Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone ever have a near-death experience?

• 15-01-2014 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭

I had a VERY close shave with death back in 2000.
    At the time the bypass from the Roxboro Road Limerick to Adare was completed. I was at the top of Carew Park and I decided to cross the road at the entrance to the bypass to the side where the Roxoboro Swimming Pool once was. A Bus Eireann coach was coming down the road to my right hand side.
    I thought the bypass hadn't opened yet and assumed that the bus was gonna turn left into Carew Park so I casually walked across the road. To my horror the bus kept coming straight for me and the driver was beeping his horn like crazy at me. I dashed over to the other side as quick as I could and the bus missed me by about one centimetre. I just stood at the side of the road shaking like a leaf. To make me feel worse one or two drivers who saw the incident stopped by me to to call me a "fcukin' gob****e". I was literally one second away from death:(

Anyone else have really close shaves??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Dave H

I logged off once and had a near life experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

<p>No, Dave, no.</p>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭35cent

I nearly choked to death on a frostie when I was 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

I had a near deaf experience when I got some water in my ear..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I fell in front of an oncoming truck in cork once over 10 years ago now. I had one of those everything slowing down horror moments where I thought this was it I was going to die.

Clearly I managed to hit the floor and get back up in time to avoid being run over.

I can however report that my final words, or what would have been my final words had I not gotten up in time were... "whhhheeeeeeeeeeee".

I do not know why, but that makes me happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Dave H

Lemsiper wrote: »
    <p>No, Dave, no.</p>

Eh?

To add to the thread, I was driving the Shercock to Cootehill road in Cavan, it's a winding road full of potholes for anyone who doesn't know it. At one of the bends a lorry came belting around the corner, half way across the road. I actually don't remember even thinking, all I remember is my wife going "oh Jesus" and then I dipped the car a bit into the ditch to avoid it. It was a big artic lorry so it would have flattened us no doubt. I drove on to Cootehill and stopped at the petrol station and just started shaking like a leaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I survived an earthquake.

It barely shook the pictures in the hotel room, and I was the only one to feel it, but it made the local Vegas news that morning so it does count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

I've had a beer death experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

OP clearly that Bus Eireann Driver and these vulgar motorists did'nt spend enough time playing with dinky toy cars/buses or playing Outrun video game in the arcade. Around that time ofcourse there was a game for real warrior types called carmageddon. This is true: a single Decker green Dublin bus was modelled for this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

I witnessed one a few years back. At a set of lights I could see the driver in front was trying to get something from passenger side of the car. Anyway lights went green and we both turned onto the bypass. As we drove on I could still see the driver messing about and with that their car started to drift into the on coming lane, there was a few cars coming round the bend further up and only at the last minute did the driver see where they were on the road and dart back across. They had gone so far over they were about to hit mount the footpath on the opposite side. Happened so quickly I didn't even have time to blast my horn.

A few meters on the car pulled into the side of the road. I reckon they got the shock of their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

i jumped into a river when 12.I forgot I couldnt swim so had to be rescued and pulled out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Witnessed a woman only 10 feet or so from me pushed in front of a subway train in NY once by a wacko back in the 90's. Shook me up for a long time. The guy didn't know her just said he was sick of living on the streets and wanted to go to prison for life (according to the papers) because it was warm and he'd get food. He nearly didn't make it to prison after the beating he took from other people standing on the platform. So yeah that's as close as I've come or ever want to come to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I almost got ran over by a car once. I was away with the fairies (as one is walking around town...) and wanted to cross the road without even looking. Heard the car coming at the last minute and stepped back quickly cursing my idiotic behavior, the poor driver must have freaked out completely.
    I was almost hit by one of those big wheelie bins (containers) while walking from a class. There were two lads pulling it from a lane (side exit of a restaurant) and they lost the thing and were trying to catch it. I was completely oblivious to this as it was happening around a corner so I couldn't see or hear anything. Thankfully the hill wasn't too steep and they caught it as I was passing the lane about 2 meters away from me. It was full so I guess if it didn't kill me it would push me onto the road. We all stopped for a second and then laughed it off.

The worst was when I choked on a vinegar (yeah I know it sounds weird) and just couldn't do anything while my brother and dad chatted away. My brother realized the change of colour in my face and gave me a big pat on the back and sat down and kept talking. It didn't work. I still couldn't breath and thought that it was a really stupid way of dying. He looked again and did one of those moves you see in the movies, which finally worked. I couldn't eat alone at all for about six months afterwards I was so scared.

They all seems quite ridiculous but that really was enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Witnessed a woman only 10 feet or so from me pushed in front of a subway train in NY once by a wacko back in the 90's. Shook me up for a long time. The guy didn't know her just said he was sick of living on the streets and wanted to go to prison for life (according to the papers) because it was warm and he'd get food. He nearly didn't make it to prison after the beating he took from other people standing on the platform. So yeah that's as close as I've come or ever want to come to death.

That's horrific! Would he not have just tried to rob a shop, best case scenario a couple of grand and freedom to live it up for a while, worst case free lodgings and food, he must have really wanted to seal the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

My friends on a j1 lived in gaff that was next to a train station. I drunkenly wandered into the rail yard and climbed on top of a freight train, sat down and started to finish off a can I was drinking, the train very slowly started to take off, I climbed down and got off easily enough. As timid as it sounds that probably was my closet potential near death experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I bring you, Mr Gary Busey:

(NDE experience account at 6min 20sec)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

I got stabbed in the neck in London many years ago. It didn't hurt strangely, but I was within minutes of death. I didn't realise how serious it was at the time but really freaked me out when the doctors explained it to me a few days later.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep and it was well bloody weird I can tell you.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Wibbs wrote: »

Well? Tell us so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

i drowned in a swimming pool in spain when i was 11. i had to be revived on the ground beside the pool. it worked anyway, im still alive. but i do remember struggling loads in the water, then just saying to myself "aaaah this isnt too bad" and feeling relaxed and then waking up on the ground getting the kiss of life.

i was out for about 2 minutes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Probably the time three guys tried to beat the **** out of me for no reason one night - I managed to get away, but sometimes wonder if I hadn't, would I have been punched/kicked multiple times in the head. You hear about that kind of thing leading to someone being killed all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Eight Ball wrote: »

Did she survive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

Wibbs wrote: »

I'd be interested to hear, did you have a spiritual experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,750 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

I once told a friend in study I was going to pretend to choke on a refresher bar. A big chunk accidentally got lodged in my throat. He was sitting there laughing, thinking I was only messing. I couldn't draw breath to cough it out, and was beginning to panic. I stood up clutching my throat trying to get to the supervisor. After about 30 seconds (I don't know how long it actually was) my body, in order in save itself, initiated the gag reflex and I puked everywhere.
    Out came the refresher, along with dinner and off to the nurse with me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

Nearly drowned in a pool in Pontins Prestatyn when I was 10.
    See I was used to pools being marked with lane markers, so I went into the normal pool and while swimming ended up in the deep end. Of course I started panicking and swallowing water etc. Tried calling out to a couple that were near me but they couldn't hear.

I then realised if I bunny hopped towards the bar on the side I would be fine. Did that and refused to go near that pool again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

I once told a friend in study I was going to pretend to choke on a refresher bar. A big chunk accidentally got lodged in my throat. He was sitting there laughing, thinking I was only messing. I couldn't draw breath to cough it out, and was beginning to panic. I stood up clutching my throat trying to get to the supervisor. After about 30 seconds (I don't know how long it actually was) my body, in order in save itself, initiated the gag reflex and I puked everywhere.
    Out came the refresher, along with dinner and off to the nurse with me. :o

That made me laugh. :D

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I could smell flowers when i had my one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I could smell flowers when i had my one

Why, did it happen in the local garden center?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

I’ve nearly died a few times.

First time I was around eight and I came tearing out the school gates onto the road, a car came flying by just in front of me. If I’d gone onto the road just a split-second earlier, the car would have ploughed into me.

Second time I nearly got hit by a bus when I walked out into the street without looking (aged 12, so I should have known better)

Third time, this time as an adult, I was standing at a zebra crossing waiting to cross when a lorry came past quite quickly with a load of those metal bars (the ones used to reinforce concrete) sticking out of the side. One of the bars was sticking out a bit more than the others and passed a couple of cms from my head. I got the shock of my life, and judging from the looks of the people around me, it really was a near miss.

Fourth time, I was driving on a twisty, mountainous road, hit a patch of black ice, the car went skidding, hit the side of the road, flipped into the air, flew between two trees with barely enough space to let the car through, spun a couple of times in the air and landed on the wheels in a field below. The slope the car landed on was steep enough, so only for the fact that the car landed on the wheels and broke both axles, it could have rolled for a good hundred metres. I had one small bruise to show for it.

Sometimes you hear about people having a new outlook on life, like a fresh new start, after a near death experience. Just after the car accident, I even expected that I’d feel happy to be alive and thank my blessings, but just a couple of days after, I was back to my usual normal self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why, did it happen in the local garden center?

Opium den

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

I had two.... 1st one was when I was about 7 and I was in the Aquadome in Tralee. Every so often this current is turned on around the end that whirls you around the entire pool, great laugh like, but somehow one time when the current stopped, I had somehow ended up in the deep end. I started to panic, and I remember thinking that nobody was noticing cos of all the kids splashing and screaming etc like you do when hyped up as a kid at a pool.... Thankfully one woman must have noticed the fear/panic in my face and swam out to get me.

The second one was the morning after Halloween this year. I had been out the night before, and even though I wasn't drinking, it was a late one, and I ended up being late for work. Shot off down the motorway to get to work. As I was coming off the motorway in my little fiesta onto the turn off for Shannon, I clipped the kerb, aquaplaned across two lanes of oncoming traffic, bounced off the roundabout, spun across the two lanes again towards the barrier at the opposite side, behind which is a 30 ft drop. I just remember time slowing as I was heading towards that little barrier and being really calm and just thinking "ah, well this is it, I've had a good run" and just having this general sense of acceptance and general OK-ness. Forunately I hit the barrier at an angle and it held. A Garda car happened to be coming around the roundabout when they happened and they told me I was so lucky, cos if I had hit the barrier head on I would probably have gone through and would have been a goner. Same if I had managed to hit a car on either of my trips across the two lanes of the roundabout cos my little car wouldnt stand up to anything.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd be interested to hear, did you have a spiritual experience?
    I dunno about spiritual, but it was very real. Not like a dream or hallucination, or drug. More real than reality kinda thing. Very very strange. Feeling disembodied is really freaky. You realise how much you're as much your physicality as your brain/mind, that "you" is every part of you. I didn't get as far as any tunnels of light or anything, but I did feel like I wasn't alone. I kinda willed "me" back into my body. That was uncomfortable. You know when your arm falls asleep and then blood flows back into it and the feeling comes back? Well imagine that times a squillion.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 SirCreepalot

I had swallowed enough pills to kill a horse. I should have died. Instead, I 'dreamt' that I was being sucked up the handle of a vacuum cleaner. When I got to the top, it was dark and there was what looked like a black, iron wrought gate in the shadows. I could feel a presence by the gate, watching me, as if it had been waiting for me but I couldn't see it. And then a voice said to me, "Go back!"

I felt myself being compressed back down the suction pipe of the vacuum and I was woken by the projectile vomit that came hurling out of me. I threw up some really vile, black stuff almost none stop for three days straight and that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I've had a few close shaves

The first was when I was a kid and we were swimming in the river at O'Brien's bridge. My mother insisted that I put on a life jacket even though I was well able to swim but she put it on wrong (forgot to buckle the bit that goes between my legs) and the life jacket started to push itself over my head and I couldn't breath.

I remember my mother watching me and laughing, she thought I was just messing cause I wasn't calling for help (hard to call when your mouth's full of water)
    Luckily, someone noticed that I was in trouble and he jumped in (with all his clothes on) and pulled me out.

Another time I was at Lahinch with my Dad and brothers. There was a red flag because the waves were pretty big and the tide was almost in but we were in the water anyway. (cause we don't take no sh1t from the ocean)

This big wave comes in and picks me up off my feet and drops me on my head onto a rock and I get knocked unconscious for a second. Luckily my brothers were near and saw it happen and got me to shore

Another time was in Maynooth, I was crossing the road to the bus stop at the Glenroyal hotel. The traffic was backed up and stopped on both sides of the road so I was crossing between the stopped traffic. When I got to the middle of the road, I heard a buzzing sound and a moped flew past at 30 mph in front of me a second later another one flew past behind me and then another one in front of me. There wasn't much space between the stopped traffic so they must have all just barely missed me. I don't know what would happen if you get hit by a convoy of mopeds at full speed but it would probably have hurt

Then there was the time when I was coming home from Limerick to Ennis. My brother was in the car with me as we'd just been to a Munster match and the road was busy. I was passing the Quin exit off the motorway and a car was merging from the slipway so I pulled over to the overtaking lane to make space for him. I was checking my mirrors to see if it was safe to pull back into the left lane but the other car was still to the left when my brother warned me to watch out.

Some eejit had stopped his car on the overtaking lane of the motorway to look at a swan who was standing in the gap between the wall and the overtaking lane. I saw him stopped there but I didn't have time to stop or space to pull left, so I had to aim for the spot between the stopped car and the wall. This space was occupied by the swan but it was either him or us.
    Poor swan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I have posted about this before but here goes.

First time was while white water rafting in Oregon when I was 15. We hit a hole that folded the boat and I was thrown into the deep swirling abyss. I couldn't breathe and gave up just as someone from the boat grabbed the back of my life jacket and pulled me onto the boat. I thought it was a great buzz until they told me they had struggled to find me.

The next one was in my early 20's. I had a cold which developed into pneumonia and being asthmatic it was very hard to breathe. I was home alone all day struggling to breathe and couldn't find the strength to even ring for help. When my hubby came home he got my brother to take me to hospital so he could mjnd our son. When I got to hospital they told me if I had waited half an hour longer I would have died.

A third time was asthma/pneumonia related as well. I was in hospital waiting for doc to see me but couldn't breathe and was beginning to panic. I remember feeling I was breathing my last and then feeling someone stroking my head and hearing my uncles voice as clear as day saying " you'll be alright wee cuttie just breathe" and I cslmed down and got it back under control. My uncle gad been dead about 8 mobths at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Did she survive?

Afraid not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

gugleguy wrote: »
    OP clearly that Bus Eireann Driver and these vulgar motorists did'nt spend enough time playing with dinky toy cars/buses or playing Outrun video game in the arcade. Around that time ofcourse there was a game for real warrior types called carmageddon. This is true: a single Decker green Dublin bus was modelled for this game.

Modelled by Max Damage, formerly a great contributor to the Classic Cars thread. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cat_xx

This summer I was driving along and I glanced out my window and when I looked back at the road the car in front of me had suddenly decided to stop to cross the road into a drive way. I had to swerve into the hard shoulder. If I had stayed looking out the window for a spilt second longer I would have crashed straight into the car in front of me and god knows what would have happened. When I got to my house a few hundred meters up the road I wasn't able to get out of the car because my legs were shaking so much. I'll never forget that near miss and I certainly won't be taking my eye of the road like that again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Lucena wrote: »
    I’ve nearly died a few times.

First time I was around eight and I came tearing out the school gates onto the road, a car came flying by just in front of me. If I’d gone onto the road just a split-second earlier, the car would have ploughed into me.

Second time I nearly got hit by a bus when I walked out into the street without looking (aged 12, so I should have known better)

Third time, this time as an adult, I was standing at a zebra crossing waiting to cross when a lorry came past quite quickly with a load of those metal bars (the ones used to reinforce concrete) sticking out of the side. One of the bars was sticking out a bit more than the others and passed a couple of cms from my head. I got the shock of my life, and judging from the looks of the people around me, it really was a near miss.

Fourth time, I was driving on a twisty, mountainous road, hit a patch of black ice, the car went skidding, hit the side of the road, flipped into the air, flew between two trees with barely enough space to let the car through, spun a couple of times in the air and landed on the wheels in a field below. The slope the car landed on was steep enough, so only for the fact that the car landed on the wheels and broke both axles, it could have rolled for a good hundred metres. I had one small bruise to show for it.

Sometimes you hear about people having a new outlook on life, like a fresh new start, after a near death experience. Just after the car accident, I even expected that I’d feel happy to be alive and thank my blessings, but just a couple of days after, I was back to my usual normal self.

Are you a cat by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I survived an earthquake.

It barely shook the pictures in the hotel room, and I was the only one to feel it, but it made the local Vegas news that morning so it does count.

The earth moved for you in a vegas hotel room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Have had a few close ones over the years been pulled down in the deep end of swimming pool(keep it clean please), few electric shocks when was a sparks( me asks the other spark you sure it's off yeah you sure yeah sure I have everything pulled out of fuse board then BANG and smoke and me with wire:eek:), drove car around a bend hit black ice car spun then flew backwards over 15 feet down a big dip into a tree beside a flooded/swollen river and took the whole driver side off the car including the roof and not 1 of the 8 air bags went off had to climb out passenger side and was extremely lucky not a scratch)

Have seen many close calls where i have nearly completely flattened others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Wedgie

To cut a long story short, yes. Motorcycle accident when I was a young 'un, straight to hospital, died on the operating table, spent three days in a coma. Very strange three days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭hiromoto

Came really close THREE times in Australia. 1, Drowning 2,Fall on a building site 3, Heroin overdose. As a consequence I don't swim, work in construction or use heroin anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

The usual one of almost drowning in a pool (I can't imagine I actually would have died, but who knows), and one time when I was walking half on/half off the path because it was too narrow for me and my two friends. Two cúnts went tearing down the road in their cars, the first one knocking me off balance so that I nearly fell into the path of the second one.

I think the worst was when I was 16. I woke up just not breathing; I remember being dreaming and hearing a really weird noise then waking up and still hearing it and not being able to inhale or exhale (the noise actually being me making involuntary, demonic sounds as my body tried to inhale while my lungs were already full of air). It was an asthma attack, but the only one I'd ever had (and ever have had). I wasn't at home and because it was summer and I wasn't symptomatic, I didn't have my inhaler. Only for the fact that I was told to run to the bathroom (because it probably seemed like I was about to vomit) I honestly think I would have died...I guess the quick movement dislodged whatever was stopping me from breathing. Really scary.

I thought it was because some friends of mine had been smoking, but it turns out a lot of asthmatics can't drink red wine, which is what it had been. I only put 2 and 2 together the next time I drank red wine and began wheezing! I always think of those tragic stories of teenagers whose asthma was dormant for so long only for them to have an attack out of nowhere and die from it...I realize how lucky I was, and I always keep my inhalers in my bag now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 aristotleirish

a few close calls i micro slept whilst driving and woke to find myself hurdling towards the ditch at 80 kph. i see dead people around me but thats probably a topic for a differant time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I was electrocuted on a merry go round, have no idea how I survived it.

My father and I were walking through fairgrounds being set up. We passed the merry go round. It had a railing next to it, earthed, for people to line up behind. I put my hand on it and I put my other hand on the rail of the merry go round.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

went through me. I knew I was screaming but I couldnt hear myself. My hands were locked tight to the rails and I couldn't let go. I can still remember my father trying to peel off my fingers with all of his strength, I could sense him struggling such was the grip.

Eventually he managed to peel them off the rail. He said nothing. I said nothing. We kept walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 aristotleirish

I was electrocuted on a merry go round, have no idea how I survived it.

My father and I were walking through fairgrounds being set up. We passed the merry go round. It had a railing next to it, earthed, for people to line up behind. I put my hand on it and I put my other hand on the rail of the merry go round.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

went through me. I knew I was screaming but I couldnt hear myself. My hands were locked tight to the rails and I couldn't let go. I can still remember my father trying to peel off my fingers with all of his strength, I could sense him struggling such was the grip.

Eventually he managed to peel them off the rail. He said nothing. I said nothing. We kept walking.

that sounds like it might be electro static discharge more so then anything else, google ESD if it was as powerful as all that you and your father for grabbing you would not have survived, unless some joker attached a battery from an electric fence used to keep cattle into a field to the railing thinking it would be great crack. that would have given you a jump but nothing lethal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

that sounds like it might be electro static discharge more so then anything else, google ESD if it was as powerful as all that you and your father for grabbing you would not have survived,

My memory is fuzzy on whether he managed to peel off my fingers or if one of the workers turned something off. It felt really powerful whatever it was. I think I was about 9.

My brother always wondered when I retell this story, why our dad did not also get the electricity when he touched my hands. That I can't answer, except maybe he was wearing rubber soles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Kindo of, probably not that close though. I used to joke about and 'cry wolf' a lot as a child, pretending to be choking on my food at dinner. Then one time i got a big piece of chicken skin caught in my throat, and couldn't breathe. I went to my father and was pointing at my throat, and mimicking a 'slap on my back' motion, but he just laughed at me and shook his head knowingly ("I'm not going to fall for that again"), and actually turned away from me. The more I grabbed him, the more he refused to fall for it.

So my mother happened to come in, saw my face changing colour a bit, and gave me a huge thump on the back, bringing the food back into my mouth.

The best bit was that even after my father was made aware of what had happened (in no uncertain terms, by my mother), he still only saw the funny side.

Even after he left the room, I could still hear him laughing on the other side of the door, the bastard!