Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013 - 2014 Playoffs: Divisional Weekend Games

• 06-01-2014 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭

6syzZ8.jpg

* * * * * Saturday 11th of January * * * * *

6d7kGd.gifNFC Wildcard Game: Saints @ Seahawks @9:35pm (Sky Sports)

5tMAAK.gifAFC Wildcard Game: Colts @ Patriots @1:15am (Sky Sports)

* * * * *Sunday 12th January * * * * *

6d7kGd.gifNFC Wildcard Game: 49er’s@ Panthers @6:05pm (Sky Sports)

5tMAAK.gifNFC Wildcard Game: Chargers @ Broncos @9:40pm (Sky Sports)

Select your 4 divisional game winners 455 votes

Saints
    0%
    Seahawks
    5%
    kmart6cruiserweight[Deleted User]ButtrosWarpersugarmanSK1979BaronVontijuanaboozerSyferusgolfball37delaadradharcOffsidebonaparte2Moist BreadPudsy33ItssoeasyPhoenix ParkGuffy 24 votes
    Colts
    25%
    BigConbrianonPherekydesRaphaelJazzyJInquituspadraig_fTristram[Deleted User]Leslie91ArmaniJeanssBluredFuzzy_DunlopUnitedIrishmanadrian522cunninstuntdragon12davyjosepoldebruinJAMM222 116 votes
    Patriots
    9%
    kmart6Inquitus[Deleted User]BluredFuzzy_Dunlopadrian522davyjosespiritcrusherFoxtrolWarperHomerSRushdenpolaris68That_GuycurraghyidtaidghbabyJustin10SyferusMorrisseeee[Deleted User] 41 votes
    49er's
    20%
    BigConbrianonPherekydesRaphaelcruiserweight[Deleted User]padraig_fTristramLeslie91ArmaniJeanssUnitedIrishmancunninstuntdragon12poldebruinRed CrowP_1ButtroskryogensugarmanSK1979 95 votes
    Panthers
    20%
    BigConPherekydeskmart6RaphaelJazzyJcruiserweight[Deleted User]Inquituspadraig_fTristramFuzzy_DunlopUnitedIrishmanadrian522cunninstuntdragon12poldebruinspiritcrusherRed CrowButtrosFoxtrol 91 votes
    Chargers
    10%
    brianon[Deleted User]Leslie91ArmaniJeanssBlureddavyjoseP_1matthew8NewApproachGonzovisionThat_Guyeagle eyeMr. GuappataidghbabySyferus[Deleted User]bruschiantogz1979krustydoylePokeHerKing 49 votes
    Broncos
    8%
    cruiserweightInquitusLeslie91spiritcrusherWarpersetanta74HomerSeagle eyecurraghyidMr. GuappataidghbabyBaronVontijuanaboozerJustin10HigginsJgolfball37Shane.Cmenu14D2DSon Of A Vidic 39 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Broncos
    Seahawks
    Patriots
    49ers
    Chargers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Broncos
    These posters have a perfect record from last week:

adrian522
    Raf32
    OAOB
    Golfball37
    getoffmytrain

Well done all, see can you keep it going :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Panthers
    Pats
    Seahawks
    49ers
    Broncos

I wouldn't be shocked to see any of these teams win though. Indy have a good chance but I never back against the Pats in Foxboro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Broncos
    mikemac1 wrote: »

adrian522
    Raf32
    OAOB
    Golfball37
    getoffmytrain

Fair play to them, I was happy enough with my 50-50 result because calling these games is always a tough one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Broncos
    Seahawks
    Patriots
    49ers
    Chargers

Broncos
    Just confirming my poll selections...

Seahawks
    Patriots
    Panthers
    Chargers

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Panthers
    mikemac1 wrote: »

adrian522
    Raf32
    OAOB
    Golfball37
    getoffmytrain

In fairness I predicted both the Chargers and the Bengals on different threads. That's the key to a perfect record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Chargers
    Seahawks, Patriots, Panthers and Broncos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

Broncos
    Saints, Patriots, Panthers, Chargers. Since I think I'm the only Saints fan in the forum, I had to go with my team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Broncos
    Colts, Saints, 49's and Chargers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Broncos
    Seahawks
    Patriots
    49ers
    Chargers

Although I didn't post it here, I managed to get all last weeks predictions wrong! Since last year I've given up betting on the postseason as I can never get it right.
    Hopefully at least one of them is right this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Chargers
    Patriots Seahawks Panthers and Broncos for me. Surprised to see the Chargers getting that much support in the poll. I recommend people head down to the bookies if they genuinely feel that way (or at least the back the 9.5 handicap). Panthers the only mild upset I go for, don't rate either team's offense but the defense is quality. More confidence in Cam and riverboat ron to pull it out at the end.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Panthers
    Putin wrote: »
    Saints, Patriots, Panthers, Chargers. Since I think I'm the only Saints fan in the forum, I had to go with my team.

I'll be a saints fan for next Saturday if that helps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

Panthers
    No upsets for me...Seahawks, Patriots, 49ers, Broncos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Panthers
    Really want to be wrong but dont think Colts will have enough for the Pats.

Panthers
    Seahawks
    Niners (my pick to win it out)
    Broncos
    Pats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Broncos
    Wow so much Bolts love on here!!, amazing....

I'm gonna go with the below;

Pats (if only to get another go at them)
    Chargers
    Seahawks
    Panthers

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Broncos
    How is San Fran beating Carolina not an upset? Carolina has the better record and has beaten the 49ers already this season. I know prior meetings mean nothing but the matchup is pretty even in my opinion. A pickem game if ever there was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Panthers
    Seahawks (as possibly the only fan in Ireland!)
    Patriots
    49ers
    Broncos (tempted by the form of theChargers but this week they'll be meeting a QB from a different species than last week)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Chargers
    Patriots
    49ers
    Broncos (tempted by the form of theChargers but this week they'll be meeting a QB from a different species than last week)

Unless you post on another forum under the name Sandymount Red, I know another Hawks fan:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

Chargers

There is a few Seahawks fans in here as well. I know more than a few so you don't need to feel alone :D

Seahawks thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057030432

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Chargers
    How is San Fran beating Carolina not an upset? Carolina has the better record and has beaten the 49ers already this season. I know prior meetings mean nothing but the matchup is pretty even in my opinion. A pickem game if ever there was one.

Because SF are the bookie's favourites.

Panthers

The betting opened as a pick em but they got a lot of cash for the 49ers, so San Francisco are now 2 to 2.5 point favorites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Panthers
    TO. wrote: »
    There is a few Seahawks fans in here as well. I know more than a few so you don't need to feel alone :D

Seahawks thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057030432

Wow, whole thread. I feel like Leila in Futurama when she met her family... :D

Broncos
    adrian522 wrote: »
    I'll be a saints fan for next Saturday if that helps?

Me too, my heart says Saints but my brain said Seahawks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Chargers
    Colts
    Seahawks
    Panthers
    Broncos

Chargers
    Raf32 wrote: »
    Really want to be wrong but dont think Colts will have enough for the Pats.

On Offense or D?

I said the same as you before the Broncos game.

Panthers
    davyjose wrote: »
    On Offense or D?

I said the same as you before the Broncos game.

On the offence actually, if they cover hilton we would be in trouble but the only good thing is they have no speedster corner, feeling more confident than this morning but think they will edge us.

Panthers
    Deion Branch just signed for the colts, things just got interesting

Panthers
    Toler got on injured reserve however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I've actually noticed something since last night and it's that the Chargers are being very widely touted as an upset pick by many many people. Lot of journalists talking about the possibility and on Total Access they were going on about how Denver would be able to handle SD as if they were underdogs in the matchup. All of the Chargers forums full of people proclaiming that they're definitely going to win and the narrative in general is that SD will take us.

Going back to last year, on the other hand and everyone and their dog backed us against the Ravens and we were only a month off easily handling them in Baltimore so we were overconfident. People thought Baltimore were a nice story but it was the end of the line a year ago, would not have said they were the touted upset pick by any means at least.

I'm generally negative as **** and am naturally very worried about this game but the angle is very different this time, unlike last year where we cruised it over Baltimore in December and underestimated them, San Diego beat us a month ago so we know what they can do...on top of that we hit the first round bye on top form and arguably were cold off the bye week whereas this time you'd be hard pressed to say we were in top form by the end of the season. You'd have to wonder will all this talk of them being the touted upset pick this week light a fire under Manning and the lads? The gauntlet seems to have been thrown down and people think them as frauds. Wonder how they'll answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭osl

Panthers
    Chargers are still the biggest underdogs next weekend though. Vegas doesn't do sentiment. Chargers have the rocky underdog story that people will naturally gravitate towards. Broncos have had an historic season and I expect them to win. Would be delighted if I'm wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

Broncos
    osl wrote: »
    Chargers are still the biggest underdogs next weekend though. Vegas doesn't do sentiment. Chargers have the rocky underdog story that people will naturally gravitate towards. Broncos have had an historic season and I expect them to win. Would be delighted if I'm wrong though

I took the Chargers @ 70/1 after they beat the Colts in week 6 to go 3-3.

I taught all along they could cause a big upset(and then they lost to Washington & Miami, as well as Denver). They were blessed to make the playoffs the way they did, but 6 wins out of 7, beating Kansas twice, Denver & Cincy, the only team to beat them in that run.

Maybe it is the $5 I have on them that is doing the talking, but I think they beat Denver the weekend.

New Orleans were my pick to win it out before the season started, but they are just not looking good enough to beat Seattle.

As a Jets fan, I can't decide whether I would like to see the Pats lose in the Super Bowl or else see the Colts put up even more points than they did last week. Either way I think the Colts just squeeze past.

Last game is the hardest to call. Both teams in form. Think 49ers will just do it.

Broncos
    spiralism wrote: »
    I'm generally negative as **** and am naturally very worried about this game

Jaysus, that's totally out of character...........:pac::D.

Chargers
    Jaysus, that's totally out of character...........:pac::D.

He's too hard on himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Is channel 4 or Eurosport not showing the playoff games

Broncos
    cena wrote: »
    Is channel 4 or Eurosport not showing the playoff games

Nope, only Sky Sports show them live. Channel 4 have a highlights show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Broncos
    I went Colts, chargers, Seahawks and Panthers!
    If Butler can take Amendola out of the game like he did to Welker (until he got injured) then I think we have a great chance! I think the Chargets eat up the clock and frustrate the hell out of Denver to take the win! Seahawks are just too good for the saints IMO all over! Panthers was a tough choice but I think they can stop the 49ers run game!!

Should be a great weekend!

Broncos
    taidghbaby wrote: »
    If Butler can take Amendola out of the game like he did to Welker (until he got injured) then I think we have a great chance!

I'll settle for that, because while Butler is doing that job. Edelman will be probably keeping up his Welker like production like he has all season.:D

Panthers
    I'll take

Seattle
    Denver
    Indianapolis
    San Francisco

I really hope the Saints win, and think they will be a lot more competitive than last time, but to win the defense will need to play lights out and Brees will need to be close to perfect which he has not been for some time.

I think Denver will be too strong for San Diego. I'm going for an upset in Foxboro, no real logic but Colts should be high on confidence after last week and Patriots are missing Gronkowski etc.

Obviosuly taking San Francisco to get the win. Defensive slugfest again most likely. Could go either way. It was 10-9 last time but I think it will be a bit more high scoring this time. Steve Smith should be back for Carolina, it should come down to who makes least mistakes.

Looking forward to it. I think divisional weekend is the best sports weekend of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Broncos
    I'll settle for that, because while Butler is doing that job. Edelman will be probably keeping up his Welker like production like he has all season.:D

Haha touché

Chargers

Its your running game that worries me. All things being equal I think we can deal with your receivers. But if yourr ground game gets going we could ship 30 points and see very little clock.
    I think if our D plays its best, or near it, and we don't have another crazy turnover day (we've has one all season - last week) then we will win.

Broncos
    davyjose wrote: »
    Its your running game that worries me. All things being equal I think we can deal with your receivers. But if yourr ground game gets going we could ship 30 points and see very little clock.
    I think if our D plays its best, or near it, and we don't have another crazy turnover day (we've has one all season - last week) then we will win.

Blount has been transformed since coming to the Pats and he and Ridley have formed a strong tandem. Apart from Edelman and maybe Collie, our entire WR is totally gimped and nowhere at 100%. So I think you are right about the run game being key alright. If we run the way we did against the Bills in last game, then it could be a good day for us. However the Bills have the 28th ranked run defense in the league, so a pinch of salt should be added to that result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

Panthers
    Going with

Saints
    Pats
    Broncos
    49ers

Saints as my one upset. I just think that they probably have the best defence for an Offensive team, if you get my meaning (they can make the odd stop etc when they need to, plus they can generate turnovers, neither of which the Packers could do for example). The Seahawks have been stuttering a little bit lately and think they'll need a massive game from Beast in order to win it as they'll need to really dominate time of possession. Brees is too good to be given a lead or plenty of time.

The other games I see going pretty much as expected, although as a Pats fan, I'd be most concerned about them winning. Think it will really depend on turnovers. Its hard to see Luck throwing as many Ints as last week though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,447 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Broncos
    I am going Seahawks, Patriots, Panthers and Chargers for the upset.

Personally I believe the first three home teams will win, the Chargers have already beaten the Broncos this season at mile high and I think they will be better in the playoffs while the Broncos are likely to be worse just like last year. If you remember they came into last season's playoffs with a much vaunted defense which fell apart against the Ravens. It always seems like Peyton is below his best in the playoffs as well but I suppose meeting better teams will make it look like that anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

spiralism wrote: »
    The gauntlet seems to have been thrown down and people think them as frauds. Wonder how they'll answer.

Frauds is a bit much, they've lost 3 games all year, to playoff teams no less.
    I think anybody calling them frauds is a bit over the top.
    Looking forward to another great weekend of football anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

Panthers
    dub_skav wrote: »
    Frauds is a bit much, they've lost 3 games all year, to playoff teams no less.
    I think anybody calling them frauds is a bit over the top.
    Looking forward to another great weekend of football anyway

He's just projecting his thoughts on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

He's just projecting his thoughts on others.

Fraud is a bit harsh but if they go one and done it's what they are. Dunno what to make of this game coming up though, was more nervous last year for one reason or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

49ers
    Seattle
    Pats
    Broncos

with the Broncos having the most comfortable win.

In all games the ground game and control of the trenches will be the key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Panthers
    Here's looking at you Saints and Chargers:
    In each of the last six postseasons, an underdog of more than a touchdown has won outright in the divisional-playoff round, according to Marc Lawrence point spread data.