Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

caught speeding twice in fifteen mins

• 09-01-2014 11:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43

I receive two speeding tickets through the post today , drove my girlfriend home last Saturday week and then returned back the same route , was wondering if its possible to be fined twice by the same machine ?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

fish_freak wrote: »
    I receive two speeding tickets through the post today , drove my girlfriend home last Saturday week and then returned back the same route , was wondering if its possible to be fined twice by the same machine ?

Did you make no progress in fifteen minutes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

When would you say it would be OK for the camera to catch you again? The next day? Should you get a 'free' week?
    Not being smart btw. Just pointing out the obvious dilemma that arises from your question.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 fish_freak

Stheno wrote: »
    Did you make no progress in fifteen minutes?

I obviously travelled past the camera once in one direction and back again in the other direction

was wondering can they fine you twice in such a short space of time , seems obscene

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I obviously travelled past the camera once in one direction and back again in the other direction

was wondering can they fine you twice in such a short space of time , seems obscene

Ah right, sorry, and sorry again but if you were pinged on two seperate intervals speeding, then yes you can be.

Why do you think it's obscene? You chose to break the limit twice and got caught?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Well if you broke the speed limit in both directions why wouldn't they be able to fine you twice? Do you think you can only be fined once a day or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So you were obviously speeding in both directions ,
    Would you rather they said ahh sure you keep on speeding we only need to get you once

Ah right, sorry, and sorry again but if you were pinged on two seperate intervals speeding, then yes you can be.

Why do you think it's obscene? You chose to break the limit twice and got caught?

I didn't " choose " to break the limit , I was doing 67 km ph in a 60 km zone , you know how redicolous and inconsistent the speed limit is in different parts of the country

its one big revenue rasing scam

Gatling wrote: »
    So you were obviously speeding in both directions ,
    Would you rather they said ahh sure you keep on speeding we only need to get you once

I don't think its reasonable at all that I got fined , I was just wondering if their is anyway of avoiding having to pay twice , its highway robbery , do they think people are made of money ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I don't think its reasonable at all that I got fined , I was just wondering if their is anyway of avoiding having to pay twice , its highway robbery , do they think people are made of money ?

Slow down maybe

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Clearly not. If they were, fines wouldn't be a very good deterrent against speeding. They only work when people don't have lots of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

At 67kph, surely you noticed the speed van.

Gatling wrote: »
    Slow down maybe

so you don't think their is an incoherence when it comes to speed limits , I know motorway like straight sections of road where the speed limit is 60 km ph , the one on the airport road out of galway springs to mind , that road brings in more handy money for the government than you can shake a stick at

il pay the single fine but il have to see if I can avoid the second one , that's just taking the urine

At 67kph, surely you noticed the speed van.

this was at 1.30 am on a Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Good luck explaining that one to a judge :cool:

"Sure they are extracting the urine, I was speeding but sure doing me once is enough"

Never noticed the camera so obviously you were going too fast :P
    Not noticing twice is a bit silly :rolleyes:
    I sincerely doubt you will get away with payment only once

so you don't think their is an incoherence when it comes to speed limits , I know motorway like straight sections of road where the speed limit is 60 km ph , the one on the airport road out of galway springs to mind , that road brings in more handy money for the government than you can shake a stick at

il pay the single fine but il have to see if I can avoid the second one , that's just taking the urine

You drove over ten percent (which is the tolerance limit at best) of the speed limit twice and think it's taking the piss you got fined?

Why? Don't speed limits apply to you?

Just pay both fines and suck up the points.

You drove over ten percent (which is the tolerance limit at best) of the speed limit twice and think it's taking the piss you got fined?

Why? Don't speed limits apply to you?

Just pay both fines and suck up the points.

speeding fines are a cynical way to extract money out of people , that the speed limits are completely incoherent relative to the road network only compounds the issue

if it was possible to resist being judgemental for a min , im wondering are their any grounds for getting off on one of the fines , would a judge be sympathetic were I to contest it

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

that's just taking the urine

Why? Just because it was the same camera? What if you were done by a different camera a couple of miles down the road but within the same time period. Would that be acceptable? While being hit with one fine is a pain in the ass, and two is pretty painful, I really don't see why you would think that the second fine shouldn't be paid. The camera is an inanimate object, it didn't know it had clocked you already a few minutes previously. It's merely there to record the speeds of people exceeding the speed limit so that he appropriate penalties can be applied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Yes, you can go in and pay the two fines together, so you only pay once, :)

good man , id pay good money to hear you " tell em " :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 Cowboy2014

we'll u did it twice so u have to pay the price

Zaph wrote: »
    Why? Just because it was the same camera? What if you were done by a different camera a couple of miles down the road but within the same time period. Would that be acceptable? While being hit with one fine is a pain in the ass, and two is pretty painful, I really don't see why you would think that the second fine shouldn't be paid. The camera is an inanimate object, it didn't know it had clocked you already a few minutes previously. It's merely there to record the speeds of people exceeding the speed limit so that he appropriate penalties can be applied.

could you put aside your obvious desire to scold me over this crime for a minute , I no longer have any relatives in AGS so I cant get it quashed , do politicans sort out these kind of things these days ?

speeding fines are a cynical way to extract money out of people , that the speed limits are completely incoherent relative to the road network only compounds the issue

if it was possible to resist being judgemental for a min , im wondering are their any grounds for getting off on one of the fines , would a judge be sympathetic were I to contest it

No. You will have to pay both, and accept the four points.

Cowboy2014 wrote: »
    we'll u did it twice so u have to pay the price

a hooker wouldn't come out with that line

could you put aside your obvious desire to scold me over this crime for a minute , I no longer have any relatives in AGS so I cant get it quashed , do politicans sort out these kind of things these days ?

:eek::eek::eek:

angelfire9 wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek:
    Huh....

could you be more specific please

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm not scolding you, I'm simply trying to make you see how ridiculous your argument against paying two fines is. I was actually asking a genuine question, would you have less of a problem with this if it was a different camera on a different part of the road? Because it seems that your biggest issue is that both fines came from the same camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

No. You will have to pay both, and accept the four points.
    Its up to four points per offense. In fairness that could be eight so if he goes to court he essentially loses his licence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

I bet you like fish sticks as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

If you feel the limit is wrong and can't do anything about it what you need to do is gather together a couple of grand. Stick your name on the local election ballot for next year and campaign on a ticket of "increasing speed limits". Until then though you'll have to pay the €160 and suck it up.

Its up to four points per offense. In fairness that could be eight so if he goes to court he essentially loses his licence!

this will be my fourth fine in two years and the third this year , I cant afford to loose my licence over crap like this

ken wrote: »
    If you feel the limit is wrong and can't do anything about it what you need to do is gather together a couple of grand. Stick your name on the local election ballot for next year and campaign on a ticket of "increasing speed limits". Until then though you'll have to pay the €160 and suck it up.

and you think that is reasonable ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

He was going so fast he traveled back in time? Surely he would have been caught in a continuous loop getting millions of points. A bit like when the put Fraser in that Star Trek Episode.

Sorry this is about as much sense as this thread deserves.

this will be my fourth fine in two years and the third this year , I cant afford to loose my licence over crap like this
    6 months walking might shake the lead out of your foot. You reap what you sow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 Cowboy2014

does any one agree with me they done it twice so they have to pay the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭billie1b

4 fines and your still speeding, I think my dog learns faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭roshje

Well then drive within the speed limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Lads the last murder I committed was only 10 mins ago, do you think I'll only get charged once if I get another one done in the next 5 mins?

On the other hand I feel the speed limits on Irish roads are reasonable.

ken wrote: »
    6 months walking might shake the lead out of your foot. You reap what you sow.

don't be a smug git , the state isn't always right , its not clever to always side with it , not clever at all

people have to earn a living , do you think its funny that not being able to drive could ruin some people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Oh come on, this has to be a troll.

But you can afford to lose your licence when you kill somebody while speeding?

GarIT wrote: »
    Lads the last murder I committed was only 10 mins ago, do you think I'll only get charged once if I get another one done in the next 5 mins?

yeah I should be top story on the nine o clock news along with the murder suspect :rolleyes:

as if this thread didn't have enough hyperbole

and you think that is reasonable ?

Yes you obviously have a problem driving within speed limits, and don't pay much attention to deterrents, I've been driving for 15 years and have never had penalty points for speeding
    Cowboy2014 wrote: »
    does any one agree with me they done it twice so they have to pay the price

Yes

how many speeding fines before you loose your licence anyway ?

Smells a bit fishy doesn't it :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I think this is a troll but I'll bite anyway. I've been caught a number of times myself but on no occasion did I ever pass a speed van and not realise it was there. I mean it's a 2 tonne van covered in iluminous stickers, if it was at night time it would have lit up like a Christmas tree. If you didn't see it the first time you deserved to be caught the second time as you obviously weren't paying attention

don't be a smug git , the state isn't always right , its not clever to always side with it , not clever at all

people have to earn a living , do you think its funny that not being able to drive could ruin some people ?
    In this case the government is most definitely right. People speed too much and when they get caught they get fined and points. Get caught 6 times in 3 years and you get banned. It's not the governments fault that you're too stupid to stay within the speed limits.

Yes you obviously have a problem driving within speed limits, and don't pay much attention to deterrents, I've been driving for 15 years and have never had penalty points for speeding

Yes

I have a problem with a state which chooses to suck money off people in a cynical and incoherent fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭roshje

12pts licence gone

think it's 12 points where you lose the licence so that's six 2 point offences or 3 3 point offences.

You're fecked insurance wise once you go past four points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭brophs

"Ah here, Guard, sure there was hardly any time between my first and second murder. What are you really annoyed about?"