Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice

• 09-01-2014 5:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,666 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all,need to give up the ciggies badly.
    Looking up all the stuff you can get but I'm getting a bit confused.
    Are cartomisers instead of buying liquid?
    Do I need to buy wicks? How many?
    What my best option starting off?
    There's also clearomisers, heaters,coils.
    I smoke 20 JP blues a day so I suppose I'm looking for something that resembles them(starting off anyway).
    Thanks for reading and I appreciate any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

I got a kanger twist starter kit from e smoke ireland two years ago and haven't smoked since. I stopped using it after about 5 months but I would never have stopped if I hadn't used it to wean me off. I also used the patches for the first month and read alan carrs book.
    With this yoke, you get your e liquid, pour it into the glass chamber, screw on the battery, press the button on the battery, which heats a coil in the glass chamber, vapourising the liquid and allowing you to smoke the contraption like a ciggy.

I've recently bought a TDM 850 on the strength of the money I've saved (if you need some inspiration :)

This is the one I got :
    You may think its a bit pricey coming in just below €60 but you'd be wrong :)
    http://www.e-smokeireland.eu/product-p/kangtwist.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,666 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Thank for the info Skill Magill.
    Checked out that Kanger and think I will go ahead with it.
    I'm trying to add it to shopping cart on that website but it won't leave me select Kanger type or battery size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Hoser

i went with this as my first purchase, alot cheaper than most shops or websites. had mine for about 3 weeks really happy with it

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/EVOD-KIT-INCLUDING-FREE-SPARE-COIL-CE4-ELECTRONIC-SHISHA-EGO-/111250755277?pt=UK_Collectables_Tobacciana_Smoking_LE&var=&hash=item19e70fcecd

have a read about evods they are preatty good to start with.

Hi Hoser, thanks for that.
    Pity I didn't see it before I ordered a Kanger.

Went on to The Best Shop and ordered the following,
    Upgraded Kanger starter kit,
    30ml Joyetech eLiquid- Flavour:
    Tobacco/TOB 16mg.

€61 delivered.
    Think that's all I need to get started,yeah?

Yep and It'll pay for itself in a week

do i need any spare parts for back up?
    btw, how's the TDM ?
    would u go for the 900 in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭richardw001

16mg is a little bit low - (for someone going from john player blue) - however I guess you can see how you get on. Lots of places stock eliquid now so you should be able to pick some up if you need something stronger

In terms of ordering from the main irish web shops - you can't really go wrong when your starting out - as they will give you advice etc.
    And if you get faulty kit you can usually get some support.

Best of luck with it !

16mg is a little bit low - (for someone going from john player blue) - however I guess you can see how you get on. Lots of places stock eliquid now so you should be able to pick some up if you need something stronger

In terms of ordering from the main irish web shops - you can't really go wrong when your starting out - as they will give you advice etc.
    And if you get faulty kit you can usually get some support.

Best of luck with it !
    Cheers Richard.
    Yeah, hadn't a clue about the mgs.
    Thought i had plenty in 16mgs.
    Trial and error i suppose:)

blade1 wrote: »
    do i need any spare parts for back up?
    btw, how's the TDM ?
    would u go for the 900 in the future?
    I didnt need any anyway, its cool lookin too

Love the power and upright position, I went in to work on the cb500 today and felt like a fat man on a childs bike ;)
    I'd consider the 900 because I believe they don't use any oil, unlike the 850 which I seem to be topping up all the time. Its a dry sump too which is a pain to check.
    Better than ciggies though :)

Cheers Richard.
    Yeah, hadn't a clue about the mgs.
    Thought i had plenty in 16mgs.
    Trial and error i suppose:)

Trial and error - that's what its about really - when I started vaping I was comming off 20 marlboro red a day - and I found anything under 18 mg useless to be honest - however everyones different - and if you find the 16mg does the job (or even lower) then you'd be better sticking to the lower levels if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭jack7

Intellicig.ie is a great website for electronic cigarettes.
    They are great products, liquid is eco pure. I am off cigarrettes for past year and a half now and find this great

jack7 wrote: »
    Intellicig.ie is a great website for electronic cigarettes.
    They are great products, liquid is eco pure. I am off cigarrettes for past year and a half now and find this great

i started on intellicig a couple of years back - and found them grand for a while - however very prone to leaking and I ended up back smoking.
    That was then - now ecigs have come on a lot in the meanwhile and from what I could see the last time I looked intellicig now have more advanced kit (rebranded standard ego stuff looks like).

The kit that blade1 has bought is as good or arguably better than the intelli pro series.

One thing that intellicig have going for them is the liquid on its own - which will work with blade1's kit as well - its quite pricey though relative to eliquid from other places.
    People have to make a decision themselves though what the are happy with in terms of eliquid - quality and traceability (or perceived at least) versus price really

Received my Kanger a few hours ago.
    Set it up,vaping away grand.
    There's a bit of Liquid coming through the tip though.
    Turned the tip downwards and it seems to drip.
    Is this normal or is it faulty?

I can't say my one ever dripped, but maybe it does when you hold it upside down. I'll try and dig my one out and see, I'll get back to you when I find it. I'd email e smoke if thats where you got it from and ask Paul, they were grand when I was dealing with them, he'll defo put you wide

I got it off the best shop.
    I think they are in Galway.
    There was two in the kit so I started using the other one and it seems ok so far.

What do you think? When I first used I thought it was a viable alternative to ciggies, and looking back I suppose it was

It's ok, haven't had a fag since I got it.
    That's over 4 hours ago(that's a record for me)

Definitely lacks something that you get off a real fag but I'm not craving yet anyway.
    Actually, I think I can feel my chest after sucking on the Kanger.
    Feels like I've smoked a load of fags.

If I didn't have the Kanger though,I'd say I'd definitely be after folding by now.

Got 2 different tobacco flavoured liquids, 16 mg & 24 mg.
    24mg not really to my liking( kinds tastes like smelly sweat or something)
    16 mg is nice but a bit too weak.
    Overall it's all good so far( except the leaky clearomiser)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Got 2 different tobacco flavoured liquids, 16 mg & 24 mg.
    24mg not really to my liking( kinds tastes like smelly sweat or something)
    16 mg is nice but a bit too weak.

Which tobaccos? The strength of nic doesn't make anything sweaty.

I presume you've taken the faulty one apart and rebuilt it?
    and your right its not the same, but its a viable alternative. Have you got Alan Carrs book, its available as an audio book too, I used to listen to a bit of it as I was going to sleep. Every little helps :D

grindle wrote: »
    Which tobaccos? The strength of nic doesn't make anything sweaty.

No they were two different flavours.
    I think the smelly one is called Storm.

I presume you've taken the faulty one apart and rebuilt it?
    and your right its not the same, but its a viable alternative. Have you got Alan Carrs book, its available as an audio book too, I used to listen to a bit of it as I was going to sleep. Every little helps :D

I don't know how to rebuild it yet.
    Not read the Alan Carr book(only recently realised it was not the comedian guy):pac:

I mean just unscrew everything, pour the liquid into something, clean it out and make sure when you're pouring the liquid back in, it runs down the inside of the glass and nowhere near the nozzle. Then screw it back together

Ah got ya!
    I'll try that tomorrow.
    Was pretty careful filling it though.
    What's the best way to clean it out?
    Is it ok to pour the liquid back into the the bottle it came in?

I cleaned mine out with vodka which is bullshít really, a good rinse in warm water does the same job.
    With regard to pouring it back in I'd say its ok as its still fresh, but if you leave it for a while I noticed that the liquid discolours a bit, I wouldn't pour that back in to the bottle.

Ok, thanks for all the advise.
    You've been a great help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

If it's leaking and you're only new to using it, I'd say you accidentally got some liquid down the nozzle/hole in your clearo. My customers are always doing it. :pac: sometimes it's a case of pouring in too much too quickly as you're filling it, so while some liquid drips down, some overflows and goes into the hole.

You can follow a previous poster's instructions for cleaning it out :)

When the liqid discolours, it's still fine to use. It's just from it being exposed to the air, afaik.

Keep up the good work staying off the smokes :)

If it's leaking and you're only new to using it, I'd say you accidentally got some liquid down the nozzle/hole in your clearo. My customers are always doing it. :pac: sometimes it's a case of pouring in too much too quickly as you're filling it, so while some liquid drips down, some overflows and goes into the hole.

When the liqid discolours, it's still fine to use. It's just from it being exposed to the air, afaik.

Cheers, I'll clean it and start from scratch again.

Ok, I've taken it apart and cleaned it.
    Refilled and definitely got no juice in the inner tube.
    Took 3 puffs,turned it upside down and it's still leaking.
    A half an mg leaked out in under a minute.
    I filmed it so ye can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Is it bubbling or gurgling when you use it? If it is, you've gotteb liquid in the nozzle.

If not, it sounds like a faulty clearo.

Is it bubbling or gurgling when you use it? If it is, you've gotteb liquid in the nozzle.

If not, it sounds like a faulty clearo.
    Must be faulty.
    It keeps dripping.
    Half the tank dripped out in the end.
    I think it would all leak out if I kept it upside down.
    I have ordered a new clearomizer.
    Changed the head(I think that's what it's called)and still the same.

Something wrong there alright, that doesn't happen on mine. The other one works ok though? Did you let the people in Bestshop know of your dilemma, they should send you out a replacement especially if you link the vid.

Ah I just ordered a new one.
    Yes I have 2 of everything so I'm ok.

Had a disaster this morning.
    Went to work at 5.30 this morning puffing away grand.
    At 7.30 took it out again and after 2 puffs nothing more would come out.
    Battery flat!

I charged it last night and used for about 2 hours.
    Thought I'd have enough to get me through work.
    Had a fag at 7.30 and another at 9.00.
    Cracking!!!
    But I haven't had 1 since then and I don't feel like having 1 either.

I unplugged the charger when it went green, I now know the first charge should be way longer!

Haha, trial by fire, its a learning curve alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

Ok, I've taken it apart and cleaned it.
    Refilled and definitely got no juice in the inner tube.
    Took 3 puffs,turned it upside down and it's still leaking.
    A half an mg leaked out in under a minute.
    I filmed it so ye can see.

I've bought and used a wide variety of clearomisers in the past. I've learn't a number of things from these experiences.

1) The best clearomisers in my opinion of ease of use and lack of hassle are the Kanger eVod and the Kanger Protank Mini.

2) Both of these clearomisers are basically the same thing they just look a little different. Both of them are called bottom coil clearomisers (or BCC for short) because the heating coil / head is at the bottom of the clearomiser. While screwing and unscrewing the clearomiser off and on the battery this bottom coil / head part can come loose. If it's a little loose then it's no longer making a tight seal and juice can start leaking under the head where the air comes in making a gurgling noise. Alternatively it can get into the centre tube and come out the mouth peice.

My advice to all people starting out would be to get either the Kanger eVod of Protank Mini and make sure the head is screwed in tightly every time before you screw it onto the battery and vape with it.

My other piece of advice to all people starting out is also buy a couple of 'cartomisers' specially the Boge Low Resistance cartomiser. Search on youtube how to properly fill and use a cartomiser. Make sure it's properly filled before you use it the first time or worst case you'll burn it, best case you'll get juice down the center airway which isn't too bad cus you can't just blow it out into a tissue. Cartomisers can be a lot less hassle then clearomisers so I really recommend newbies try out both cartomisers and clearomisers when starting out to see which suits you best.

If you're having issues with the gear you bought too always remember to contact your vendor. If they don't help you out there's plenty of great vendors who do which we can recommend to you if you need.

That's all. Good stuff taking up the vaping and best of success.

edit: p.s. another thing I always tell newbies is get spares of everything! chargers, batteries, juice, clearomisers, replacement heads, cartomisers. Then... get spares for those spares. If something craps out on you no bother, contact the vendor if you think it's still in warranty, meantime pull out a spare and carry on vaping. Getting caught out because of a faulty charger or something is just a newbie mistake. Don't let it happen to you again ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I echo your carto suggestion. Far less faffy, leaky, no burnt taste and they just chug along merrily compared to clearo's.

The only thing a new vaper needs to know about cartos is to soak them well before the first use. That's it. No turning upside down, checking wind direction, rags to wipe up leaks etc.

Add a tank when you get familiar with them. Some nice pyrex tanks available at IBTanked or cheaper ones at the Irish vendor sites.

Only costs about 1.50 per carto so no harm throwing one into the basket.

Maybe I'm just too old school though......

Thanks StickyIcky, some good advice there.
    I think the Kangers I have are the same system as the ones u mentioned.
    My second one started leaking Friday night.
    I filled it on Wednesday and didn't open since then.
    Then Friday to my horror it started leaking.
    First thing Saturday I drove 20 miles to the nearest shop and bought 2 Aspire clearomizers.
    So far so good.
    Still haven't had a fag but the pressure was on when the 2nd leaked.
    I am going to make sure from now on that I have a few spare clearomizers, just in case.
    I'll get those ones you mentioned and give them a go.

Looks like the the Gods are conspiring against you! Its still early days though, I'm impressed you drove 20 miles to sort it out though, I'll say that for you, you're not a quitter. :D
    (did you see what I did there? :D)

I echo your carto suggestion. Far less faffy, leaky, no burnt taste and they just chug along merrily compared to clearo's.

The only thing a new vaper needs to know about cartos is to soak them well before the first use. That's it. No turning upside down, checking wind direction, rags to wipe up leaks etc.

Add a tank when you get familiar with them. Some nice pyrex tanks available at IBTanked or cheaper ones at the Irish vendor sites.

Only costs about 1.50 per carto so no harm throwing one into the basket.

Maybe I'm just too old school though......
    I'll try the cartos aswell.
    Ill be well armed.
    Looks like the the Gods are conspiring against you! Its still early days though, I'm impressed you drove 20 miles to sort it out though, I'll say that for you, you're not a quitter. :D
    (did you see what I did there? :D)
    haha good one:pac:
    Feels like i can take in more air into my lungs already.
    The constant clearing my throat/chest is getting better aswell.
    No intension of ever smoking again so even if i have to drive 100 miles,i'll do it:)

Would someone mind giving me some info on voltage setting on my eGo-c?
    What's the difference between blue light and the yellowish one?
    As the hit can be inconsistant I'm not sure which is better or if there is much difference at all.

"Is your eGo just a 650 mAh or does it say eGo 650 mAh C Upgrade? The upgrade has two voltages...3.3 V and 4.1 V.
    Anyhow, if you have an "upgrade", hit the button 5 times rapidly and it'll blink either blue or yellow. Then hold the button down til it changes from either blue to yellow or yellow to blue. Then just hit the button 5 times rapidly again and you're set on the 'other' voltage. Blue is 3.3 Volts and yellow is the higher 4.1 Volts. "

robbed from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Blue light = regulated 3.3v output.

Yellow = unregulated. The battery starts at 4.2v and sags downwards until the battery needs a recharge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mr. Chrome

Would someone mind giving me some info on voltage setting on my eGo-c?
    What's the difference between blue light and the yellowish one?
    As the hit can be inconsistant I'm not sure which is better or if there is much difference at all.

Yellowish is unregulated 4.2v down to 3.6v, white light is regulated at 3.7v
    Blue is battery level, light blue at around 50%, dark blue at around 20%.
    Just stuck a meter on it...4.17v on yellow, 4.04v on white??

I would just get a Kanger EVOD Battery which are regulated at 3.7 volts and built really well. Or get a Kanger EVOD Twist battery which allows you to adjust the voltage from 3.2 volts up to 4.2 volts. This is known as "variable voltage" and it's pretty handy especially when you're starting off learning what power output you like.

Generally I just use a regular Kanger EVOD battery at 3.7volts and use a low resistance atomiser which increases the overall power output to my liking.

The combination of the voltage of the battery and the resistance of the atomiser is what makes the total power output. Total power output is know as wattage.

You can buy atomisers of varying resistance or you can even learn to coil the atomiser yourself to be at whatever resistance you like. This way you've control over the power output of even fixed voltage batteries.

Even better than "variable voltage" batteries in many peoples opinions are the "variable wattage" devices. Because no matter what atomiser you put on it, if it's low resistance or standard or high resistance the overall power output is the same. So when you change the atomiser you don't have to fiddle with a voltage level to adjust the total power output (wattage) as it stays the same :)

Thanks all!

Just thought i'd update,
    My 8th day and no fag.
    I can't believe I have got this far.
    I'm not struggling or anything.

When I feel like a having a fag,a few puffs on the e-cig and the urge has gone.
    Breathing a lot better now and feel better too.
    I'm never going smoking again!

Saved any money yet? I can see a new bike on the horizon, can you see it?

I'm down money so far:pac::pac:
    Testing different liquids an clearomizers an stuff.
    Ah starting off is the worst bit.

A new bike? Don't tempt me.
    I got a ZZR1400 three months ago.
    Sold a 05 blade and a 97 CBR1000F.
    I could be tempted easily enough though!
    I'm a sucker for a nice bike.
    I'll try and hold off until summer:pac:

Might have solved my leaking Kangers issue.
    I put an extra wick in and no leaking so far.
    Fingers crossed.

That's the fix for gurgling / flooding, add another wick.