Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show: January 10th 2014

• 10-01-2014 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Now I'm the king of the swingers, the jungle V.I.P
    I reached the top and had to stop
    And that's what bothering me
    I want to be a man, man-cub, and stroll right into town
    And be just like those other men
    I'm tired of monkeying around

Ooh-bi-doo, I wan'na be like you
    I want to walk like you, talk like you, too
    You see it's true, an ape like me
    Can learn to be like you, too

Yes, newly crowned King Of The Jungle Kian Egan is on tonight. He won I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here recently, and he is a Judge on The Voice of Ireland. Ah well. He claims it'll be his first solo LLS interview. We are not worthy

minimillionaire.jpg

Also on again is Ireland Rugby coach Joe Schmidt. He was a good interviewee a few months ago and he is back. He won't have far to travel.

00074ca9-642.jpg

Music from Grammy nominated Jazz Singer Gregory Porter

Gregory_Porter_-_Be_Good.jpg

Congratulations on not giving up before now, your patience is a virtue.

Update - He was on last month but he was great, so we welcome back Commander Chris Hadfield - Astronaut, Irish Tourism Ambassador, Singer, Legend

Chris-Hadfield--012.jpg

And music from Latvian Instrumental Rock Cello Trio Melo M
    Melo_M_galv.jpg

and leading Country and Irish Singer, Jimmy Buckley. He even made his own picture
    late-late-CLIP-580x228.jpg

Also some Old Inventors and a Young Scientist.

For reasons of taste, details of a serious guest are in the next post.

Happy New Year, and all that!

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSjfPdfUZuFglEAMOQ20xSiqigU3oirxZedPsFCdmKFUrj8vXzp6A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Angela Hayes, who lost both her husband Tommy and son Thomas to suicide, will appear on tonight’s Late Late Show with her son Alan to tell her story.

The mother-of-five spoke at a suicide awareness event in St. Mary’s Cathedral, Kilkenny recently and received a standing ovation after her speech.

http://www.her.ie/entertainment/tv/sticking-to-a-dry-january-this-is-the-line-up-for-the-late-late-show-tonight/

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/woman-who-lost-husband-and-son-to-suicide-urges-people-to-reach-out-254685.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,438 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

sounds serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭For Reals

'Happy New Year and welcome back to The Late Late, SUICIDE'.
    Well, start as you mean to go on I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Apart from the jungle clown, I've never heard of any of these people. Movie night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Former Westlife non-entity on Late Late Show... Stallone and De Niro on Graham Norton.

Hmmm... decisions, decisions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Typical Tubridy :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,438 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

nothing to finish off a hard week than a nice bit of suicide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,032 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Kian's OK/Hello issue must already be out so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

nothing to finish off a hard week than a nice bit of suicide

It really worries me there is people with your kind of attitude towards suicide still around, would you prefer it was swept under the carpet like it has been for centuries ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Listrydude

Jeez Tubs is gone a misery loving as Duffy!! He should get one of the girls, he was talking to on his radio show - who's boyfriend/hubby was cheating. It's gone to that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Listrydude wrote: »
    Jeez Tubs is gone a misery loving as Duffy!! He should get one of the girls, he was talking to on his radio show - who's boyfriend/hubby was cheating. It's gone to that!

I don't think he picks the guests.

More is the pity, eh? It must be tough competing with Norton though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid X wrote: »
    Ooh-bi-doo, I wan'na be like you
    I want to walk like you, talk like you, too
    You see it's true, an ape like me
    Can learn to be like you, too

Ah well. He claims it'll be his first solo LLS interview. We are not worthy

Scoobie-be-do
    Don't wanna look at you-who-who
    Talk like you, act like you,
    Dum, dumb, di-dum.....

*Throws on the Jana from the Jungle outfit and waits for the inevitable lions roar from Mr. T*

"First solo interview on the LLS"

***laughs so much falls off vineleaf***

(Em Skid, I thought that was a picture of you as a little boy....:p)

Making a swift, but welcome, return to the LLS - It's Commander Chris Hadfield!

The former International Space Station Astronaut is now a Tourism Ambassador for Ireland. He is in Dublin for the Young Scientists Exhibition in the RDS.

now THAT is more like it!

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Kian's OK/Hello issue must already be out so

Brendan is still wiping egg off his face.

Yea, the Commander is back. We should keep him.....:)

We need him more than Space does.

He was only one of the few decent guests we've had this year....

If you are one of the thousands of people who complained that there isn't enough Latvian Instrumental Cello Rock on the Late Late Show, then I bring welcome news that Melo M will be on tonight

And there is homegrown fare from Una Healy's Uncle, the popular Country and Irish singer Jimmy Buckley

Now I going to have to wear my "Jimmy Buckley" cowboy hat with my jungle outfit.. :)

"Ye haw, Roooaaaarrrrr"

It's like a bag of pick 'n' mix tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

peabutler wrote: »
    It really worries me there is people with your kind of attitude towards suicide still around, would you prefer it was swept under the carpet like it has been for centuries ?

Nobody wants it swept under the carpet and I welcome the openness about discussing mental health issues in the last few years. It's just that if you are a regular Late Late viewer or watch Brendan's show on Saturday night it has been pretty relentless with suicide and depression slots week after week almost to the point of obsession.

Most viewers just want a bit of light relief at the end of the week so it's no surprise to me that the Late Late's audience has been sliding over the last couple of years. If it's a choice between yet another misery slot or a few laughs with Graham Norton I'm afraid I'm going to choose Norton and I don't mean any disrespect to any of the participants on tonight's show in saying this. It's just that I can't take any more misery. It depresses me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

We need him more than Space does.

:-D :-D :-D

Delighted he's back on. Looking forward to (bits of) the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

That astronaut guy is getting really annoying now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Having known the young chap who committed suicide, I was a bit annoyed to see some of the comments here but I guess we (including myself) all say things like this mindlessly at times.

Angela and Alan (who is very popular in Kilkenny) have been doing great work as regards suicide awareness and I am delighted that they have their opportunity to speak tonight.

It may not have effected any of you and nor has it effected my family, but it is a huge problem in society that can be fixed. Sneering doesn't help to solve it though. What Angela is doing does.

I understand what you are saying though Norman. There are a lot of people though who just choose to shut out the harsh realities of life without even considering them in the first place. If you are feeling annoyed with the amount of glum stories on the show, there is no fault in you switching the channel. But what is less desirable is the sarcastic sneering over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

T minus 3 hours

I can only assume you are talking about Buzz Lightyear or some other astronaut. You can't possibly mean Chris Hadfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

keith16 wrote: »
    T minus 3 hours

Heineken in the fridge . . .

And sadly for my diet I reckon there will be crisps involved too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭For Reals

cathalio11 wrote: »
    Having known the young chap who committed suicide, I was a bit annoyed to see some of the comments here but I guess we (including myself) all say things like this mindlessly at times.

Angela and Alan (who is very popular in Kilkenny) have been doing great work as regards suicide awareness and I am delighted that they have their opportunity to speak tonight.

It may not have effected any of you and nor has it effected my family, but it is a huge problem in society that can be fixed. Sneering doesn't help to solve it though. What Angela is doing does.

I understand what you are saying though Norman. There are a lot of people though who just choose to shut out the harsh realities of life without even considering them in the first place. If you are feeling annoyed with the amount of glum stories on the show, there is no fault in you switching the channel. But what is less desirable is the sarcastic sneering over it.

Always respect and thoughts for anyone suffering, but it's not mindless to say you don't want to watch something because you find it depressing. We all know people with health issues, be they mental or otherwise, not wanting to spend your Friday night viewing an 'entertainment' show segment devoted to suicide is a choice not a point of disrespect or sneering. Complaining about it is just that, stating you don't want to see it right now, not dismissing the pain of those involved. You seriously think anyone grumbling at the idea of sitting through something that may bring them down is casting scorn on the victims in any way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

For Reals wrote: »
    You seriously think anyone grumbling at the idea of sitting through something that may bring them down is casting scorn on the victims in any way?

At the very bottom of my post, I expressed that I understood what Norman said and that there is no problem in switching the channel because there is depressing content on.

However, saying "Welcome back to the Late, Late, SUICIDE" is a mindless comment in my opinion.

But to be honest, I've made jokes about equally sensitive topics in my life, as have most people so I'd be a hypocrite to scorn you for it. But when I saw people dismiss it, I just thought I'd come in because these 2 people have done a lot for Kilkenny in the past month.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I can only assume you are talking about Buzz Lightyear or some other astronaut. You can't possibly mean Chris Hadfield.

The Commander aside, next favourite astronaut...

The other ones were the lads from Capricorn One.....:D:D:D

Lisha wrote: »

Pringles Lisha??........

Put a Heineken in the fridge for me sooo....(or seeing as Joe Schmidt is on the program, a "Hino" or a "Ken"....:P Just for the D4 lads of course....;))

But Kian Egan isn't an Astronaut?

Heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Diet smiet. We still have our Xmas tree up. About 4 irish coffees and a half price tin of USA biscuits will see me through proceedings this evening!

Pringles Lisha??........

Put a Heineken in the fridge for me sooo....(or seeing as Joe Schmidt is on the program, a "Hino" or a "Ken"....:P Just for the D4 lads of course....;))

Evening GSW, Nope no Pringles in the house. Some walkers here I think. I would looove a bag of maccoys ready salted but virtuous me refused to buy them earlier. Gluttonous me and virtuous me are having a real argument at the minute.

:):) I cannot hear the words hino or ken without thinking of Ross O Carroll Kelly. The amaze balls ledge that he is!

Not to everyone's taste I know, but it amuses me.

keith16 wrote: »
    Diet smiet. We still have our Xmas tree up. About 4 irish coffees and a half price tin of USA biscuits will see me through proceedings this evening!

Excellent, I salute you Sir.
    I took down half of the decorations last weekend but for traditions sake I left the crib, tree and staircase garlands and lights up until today.

Great to have house all shiny clean (ish anyway) again :)

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    But Kian Egan isn't an Astronaut?

Heh.

No just a spacer !

Gluttonous me and virtuous me are having a real argument at the minute.

:):) I cannot hear the words hino or ken without thinking of Ross O Carroll Kelly. The amaze balls ledge that he is!

The perfect woman Lisha!.....:D:)

Love RO'CK, good craic!...:)

The Commander aside, next favourite astronaut...

The other ones were the lads from Capricorn One.....:D:D:D

And then Roger Moore in Moonraker.

:-D

I have huge sympathy with those who have lost friends or family to Suicide, as does anyone with an ounce of decency in them .

There is a need for more discussion on the subject, in general.

But this is the third relative of a Suicide victim to appear on the Show in the last four months. That's not appropriate for a Light Entertainment Show.

I would commend the show if they had a proper discussion with Doctors, Counsellors and other trained experts about how we should address this terrible problem.

But having a succession of relatives on to discuss their family members in isolation is not the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Why?

I hope the winners of the Young Scientists are on.

I'm a big supporter of this Exhibition, Fair play to BT for sponsoring it.

I presume the Commander will bring them on and do a quick interview.

Can't see him getting more than a few minutes considering the King of the Jungle is on.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

I have huge sympathy with those who have lost friends or family to Suicide, as does anyone with an ounce of decency in them .

But this is the third relative of a Suicide victim to appear on the Show in the last four months. That's not appropriate for a Light Entertainment Show.

I would commend the show if they had a proper discussion with Doctors, Counsellors and other trained experts about how we should address this terrible problem.

But having a succession of relatives on to discuss their family members in isolation is not the right way.

I read an article or item recently where a man who suffered from depression said that the best thing he did when he was feeling down was to make sure he watched a good comedy every single night. It lifted his mood. Late Late producers really should take note and consider the path they are currently going down. It may be causing more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I think they are trying to counteract the taboo about discussion of mental illness. However, they are now in danger of overkill and conversely killing any good that might have been done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,499 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Ah Jaysus....Buckley....Egan.....and another disingenuous "misery" piece on suicide which (yet again) is just exploiting bereaved people in the pursuit of lazy programming.

And so a new year on the LLS begins just as the previous one ended.
    Definitely a movie night! Enjoy it you brave people.....rather you than me:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

You really know how to hit the nail on the head. I could not have put it better myself. This topic deserves a dedicated programme, not a 10 minute discussion shoved in between a bit of music and a bit of craic.

It will be my brothers third anniversary next month, my mother and father watch and have watched the LLS religously through the years. They have just gotton over christmas which is hard for families who have lost members through suicide, I would just like to see them get a break from it every once now and again.

You really know how to hit the nail on the head. I could not have put it better myself. This topic deserves a dedicated programme, not a 10 minute discussion shoved in between a bit of music and a bit of craic.

It will be my brothers third anniversary next month, my mother and father watch and have watched the LLS religously through the years. They have just gotton over christmas which is hard for families who have lost members, I would just like to see them get a break from it every once now and again.

cofy wrote: »

It will be my brothers third anniversary next month, my mother and father watch and have watched the LLS religously through the years. They have just gotton over christmas which is hard for families who have lost members, I would just like to see them get a break from it every once now and again.

You're a brave person cofy. My hugs to you and your family.

GSW xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

That's a great OP Skid X, I salute you.

Why do they persist with the misery slot, gap filler? I'd imagine remotes all over the country getting reached for. I'd actually love to see real time viewing figures for the different parts of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

RayM wrote: »
    Former Westlife non-entity on Late Late Show... Stallone and De Niro on Graham Norton.

Hmmm... decisions, decisions...

Kian Egan before those two has-beens anytime!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Growing to like him more and more!!

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Kian Egan before those two has-beens anytime!!!

I did not expect to like Kian as much as I did in the jungle. Fair play to him, he did really well.

cofy wrote: »
    I did not expect to like Kian as much as I did in the jungle. Fair play to him, he did really well.

Can we send him back?....:p

Or what about that job on Mars?.....

Sure the Commander could put in a good word for him??.....

**runs, laughs and hides behinds WM's couch**......:pac: