Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

whirlpool wrote: »
    Why do people "thumbs down" Youtube videos? I don't see the point of it, or why people do it. Unless it's a video with someone being abused or something, or a misleading title on a video, or deliberately fake upload or something. Other than that I really don't understand when a video has lots of thumbs down. If you don't like the video, then that doesn't mean there's anything wrong with it, it's just not what you were looking for. Just move along with yourself and leave it alone.

I'd love it if youtube changed it so that when you hover over a video in the side menu, it would tell you how many thumbs up/down it had.

I hate, hate, HATE clicking on videos that promise highlights of a sports even only to find that it's footage of some total wanker at home filming himself talking about the game and what he thought of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Urge to make inappropriate joke...rising.

:D.

Ugh, sick of it though. Can't stand nosey parkers. If I want to tell you something I will tell you. And if I don't, I won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

When people can't hold an umbrella properly and are oblivious to the fact that they are bashing everybody with it, or else they just don't care that they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People who overtake you, then put their left indicator on to tell you they're pulling back in to the left lane.(oh thanks for indicating, I thought you were going to continue on driving in the right hand lane and into the oncoming traffic!!

Now, I am only going to reply once...

Guilty as charged, I think this is the correct thing to do, i.e. indicate the direction in which you wish to move your vehicle.....always, because you just never know what the other driver is going to do. I have seen drivers overtake 5-6 cars at once, but really I suppose it is a courtesy thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

eisenberg1 wrote: »

Guilty as charged, I think this is the correct thing to do, i.e. indicate the direction in which you wish to move your vehicle.....always, because you just never know what the other driver is going to do. I have seen drivers overtake 5-6 cars at once, but really I suppose it is a courtesy thing.

Aye. Indicate before moving off-line more than a foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Me_Grapes

Being stuck at pedestrian lights for a good 30 seconds with not a sinner crossing, until the light turns green and then all of a sudden seemingly all of dame street decide to make a mad dash for the other side of the road!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I agree that you should indicate to change back into that lane however obvious it seems.

It's something I had difficulty doing yesterday as my indicators stopped working! Would you fcuking believe it! I left the car at the garage last night. Apparently it's the relay whatever that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

The Viking Splash people who shout as they go by. To be fair it depends on the day that I am having, but for today it is both trivial and annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

As well as that, a lot are being taught by their driving instructors to indicate when left when returning to the left lane. If their driving instructor is teaching it to them, then of course they're going to believe it's what they're meant to do.

Seeing as we are on a bit of a motoring topic...

On Saturday evening last, I had been partaking of my usual weekend special.....crystal meth, and a while later, I am stopped by gardai, while going at about 60mph on a dual carriageway, conditions were bright and dry, so as soon as I stopped, I screamed at the cop "Why the fcuk are you stopping ME?"

The polite Garda calmly replies, "Because you are travelling at excessive speed on a child's tricycle, in the overtaking lane"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

On Saturday evening last, I had been partaking of my usual weekend special.....crystal meth, and a while later, I am stopped by gardai, while going at about 60mph on a dual carriageway, conditions were bright and dry, so as soon as I stopped, I screamed at the cop "Why the fcuk are you stopping ME?"

The polite Garda calmly replies, "Because you are travelling at excessive speed on a child's tricycle, in the overtaking lane"

"Whereas your speed is by no means excessive Sir, it is customary to be accompanied by a motor-vehicle." :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

keano_afc wrote: »
    People who are cruising along a main road at the speed limit but as soon as they see a cop car up ahead they slow to a crawl. Why? You're not going to be arrested for driving at an appropriate speed. Slowing down from 80kmh to 40kmh is insane.

Ridiculous...many's a day I've overtaken big beemers and mercs in my old banger as they crawl behind the Guardia Civil at 90 on a motorway where you can do 120kph!

The other day I had the Guardia Civil behind me on a secondary road so I kept it at 80. Then I turned off that onto my road which has a 60 limit and they followed me.

I was in a decent car and it was a real effort to keep it at 60 so after a few hundred yards I went at 75/80 and decided that if they stopped me I'd just hold my hands up and say it's impossible to go that slow on a straight road with perfect visibility, no ditches even to block your view.

I turned in home and they sped off ahead probably annoyed some eejit was going so slowly in front of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Walking by yourself and suddenly remembering something funny, making a complete tool of yourself. The looks I got from people at that bus stop! I didn't burst out laughing but the stupid grin was enough... :pac:

Also walking into traffic lights, bus stop poles and sign posts. Ah sure, why not to entertain the public! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

czechlin wrote: »
    Walking by yourself and suddenly remembering something funny, making a complete tool of yourself. The looks I got from people at that bus stop! I didn't burst out laughing but the stupid grin was enough... :pac:

Also walking into traffic lights, bus stop poles and sign posts. Ah sure, why not to entertain the public! :o
    It's worse if you're walking towards someone and they think you're laughing at them:o

I've mentioned it already this week but I'll say it again, fricking parents who drive their kids in convoys to every estate in the town when the kids win some match. 9 o'clock last night I was in agony, ya know that level of pain that's so bad you feel nauseous and break out in a sweat so you have to lie down?

Well that was me and I was just nodding off in bed when another convoy, the 4th this week, came blasting their car horns with kids hanging out windows screaming. Surely this kind of sh*t cannot be safe or legal, where the fcuk are our gardai when this crap is going on? I know many of our gardai are/where involved in sports but this is fuc*ing ridiculous and I'm sick of it. I actually want to see someone fall out of one of these cars and go under the wheels of the car behind.

I know that sounds evil and I don't care, I feel that they owe me that at this point:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Threads whose titles have big glaring enormous (sometimes multiple) f__k-off spelling mistakes in them that go on for weeks and the OP never goes back to fix it. Irritates the f__k out of me. They can clearly see the thread title every time the open it, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Overly aggressive local election candidates. I've noticed that Sinn Fein, People Before Profit and parties of that ilk have taken to targeting the dole and post offices on dole day. I happened to be in the post office today having to pay off my phone bill, already flustered by having to queue for ages, and on my way out the door was accosted by a candidate running in the local elections vowing to help the unemployed in the area. When I told him I hadn't had time to stop to chat he kept saying "okay then put up with the current government" (or something to that effect) as he obviously thought I was one of his unemployed target voters. He just came across as aggressive and ignorant to be honest.

The fact that he puts so much time in trying to secure the unemployed vote tells me all I need to know of the stereotypical following and support SF,PBP and the likes they seem to attract (I have nothing against the unemployed as I have many friends in such a situation. It's the permanent life scroungers that annoy me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

The Viking Splash people who shout as they go by. To be fair it depends on the day that I am having, but for today it is both trivial and annoying.

Its very loud today actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Hayfever - I never suffered hayfever as a kid and yet I've been suffering from it the last few years - time to get back to playing in hay barns and long grass fields - if only I could give up this working lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Hayfever - I never suffered hayfever as a kid and yet I've been suffering from it the last few years - time to get back to playing in hay barns and long grass fields - if only I could give up this working lark.

Nettle tea, you can get tea bags in the health shops, take everyday. Worked for me.

yeppydeppy wrote: »

I started to suffer from it when I was about seventeen, had it bad (in a manly way) for about fifteen years.....not too bad at all now. Having said that, I will probably keel over tonite:D

People who take it upon themselves to apologise for the country. I glanced at a story where some B&B somewhere in Ireland gave free accomodation to tourists who'd been carjacked. All very noble etc etc, but it pis*ed me off that it was done under the guise of an apology on behalf of the Irish people.

I think it shows serious arrogance to feel that you have the authority to apologise for a stranger, let alone on behalf of an entire country.

You should be on Dragons Den ( or somewhere) with that tricycle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

czechlin wrote: »

I was getting my legs waxed yesterday. Lying on the bed, face down and looking at cupboards.

I just pictured me toppling the bed forward and going face first into the cupboard!! I started laughing hysterically and the lady said im the first person to laugh uncontrollably while getting waxed :o

Hate put on accents. Watching news earlier, people being asked for opinions about European elections. A lot of 'yaw yaw, well what OI think, we need to gat...'.
    Combined with the fact that some of them seemed to think this is the first time we have voted in such elections. Yaw yaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Johnwayne98

you're absolutely right,road safety is key here.

People at home who assume a cleaned out fireplace suddenly becomes a dustbin for crisp packets,banana skins etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

If 3 yanks die it is news, if 50 others die it isnt

you're absolutely right,road safety is key here.