Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hangover

• 18-01-2014 12:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭

So I'm lying here with a sore face, a sore arm, a blank memory and, most importantly, a sore head. I haven't even felt this bad in a long time. My body keeps doing involuntary shakes and my stomach feels as if someone punched it repeatedly while I was asleep.

Does anyone have any really good hangover cures? I'd rather not have to leave my room so if anyone has and that don't involve me moving that'd be great.

Also, can you die the next day from drinking too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Lots of fluids and walk it off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Take something for the dehydration, medication for the anxiety and sleep it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

So I'm lying here with a sore face, a sore arm, a blank memory and, most importantly, a sore head. I haven't even felt this bad in a long time. My body keeps doing involuntary shakes and my stomach feels as if someone punched it repeatedly while I was asleep.

Does anyone have any really good hangover cures? I'd rather not have to leave my room so if anyone has and that don't involve me moving that'd be great.

No you won't die. Drink a coffee. Eat something, then take a Valium or a xanax this always stopped my hangovers in their tracks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Your writing is extraordinarily lucid for one so afflicted. May I suggest the hair of the dog forsooth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Time and fluids, i dont think anything else actually helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Pint of water, some Solpadiene and a chicken fillet roll will ease The Fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

lukesmom wrote: »
    No you won't die. Drink a coffee. Eat something, then take a Valium or a xanax this always stopped my hangovers in their tracks

Both of these are prescription medications and are habit-forming, casually popping them for a hangover is incredibly stupid.

OP try a line of coke, should snap you back to your fighting form self. Also haha imagine all the awful things you said and did last night. Think of all the people right now going "What was he like!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Tough it out is the only way. To quote the Last Tycoons prohibition themed classic "Everybodys jumping on the wagon everybody is going to pay the fine, everybody is giving up their vices to the Lord, but I aint giving up mine" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

lukesmom wrote: »

I'd stay away from the coffee, I mean it will dehydrate you further and it can raise anxiety levels. Xanax great idea, pop one or two of them to get rid of the fear and half the battle is won!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'd love a chicken roll now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

To be printed out and kept on your mirror I myself stick to number 13 ...

1. Go one for one. It’s no secret that drinking water can help deflect a pounding AM headache. (Pretty much the opposite of a good morning.) Tissues around the brain are mostly made of water, and dehydration will shrink these tissues, creating pressure in the head. Alcohol can lead to dehydration, so make sure to continuously drink water throughout the night[1]. Try matching each alcoholic drink with one glass of water to avoid any next-day pain[2].
    2. Chow down. Just because beer has calories doesn’t mean it counts as dinner. Drinking on an empty stomach will allow alcohol to absorb faster, so try getting in a good meal with lots of healthy carbs before breaking out the bottle. Alcohol also increases acid secretion in the stomach, which can make us feel nauseous, and food can act as a buffer to the acid. Some research even shows a stomach full of food may help keep blood alcohol content at a lower level.
    3. Keep it light. Darker drinks like red wine or rum contain congeners (substances produced during fermentation), which may contribute to hangovers[3]. Skip the whiskey in favor of vodka or a glass of white wine.
    4. Stay classy. More expensive liquors tend to contain less filler congeners (a cause for headaches, as described above). So pass on the well liquors and take it up a notch with some top-shelf booze.
    5. Take a multivitamin. Drinking depletes nutrients in the body, including vitamin B12 and folate. Try popping a multivitamin to replenish what’s lost from a night of drinking.
    6. Skip the bubbles. Opt out of champagne or other alcohol that’s mixed with carbonated beverages. The bubbles may cause alcohol to be absorbed more quickly. (Hence that New Year’s Day hangover.)
    7. Snack on Pickles. The thought of ‘em might turn your stomach the day after partying, but snacking on a few pickles could help out a dehydrated body. Pickles contain vinegar, water — and sodium, an electrolyte that we lose after excessive drinking. Some people really do knock back a few shots of pickle juice to help a hangover, but we’ll leave this one up to you.
    8. Grab some potassium. When dehydrated, we lose not only water, but electrolytes, too. Gain ‘em back by snacking on potassium-rich foods like bananas or spinach ((Potassium. AHFS Consumer Medication Information. Last reviewed: September 1, 2010.)).
    9. Scramble eggs. Eggs contain taurine, which has been shown to reverse liver damage caused by a night of heavy boozing[4]. Scramble them up with lots of veggies for added antioxidant power!
    10. Sip ginger tea. Hangovers can sometimes come with a side of upset stomach. To settle that tummy, brew a warm mug of ginger tea. Ginger has been shown to help combat nausea[5].
    11. Refuel at the breakfast table. Alcohol will lead to a drop in blood sugar, so boost it back up with a glass of OJ in the morning[6]!
    12. Get some fresh air. Oxygen increases the rate that alcohol toxins are broken down, so bundle up and get outdoors. A little exercise never hurt anyone — and it may even release some endorphins to boost a post-hangover mood.
    13. Play D.D. We’re sorry to say that the only sure-fire way to avoid a hangover is to skip the booze altogether[7]. So if waking up to a pounding headache doesn’t sound fun, play designated driver for the night (even if not actually driving).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Holsten wrote: »
    I'd stay away from the coffee, I mean it will dehydrate you further and it can raise anxiety levels. Xanax great idea, pop one or two of them to get rid of the fear and half the battle is won!

No no, it has been scientifically proven that coffee can cure hangovers.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/8264521/Coffee-and-an-aspirin-best-hangover-cure-after-all.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Couple of Dioralytes, available from most chemists, in a litre of water & a 5km run will sort you out...man up son ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Folks, it's not a good idea to recommend people take powerful prescription drugs. Especially for a hangover ffs.
    Do not recommend this or give any similar medical advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Plenty of herbal tea such as green tea often works a treat. Scrambled eggs as well does it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

No one's came along and said 'don't drink in the first place' yet?

Thank fuck for that.

OP, I woke up half-dead earlier. Had a few pints of water, a cuppa and a bacon sandwich. Felt better straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

Sex is a great hangover cure or in your case, masturbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

The only cure that works 100% is more booze, I recommend neet vodka. A naggin should be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Sex is a great hangover cure or in your case, masturbation.
    It appears he over masturbated last night, sore arm n'all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Sleep it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

McDonald's strawberry milkshake. Dono whats in it, but its my hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Copious amounts of self pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Raw egg in a glass of milk. Kill you or cure you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Hard rice, congealed sweet and sour sauce and the pineapple fritter you forget about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I find curling up into a ball and crying while slowly rocking back and forth, contemplating the horrific things you may have said or done the night before tends to be the only option.

I've resorted to this. I can't cope with being alive anymore. Maybe death will come along and release me.

Tried **** too but couldn't do it. My willy isn't functioning like it should. Drink related I'd imagine. Still drunk I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Idobai

Rehydration salts mixed with 2 litres of water.. Sip away at it slowly! Some vitamin c tablets and crack a window regardless of how cold you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I've resorted to this. I can't cope with being alive anymore. Maybe death will come along and release me.

Tried **** too but couldn't do it. My willy isn't functioning like it should. Drink related I'd imagine. Still drunk I think.

The risk of stroke is increased massively with over consumption of alcohol so maybe you're on the verge of one?

Merkin wrote: »
    The risk of stroke is increased massively with over consumption of alcohol so maybe you're on the verge of one?

Most likely. I can smell burnt toast too, Definitely on my way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

OK so, bye bye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Burnt toast smell is one of my barf triggers. A puke would do you good.

yep, horse the fingers down the throat and have it done with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

OP, If you insist on poisoning yourself, then you deal with the consequences.

No sympathy for you at all really.

Anyway, regarding cures -

Water, water and more water. And a hot shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

hallo dare wrote: »
    yep, horse the fingers down the throat and have it done with!
    I used to do that a lot - don't know how I did it; wouldn't dream of it now! :o

Already puked. There was nothing in my stomach so didn't make me feel better. Gonna eat something then puke again

I used to do that a lot - don't know how I did it; wouldn't dream of it now! :o

same as that, but there's times still that it's the only way to settle an argument with the belly monster!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

It's always better to get out and about, take your mind off it, wallowing always makes them 100 X worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Get on your bike, cycle directly away from home until you simply cannot pedal even one more time. Give yourself 5 minutes to rest, then cycle home again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I drank a botte of wine that tasted like Balsamic vinegar last night but it was all they had.

I also called my laptop a whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

So you've got a sore face, a sore arm, a blank memory, a sore head and you feel as if you've been punched in the guts repeatedly.

I think you've been Rohypnoled by a Cackpipe Cosmonaut and his huge mickey has been pounding your kidneys.

How's your arse?

You can't beat the cure, go for a few pints or if you can't stomach beer at the start have a vodka and 7up or two.

You will feel way better and will be well able for a big feed. A few drinks is the only cure that really works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

If you are male have a hand shandy, then go for a shower, then drink a pint of water, then eat a bacon sandwich, then go for a walk on the beach and feel sorry for yourself, then go to the pub and have a Guinness, then another, then two more, drink them slow, then go and get some dinner, after that back to the pub for two more, after you have done all this you will feel a lot better, not because of the above tasks but the time it takes to do them all, the only proven cure for a hangover is TIME!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Duff wrote: »
    I'd love a chicken roll now.

Revolting. Bread, bread and battery hen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

A big hot curry. Never fails!

Edit: Or the ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Get some tea and toast.
    Have a shower.
    Walk to the shop for Oasis, Lucozade sport or Powerade. Not if it's too far though. Buy a paper.
    Continue to the pub and spend 3hrs drinking 2pints of their finest lager.

Bacon sandwiches are supposed to be the business, if you can stomach that.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/science-news/5118283/Bacon-sandwich-really-does-cure-a-hangover.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Yes you can. Alcohol poison.

Stop being a girl. Get up and get a whiskey into ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Your writing is extraordinarily lucid for one so afflicted. May I suggest the hair of the dog forsooth?

Two large glasses of iced Grand Marnier and a spliff. Sorted!

May contain nuts THD :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Apparently sprite is the best drink to cure hangovers. I tried it for a mild one and it did work, along with 2 ibuprofen. You sound like you're in kind of state that only a day in bed will cure though!

http://newsfeed.time.com/2013/10/09/obey-your-thirst-defy-your-hangover/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Doug Less

Lick the tip of your nose and when you've that done I guarantee you'll be cured.