Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

60% shed grant...

• 15-01-2014 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

What's the story with this is Simon's recent announcement? Is it only for under 40's or is it for everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

I want to know more as well. I built a shed in 2008 and got a grant. I wonder would I be able to build another and get the grant again? I wonder if the old man signed over a quarter acre in his yard could I build it there considering my own land is 5 miles away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭benjydagg

huey1975 wrote: »
    I want to know more as well. I built a shed in 2008 and got a grant. I wonder would I be able to build another and get the grant again? I wonder if the old man signed over a quarter acre in his yard could I build it there considering my own land is 5 miles away?

The detail isn't finalised yet. But yes there will be 60% grants for eligible young farmers. A drop of cynanide for the auld lad??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

benjydagg wrote: »
    The detail isn't finalised yet. But yes there will be 60% grants for eligible young farmers. A drop of cynanide for the auld lad??

Ah no. I need him to grape the silage!!!

locky76 wrote: »
    What's the story with this is Simon's recent announcement? Is it only for under 40's or is it for everyone?

Rumour is it will be for all. But the budget for the total is very small. Relax for a few weeks and it will all become clear.

Spend the money on entitlements..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The only problem with the grant is that the builder will grab as much of it off you as he can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Silly question..
    Would it cover upgrades to existing sheds ??

We could do with replacing slats and this would be a big help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

bbam wrote: »
    Silly question..

If it's anything like claiming back vat it will be only new sheds and not repairs or replacements but only time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭countryjimbo

bbam wrote: »
    Silly question..

I think you'll have to build a new shed and get some extra slats !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

Was told by somone in the know that the term di mininmis aid might apply to pillar 2 funds. Its basically a ceiling on the amount of grant aid that can drawn down over a period...say 100k over 3 years. Relates to preventing market distortion. She didn't know exact figures and if it will definitely apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Hmmm didn't hear about this one.

I assume it will be along the previous FYM grant scheme, the dept have their costings and that is what you get paid on.

Built a 4 bay slatted shed in 07. Could build a mirror image across from it. Might be an option. Other thing might be to extend the shed by another 2 bays. If I do go a bit mental in a few years and go back milking I will need extra slurry storage

I'll be interested to know a bit more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Said this to the father today and he doesn't like the idea if it. He says the last shed grant that was out lads didn't get the money they were due to get from the grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mauser77

I wouldn't go gettin my hopes up about this 60% it was there last year a 50% grant but only for dairy or sheep this one cud be the same I no afew lads they have them build in there head already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

I was pleasantly surprised with the grant last time. Dont normally relish department guys coming about and was put off from all the stories you hear. But they were helpful inspectors.
    Although I had to go cross the border to get value in non distorted prices for sheds etc. And my builder Is decent and charged fair price. I paid per day worked that was it. And he wanted to get on to a higher profit job so work was done fast. Dept inspector said they were happier when people shopped around and got value. As some suppliers belive the grant was for them not the farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Hurling Hereford

Rumour is it will be for all. But the budget for the total is very small. Relax for a few weeks and it will all become clear.

Spend the money on entitlements..
    If only I could afford entitlements!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The only problem with the grant is that the builder will grab as much of it off you as he can.
    I have quotes gathered already its just coming at a nice time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Miname wrote: »
    beautiful!!! unless the specification has to change to satisfy grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Bodacious wrote: »
    beautiful!!! unless the specification has to change to satisfy grant

It will. .... and make all your good work null & void. Sods law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Too many sheds built in this country and those modern ones they look crap desperate in fact.

They should only support and grant aid sheds built in the old stone style that are sympathetic to the landscape.

Cattle don't give a toss about fancy sheds.
    They are as happy out standing under a bush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

20silkcut wrote: »
    Too many sheds built in this country and those modern ones they look crap desperate in fact.

They should only support and grant aid sheds built in the old stone style that are sympathetic to the landscape.

Cattle don't give a toss about fancy sheds.
    They are as happy out standing under a bush.

What?

Are you serious?

I assume you live in a stone house, with a welsh slate roof, with a nig open fireplace. And walk everywhere and don't use a car - as I think they look terrible unsightly on rural roads you know....
    Impractical maybe, but lovely looking, to see someone out walking in the rain... :)

merryberry wrote: »
    Was told by somone in the know that the term di mininmis aid might apply to pillar 2 funds. Its basically a ceiling on the amount of grant aid that can drawn down over a period...say 100k over 3 years. Relates to preventing market distortion. She didn't know exact figures and if it will definitely apply

begob, you must be talking to the same lad I talk to. Meeting of the top table scheduled for tomorrow.
    Safety devices, cattle handling, rain water harvesting etc etc etc, but the replacement of slats might be a overlooked. I asked about resurfacing silage bases, and that is a non runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

pillar2 funds to cover period to 2019 so this grant mightn't even come on stream this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

just do it wrote: »
    pillar2 funds to cover period to 2019 so this grant mightn't even come on stream this year.

Dont know about that, its mainly focused at dairy farmers getting slurry storage and housing improved for 2015 so id be surprised if he didnt introduce this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

begob, you must be talking to the same lad I talk to. Meeting of the top table scheduled for tomorrow.
    Safety devices, cattle handling, rain water harvesting etc etc etc, but the replacement of slats might be a overlooked. I asked about resurfacing silage bases, and that is a non runner.

That’s right u sir. Ur on the ball. Make sure tis u’s that takes the minutes and we'll waste the hours but sher we won’t mind once we get what we want and F the rest of them. What is it we do say among ourselves...oh yeah...let’em ate cáca milis. Don’t tell’em I said that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

Miname wrote: »

What kind of prices are you being quoted per bay ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

When will this grant come into play??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Said in the IFJ that it was for farm infrastructure. Its to include another parlour grant scheme.
    I wonder will it stretch to farm roadways and water systems?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

sadly it'll probably end up like the last time the grants were in when the cost of a shed went sky high. You'd probably build one with no grant for cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

gerryirl wrote: »
    sadly it'll probably end up like the last time the grants were in when the cost of a shed went sky high. You'd probably build one with no grant for cheaper

If there is a rush like last time, I'll be getting the drawing pencils out and start doing the planning permissions again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Approved for the des grant have until jan 15 to have it finished, just wondering could that be pushed out a year as i would like to get new grant and do it all at once but that may not be available for awhile, would they agree if i was to write to them and explain the situation? cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭raher1

Does anyone know what exactly is the story with the 60% grant for sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

if its like the last grant the price of concrete labour and steel will go through the wall for the grant i am under 40 and would get a good grant but i have to do another shed but i will not even look at applying for it , at least i can go and build a shed to my own needs and not to the dept crap and rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Scaglietti

It's a long shot but, Does anyone here know the name of the fella that's finds out all the grants your entitled to and he takes 10%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭LivInt20

Scaglietti wrote: »
    It's a long shot but, Does anyone here know the name of the fella that's finds out all the grants your entitled to and he takes 10%?

Bunna Agri

www.bunnaagri.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Any update on this?

Kinda forgot, must ask agri rep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

TAMS II its called. From the department website as what I make out it Start off with dairy, animal handling, low emission slurry spreading technology. Then will be expanded to slurry storage and building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

einn32 wrote: »
    TAMS II its called. From the department website as what I make out it Start off with dairy, animal handling, low emission slurry spreading technology. Then will be expanded to slurry storage and building.

Quare hard to keep up with it all.
    So sheds could be held off until 2016 then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Quare hard to keep up with it all.
    So sheds could be held off until 2016 then??

From reading the draft RDP 2014-2020 the general rate is 40% with a ceiling of 80,000e. The 60% rate is for qualified young farmers. No idea on when the grant for buildings will come in! Seems renovation of existing animal housing won't be covered. As you say trying to keep up with it is a job in itself. It has a budget of 395 million. Specifications and paperwork will probably be a drawback. The low emission slurry spreading technology grant interests me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Hope the low emmison slurry spreading will include slurry tankers and agitators mine are nearly fecked. Them new wobbly splash plates will get some boost in sales:)

einn32 wrote: »
    From reading the draft RDP 2014-2020 the general rate is 40% with a ceiling of 80,000e. The 60% rate is for qualified young farmers. No idea on when the grant for buildings will come in! Seems renovation of existing animal housing won't be covered. As you say trying to keep up with it is a job in itself. It has a budget of 395 million. Specifications and paperwork will probably be a drawback. The low emission slurry spreading technology grant interests me.
    What do you mean by qualified farmer? Is that the green cert?

raher1 wrote: »
    What do you mean by qualified farmer? Is that the green cert?

Yeah I think so but you also have to be under 40 years old to get the top up from 40 to 60 per cent I think

Not fair on some farmers.

When do ye think it will be available?

Hard to know probably will be well into 2015 I'd reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Noele2587

Hello. How do I go about applying for grant. Farm in fathers name and I want to build slatted shed. Wats best way to go about it and wat cost around would a 2 bay cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Noele2587 wrote: »
    Hello. How do I go about applying for grant. Farm in fathers name and I want to build slatted shed. Wats best way to go about it and wat cost around would a 2 bay cost.

Apply in fathers name and search here a bit more and you'll get costs. Don't have then off the top of my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Noele2587 wrote: »

Get time machine and go back to 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

epfff wrote: »
    Get time machine and go back to 2008

If your going down that route, better off going back to 2010 and the depth of the recession, where you will get a shed built without a grant for cheaper than the grant days, no red tape, no waiting months for builders etc etc!