Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Coming back from a dash to the shop at lunchtime to get something to eat and finding someone sitting at your desk eating their lunch. GO AWAY!

Well I suppose it could be a lot worse. They could be sitting at your desk eating your lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Don't fret Czechlin, I won't be going anywhere! I was moaning long before i started the course and I'll be moaning long after it :) I'm what is known as a "lifer" in any place that promotes ranting!

I'm actually back in the office after a week off and so far today, someone else is using MY mug for their tea as they didn't think i was going to be in??? Fucking neck of them! :mad:

Also one of the managers brought cakes/buns or whatever in which was sound but some pig has taken a bite out of one and put it back in the box!!! Seriously??? Who does that!

An utter pr1ck does that. Usually the same kind of a pr1ck, who takes your mug. I fcuking hate those pr1cks!!! Yes I know it's a pr1ck overload but let me have it for once...

Also people, who eat fish in the office canteen and stink up the whole room. Or any other really smelly food but the fish is really brutal, cop on ffs :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Czarcasm wrote: »
    People who are their own worst enemy -

"I can't do this, I can't do that, because, because, be..."

Just piss off! :mad:

When you go for lunch with someone and you tell them you'd just like a coffee, you don't want a bun, but they go full on Mrs. Doyle on it (go on, go on, etc), till you have to insist "NO! Jesus!", then go to sit down while they're at the counter.

Down they come -

"I got you a Boston cream, I know you like them"...

I mean... *speechless* :(

Of course you're speechless, your mouth is full of Boston cream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Aglomerado wrote: »
    It's OK. I am a sweary bitch.

Another thing that annoys me: People who don't swear. I don't mean every second word has to be "Fúck", just say "shít" once in a while to appear more human!

I don't trust people who don't swear.
    People who say swearing "is not big and not clever" :rolleyes:

I like to wind them up by pointing out that sh!t and fcuk are in actual fact, the two cleverest words in the english language, which can be used in practically any sentence and can have both positive and negative meanings :D

trying to match similar socks out of the washing machine - does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Don't fret Czechlin, I won't be going anywhere! I was moaning long before i started the course and I'll be moaning long after it :) I'm what is known as a "lifer" in any place that promotes ranting!

I'm actually back in the office after a week off and so far today, someone else is using MY mug for their tea as they didn't think i was going to be in??? Fucking neck of them! :mad:

Also one of the managers brought cakes/buns or whatever in which was sound but some pig has taken a bite out of one and put it back in the box!!! Seriously??? Who does that!

Oh for goodness sake, who the hell would do that. If it happened at a kiddies birthday party, it might be understandable! Disgusting person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Czarcasm wrote: »
    When you go for lunch with someone and you tell them you'd just like a coffee, you don't want a bun, but they go full on Mrs. Doyle on it (go on, go on, etc), till you have to insist "NO! Jesus!", then go to sit down while they're at the counter.

Down they come -

"I got you a Boston cream, I know you like them"...

I mean... *speechless* :(

:mad: I am sooo angry just reading that post. It does my bloody head in, I get sooo irrationally angry I just leave the food sitting there uneaten. I couldn't give a rats arse if it's rude or not. If I ate everything that was put in front of me that I DID NOT WANT, I'd be 20 stone in no time.

There was a birthday in the office a few weeks back and they ordered in chocolate cake. One of the girls ordered the cake in and basically forced everyone to eat it, apart from her of course, she was off it for Lent. So, you know, she had a legitimate reason not to eat it. Me being a big pagan/non holy person was just being a kill joy for not having it. She actually said, 'oh go on have a little bit', so I said the same back to her. And she goes to me 'but you don't do lent'. No, I don't but if I say No, I mean fcuking no. I didn't want the fcuking cake, she backed down.

My uncle does the same thing. I have not sugar in my tea since I was 11. I gave it up for a while and then just preferred tea without sugar. Now, I hate tea with sugar, I will not drink it.
    Every single time my uncle makes me tea, he puts bucket loads of sugar into it. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. And I am forced to through it out each time. >.< Wrecks my head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Oh for goodness sake, who the hell would do that. If it happened at a kiddies birthday party, it might be understandable! Disgusting person.

"It was............it was, it....aaaghh" and keels over after eating my last bit of cake:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

LynnGrace wrote: »

You're back, wooo. I thought you had crossed over to the other side and you weren't coming back. :(:p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

MSG

maguic24 wrote: »
    You're back, wooo. I thought you had crossed over to the other side and you weren't coming back. :(:p :pac:

Haha, Gawd no, I love this thread.

I sent a text to someone yesterday AM, no reply. Again yesterday PM, no reply. Again this morning, no reply. I called them this afternoon and the response was "Oh yeah, I got the text but I did not have an answer for you, so no point in replying"

This gobsh1te has been calling me once a week for a year trying to sell stuff to me....Acknowledge Acknowledge!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

czechlin wrote: »
    You complain about this!? Phew, this is nothing! It's the ones that sit right BESIDE me even though there are plenty of free seats available that annoy me to no end!:mad:

Try that on a 2hr bus strip to Dublin, and the guy starts talking to you all the way up. I put on the headphones and he still didn't get the hint. My fault tho, i should have just ignored him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Probably been posted before, but that lucozade ad is back. Annoying me every time i go on youtube

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Galway K9 wrote: »
    Try that on a 2hr bus strip to Dublin, and the guy starts talking to you all the way up. I put on the headphones and he still didn't get the hint. My fault tho, i should have just ignored him.

You should always have the earphones on prior to initial engagement (i.e. sitting down) and dont take them off until you get to the destination.

still not as bad as when you are in the middle seat on a trans Atlantic flight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Roquentin wrote: »
    You should always have the earphones on prior to initial engagement (i.e. sitting down) and dont take them off until you get to the destination.

still not as bad as when you are in the middle seat on a trans Atlantic flight
    Earphones AND Sunglasses. See nothing hear nothing:)

AND a white stick, and no matter what they ask, reply with something random, like "seven" or "Tuesday":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,036 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Ah I played a blinder yesterday. Saw not 1 but 2 lads I know who are literally worse than Father Purcell from Father Ted.

Saw the first guy in the queue as entered Burger King and quickly sat down without ordering with my back to him before he had the chance to talk to me. I was delighted i avoided him as his conversation is stellar (ah sarcasm!). Waited for him to leave and got my meal. Longest 5 mins of my life.

Then saw another guy at the back of the bes as I bordered. I darted up stairs. It just annoys me big time having to talk to someone while on a train or bus, usually always happens when Ive a new podcast to listen to or a new album Im dying to hear.

Not yesterday tho. Beakerjoe 1 Life 200263 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

An upward inflection at the end of sentences.

Frances Fitzgerald on the news drove me mad.

The Irish *people*
    Need to have *confidence*
    We need a new *culture*.

Are you asking me or f*cking telling me??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

The complete emptiness of substance in the utterance in Radio Ads......
    " 'Diddlysquat' Bank regulated by the financial services authority"
    Did that ever make a real difference. Fupping doss house authority if ever there was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Chillin Insurances new take on this classic

People who ring the door bell, then immediately start banging on the door. Flip off. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

My electric shower died this morning. I rang the plumber and he can't come round to install a new one until Monday or Tuesday. I can wash at the sink until then but I have really long hair and washing that in the sink is going to be a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

People who beg near atms,

people with a child who beg for money.
    WE have a social welfare system in this country.
    unless your a drug addict or an illegal immigrant there,s no reason to beg in ireland.
    People who talk in a kind of mid atlantic us accent ,
    even though they are irish born,
    some djs talk like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

riclad wrote: »
    People who beg near atms,

people with a child who beg for money.
    WE have a social welfare system in this country.
    unless your a drug addict or an illegal immigrant there,s no reason to beg in ireland.
    People who talk in a kind of mid atlantic us accent ,
    even though they are irish born,
    some djs talk like that.

Fully agree about the DJ voices! Completely unnecessary and extremely annoying! Chris Barry is up there with the worst his voice goes through my head! Sounds like he talks through his nose ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bronn

The posts about the ads reminded me of the Irish Rail one. The one where the announcer goes hoarse with all the "€9.99 train from Dublin to Cork" announcing she has to do.

1) Fcuk off. It only applies to a few trains every day so just... fcuk off.
    2) Never EVER in the history of station announcements with Iarnród Éireann has the announcement been clear enough to understand what was said. It usually like, "Squeeeeak feedback squeeeallll mumble LEAVES mumble mumble Platform 5 mumble welcome our martian overlords..... in five minutes.... MALLOW mumble LIMERICK JUNCTION. Thank you for your patience."

I like the train, especially the early ones to Cork where you can get a bit of work done and everyone knows "the code" (aka, STFU and don't even breathe too loudly) but that ad really pisses me right off.

It does remind me of an announcement I heard in Heuston once. The train to Limerick was a bit delayed and there was a bunch of tourists from Germany looking mightily peeved because it was 16:03 and the train should haft left at 16:00, ja? Anyway, the tannoy squeaked into life and the announcer said, very clearly, "Apologies for the delay. The Limerick train will depart from Platform 3 in <very long pause> well, any minute now." The look of "WTF?" on the German's faces was hilarious. I swear yer man did it on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

The shower curtains in hotels! just out of it now and by God, everytime I turned, here it was stuck to my arse! :) either the baths are getting smaller or me arse is getting bigger.(more than likely the latter.)

The shower in general! it wouldn't hold the temperature, no change setting thing on the head, so was hardly any pressure.
    I miss my own shower :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

People who cant queue properly in retail stores. Why is it that when for example in a store like TK-Maxx who have about 20 checkouts no1 being furthest away and 20 the nearest but only checkout 1-4 is manned people stay standing near till 20. What are these people fearing? being gazumped if they chance queuing closer to till 4 in case someone opens no. 20?. Ah go on love take a chance!.

deise08 wrote: »
    The shower curtains in hotels! just out of it now and by God, everytime I turned, here it was stuck to my arse! :) either the baths are getting smaller or me arse is getting bigger.(more than likely the latter.)

The shower in general! it wouldn't hold the temperature, no change setting thing on the head, so was hardly any pressure.
    I miss my own shower :(

Have you escaped from home though :D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

People who talk during a tv show or movie

Err meh gherd how can I have an opinion if I can't even hear the fecking thing cause you're talking over it asking my opinion

GAHHHHHH