Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

working out after a long day at work

• 15-01-2014 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Where do you guys/girls find the motivation after a long day?

I leave at 7am and sometimes mightn't get back until 8pm. on my feet all day. and often I konk on the couch when I'm in the door and sit down for "five minutes" and loan behold evening is gone

sorry if this sounds like a whinge it sorta is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭rhapsody

I get into running gear the minute I get home & head off for a run. If I sit down etc I wont want to go back out into the dark & cold. On running days I have a bigger than usual lunch so I'm not starving on my run. In saying all that, I don't have as long a day as you, I think I'd struggle to do anything with my evening after such a day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Gym bag in the car packed the night before and go on the way home. After that it's about how bad do you want something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I bring my bag to work with me and go straight to the gym before going home. Apart from reducing travel and saving time, it's stops people getting comfortable or sidetracked at home.

It's not unusual for be to get in 2 1/2 in the gym hours after work - I'd never do that if went home first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I go in the morning before work. That way I don't feel like a slob in the evenings when I'm flaked on the couch watching Fair City.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I normally go before work from 7-9 but this week I've no car so getting to the gym at 7am is not happening. Going to the gym after work is a ball ache and I've no clue how people do it. The place is always jammers too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Stressica wrote: »
    Where do you guys/girls find the motivation after a long day?

I leave at 7am and sometimes mightn't get back until 8pm. on my feet all day. and often I konk on the couch when I'm in the door and sit down for "five minutes" and loan behold evening is gone

sorry if this sounds like a whinge it sorta is ;)

Leave at 7am, get back at 8pm! Is that because of a long commute or bad traffic on a 'not so long' commute? If it's because of bad traffic, could you find a gym closer to your work? So you can go straight after work and dodge the bad traffic when you're done. If it's just a long distance commute... that's tough going, when do you even eat, nevermind find time to workout!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

I used to commute Waterford to Dublin every day and got to the gym at least once a day.

Some tips below:

1) Join a gym as close as possible to work or home. I prefer near work as I can get in really early before traffic and have my workout and shower. You can also nip over at lunctime to go for a run or to hit a section that needs some tlc for half an hour. It may cost more but a cheaper gym you never use is a waste of money.

2) Pack the night before. You want to wake up, get up and just go. If this takes more than 5 mins (mainly for a pi$$) you are doing something wrong.

3) Plan lunches and meals and prepare the night before. They should be easy to prepare both time and effort wise. You want food for your cakehole, not Jamie Oliver.

4) Get to bed early every night. Proper sleep is the foundation on which your gym gains and worklife is based. Treat it as a serious part of the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭backinexile

I work long hours:

Out the door at 7am, leave work 7-8pm.

I pack my bag the night before and put it in the car. That stops me going home after work, were I would definitly get side tracked and draw to the couch for the evening.

I make sure I eat enough during the day that I am not starving come evening time, as that would stop me going tot he gym too.

Once you get into a routine, whatever it is, it will get easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Trick for me is to not go home straight after work. If I sit down its game over.

It's just part of my day now. Get up - work - gym - dinner - bed.

Like the posters above said, prepare food the night before, get up pull it out of the fridge and feck off to work. You might find it weird at first but once ya keep doing it, you'll wonder how ya survived before.

Also, no matter how bad a mood or **** a day I've had, once I'm finished in the gym I'm in flying form. Just totally de-stresses me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

cronin_j wrote: »

Also, no matter how bad a mood or **** a day I've had, once I'm finished in the gym I'm in flying form. Just totally de-stresses me.

And that s**t right there is addictive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭roseybear

i worked as a staff nurse for a while and always had this prob! up at 6, drive an hr to work, work til 8.30 and hme.. in this case I brought my gymbag and went straight to the gym (was wrecked but the only way i could force myself to go). since then I work closer to home with a 7.30 start so i would get up at 6, get a 10km done, home and showered and in work. You would be surprised the amount of people out at that time. I wouldn't recommend going after work unless you have someone to go with... sometimes if the bf was training late I would go out with him, but i needed a kick. coming from someone who has done both, getting up earlier is far easier than trying to train after work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Stressica

The thing is I don't drive (yet!- working on it) and I live in the country.

Thankfully I don't not get home til 8pm everyday, sometimes only one or two nights a week. normally its around 5/6.

So I have to grab a lift with a neighbor or bus (Either way leaving an hour or sometimes two before I actually have to start work)

Going to the gym after work isn't an option as I have to get a lift back/bus. . basically the moment i'm finished..

I used to skip breakfast and consequently would be starving all morning at work, But ive gotten better in the last few week getting up around 6:15 and having 2 boiled eggs and a portion of sauteed kale/spinach.

I normally eat when i get back from work. . sometimes though I admit I just crash on the couch.. too tired to eat and then get up around 11ish and eat something poor + quick like pancakes!

I definitely need to re-check my sleeping habits.. getting up at 6:15 ish I rarely get to bed before 12am and so Im defo not getting enough sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭quaalude

rhapsody wrote: »
    I get into running gear the minute I get home & head off for a run. If I sit down etc I wont want to go back out into the dark & cold. On running days I have a bigger than usual lunch so I'm not starving on my run.

I do this too, but I have a 3pm snack instead of a bigger lunch.
    Even on days when I feel knackered and hate the idea of going out for a run straight from work, I find that I'm grand 5 minutes into the run, and then always have loads of energy when I'm finished running, so I often go out, or do chores in the house.
    On non-running days I'm usually more tired!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

The thing is I don't drive (yet!- working on it) and I live in the country.

Thankfully I don't not get home til 8pm everyday, sometimes only one or two nights a week. normally its around 5/6.

So I have to grab a lift with a neighbor or bus (Either way leaving an hour or sometimes two before I actually have to start work)

Going to the gym after work isn't an option as I have to get a lift back/bus. . basically the moment i'm finished..

I used to skip breakfast and consequently would be starving all morning at work, But ive gotten better in the last few week getting up around 6:15 and having 2 boiled eggs and a portion of sauteed kale/spinach.

I normally eat when i get back from work. . sometimes though I admit I just crash on the couch.. too tired to eat and then get up around 11ish and eat something poor + quick like pancakes!

I definitely need to re-check my sleeping habits.. getting up at 6:15 ish I rarely get to bed before 12am and so Im defo not getting enough sleep

Can you make a home gym? They aren't that expensive and at the end of it you can sell the equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭saucers82

I make a plan first off figuring out what my obligations are during the week. and how work usually works.

In this job and my last it makes sense to go before work, up at 0630 and out at 0650

Like another poster said, joining a gym near home makes this a lot easier

added to this I got an off peak membership - meaning I don't have the options in the evening, so it forces me to get up

I use my evenings then for 5aside, cooking meals and relaxing. but as I said first, it's all about planning

Yes I have considered doing it at home and Thats where I have done any workouts so far. .

and anyway I'm only talking about basics I spose, for toning + cardio. . Lunges, squats, pressups all that craic..

I did borrow a good book + ddv from the library with 7 15 minute exercises (aerobic/core etc)

I was thinking of getting a treadmill but Id rather run with my dogs... I have an energetic springer who loves to run and I walk them as soon as Im home. . and on weekends or my days off they go swimming/hiking etc with me
    (and before anyone asks, dogs are not alone all day while I'm gone.. in fact they never are bar a few hours here and there)

I've promised myself ill be in bed by 10pm tonight. . here's hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Yes I have considered doing it at home and Thats where I have done any workouts so far. .

and anyway I'm only talking about basics I spose, for toning + cardio. . Lunges, squats, pressups all that craic..

I did borrow a good book + ddv from the library with 7 15 minute exercises (aerobic/core etc)

I was thinking of getting a treadmill but Id rather run with my dogs... I have an energetic springer who loves to run and I walk them as soon as Im home. . and on weekends or my days off they go swimming/hiking etc with me
    (and before anyone asks, dogs are not alone all day while I'm gone.. in fact they never are bar a few hours here and there)

I am a big fan of training at home, its relatively inexpensive and i think investign in yourself is worth it anyway.

Running outside is better for you apparantly. Something to do with the horizon movement seems to help de-stress people. Get your self some weights and do a strength program if you want to tone, or try something like the 30 day shred if this seems too much to you.

Read new rules of lifting for women also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I am lucky that my current gym is less than 5 minutes walk from my job. I go at lunchtime. I take a 90 minute lunch but work up the extra time at the end of the day (work flexi hours).

If I was to go home first and then go to the gym I would be making so many excuses and would end up just lying on the sofa. I am not an early morning person at all so lunch time is perfect for me.

Having said that my current gym is putting their membership fees up by 20% so I am going to be looking at a different gym that is nearer where I live. Looks like it will be evening workouts in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

I've been forcing myself to have lights off by 10.30 every night for the last few weeks (up at 6.30 for gym) and I feel way better for it. Haven't hit a 3pm slump in ages and feel great heading to work knowing I've my exercise done for the day.

+1 on everyone who's said that organisation is key - I have my bag packed, lunch ready to go and my clothes laid out (in order of how I'll put them on!), all to make it easier to just get up and go in the morning!

Im having to leave at 6:30 tomorrow morning (just got a call) so Im gonna get to bed earlier around 10 and do something as soon as I get home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I get into running gear the minute I get home & head off for a run. If I sit down etc I wont want to go back out into the dark & cold. On running days I have a bigger than usual lunch so I'm not starving on my run. In saying all that, I don't have as long a day as you, I think I'd struggle to do anything with my evening after such a day :(

+1 on this. Straight in the door, gym gear on and out. If I delay or sit down that's it I won't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Student2014

If your having trouble getting to bed early cause of noise and stuff these noise cancelling earphones are great - expensive but well worth it: (Stick on an mp3 of a thunderstorm/rain)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bose-QuietComfort-Acoustic-Cancelling-Headphones/dp/B00D429Y12/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389902811&sr=8-1&keywords=bose+qc+earphones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Im lucky that where I work, I can go for a run at lunch, change when I get back and eat lunch at my desk. I work a second job co running a small studio so like ou, it's sometimes a 7am-11pm day. Matter of picking a time that I know suits and even though I don't always want to go for a run or lift, I feel so much better, even it is just for 30minutes. I am also lucky that my job is not hectic on the feet during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Here's my two cents: if it's possible, try to establish a routine if you know the days where you're going to have the time to do something after work. Don't underestimate the power of routine for getting you out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭awnow

Having read all of the posts in this thread, I was eagerly waiting to hear from those of you with young kids in the home and how you fit time in for exercise! We find it extremely difficult to get out of the house for a walk/run these days with two very young nippers running about, especially in these dark & wet winter's evenings. So we are considering investing in a treadmill as at least we wouldn't have to leave the house...

Any views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

awnow wrote: »
    Having read all of the posts in this thread, I was eagerly waiting to hear from those of you with young kids in the home and how you fit time in for exercise! We find it extremely difficult to get out of the house for a walk/run these days with two very young nippers running about, especially in these dark & wet winter's evenings. So we are considering investing in a treadmill as at least we wouldn't have to leave the house...

Any views?

It might be cheaper to get a cage for the children to keep them out of harm's way while you and your OH go out for a run. And beneficial all round! I jest, of course, but if you think you'd use it by all means go ahead. But only one of you will be able to use it at a time so it's not all that different from doing a relay run, i.e. you go for a run,the OH goes when you come back. Reverse the order next time round. Just something worth considering...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I get into running gear the minute I get home & head off for a run

Spot on. Great advice.

The second I relax its game over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭roseybear

I read some thread recently in the triathlon forum and that actually came up when someone and his wife who are very involved with triathlons were asked how they cope with the kids and that. He said that they just took turns in the morn, 1 did the school run and the other went for a run then change over the next day (think theyd 3 kids)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Any views?
    I have 3 small children and work (Jobshare), we take care of childcare between us so Often as Im coming in the door my OH is leaving. I sometimes get up early to run, or go out the minute he gets in, if the weather is dry I bring the kids to the track with me and run there while they play in the middle of the green. I try to get long runs done on days Im not pushed for time and if I cant get out take 20 min to do core work, all be it with 3 climbing all over me. It takes a lot of juggling but with young kids I think exercise is essential, takes you away from the noise!!!

I managed to get 1 workout in since, I did 40mins of Jillian Michael's 6 week 6 pack or something. . aching all over, but stomach and my legs feel great, going to order the DVD on amazon to save wifi usage :D

Also been in bed both nights by 11pm and take homemade fruit smoothies (grapefruit/celery/cucumber/apple + Bannana) to work to keep me going:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Any views?

Would a second hand jogging buggy be an option? I got a double buggy that's not specifically for jogging but is suitable for free, which got me back in the swing of running (for a while!)