Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like heels/boots on a lady?

• 14-01-2014 11:28am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭

Had this debate over a pint the other night
    Me i love them on a lady or my gf but few lads didnt care or mind and 2 hated them
    I think they look really nice
    what ye all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Sometimes, when it's just the heels and fuck all else, yeah, I can see some advantages to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Yep. Looks awesome tbh

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

Boots are awesome! High heeled shoes can go either way, big clunky things don't do anything for me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Yes, yes and yes again. Of course there are some kind of heels that look really tacky, but no lady should ever be seen around without a little bit of heel; Those ultra-flat "ballerina" shoes that every other woman wears nowadays are the work of the devil himself: they're ugly, capable of ruining just about any outfit, make women that may be "not thin but still shapely" look like they're 4 sizes bigger and, top of all, make them walk like penguins.

On a separate note, it's funny what ladies get away with in terms of clothing/accessories with the excuse of "comfort": a man walking around wearing a wifebeater and slippers would attract endless negative remarks...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Ultra high nice at the right time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Heels/boots generally look better but there's nothing more unattractive than a woman who can't walk properly in either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Loves those boots that go up to just under the knee - FMB's !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Heels/boots generally look better but there's nothing more unattractive than a woman who can't walk properly in either.

Agreed, love a woman in a pair of heels/boots as long as they can walk in them and they don't look terrible, some hideous looking stuff is fashionable if you ask me.

This thread needs pictures if you ask me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

My only contribution is that women who are well above average height, say 6' or above don't really need two or three inch heels on top.

I'm 6'1" and I find it quite disconcerting to see a lady my height or more with heels towering over me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Love heels me! Flats are bad but alright... but I simply cannot stand kitten heels on a woman less than 50. Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

Absolutely agree. Heels are awesome. Pumps are the devil. So bloody lazy!

Shoes will make or break it for me tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

100% this. I love heels on women, but it is a huge turn off if they are teetering around waving arms about to keep their balance.

Nothing sexier than a woman well dressed in a pair of 4" heels that walks with confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 claystevens

Most of the time, YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Meh, heels or boots don't really do anything for me.

I do like the casual/cuddly nature of a woman who takes off her heel though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Joan Burton is the only woman who can wear heels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Of course there are some kind of heels that look really tacky, but no lady should ever be seen around without a little bit of heel; Those ultra-flat "ballerina" shoes that every other woman wears nowadays are the work of the devil himself

Walking without constant discomfort truly is the work of the devil.

Well guess we dont think of the discomfort.I carry the flats in my jacket for the gf a fiar deal

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Not that pushed on very high heels TBH. Can be false advertising. :D Plus add in the discomfort/pain and how awkward they can look. Because they're such a part, near fetish of our culture it's easy to forget how odd it is for people to be tottering around on near tiptoe. You don't want to see the results in the feet of someone who is a longterm very high heel wearer either. Now long legs in flats... Yes please. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Nothing better than a woman with nice legs in knee high boots no tights and skirt short enough for a glimpse of thigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Morf wrote: »
    My only contribution is that women who are well above average height, say 6' or above don't really need two or three inch heels on top.

I'm 6'1" and I find it quite disconcerting to see a lady my height or more with heels towering over me.

Ah, the "tall man complex". I am exactly the same.
    B0jangles wrote: »
    Walking without constant discomfort truly is the work of the devil.

Sorry, but they're the ugliest footwear this side of the crocs :)

Not saying you should walk for kilometers in 5" stilettos, but for walking purposes there are more effective, cushioned and comfortable choices of footwear than Penney's finest plastic slippers with a 1mm thin sole.

Besides, Irish women wearing them with 2 degrees and constant rain baffles me quite a bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

What's lazy about a pair of shoes?
    I used to wear them all the time in Toronto, quite common over there actually and the perfect complement to a nice outfit if coordinated properly.

If a shoe could ever be "lazy" I think it would be heels for the "positive advertising" they can do for a mediocre set of legs. Whereas a nice pair of legs will look nice regardless.

I do like the extra height though.

I really don't care.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Love knee-high boots on women!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Nothing better than a woman with nice legs in knee high boots no tights and skirt short enough for a glimpse of thigh.

Was our pants around your ankles when you typed that? :eek::eek::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's a bit like asking "do you like men in shirts?", you have lovely tailored shirts and the god-awful logo emblazoned crap.

Some look great but an awful lot of heels/boots look really fucking nasty imo. Especially anything with (leopard print) *shudder*. Yes, heels and boots have their place in a wardrobe but frankly, it amazes me the level some women can fetishize shoes (and handbags) to. That many women who don't earn much more than the average salary can spend the price of a small second-hand car on them is obscene imo. No pair of high-heels will be comfortable after more than a few hours and it's a special sort of fool that thinks a red sole and a €500 price tag will make them comfortable enough to wear to a concert or rugby match... (and an even worse one that expects sympathy when she whines about sore feet in such a scenario).

/rant

So in answer: it depends on the design of the footwear, the outfilt it's being worn with and the context in which it's being worn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

seachto7 wrote: »
    Was our pants around your ankles when you typed that? :eek::eek::(
    You share your pants?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'm a big fan of hooker boots/FMB's. ****ing yum.

I'd also agree nothings a bigger turnoff than a woman wearing heels when they struggle with them, looking all uncoordinated and graceless or with their face all scrunched up from the pain with each step. If you can skip around in them not a bother, grand wear them otherwise don't bother, really. Any advantage you think they provide in terms of holding your legs and bum taut is going to be hugely overshadowed. They really only make a very very small, if any, difference in that regard and besides, if you have nice legs and bum then they're gonna look nice regardless.

But in general ask me what type of shoes an attractive girl was wearing and I wouldn't have a bloody clue, my eyes rarely reach their feet tbh. And if I find a girl stunning it wouldn't matter if she was wearing tissue boxes on her feet. Shoe choice is so way way way way way down the list as to make no difference whatsoever ultimately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

I think they look good on a lady . but some of those high heels are ridiculously high , saw this girl I know over the Xmas and saw her in these mentally high heels . it made here whole body shape look weird. Like a torso glued onto a pair of chopsticks . And normally she looks stunning. Plus she looked awkward walking in them kinda like a wounded faun .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Of course it shouldn't matter what a lady is wearing if she's naturally beautiful that's what matters and of course beauty is such a shallow thing it's all about her personality.

Great now that I've got the disclaimer out of the way... abso-friggin-lutely. A lady in heels, particularly boots can look stunning. I like a lady who has a sense of style and isn't afraid to wear heels which unfortunately a very significant amount of Irish women seem to be.

A good pair of boots are just stunning looking with the right outfit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Grid. wrote: »
    Love knee-high boots on women!!

+ 1....can't explain it really, just love the look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Shoes will make or break it for me tbh

I don't think you know what pumps are. It's just a shoe with no straps. Nothing to do with heel height.

http://shoes.about.com/od/glossaryofshoestyles/g/pumps_shoes.htm

Not a deal breaker but they are nice if worn.yeah them flats can't be good for feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

If you're feeling particularly generous towards your lady, these guys have a shop on Exchequer Street. I bought the missus a pair many many years ago. They are pricey but the quality is superb.

http://buffalo-shop.de/Stiefel/11100,de_DE,sc.html

If you're feeling particularly generous towards your lady, these guys have a shop on Exchequer Street. I bought the missus a pair many many years ago. They are pricey but the quality is superb.

http://buffalo-shop.de/Stiefel/11100,de_DE,sc.html
    Ah stop kintaro your like me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I like high heels and flats. One of each at the same time. Not really bothered by shoes either way generally, but one of each is funny to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Hate the thinks. Mainly because I then have to listen how her feet hurt. I'm more of wear something that's comfortable and be done with the moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Sleepy wrote: »
    So in answer: it depends on the design of the footwear, the outfilt it's being worn with and the context in which it's being worn.

Yeah, that covers it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,563 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

A style I am a fan of is women wearing jeans with boots, if they have the figure for it. Though as has been said, it all depends on the type of shoes/boots. I'm not a guy who's into footwear but items like Ugg boots or those ones that look like wellies, I just don't get.
    I know women say it's comfort, but those ugg boots don't seem to have any padding and was shown a video by someone doing gate analysis where a girl was pretty much walking on the sides of her uggs. They just look like slipper boots to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Did I actually here 6 foot 1 guys complaining about girls being taller than them :mad: what about us 5.10 little guys :(
    Regarding heels theres a time and a place for them, imho 90% off the girls wearing them out shouldnt be wearing them, they look trashy.
    I was friends with a girl who was 5.11 and she never wore heels out cause she was taller than most off the lads in them, when we didnt give a dam, she looked great in heels, I think guys forget that girls arent actually taller than them, plus heels were invented for men so nothing stopping ye throwing on a pair off pumps

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I rarely look at a woman and say "wow she has some really nice shoes" so i'm a bit indifferent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah the knee high boots with heels look good on a woman all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Sometimes more so on a night out.

This bird I used to work with used to wear ridiculously high heels every bleedin day then moan about her feet were killing often felt like killing her myself ;-)

Some birds take it far too seriously, they aren't for everyday in my opinion.

pwurple wrote: »
    I don't think you know what pumps are. It's just a shoe with no straps. Nothing to do with heel height.

http://shoes.about.com/od/glossaryofshoestyles/g/pumps_shoes.htm

Apologies for using the common term for flats...

The hard copy of my apology is also in the post.

Aww shucks. The commoners made you do it.. Next you'll be wearing onesies to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

The hard copy of my apology is also in the post.
    pwurple wrote: »
    Aww shucks. The commoners made you do it.. Next you'll be wearing onesies to the pub.

Mod

Don't be at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Originally Posted by pwurple View Post

Do men wear onesies pyjamas like the young women in the documentary a while back?

I thought there would be a pretty good reason not to.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Do men wear onesies pyjamas like the young women in the documentary a while back?

I thought there would be a pretty good reason not to.

I saw a few guys out in onsies over christmas. Hopefully a passing novelty.

And there is apparently such thing as (hold onto your breakfast here) Couple Onsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Heels, yes! Boots, no!

Maybe the boots are more subjective, look good on the right woman. It seems most boots I see women wearing are either uggs or Pirate\Cowboy boots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Yes to heels on a woman, unless they're stupidly high or overly trashy looking.

I like boots too, but only if they're ones with a heel. The ones without a heel look like wellies and there's nothing sexy about wellies on a woman unless you're Kate Moss.

Sauve wrote: »
    Mod

Don't be at it.

Ah heyoooooorrrr...

I felt that was a pristine example of a gentlemanly exchange. Neither party lost face, and a good show was had by all, what what.