Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the Pheasants?

• 10-01-2014 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hi, Is it me or is there a huge lack of Pheasants this year? I live in a fairly rural part of Laois and im not seeing as many Pheasants this year compared to last year! So is it just me or do other people feel the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Hi, Is it me or is there a huge lack of Pheasants this year? I live in a fairly rural part of Laois and im not seeing as many Pheasants this year compared to last year! So is it just me or do other people feel the same?

Cant say im the same, loads of pheasants and woodcock around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Great white hunter

jap gt wrote: »
    Cant say im the same, loads of pheasants and woodcock around here

What part of the country are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

I was delighted at the start of the season, we were meeting a nice number of birds, even with a our release pen being sabotaged.

They have been a bit slack the last two weeks alright but I'm putting it down to the bad weather. I definitely have seen a decrease in the number of woodcock around (north cork/south limerick) area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I hit my first of season last week and it was only second pheasant to cross my path. Met another 2 mins later in same patch.
    I've gotten 3 snipe 1 jack and a woodcock and il be happy to end my season at that. I worked hard for that and the dog proved herself more than I expected.
    Not about quantity mate. Some will shoot 6 cocks and 29 woodcock a day but il still be happy with what I've gotten so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

What part of the country are you in?

North cork. Local club has lot of work donr on pheasants. And its prob one of the best places for woodcock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

It's been one of the best year's hear for a very long time.I put it down to the weather been so good at breeding time a hot of hen had two brood's.they be hard found in this weather in the ditches i'd say.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Ah from what I seen before the season alot of people saying there is plenty of pheaants around and I have yet to shoot one as I am down the farm and no gun and up gets 2 in front of ya and the day u go down with the gun no sign of them. I rattled 3 of them an evening ago but i was on my own and couldnt get a shot off at them but there is plenty of woodock and snipe around as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

In kk lots of birds still around well scattered but still meeting birds my best year to date so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Definatly more birds about on Blessington Game Club land this season then the previous one which saw numbers take a dive after the washout summer of 2012.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Definatly more birds about on Blessington Game Club land this season then the previous one which saw numbers take a dive after the washout summer of 2012.

From what I've seen in around the blessing ton area it's perfectly managed
    We'll looked after. They've a lot of feeders about for the birds and release plenty of birds.
    If I was to join a club it'd be them. ( well if try)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

From what I've seen in around the blessing ton area it's perfectly managed
    We'll looked after. They've a lot of feeders about for the birds and release plenty of birds.
    If I was to join a club it'd be them. ( well if try)

Yep - a great bunch of lads running the show there. A very long waiting list though if your thinking of joining. Huge demand by all accounts being so near the big smoke.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Yep - a great bunch of lads running the show there. A very long waiting list though if your thinking of joining. Huge demand by all accounts being so near the big smoke.

I know from chatting to folks that it'd be a long list. I would never join a gun club but pheasants getting so scarce I'd prob end up joining just to get the hunting. All I've ever heard from g.c is bad things but I'd defiantly rate blessington a good club. I do fish the river beside manor Kilbride and I always come across a few pheasants. And well fed ones at that :) but even the land and area are well looked after. You'd never see a used cartridge on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    I was delighted at the start of the season, we were meeting a nice number of birds, even with a our release pen being sabotaged.

They have been a bit slack the last two weeks alright but I'm putting it down to the bad weather. I definitely have seen a decrease in the number of woodcock around (north cork/south limerick) area.

How, why was the pen sabotaged and do you know who did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Brianmeath

Did ye release many?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Hi, Is it me or is there a huge lack of Pheasants this year?

That's the way pheasant populations go, pops and drops. One year there are more pheasants running the roads than people, the next, the only pheasants to be found are over a fireplace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

loads of birds here in tipp best year for pheasant by far good summer really helped them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

Great year in kerry, loads of snipe and woodcock, best day was 9 woodcock and thirty snipe between two guns.. About 5 miles walking to get them tho in the mountains.. i love it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Maybe lads neglected vermin control in your area either that or stoats I think the high in number this year.

How, why was the pen sabotaged and do you know who did it?

I know who did it alright....a wanker!! No we have our suspicions alright, more than suspicions even but what can ya do. They tore down all our fences, stole the electric fencer but the best thing they did was spill all the feed we had there, at least that kept the birds around.

Fingers crossed for next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

thought before season started birds were scarce, how wrong was I, in 3 clubs never failed to reach bag limit on every outing.county louth is one of the best pheasant counties in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

shotie wrote: »
    loads of birds here in tipp best year for pheasant by far good summer really helped them out

is there???i must put down my dog so cause he aint finding them,Im afraid around Thurles,Holycross,Moycarkey,Moyne and Loughmore there as scarse as hens teeth so other members from these clubs are telling me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Where in lao is are you shooting?I'm in abbeyleix.
    Definitely only a few birds around but their around for a reason
    Wary birds that know where to get away and the likes.
    Was after such this morning and went for a walk for pheasants after.was out for 5 hours total with no sign of a pheasant.
    Then out of spite I met a nice long tailed bird on the way home roughly 60 yards from my door at the road!!

is there???i must put down my dog so cause he aint finding them,Im afraid around Thurles,Holycross,Moycarkey,Moyne and Loughmore there as scarse as hens teeth so other members from these clubs are telling me

jayus i dont know about them places but around me the place is full of them .i was out the other day with a lad and we bagged 3 cocks and met a good few more that we missed, same lad shot 2 more tis eveing ,we be starting on the foxs now very soon and ill be trapping the greys and mags soon enough.

is there???i must put down my dog so cause he aint finding them

Don't blame the dog if you trained him:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    I know who did it alright....a wanker!! No we have our suspicions alright, more than suspicions even but what can ya do. They tore down all our fences, stole the electric fencer but the best thing they did was spill all the feed we had there, at least that kept the birds around.

Fingers crossed for next year!

I'm a bit lost when it comes to this sort of stuff, but, why, why, why would someone do this to you? Simple old fashioned theft?

(reason for interest, keen appreciative game cook)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

Wos very hard to hold pheasants around pens this yr they just kept wandering wit all the berrys and food suff available for them they don't really have to be bothering wit hoppers we need cold weather early and then they will hang around

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I'm a bit lost when it comes to this sort of stuff, but, why, why, why would someone do this to you? Simple old fashioned theft?

(reason for interest, keen appreciative game cook)

Spite I blame it on
    We had a lot of feeders and 2 fencers stolen last year.
    A vexed farmer, members of other clubs that hate seeing someone else doing well, anti blood protesters, bored young fellas. .
    Endless list of feck in gombeens with nothing better to be at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

djflawless wrote: »
    Spite I blame it on
    A vexed farmer, members of other clubs that hate seeing someone else doing well, anti blood protesters, bored young fellas. .

you should invest in a trial camera for next year and catch the p*#*k thats doing it..

meeting plenty of pheasants here in the west, good summer made all the difference we released 100 cocks but shooting a good number of wild birds too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

sniper83 wrote: »
    you should invest in a trial camera for next year and catch the p*#*k thats doing it.

+1 to that.

Mount it high up in a tree out of reach and camouflage it a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

We have had a very good season so far.. Between me my father and uncle we have shot 26 pheasant 35 duck and 9 woodcock... We see alot of birds each day we go out and its all credit to the gunclub.. Also we have caught 20 mink in the past 8 months....

Spite I blame it on

***ANTI-BLOOD PROTESTER***

This particular chap decided what we were doing was "wrong" so took it in his own hands to just vandalize the pen. The trail cam will be in place before birds go in the pen this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

where are all the phesants? myself and brazzill met 10 phesants yesterday , and about 6 woodcock in the space of 3 hours great to see so many birds so late in the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Great white hunter

Where in lao is are you shooting?I'm in abbeyleix.
    Definitely only a few birds around but their around for a reason
    Wary birds that know where to get away and the likes.
    Was after such this morning and went for a walk for pheasants after.was out for 5 hours total with no sign of a pheasant.
    Then out of spite I met a nice long tailed bird on the way home roughly 60 yards from my door at the road!!

Im up around Arles, plenty of nice land around but very scarce on the pheasant front, ah well i may keep looking

Would you do much around ballickmoyler?
    I shot a small permission there last year a bit late in the season with no joy
    Wondering if its the same this year

A lot of birds met again today 3 shot and that again got away nice 3 hours loads of rabbits around also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

there so tame there getting knocked down by trucks,cars,vans etc.
    I have seen loads on the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

LET MY PEOPLE GO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

bassy wrote: »

So do foxes badgers & rabbits. Does that make them tame?

i see pheasants on the road and there are 100% wild the minit they see movement there bolted like road runner, i think its the lack of ditchs well in my area any way. i also see alot of hens with chicks during the summer months on the roads awell but funny enough ive never seen a died pheasant on the road . met 6 hens and 4 cocks while out yesterday and was only out for 3hrs still birds knocking about the place.

bassy wrote: »

??? Tame animals approach moving vehicles? I'd say its more like headlights stun them and then they bolt across the road getting hit.

Was out today because work decided to call me back "despite me telling them I wanted till February off" but any-who three cocks pheasants broke over me with the gun broke:(never in all the years I've shot that area has it held anything and today it held 3. Sh#t load of hens out too so next year pending good summer should be good, long story short got notting today except one annoyingly loud magpie lifted from a tree at 10 yards the little shiit.
    Anyway that's my season over till next year:( safe shooting and best of look with the last two weeks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Out today from 8.30 till 4.45,stopped for a bite for half hour seen 1 hen :(

Out today again met several cocks and several hens shot 2 cocks 2 woodcock 2 rabbits and 2 woodpigeons some morning having some year best ive ever seen for pheasants hens everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

I was out from 9 until 2. seen 5 cocks 3 hen's got 2 cock's and 5 woodcock. Happy out.:)

snipe02 wrote: »
    Out today again met several cocks and several hens shot 2 cocks 2 woodcock 2 rabbits and 2 woodpigeons some morning having some year best ive ever seen for pheasants hens everywhere

Yourself and brazzil are havin some season lad