Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turning a mule into a race horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Might be stating the obvious here but have you been to your GP to have it checked out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

How are you feeling? Any better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Can answer the two of you in one go !

I had been putting off going to the doc hoping things would clear up. Unfortunately they didn't really and actually got a bit worse. Was at the doc today. Basic gist of things is that if I wasn't running the marathon on Monday he would have sent me away for a few days as chances are its a viral infection. However because I am and there isn't time to play with he has put me on antibiotics in cases its a bacterial infection. He said himself it was a rock and hard place situation because a reaction to the antibiotics could be detrimental to the run in itself. Lungs were ok although throat is inflamed but good news there is that its not a chest infection in itself.

Doctors orders though is no running whatsoever until I feel 100% better or Monday whichever comes first and to be prepared for worst case to pull out if required or to look at a softer target. Plenty of fluids, paracetamol, early to bed, rest etc as you would expect. Interestingly he advocated taking the antibiotics on marathon day too. And also to be that hydrated that I might need a wee in the first mile. Don't want to be too hydrated though.

So that's the story - no running for me but I'm not ruled out of the main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Cool, but don't be Pageant Messiah come Monday if you are not 100%. :) Too much to lose.

Think of Mr.Slow's story although a shame he is not around here anymore!

Sh1ght luck alright but you still have a good few days to go. Hang on in there...
    Keep us posted.

blockic wrote: »
    Cool, but don't be Pageant Messiah come Monday if you are not 100%. :) Too much to lose.

Where did he go? Does he still run?
    Shame alright:(

:o If Pageant Messiah turns up on Monday I won't be logging it here !!!

Timely reminder of that story Blocky. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Ososlo wrote: »
    Where did he go? Does he still run?
    Shame alright:(

Yes, he now goes under the name MKDTH.

Hope you're ok for Monday PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

yaboya1 wrote: »

Jasis! Ya serious!

I think he's taking the p1ss outa his friend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

??? Are you sure - don't think it's the same person

Jasis! Ya serious!
    kit3 wrote: »
    ??? Are you sure - don't think it's the same person

I know both of them individually and they are definitely not the same person.
    It was a joke, but you have to admit the lead up to this marathon seems to be like deja vu from 2012. The similarities are uncanny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

It was a joke, but you have to admit the lead up to this marathon seems to be like deja vu from 2012. The similarities are uncanny!

Hope Mr Slow is doing ok - miss him around here.

Can answer the two of you in one go !

I had been putting off going to the doc hoping things would clear up. Unfortunately they didn't really and actually got a bit worse. Was at the doc today. Basic gist of things is that if I wasn't running the marathon on Monday he would have sent me away for a few days as chances are its a viral infection. However because I am and there isn't time to play with he has put me on antibiotics in cases its a bacterial infection. He said himself it was a rock and hard place situation because a reaction to the antibiotics could be detrimental to the run in itself. Lungs were ok although throat is inflamed but good news there is that its not a chest infection in itself.

Doctors orders though is no running whatsoever until I feel 100% better or Monday whichever comes first and to be prepared for worst case to pull out if required or to look at a softer target. Plenty of fluids, paracetamol, early to bed, rest etc as you would expect. Interestingly he advocated taking the antibiotics on marathon day too. And also to be that hydrated that I might need a wee in the first mile. Don't want to be too hydrated though.

So that's the story - no running for me but I'm not ruled out of the main event.

Same thing happened to me in 2012, except I think it was 10 days out. Same scenario, got the antibiotics "just in case". It made a huge difference and I was grand for the big day. I'd say you'll be good too but as everyone else says, make sure to listen to the body on the day. Hopefully you'll be standing on the start line feeling refreshed and healthy.

And by that you are talking about the lunatics pageant messiah and MKDTH ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Hope you feel better soon pacing mule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Hope your feeling good PM. Have a great race. Remember *it's your first* and enjoy it. Fingers crossed for you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck Monday PM, the hard work is done, go out & enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

How are you feeling PM still sick?

Darren 83 wrote: »
    How are you feeling PM still sick?

Not much improvement tbh but then again it's not any worse. I'm not on the critical list or anything - more of a below par thing. As long as it doesn't get any worse I will be ok to go all be it with a concern about stamina for later in the race.

Was with ecoli last night for a once over on the legs and good news there is they are good to go.

Going to hopefully do a handful of very easy miles tomorrow evening to give the legs a stretch out and remind the heart there is some work to do - don't want a cold start as such on Monday.

Looking forward to it at this stage. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Look after yourself, to much invested at this stage, hopefully you'll be recovered come Monday.

Hope you have a great experience on Monday PM. Very best of luck.

Best of luck on Monday PM.
    I thought I'd see you in person to wish you well later on, but it's not to be.
    Hopefully you're ok by Monday morning.

Best of luck on Monday PM.
    I thought I'd see you in person to wish you well later on, but it's not to be.
    Hopefully you're ok by Monday morning.

Am raging over that. Really wanted to get a sociable run in before it.

Best of luck yourself. Have you settled on a goal at all or just going to see what happens ?

Am raging over that. Really wanted to get a sociable run in before it.

Best of luck yourself. Have you settled on a goal at all or just going to see what happens ?

If I'm feeling in the condition to give the pb a go, I'll go for it. However I won't know that until during the race, as I've only been running easy miles since Berlin so have no idea if that's a realistic goal.
    Regardless, I'm going to be sensible, enjoy it and will refuse to be let myself be disappointed by the result no matter what that is.
    Looking forward to the post-race pints :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Best of luck. Hope your shift the bug. Fair play to you, you've really put the work in and deserve to run a good one. Fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MKDTH

Good luck on Monday dude, hopefully the drugs get to grips with it in the next 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭saucyjack

Happy miles and a fast finish on Monday PM. Your log's brilliant …look forward to the PM race report!

As yaboya1 may have tipped anyone reading off and as I mentioned on the novices thread, the easy miles tonight got binned. Felt a little worse this morning - Not catastrophic worse but enough to be worried that it was going the wrong way and a run tonight would be a gamble. At 9am this morning I would have pulled out of DCM completely if it was 48 hours later. Got home and into bed and I'm back to where I was yesterday - ie the gotten worse part is gone

So it's a couple of days drug taking, resting and shovelling in every other remedy I can think of or have been suggested and see how it goes for Monday.

Tbh am frustrated and pissed off with it now as I am starting to feel even if I do make it to the start I won't be putting in the performance I would have done. Hardly any running done in last 2 weeks. Dilemma now is do I succumb to a defeatist attitude and plan for a slower time or do I go for the power of positive thinking and plough on. I don't want a repeat of the walk / run I ended up doing in 2012 and going out too hard will surely repeat that. At this point though all bets are off and I have no idea how much or little as the case may be a dose like this will effect things 20 miles in.

Probably too early to make that call anyway. Might be wiser to decide all that on Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

As yaboya1 may have tipped anyone reading off and as I mentioned on the novices thread, the easy miles tonight got binned. Felt a little worse this morning - Not catastrophic worse but enough to be worried that it was going the wrong way and a run tonight would be a gamble. At 9am this morning I would have pulled out of DCM completely if it was 48 hours later. Got home and into bed and I'm back to where I was yesterday - ie the gotten worse part is gone

So it's a couple of days drug taking, resting and shovelling in every other remedy I can think of or have been suggested and see how it goes for Monday.

Tbh am frustrated and pissed off with it now as I am starting to feel even if I do make it to the start I won't be putting in the performance I would have done. Hardly any running done in last 2 weeks. Dilemma now is do I succumb to a defeatist attitude and plan for a slower time or do I go for the power of positive thinking and plough on. I don't want a repeat of the walk / run I ended up doing in 2012 and going out too hard will surely repeat that. At this point though all bets are off and I have no idea how much or little as the case may be a dose like this will effect things 20 miles in.

Probably too early to make that call anyway. Might be wiser to decide all that on Monday morning.

Physically, there's not much you can do over the next day and a half. Rest, Vitamin C, Echinechea etc. All the obvious stuff. But mentally, you have to get into a positive mindset by Monday morning, or the battle will be twice as hard. I went through a similar thing before Nationals this year. No illness thankfully, but had a nightmare race 3 days beforehand where my calves wouldn't play ball. I was on such a downer. If I couldn't get myself back up quickly then it was game over. Thankfully I did, and it all went well. The training is done at this stage, so get yourself right mentally, let your body fight the bug over the next day and a half, and then play with what you have got on Monday.

If you are not quite 100%, there's no shame in dropping the pace a bit for the first half or whatever, and pick things up before the end if feeling good. If not feeling good, then you would be justified at going at a slower pace anyway. It's always good to have a plan B, as this can be a frustrating sport at times. But I completely feel your frustration.

Best of luck.