Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else 'on the wagon' for new year (for a bit anyway)?

• 06-01-2014 2:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

Yep.

I'm on a no alcohol buzz for a while. Have easter eyed up, but Prob indulge a few over saint Patricks day.

Have a few bottles of Tyskie, and a bottle of Jim Beam, and a few bottles of red wine going to get evicted to the garden shed this evening.

Anyone else decided they'll give it up for a bit? I'm told that after a month dry I won't know myself.

What to do on a Friday / Sat night now though :confused: I'm considering getting out there and getting walking/jogging again.

I'll Prob update thread on Friday evening after work.........

Have you decided to kick the booze for a while in 2014? 209 votes

Yes, giving the liver a break, kick start a healthier me.
    0% 0 votes
    Nope. Can't get enough of it.
    56% 119 votes
    Don't drink anyway.
    22% 46 votes
    Pass me the bottle opener/Cork screw.
    21% 44 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

Ah here, I went 'on the wagon' - but that's because I thought it meant I got to be a right package of crips and act an especial kind of eejit? Didn't know it had aught to do with the booze like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

AerynSun wrote: »
    Ah here, I went 'on the wagon' - but that's because I thought it meant I got to be a right package of crips and act an especial kind of eejit? Didn't know it had aught to do with the booze like?

I'll take that as a "no" then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

I'll take that as a "no" then.

Ya smug bastard :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭brevity

Definitely need to cut down on the stress drinking, not healthy at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Your drinking seems more like a hobbie than a full time commitment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Try geocaching BS. Great fun and gets you out and about.

Better to do with someone else though... More fun!

There's a forum on boards and all dedicated to it. :) (Looks like it could do with some fresh meat too! )
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1573

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I'm always on the wagon for a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Yep.

I'm on a no alcohol buzz for a while. Have easter eyed up, but Prob indulge a few over saint Patricks day.

Have a few bottles of Tyskie, and a bottle of Jim Beam, and a few bottles of red wine going to get evicted to the garden shed this evening.

Anyone else decided they'll give it up for a bit? I'm told that after a month dry I won't know myself.

What to do on a Friday / Sat night now though :confused: I'm considering getting out there and getting walking/jogging again.

I'll Prob update thread on Friday evening after work.........

Don't go throwing perfectly good stuff out. Keep it there and test your self control.

I'm not one for fads so no not doing anything of the sort. I am however generally walking more, doing weights, eating less but better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Your drinking seems more like a hobbie than a full time commitment

Ah I dunno.

Wed evening. Usually a few cans and catch up with boardwalk empire/sopranos/movie (i call it hump day tipple)
    Fri evening. 6 bottles of beer usually.
    Sat, same as above
    Sun, usually something consumed to round up the weekend.

Basically, more nights with a beer/whisky than without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭sporina

ok - i have been thinking about doing this - was gonna do it for lent but i would like to do it sooner. i have had alcohol almost every night for the last 2 weeks - back to work tomorrow - am i gonna be in a complete hoop?

So, ok - I am gonna give up alcohol for about a month - starting tomorrow. Maybe we can use this thread as support or something? I know that I will be tempted to get a few beers in after work on Fri.

Thoughts please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Always a sly bang of Lent of all this January abstinence lark that just doubles my desire to crack open a beer and wave it threateningly at a holy picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ah I dunno.

Wed evening. Usually a few cans and catch up with boardwalk empire/sopranos/movie (i call it hump day tipple)
    Fri evening. 6 bottles of beer usually.
    Sat, same as above
    Sun, usually something consumed to round up the weekend.

Basically, more nights with a beer/whisky than without one.

Good man, Monday and Tuesday will come in its own good time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I don't drink normally ....... but when I do, I don't drink normally. Anyone for a liquid lunch then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I didn't drink a whole lot over Christmas so I don't feel the need for an annual liver rescue attempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

On a break myself for January and possibly beyond. Got to the stage just on New Years Eve where I was sick of drink and looking forward to the break. Have a social night or two in Jan to go to but it'll be a couple of glasses of wine methinks as beer and cider (my two staples in my drink diet) have not being kind to my waistline so are being kicked to touch. Feels strange having blood in my alcohol stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I didn't drink a whole lot over Christmas so I don't feel the need for an annual liver rescue attempt.

Same.

Have made a conscious effort over the past few months to cut my drinking levels down a fair bit. Will drink most weeks, but its a healthier, social type drinking, I feel.

Prefer doing it this way than taking the abstinence route which usually leads to another big session down the line and the inevitable return to heavy drinking.

At 23, its about time I left the college binge drinking days behind anyway. Having read a few threads on here before, really got me thinking about the repercussions it could have on my health, long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

It's not for the new year but I haven't had a drop of alcohol since October. I don't intend to stay off it forever but cutting back on it will definitely have benefits for both my health and finance. It's the longest I've gone without it since mid 2010 and it's been pretty easy so far.

I'm seriously considering it.

I went out the Friday after christmas into town [Dublin town] and had a great night, didn't get home til 4am but was able to drive and not spend a fortune.

Last night I went out and had a great night and drove home after.

I'm kind of starting to wonder why I'm bothering to drink at all. Although I would hate to actually give up beer and wine because I love it. So I might just keep them for a couple of quiet ones at home and not drink when I'm going out.

I've holidays next week though so I'll start after that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Yep started Jan 1st..
    lapsed Jan 4th.
    Started fresh Jan 5th.
    Lapsed Jan 5th!!

Started fresh this morning.. So far so good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I had thought about it, didn't drink that much over christmas (after the beers that is) and I only had well i can't remember what i had on new years. Then it was Friday and then suddenly its monday morning and all i have left of the weekend is a haze of gaming cans and southern comfort. I blame people fecking off back to Austrailia though.

Every year I think about giving it up again around Lent but thats when the 6 nations are. after that then you have all the footy, after that its the summer and festivals, after that its the end of summer parties then its the start of the footy/end of the GAA then its into Halloween and sure by that stage its into November and sure at that stage whats the point you might as well wait until the new year again.

Repeat every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Na, I only drink pint's nowadays, so I rarely have something to wake up with a red face about these days, it's the spirits and wine that kill ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I actually own a wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

January 2nd - Got on Wagon
    January 5th - Worst hangover of my life.

FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

How the hell would you sleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Yep started Jan 1st..
    lapsed Jan 4th.
    Started fresh Jan 5th.
    Lapsed Jan 5th!!

Started fresh this morning.. So far so good!!

I believe in you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Interesting, i'll give it a shot too for the LOL'SS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I got to Saturday night and looked at the bottle of wine in the fridge and just closed the door again. Had my fill of it at that stage. Almost 2 weeks of drinking every night.

I want to at least avoid alcohol for the month of January and see how I go. My problem is that I have gotten into the habit of sitting in on a Friday night with a bottle of wine, a movie and a tub of Pringles. I am living in the arse end of nowhere so there is nothing to do on a Friday night. Funnily enough I dont drink beer at home at all and I only go out every other Saturday (in Dublin) but even at that I need to knock the amount of beer I drink on a night out. It is usually 8-9 pints. Its not worth the manky feeling I get the next day and the fact I have to wait until almost the evening before I feel safe to drive back home from my parents

Its depressing enough being back at work, no drink to look forward to at the weekends (or during the week if the urge arises) would be just a step too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Larianne wrote: »
    Try geocaching BS. Great fun and gets you out and about.

Better to do with someone else though... More fun!

There's a forum on boards and all dedicated to it. :) (Looks like it could do with some fresh meat too! )
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1573

Can you give me a brief summarization what this is Larianne? Clicked on the link. None the wiser though. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I could not quit in january. It is a depressing enough month without the escapism found in a bottle of wine.
    But I have quit for the month of feb a few times . A nice short month so more achievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Its depressing enough being back at work, no drink to look forward to at the weekends (or during the week if the urge arises) would be just a step too far.

You do realise alcohol is a depressant:pac:?

I drank way to much over Christmas - night out from work on the 20th December and details are sketchy. Drank almost everyday over the Christmas period - by the time I got to New Years Eve, I was partied out.

I'm off it for January anyway, will see how I get on. Only 6 days in so far....

Suas11 wrote: »
    It's not for the new year but I haven't had a drop of alcohol since October. I don't intend to stay off it forever but cutting back on it will definitely have benefits for both my health and finance. It's the longest I've gone without it since mid 2010 and it's been pretty easy so far.

can you list some of the benefits you have had so far?

one thing i am looking forward to it more energy and feeling less ****ty in general..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Nothing wrong with giving it up for January but going full tilt at it for the remaining eleven months kind of undoes all the good intentions.

well the point for me is to just give my body a break and also i will probably learn something while being off it so no harm in it at all… it will be interesting - and refreshing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 gpat14

Fully agree, today was absolute torture going back, Saturday can't come quick enough. It's usually a thurs night for me (though can often end up doing both thurs and sat) but have a big event this sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

Yep, every January I give it up for the month. 7th year in a row. Nearly a week down.. The weekends are really difficult to be good though. It's worth it in the end though. I use January to do alot of training aswel and on top of the no booze ye can make a lot of gains in a month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Going on the wagon for a month at least to give my body a break as I've been drinking heavily since the 21st. Came to a head on New Year's Eve when I drank so much rum I blacked out. Woke up the next morning in bed with no knowledge of how I got there and with outgoing text to random people that I don't remember sending.
    Also, I'm on medication and it interacts quite badly with excessive alcohol consumption so I've decided to give it a break for a while.

madma wrote: »
    Yep, every January I give it up for the month. 7th year in a row. Nearly a week down.. The weekends are really difficult to be good though. It's worth it in the end though. I use January to do alot of training aswel and on top of the no booze ye can make a lot of gains in a month

Surely going out once a week doesn't affect training that much, just use your "hungover" day as your rest day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    You do realise alcohol is a depressant:pac:?
    I don't think it means what you think it means.

It's a Central Nervous System (CNS) depressant and causes a physiological response (breathing, heart rate, blood pressure, etc) which doesn't mean it causes clinical depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Till St Patrick's day.
    That's how sick of the drink I am.
    I shall report back in 10 weeks, not that I'm counting.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've always noticed your posts in drink related threads, you seem to have the same habits as I do.

I always make a deal with myself on the Sunday or Monday that I'll give it a go the coming weekend and stay off the booze. But sure by the end of the week it's torture to say no.

I don't drink at all during the week, but go a bit heavy handed on Saturdays. I've been telling myself sure it's only one day, but it's got to add up long term.

I was out last week in a nightclub in Dundalk not drinking. It was ridiculously crap. Shocking crap. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The only wagon I'm on is yer ould wan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I don't think it means what you think it means.

It's a Central Nervous System (CNS) depressant and causes a physiological response (breathing, heart rate, blood pressure, etc) which doesn't mean it causes clinical depression.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/daviddisalvo/2012/10/16/what-alcohol-really-does-to-your-brain/

http://www.fredonia.edu/athletics/health/davis/drug_book/chapter7.htm

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2013/02/130212075432.htm

McChubbin wrote: »
    Going on the wagon for a month at least to give my body a break as I've been drinking heavily since the 21st. Came to a head on New Year's Eve when I drank so much rum I blacked out. Woke up the next morning in bed with no knowledge of how I got there and with outgoing text to random people that I don't remember sending.
    Also, I'm on medication and it interacts quite badly with excessive alcohol consumption so I've decided to give it a break for a while.

Nights like that are never good:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'm on the wagon by cutting down, but not out completely.

I won't be going out on the piss but I won't be giving up a beer or wine with dinner.

I've always noticed your posts in drink related threads, you seem to have the same habits as I do.

I always make a deal with myself on the Sunday or Monday that I'll give it a go the coming weekend and stay off the booze. But sure by the end of the week it's torture to say no.

I don't drink at all during the week, but go a bit heavy handed on Saturdays. I've been telling myself sure it's only one day, but it's got to add up long term.

I was out last week in a nightclub in Dundalk not drinking. It was ridiculously crap. Shocking crap. Never again.

Well in fairness I don't do the whole "I'm going to stay off the drink next weekend". If there is going out to be done I'm on for it and that includes weeknights (Thursdays mostly). I do stay off it or only have a couple of pints some weekends when I've other things to do or nothing is going on but the whole going off the drink for a month etc like is being discussed in this thread doesn't interest me. There will always be some good nights out, some work event or match etc or simply just a few relaxing pints in the local that will be missed out on and I've given up nights out without drink long ago, I'd rather stay at home.

Nights like that are never good:eek:

Nope - they're not.

I had one recently where I went out for a few quiet pints in the afternoon - I only drank smithwicks - that stuff is really low in alcohol as beer goes - 3.8% like. Ended up going from nicely merry to completely and utterly ossified very quickly. By evening time I couldn't talk to people I had met and walked out of the pub and got a taxi home abruptly. I have almost no recollection of what led me to leave the pub so suddenly :/ I was very very unwell the next day. I have no desire to ever be that drunk again. It's not a good buzz.

Nope - they're not.

I had one recently where I went out for a few quiet pints in the afternoon - I only drank smithwicks - that stuff is really low in alcohol as beer goes - 3.8% like. Ended up going from nicely merry to completely and utterly ossified very quickly. By evening time I couldn't talk to people I had met and walked out of the pub and got a taxi home abruptly. I have almost no recollection of what led me to leave the pub so suddenly :/ I was very very unwell the next day. I have no desire to ever be that drunk again. It's not a good buzz.

It's mad how some drink's have that effect on you! I take it you stay away from Smithwicks now though:pac: I was on a day out one day, started off lovely, drank pints in a lovely seaside town, then had 1 brandy... im usually fine on pints, but the brandy turned me into a banshee, had so much apologizing to do the next day:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Silverbling

Day 2 of no wine and I am bored already, I will keep it up until my birthday..............next Wednesday, with maybe a pre birthday practice run on Saturday

Well in fairness I don't do the whole "I'm going to stay off the drink next weekend". If there is going out to be done I'm on for it and that includes weeknights (Thursdays mostly). I do stay off it or only have a couple of pints some weekends when I've other things to do or nothing is going on but the whole going off the drink for a month etc like is being discussed in this thread doesn't interest me. There will always be some good nights out, some work event or match etc or simply just a few relaxing pints in the local that will be missed out on and I've given up nights out without drink long ago, I'd rather stay at home.

Haven't gone out without drinking in about 4 years myself can't stand it, would rather stay at home like yourself.