Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies 10 round numbers - how many of these can you run in 2014?

• 06-01-2014 3:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭

New year, new thread and hopefully a few more people will add in their times this year. Similar to the men please give us a bit of detail about the races. so we don't just end up with a thread full of tables ;)

For anyone who wasn't on the thread last year just quote the most recent post, add your name and times, remove the quote tags and post.

Best of luck ladies :D

Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

career move||||| |||||
    b||| |||| |||
    c||| |||| |||
    d||| |||| |||

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

It's often said that on the men's thread the 3 most difficult target are the sub 60 10 mile; the sub 5 mile and the sub 60 400m.
    Which do you think is the most difficult on the women's table? I'd say the 10k of the longer distance races....however the sub 70 400m might also be very difficult?
    I'd imagine the sub 3 min 800m to be one of the easiest but only Claralara tried it out.....I am pretty sure that time trials are allowed (they are in the mens) so why don't a few people have a crack at that one this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

menoscemo wrote: »
    It's often said that on the men's thread the 3 most difficult target are the sub 60 10 mile; the sub 5 mile and the sub 60 400m.
    Which do you think is the most difficult on the women's table? I'd say the 10k of the longer distance races....however the sub 70 400m might also be very difficult?
    I'd imagine the sub 3 min 800m to be one of the easiest but only Claralara tried it out.....I am pretty sure that time trials are allowed (they are in the mens) so why don't a few people have a crack at that one this year?
    If you have a good aerobic base the HM is pretty achievable. The 5k takes a bit of work so the 10k is going to be difficult as well. Sub 70 400m sounds tough too and I think the 10m is pretty hard as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

If you have a good aerobic base the HM is pretty achievable. The 5k takes a bit of work so the 10k is going to be difficult as well. Sub 70 400m sounds tough too and I think the 10m is pretty hard as well

Is the 10k time right? It's the same pace as the 3k, which wouldn't seem right as you've to run more than three times further.

Yeah as I say the 10k is probably the hardest, but CL got it handy enough last year and a few of the others were pushing down to mid to low 19's for the 5k so I think it is a resonable enough target.
    The question probably is if the 3k is too easy but sub 11 or 11:30 just doesn't feel right as a 'round number'. Besides I think it is good to have 'stepping stone' targets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Yeah, the 5k and 10k are the same as on the men's list, everything else has been made easier so they are relatively harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

And the 5 mile time requires 7 minute pace while the 10k requires 6.25 pace! :confused:

pconn062 wrote: »
    And the 5 mile time requires 7 minute pace while the 10k requires 6.25 pace! :confused:

In the mens one the 10 mile requires 5:59 pace while the 5k requires 6:25 pace :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

In the mens one the 10 mile requires 5:59 pace while the 5k requires 6:25 pace :confused:

Yeah, but I didn't come up with the times for that one! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I'll watch you all from afar (very far) but delighted to see the ladies taking ownership of this :) Best of luck to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

They are not all supposed to be as difficult as the other, on either list. They're round numbers that a good club athlete would aim to/remember beating. You might beat one or two this year and build on that to beat some more next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

career move||||| |||||
    Marthastew||| |||33.07| |||
    c||| |||| |||
    d||| |||| |||

Raheny Shamrocks put on yet another great 5 miler today, I'm currently half way through the goody bag and possibly on my way to a diabetic coma;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

career move||||| |34:08||||
    c||| |||| |||
    d||| |||| |||

Not my best race but nice to get a start on the table anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Would be nice to see a few here actually attempt the 400m this year, rather than the target sitting on that table like a Christmas decoration. From last year's thread some of you seem to be defeating yourselves before even stepping on the track. It's a decent target but it's hardly earth shattering.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Would be nice to see a few here actually attempt the 400m this year, rather than the target sitting on that table like a Christmas decoration. From last year's thread some of you seem to be defeating yourselves before even stepping on the track. It's a decent target but it's hardly earth shattering.

+1. Since time trials are OK I offer to pace anyone who wants a go. I might not be good for the 400m but I can deffo pace anyone who wants to 200 in 35 and then step off the track at 300m if this is ok??

You're second 200m is always slower than the first. 35 will be no good. 33 first 200m is the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

HelenAnne||| |||| |||
    d||| |||| |||

really enjoyed Raheny 5 today and was 59 secs faster than last year.

My fingers are too big to accurately post in the table from a stupid iPad. Could anyone put me in? 33.52 for five miles

HelenAnne wrote: »

HelenAnne||| ||||33.52 |||
    d||| |||| |||

Nice 10k time helen anne ;)
    @ Chivito, OK, can manage that too. Offer is there for those who want to tick the box. I think the sub 70 400m is quite achievable for a lot on here; much easier than the sub 60 400m for men

Nice 10k time helen anne ;)
    @ Chivito, OK, can manage that too. Offer is there for those who want to tick the box. I think the sub 70 400m is quite achievable for a lot on here; much easier than the sub 60 400m for men

It is a terrible clumsy fingers mistake. Would any kind mod put it in for me for five miles instead?

nice to meet you today.

HelenAnne||| |||33:52| |||
    d||| |||| |||

ok i think?nice to meet you today btw

d||| |||| |||

ok i think?nice to meet you today btw

Thank you. That's perfect. Glad to be on the table by January!

yes, it was a brief meeting, but maybe see you again at another race :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

]Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

Marthastew||| |11.48||32.47||67.28||3.12.51
    d||| |||| |||

Meno informs me that time trials count for this so I've added my result from the club tonight. The 10 mile was in April in Raheny, Limerick marathon was another great day out for me and I got lucky again in Terenure last Sunday:D At the beginning of the year I had hoped to be ticking the sub 40 10K box at the WMM but the lack of any structure in my training means it's highly unlikely, I'll have to try and find a nice 10K later in the year. I'd definitely love to try some of the shorter distances, the graded meets would be an ideal opportunity if I weren't busy coaching kids ahead of the community games.
    Helenanne, time for you to add your nice new 5K PB to this:)
    Claralara, what about your 200? ;)

Marthastew wrote: »
    ]Name|400m<70 secs|800m<3min|1 mile<6 min|3k<12min|5k<20min|5mile<35min|10k<40m|10miles<70min|Half Marathon<100mins|Marathon<200min

d||| |||| |||

Meno informs me that time trials count for this so I've added my result from the club tonight. The 10 mile was in April in Raheny, Limerick marathon was another great day out for me and I got lucky again in Terenure last Sunday:D At the beginning of the year I had hoped to be ticking the sub 40 10K box at the WMM but the lack of any structure in my training means it's highly unlikely, I'll have to try and find a nice 10K later in the year. I'd definitely love to try some of the shorter distances, the graded meets would be an ideal opportunity if I weren't busy coaching kids ahead of the community games.

Sadly, still haven't broken 20! Was down to 20.19 last year, but then seemed to slow up during marathon training. 20.55 last week is my best so far this year. But I'll get there!

I must try the 400m. I know we were running low 30s for our 200m repeats last week, so maybe I could do one single 400 in under 70? Edited to add- must have been mistimed. Will try timing 200s again next week.

See you at the WMM!! Well done on all your times in the table so far.

Sadly, still haven't broken 20! Was down to 20.19 last year, but then seemed to slow up during marathon training. 20.55 last week is my best so far this year. But I'll get there!

I must try the 400m. I know we were running low 30s for our 200m repeats last week, so maybe I could do one single 400 in under 70?

See you at the WMM!! Well done on all your times in the table so far.

if you are running low 30s for a set of 200 reps then you really really shouldn't be running marathons.

If that's not slow, then I must have been mis-timed. The timing was a bit slapdash last week - our coach was running different sessions for two groups of us. We must have started running sooner than he thought or something. I wasn't wearing a watch and they were my first 200s ever, so I just presumed that was a slow time. I will try to get a more accurate time next time I go up as speed isn't my forte at all :) sorry for accidentally misleading people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Marthastew wrote: »

d||| |||| |||

Hahahaha!!! I still break my heart laughing every time I think of it! Imagine coming last 10 seconds behind the winner in a 200m race. :D:D For those who haven't heard, I was in lane 8 and by the time I was upright out of the blocks (which I'd been introduced to on the track less than 3 minutes earlier!) the girl in lane 1 was well ahead of me!! Hilars ;) I challenge anyone to take on my 36:xx second 200m time!

claralara wrote: »
    Hahahaha!!! I still break my heart laughing every time I think of it! Imagine coming last 10 seconds behind the winner in a 200m race. :D:D For those who haven't heard, I was in lane 8 and by the time I was upright out of the blocks (which I'd been introduced to on the track less than 3 minutes earlier!) the girl in lane 1 was well ahead of me!! Hilars ;) I challenge anyone to take on my 36:xx second 200m time!

I think 200m would take me 36 MINUTES if I had to use blocks! Watched two friends being introduced to them last week ... I thought I would probably be about as good at them as I am at popping up on a surfboard (ie not good at all) one of the new-to-the-blocks friends came 4th in the graded meets 400m tonight, though, so she obviously got the hang of them!

Why on earth was she using blocks in 400m?! :-/ :)

The real sprinters will get great craic out of this blonde conversation ;)

Why on earth was she using blocks in 400m?! :-/ :)

The real sprinters will get great craic out of this blonde conversation ;)

Do you not have to? I wasn't there tonight so maybe I am mistaken. I thought you had to for under 800m, but maybe it's under 400m? Anyway, she would not have just eccentrically used them if no one else was ... So if they didn't have to she didn't either :)

Ha ha. Yes blocks needed for 400. :)

Haha. It's embarrassing how track-tarded I am!! Better get me a decent marathon for that table this year to save face!!

Ah come on, put up your times. I know you aren't 'proud' of your marathon time but it was only a training run for your 50k and it qualifies you :)

Some of the lads pace marathons/halfs just so they can put up a time on their table!!

Ah come on, put up your times. I know you aren't 'proud' of your marathon time but it was only a training run for your 50k and it qualifies you :)

Some of the lads pace marathons/halfs just so they can put up a time on their table!!

Ha. I can't work the table on me phone.
    18:54 5k
    31:45 5 mile
    66:29 10 mile
    3:19 training marathon ;) went through marathon in 3:06/07 in the 50k though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

doco|||||19.36 |||69.18| |||

Hope I've done this right. I should hopefully hit the 5mile and half marathon targets over the next few months. The 10k and marathon times are well out of my reach for this year. As for the shorter races I can't see myself doing any track races too frightening:eek:

These tables and the very attainable targets seem to be year on year failing to capture the imagination of the female boards contingent. A real shame.

Marthastew||| |11.48||32.47||67.28|1:30:46|3.12.51
    claralara||| ||18:54|31.45|39:39|66.29|1:29:37|3:19
    doco|||||19.36 |||69.18| |||

Well done Doco!!
    Just adding CL's times above and herself and MS HM times from a month ago..

These tables and the very attainable targets seem to be year on year failing to capture the imagination of the female boards contingent. A real shame.

I agree, but there are really not that many females posting on the forum compared to males and very few who are capable of running those times. The ones that are capable are on the board and it would be great to see them targeting the shorter distances too.

Ososlo wrote: »
    I agree, but there are really not that many females posting on the forum compared to males and very few who are capable of running those times. The ones that are capable are on the board and it would be great to see them targeting the shorter distances too.

I honestly think most female posters (you included) are well capable of the 800m time. It is ridiculously soft compared to most times up there...

seriously? Would love to try it.

Definitely, the next easiest time is 35 minutes for 5 miles. That's 7 min/mile over 5 miles compared to 6 min/mile over half a mile.

Where could I try it (800m)? Even if I did come last I wouldn't care as it's only 3ish mins. My sister is kinda fast over short distances (she's not really a runner but we've sprinted a few times together and she left me for dust) and I'd love to see what she might be capable of on a track. She's in Tallaght so would there be something there we could try soon?
    I'd love to think I could do the 5 mile by the end of the year...beginning of next year.

Where could I try it (800m)? Even if I did come last I wouldn't care as it's only 3ish mins. My sister is kinda fast over short distances (she's not really a runner but we've sprinted a few times together and she left me for dust) and I'd love to see what she might be capable of on a track. She's in Tallaght so would there be something there we could try soon?
    I'd love to think I could do the 5 mile by the end of the year...beginning of next year.

Graded meets (see events thread) but they are only for club runners. Time trials are acceptable for the shorter distances AFAIK. Why not go up to santry for your next speed session?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭DOCO12

Go for it Osolo. Can we count a training session for the shorter stuff? :) I know our county track is on this weekend and the numbers that show up for these are very poor, as compared to road races where for a 5k last night nearly 700 showed up. People just have a fear of the track. You should see if there's any track meets coming up near you?
    I agree with the 5mile too very attainable.
    I need to put a half marathon in my diary, unfortunately I'm not around for Athlone this year, gutted cos love that race. Anyone know of any other nice , well organised HM? It's a pity about the national half. The course looks a shambles.

They've captured my imagination ... It's just my legs / lungs etc are failing to co operate.

Graded meets (see events thread) but they are only for club runners. Time trials are acceptable for the shorter distances AFAIK. Why not go up to santry for your next speed session?

yep good idea and I'll try to rope a few people in to pull each other along.
    Ok so that's my summer challenge:D
    thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

New year, new thread and hopefully a few more people will add in their times this year. Similar to the men please give us a bit of detail about the races. so we don't just end up with a thread full of tables ;)

For anyone who wasn't on the thread last year just quote the most recent post, add your name and times, remove the quote tags and post.

Best of luck ladies :D

career move||||| |||||
    b||| |||| |||
    c||| |||| |||
    d||| |||| |||

Hi K, will you be starting the 2015 table too? Am busy recruiting from the 2014 graduates...striking while the iron is hot ;-)

The ladies 10 round numbers is a consistent flop. I don't think I can recall anyone even attempting a 400m, in the 2-3 years this has been going now.

It's completely not my distance but I am targeting that in a TT once I get onto the track for some training in the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

The last time I attempted 400m (it was part of a "fun" BHAA relay a couple of years ago) my legs literally buckled from under me a few metres before the finish and I ended up throwing the baton at my poor team mate because my legs just didn't work any more. Naturally it was captured on camera and is probably still lurking around on You Tube :o I'm not in a hurry to do that again but would give it a go if there was a gang doing it.
    Needless to say I was off target by more than a few seconds!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    The last time I attempted 400m (it was part of a "fun" BHAA relay a couple of years ago) my legs literally buckled from under me a few metres before the finish and I ended up throwing the baton at my poor team mate because my legs just didn't work any more. Naturally it was captured on camera and is probably still lurking around on You Tube :o I'm not in a hurry to do that again but would give it a go if there was a gang doing it.
    Needless to say I was off target by more than a few seconds!
    That's a great idea, a Boards invitational 400m 10 round numbers race. You're on fire missus BG ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    That's a great idea, a Boards invitational 400m 10 round numbers race. You're on fire missus BG ;-)

:eek: Bags timekeeper!