Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer yelping

• 13-01-2014 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

1 yr old springer sometimes starts yelping or whimpering this dog also has a very bad queen ann leg cud this be the prob or do any of ye know much about
    Queen ann legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

johnny3 wrote: »
    1 yr old springer sometimes starts yelping or whimpering this dog also has a very bad queen ann leg cud this be the prob or do any of ye know much about
    Queen ann legs

Only the one's on my coffee table:D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Only the one's on my coffee table:D:rolleyes:

Sorry could'nt help myself;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Queen ann legs

any picture of him, is the leg sore to touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

Sorry I can't put up pics don't no how to tryed before and didn't work
    And no his foot doesn't seem sore

Sorry I can't put up pics don't no how to tryed before and didn't work
    And no his foot doesn't seem sore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Where and when does he yelp is he active or sitting in the kennel is it after exercise or during the night if ya know wat I mean .
    lots more detail needed

Sometimes at first when he's just out fresh not worried about that but noticed ytd again we wer out about an hr and a half when strarted very annoying

So wat exactly is he doin when he starts how long does it last etc is he yelping while hunting wat experience you have with springers

He just starts this yelping for no reason and it's not cus he on a scent ie like a barking springer
    An no I don't have a lot off experience with springers wos a pointer man for the last 25 yrs or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

1 queen ann leg is very unusual in a springer or any dog this sounds more like a deformed issue to me
    but im no vet so why not pop along and ask the pros

a lot of people will tell you queen ann legs are a form of elbow dysplasia but if that's the case there is a hell of a lot of ftw/ftc out there with this issue

The dogs left leg is pointing at like 10 o'clock it you no what I meen and badly bowed il try and put up a pic

johnny3

I would not for 1 minute try and tell you what to do with your dog but this really is an issue you should be discussing with your vet

if the leg is as Im visualising the whole carriage of the dog will be off which may even mean the dog is dislocating a joint under pressure even try walking yourself as you have described above and jaysus its not easy

I have 2 ess with queen ann legs and both are hard going honest ould dogs and imho don't curtail them in any way my own ould legs are straight enough I think and im the 1 who comes home bolloxed

He just starts this yelping for no reason and it's not cus he on a scent ie like a barking springer
    An no I don't have a lot off experience with springers wos a pointer man for the last 25 yrs or so
    I was just wondering whether is was giving tongue and you didnt realise pardon me you obviously know your dogs sorry no use us guessing as jimf said go to a professional try ask a few greyhound men which one they use

Yea thanks
    I had him to the vet which is a vetinry for cats and dogs and she said he wd be fine apart from spoiling the look of the dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

jimf wrote: »
    johnny3

I would not for 1 minute try and tell you what to do with your dog but this really is an issue you should be discussing with your vet

if the leg is as Im visualising the whole carriage of the dog will be off which may even mean the dog is dislocating a joint under pressure even try walking yourself as you have described above and jaysus its not easy

I have 2 ess with queen ann legs and both are hard going honest ould dogs and imho don't curtail them in any way my own ould legs are straight enough I think and im the 1 who comes home bolloxed

on a side note thanks for the tea last night jimf and trying to help brazzill ,you are one sound man and we learned alot from talking to you over the cup of coffee, also u have some beautiful classic looking dogs that have the apperance of dogs that are not afraid of work!

charlie10 wrote: »
    on a side note thanks for the tea last night jimf and trying to help brazzill ,you are one sound man and we learned alot from talking to you over the cup of coffee, also u have some beautiful classic looking dogs that have the apperance of dogs that are not afraid of work!

ye were more than welcome Charlie pity we had no joy and ta for the dog comments as for being classics well the are fed and well looked after and they do the job for me the photos of yer own dogs was pretty impressive too

Springer leg

god johnny that's the worst ive ever seen the right leg is also queen anne but that's the usual stance

that left leg is very bad

Yea it looks cat but the vet said I shudnt affect him hunting and it doesn't seem too

that is bad looking ,he must find it hard working with a leg like that

Na goes hard enough for 3 hrs or so plus he's only 12 months will jus hav to keep an eye on the yelping seems to b a new thing wit him

was he taken prematurely from the mother as a pup ? had he that leg when u bought him ?

Bought him at 8 months it's a long story how I ended up buying him I was told he had queen ann legs but when I seen him he wos in traching cover and I didn't examine him closely cus it wos another dog that I went to veiw and when I got the idea to go back for this lad I met ur man half way I will be more cued in nx time

was his leg always that way ya ? yera like u said if it isnt hurting him ,he is grand

Na goes hard enough for 3 hrs or so plus he's only 12 months will jus hav to keep an eye on the yelping seems to b a new thing wit him

at 12 months he would be tightening up on all the growth plates so now is the time you would be expecting problems how long ago since he was at vet

the twists and turns of a working day must put strain on that leg even first thing in morning could possibly be an issue

Ya would want indicaters on them legs ,, but infairness if it doesnt bother him it shouldnt bother you but please dont ever breed from him even if hes the best dog in the world

Two months I'd say since at vets

Yea snipe his appearance wouldn't bother me once it's not hurrying him I will keep a close eye on him and no I'd never breed from him