently re-admitted the guy that had previously refused to represent black people in his constituency.

http://www.thejournal.ie/darren-scully-bought-back-into-fine-gael-1160958-Nov2013/

Not many people called for Enda Kenny's resignation when he made that nigger joke a few years ago either. There's plenty of racists, homophobes and general ignoramuses in Irish politics, most just know better than to let on; but even when they rarely face any real consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

He was a conservative party member at the time he wrote that letter. UKIP are about the only defence any of us have against the thugs and morons running the European Parliament.

Act in haste, repent at your leisure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It's like democracy and Sh1t
    It's still scary.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Lyaiera wrote: »
    It's typical that a thread about nutjob radical feminists gets back to dealing with regular feminism. Goes to show this thread was never going to be about crazy people and everyone just wants another go at feminist bashing.

This applies to all 'nutjobs' not just ones you dont like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

mikeym wrote: »
    Westboro Baptist Church springs to mind.

Reading through to see if anyone mentioned it. Right out of their fascist book alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Bepolite wrote: »
    One of my favourite lines from Russel Howard was about someone saying something similar when they had bad weather in the States.

"Look at Ancient Greece all they did was read books and bum each other, Sunny all year round" or words to that effect.

It was actually in reference to a Church of England saying that the 2007 floods were down to god being pissed off about homosexuality.

Super-Rush wrote: »
    It was actually in reference to a Church of England saying that the 2007 floods were down to god being pissed off about homosexuality.

Again WBC say the same about storms in the US. They also claim Obama making president is the sign of the worlds end as he is somehow the antichrist. Cant wait till the end of his term and they look like idiots :)

Fandango wrote: »
    Again WBC say the same about storms in the US. They also claim Obama making president is the sign of the worlds end as he is somehow the antichrist. Cant wait till the end of his term and they look like idiots :)

You expect that crap from the WBC loons though.

True, sorta expect it from UKIP these days also though. They are like a football club with 10 Joey Bartons who dont know when to keep their opinions to themselves. EDL also :)

And the COE.

How about the Jews? Wanna have apoke at them too? Or have you had enough religious intolerance for one night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

How about the Jews? Wanna have apoke at them too? Or have you had enough religious intolerance for one night?

I think he has, but not in the sense you might mean.

He was a conservative party member at the time he wrote that letter. UKIP are about the only defence any of us have against the thugs and morons running the European Parliament.

Act in haste, repent at your leisure.

"us"? Most of us are Irish Phill.

Nodin wrote: »
    "us"? Most of us are Irish Phill.

All of "us" are European, Nodin.

Anyone who takes the opportunity to make fun of coma-boy Barroso is fine by me.

All of "us" are European, Nodin.

Anyone who takes the opportunity to make fun of coma-boy Barroso is fine by me.

...but jaysus forbid anyone have a go at a shower of gay hating nutjobs. Strange set of standards there.

Prefer facism and censorship? The tools of liberalism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Ah now, it works both ways. If you're getting upset someone is calling out the bigoted folks on their hateful views, we're just as entitled to call them absolute brain dead moron. We wouldn't want any fascism and censorship now would we....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

Technically there's more a chance of what he is saying to be true than whatever the Iona Institute have ever said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I'm playing golf on Thursday so I'd really appreciate all ye heteros getting sweaty with your partners on Wednesday night.
    And as for all ye homos, I know it's an imposition but would you mind taking the night off? In return I promise to give my missus a jolly good rodgering on the eve of your wedding.
    Kthanksbye.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Fandango wrote: »
    True, sorta expect it from UKIP these days also though. They are like a football club with 10 Joey Bartons who dont know when to keep their opinions to themselves. EDL also :)

is that the same Joey Barton that wears rainbow laces?

...sure we don't need to censor you phill. Ye never explain yourself as it is.

What the hell are you banging on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

How about the Jews? Wanna have apoke at them too?

The Jewish God does not make it rain in the event of homosexual acts, as the Israeli Shas party - which I'm sure speaks on behalf of every single Jewish person - made clear some time back.

God has other plans for them.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/1579424/Israeli-earthquakes-are-gays-fault-says-MP.html

What the hell are you banging on about?

I asked you first!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

but it's the wrong shower they are having a go at.
    He voiced his opinion as a conversative and nobody gave a hoot - now as a johnny-come-lately to the UKIP his opinions are all the rage of the offended.

The UKIP kicked him out , the tories never did.

This stinks of a political hatchet-job to be frank - report nutjob to friendly media.

Maybe we should laud the UKIP instead of kicking them

The Jewish God does not make it rain in the event of homosexual acts, as the Israeli Shas party - which I'm sure speaks on behalf of every single Jewish person - made clear some time back.

God has other plans for them.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/1579424/Israeli-earthquakes-are-gays-fault-says-MP.html

Ah yes. "Did the earth move for you" etc

I asked you first!

I think if you read the thread properly, especially my posts, you will find I wasn't setting out to insult any religious organisation. I was just stating a fact that a COE had claimed that flooding was the fault of homosexuality.