Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The horror of it all

• 06-01-2014 1:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else on their first day back at work after the Christmas break.

I am.....and it's a bitter pill to swallow. I know there'll be plenty of folk on here who say, "I worked right through Christmas." But I'm so upset by being back on the 9-5 that I can't take you seriously right now.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Was back in last Thursday, and strangely getting out of bed this morning was harder than last Thursday.

First Monday back is pretty grim but you've still got holiday memories fresh in your mind.

Just wait for the stark reality of Tuesday, that one is gonna hit hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Shouldn't ye be glad that ye have beds to get out of and jobs to go to?

/runs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

How important can your job be to the world if you aren't back doing it until the 6th of January?

I've been back since the 27th and even i think i got off lightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

@ being back at work. Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sauve wrote: »
    /runs

And yee should be glad you've got fit legs to run on...

/stays put

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I only had christmas eve and christmas day off....

Whats the problem again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

What xmas, i was lucky to be off xmas and Stephens day. Worked right through until nye, done a 30hr shift from noon nyd till 6pm following day. You should be so lucky op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

How important can your job be to the world if you aren't back doing it until the 6th of January?

Thanks. That really cheered me up.

I took annual leave from my job (which is no more or no less important than most jobs to the world) so that I could be off until now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I was back last Thursday, although I was snowed in Thursday and Friday so I worked from home. It wasn't the same TBH.

Fairly knackered this morning. Had about four hours sleep because my new kitten likes to sleep on me, purr constantly, and kneed the blanket while sucking on in it.... ALL NIGHT.

If it wasn't so adorable I'd be annoyed. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

What makes it worse is that I woke up and thought it was Sunday and went back to sleep. Luckily a work colleague rang me to let me know what time they would be opening up!
    I want my bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

[-0-] wrote: »
    I was back last Thursday, although I was snowed in Thursday and Friday so I worked from home. It wasn't the same TBH.

Fairly knackered this morning. Had about four hours sleep because my new kitten likes to sleep on me, purr constantly, and kneed the blanket while sucking on in it.... ALL NIGHT.

That is the single best reason to miss a night's sleep.

Enjoy the new pet!

I wouldn't recommend you leave it sleep with you....get it a bed elsewhere in the house. Just my two cents.

thecatspjs wrote: »
    That is the single best reason to miss a night's sleep.

If there's anyone who'll know about cat's sleeping habits it's "thecatspjs".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

The politicians are still on holidays. At your expense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Not much of a life if going to work is miserable. Get a job ye like

Fair point. But I think it's that I would prefer to be at home Christmassing it up rather than here - not that I dislike my job per se.

There are very few jobs better than being on Christmas Holidays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Just tell her you are cold and kneed the blanket too. Tell her she kneeds to learn how to share. :(

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

tallus wrote: »
    Was back in last Thursday, and strangely getting out of bed this morning was harder than last Thursday.

That's cos it was nearly the weekend when you went back last week! However today the weekend seems like aaaaaaages away, it's a horrible week alright :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

First day back? I was off on 27,28th and new years day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Tonight will be my first full night off since Christmas Day. Twould be far worse you weren't able to go to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

*****High Fives OP ***

I Feel your pain man. I came back today from 3 weeks leave. I am not joking when I tell you I have pretty much forgot alot including the product range...thats how much I forgot about the place while away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

It gets easier going back as you get older.

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    It gets easier going back as you get older.

Really? How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Was back last Thurday. The horror of opening Outlook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

In fairness it's only the elite few with the big salaries that are back today. Only the poor plebs with bosses lashing them with big whips that go back on the 27th!

Specialun wrote: »
    *****High Fives OP ***

I Feel your pain man. I came back today from 3 weeks leave. I am not joking when I tell you I have pretty much forgot alot including the product range...thats how much I forgot about the place while away

*****Returns high-five. Hugs Specialun. Starts to quietly weep for 15 minutes. Tells everyone it'll all be OK. 2014 is going to be great.***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Really? How so?

I have a shítty job by the way in case you think it's anything to go running back to. I'm near to 40, just found last year and this year to be doable after a two week break. I didn't have the fear last night and slept quite soundly. I think it's good to psyche yourself up for the inevitable return.

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    I have a shítty job by the way in case you think it's anything to go running back to. I'm near to 40, just found last year and this year to be doable after a two week break. I didn't have the fear last night and slept quite soundly. I think it's good to psyche yourself up for the inevitable return.

I don't think it matters what type of job you have, just the pressure you feel doing/associated with it. Maturity helps to put things in perspective I guess. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

"I've seen horrors... horrors that you've seen. But you have no right to call me a murderer. You have a right to kill me. You have a right to do that... but you have no right to judge me. It's impossible for words to describe what is necessary to those who do not know what horror means. Horror... Horror has a face... and you must make a friend of horror. Horror and moral terror are your friends. If they are not, then they are enemies to be feared. They are truly enemies!"
    -Col. Kurtz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I think the trick is to have something to look forward to, like a nice restaurant booked for the end of the month or a hike planned or a poker night or something.

Mine is much lamer, I have booked my driver theory test for the end of January and am looking forward to it quite a bit! Stops me looking back at the festive period and keeps me feeling positive about January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Have been off 2 weeks.
    Took me a few hours to remember what it is I'm supposed to do here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Back today after 2 weeks & 2 days. I lay awake most of last night as my body clock was all wrong. It's actually not too bad to be back but I'm feeling a bit drowsy since lunch. Will sleep like a baby tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I never get the Monday morning blues but I really hate Tuesdays and alwyas get the dreeeds when I wake on a Tuesday morning....Anyone else get the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Im in the middle of 8 days of shift work without a day off. Shut your piehole op!

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Just head into the jacks on company time and pull the flute off yourself for 15 minutes. Ease yourself back in. Nothing worse than heading back to work after Christmas with a big keen head on you. Your colleagues don't want that.

First day back since the 19th of December. Painful is an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm back to work so long I had a look at Callander today to see how long it was till end of month .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

Trust me, the horror of not having a job is twenty times worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Sandypants

Back since the 2nd.... longest i've had off in years....Thankfully i no longer work in retail!! feel sorry for those that do, christmas just passes you by & you hardly get to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Just back in work today. 8am tube was painful, but was grand once I got to work. Back to normality after 2 weeks of overdrinking, overeating and overspending back home!

Took the "something to look forward to" approach too, heading to Gloucester for the Munster match this weekend. Should be fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I had a pretty shíte Christmas tbh, my grandmother died on St Stephen's night and I've had a horrible chest/throat/ear infection that pretty much lasted for all of the break. In a way it makes going back to normality easier, leaving all that back in 2013... We have a voucher for a fancy hotel which we'll probably use soon, and hopefully have some recordings and gigs to look forward to too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It's the plebs who've been back since the December that I feel sorry for.

blacklilly wrote: »
    I never get the Monday morning blues but I really hate Tuesdays and alwyas get the dreeeds when I wake on a Tuesday morning....Anyone else get the same?

Not usually but it's 10.15pm here and for the first time in months, the thought of work tomorrow is makin me feel a bit sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

You're miserable going back to work because you don't enjoy your job. You're just doing it to stay alive, and not living on the streets, and so that you can afford occasional luxuries to distract you temporarily from the pain of your existence.

Don't forget to get married and have kids!

Not usually but it's 10.15pm here and for the first time in months, the thought of work tomorrow is makin me feel a bit sick.

It's already making me feel sick and I still have 2 hours of Monday work to go:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

whirlpool wrote: »
    You're miserable going back to work because you don't enjoy your job. You're just doing it to stay alive, and not living on the streets, and so that you can afford occasional luxuries to distract you temporarily from the pain of your existence.

Don't forget to get married and have kids!

19 year old college students really have it all figured out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I skipped into work today. Delighted to be back so I am.

It's all sunshine and lollipops in here so it is.

Sunshine and lollipops.

Sunpops and lollishine.

Sunplops and ollishine.

Sunpollops and ishine.

Sunprollops andishine.

Sunipopshinelollybop.

Sunkenprolapsedheiney.

Work will set you free.

Please help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Whats the point in a job you dont enjoy ?
    A good deal of our lives are spent working. It has to be about more than a paycheck surely

Whats the point in a job you dont enjoy ?
    A good deal of our lives are spent working. It has to be about more than a paycheck surely

There are very few people who love their jobs and I envy the few that do. My job is fine, sometimes interesting, sometimes dull, sometimes annoying, do I love it?....No.