Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matt Cooper on holidays in North Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Not a personal visit at all. I know a lad who was hired to go with him to edit a programme he is filming over there.

Matt Cooper is the new Triple X

Diesel

Cube

Cooper

Seriously, he is going to save the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

jonny666 wrote: »
    WTF would be bringing him over to that place. Its a strange one :pac:

Its (arguably) the most unique country in the world from a cultural perspective, and perhaps he would find that interesting. Personally, I think it would be an absolutely fascinating place to spend a few days.

A few years, not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Seems he is over there with Dennis Rodman and Today FM were keen to stress that it is a personal visit. WTF would be bringing him over to that place. ]

They said he was going there in an independent capacity and not on assignment from the them. Thats not the same as saying he's going on holiday. He could be working for or with someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Seems he is over there with Dennis Rodman and Today FM were keen to stress that it is a personal visit. WTF would be bringing him over to that place. Its a strange one :pac:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/todayfms-matt-cooper-travels-to-north-korea-with-dennis-rodman-29891467.html

He's not "on holidays" and Today FM did not say it was a personal visit, they said he was travelling in an independent capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Well they could hardly say that he is there for work given the North Koreans adversity to journalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The guided tour version no doubt.Still the more that go the more we find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id love to visit the place for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Its (arguably) the most unique country in the world from a cultural perspective, and perhaps he would find that interesting. Personally, I think it would be an absolutely fascinating place to spend a few days.

Likewise, I would love to spend a week.

I have heard stories of the arranged visits for tourists, to say they are staged would be an understatement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Maybe he likes to eat Dogs?

he is from cork after all ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Seems like such an interesting place. I just finished reading Dark Tourist by Dom Joly and his visit there was so bizarre. Sometimes I think I'd like to go there but I don't know if I could handle the utter secrecy and the fact that I'd only be seeing what they wanted me to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Aren't Paddy Power funding it as part of some basketball game? Chubby Kim can't be expected to make all his money from his prison slave labour. He might be able to take in a state execution while he's over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Holidays was a joke :D

Even if its not a personal visit what type of work could he be doing over there?

Agreed that it would be a fascinating place to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I wouldn't be able to seperate the experience from the fact that I was giving hard currency to a despicable regime, I just think there's something distasteful about touring about Potemkin train stations and mad monuments to batty dictators for a laugh, especially knowing that the joke is on the people of N. Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Maybe he's 'ronery'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

A different language, strange people and like to eat dogs, alot like his native Cork really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Pretty much this, it's one of those places that would be absolutely fascinating to go to as an experience. I'd be a bit nervous though, incase I'd get disappeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭tallaghtfornia

Links234 wrote: »
    Pretty much this, it's one of those places that would be absolutely fascinating to go to as an experience. I'd be a bit nervous though, incase I'd get disappeared.

@ Links 234 I was thinking the same - Ive been to South Korea and visited the DMZ its a scary place - when I was there it gave me the 'itch' to see what was on the other side.

Going to see this place before im 40 - life's too short :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Cantstandsya

humbert wrote: »
    Aren't Paddy Power funding it as part of some basketball game? Chubby Kim can't be expected to make all his money from his prison slave labour. He might be able to take in a state execution while he's over there.

Paddy Power are indeed financing it all so perhaps he is over there on their dime?

While I don't think that Paddy Power owe anyone any sort of high minded consideration, and I realise that they are known for courting controversy in order to get attention, I think making light of the situation in North Korea in order to make yourself appear "cool" is a bit much. What goes on there is no joke and only a moron would find it amusing (but I guess that's the target demographic).

I expect some sort of Paddy Power ad or some such will come out of all this in the future.

conorhal wrote: »
    I wouldn't be able to seperate the experience from the fact that I was giving hard currency to a despicable regime, I just think there's something distasteful about touring about Potemkin train stations and mad monuments to batty dictators for a laugh, especially knowing that the joke is on the people of N. Korea.

Fair point, but weigh that against the fact that the more they let tourists in, the more they have to liberalise...The regime cant have its cake and eat it.

There was a massive famine in that country in the 1990s and I can say personally I didnt know a thing about it at the time, and I doubt it ever featured on any RTE news programmes.

Its good to see the country opening up a little, and an increase in tourism would be part of that.

I dont think you go there for a laugh, but I understand what you're saying.

Paddy Power are indeed financing it all so perhaps he is over there on their dime?

While I don't think that Paddy Power owe anyone any sort of high minded consideration, and I realise that they are known for courting controversy in order to get attention, I think making light of the situation in North Korea in order to make yourself appear "cool" is a bit much. What goes on there is no joke and only a moron would find it amusing (but I guess that's the target demographic).

I expect some sort of Paddy Power ad or some such will come out of all this in the future.

I'd agree with that, a piss-take would not be nice.

@ Links 234 I was thinking the same - Ive been to South Korea and visited the DMZ its a scary place - when I was there it gave me the 'itch' to see what was on the other side.

Going to see this place before im 40 - life's too short :D

Before you're 40 - WTF? Can you not go after that.....

Thing is, if you ever plan having kids then you can knock North Korea on the head for 25 years or so....

So if you are going, chances are you will either go in your twenties/ thirties....or in your sixties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Someone said recently that he's gone to the dogs.Matt,dont do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Serious question. How would you go about getting there for a week or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Careful what you say folks, you are now all on Kim Jong Un's radar!

Chucken wrote: »

There are various travel agencies that run tours to the North.

I am not going to cast judgements on anyone but like others have said in this thread I find something very distasteful about turning the suffering of others into tourism/entertainment. I know it is in our nature to want to see these things but it still doesn't sit well with me.

I guess I would consider a visit to North Korea to be on the same level as those who head off to Johannesburg to stroll through townships and gawk at the inhabitants.

I can't see what cultural benefit would be had from a visit to North Korea, what you see and what you do is extremely tightly controlled on these trips. You will not be wandering freely experiencing North Korea, you will essentially be witnessing a theatre put on for your benefit by the rulers so that they can have some of your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Budget Travel are doing a package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I am not going to cast judgements on anyone but like others have said in this thread I find something very distasteful about turning the suffering of others into tourism/entertainment. I know it is in our nature to want to see these things but it still doesn't sit well with me.

I guess I would consider a visit to North Korea to be on the same level as those who head off to Johannesburg to stroll through townships and gawk at the inhabitants.

I can't see what cultural benefit would be had from a visit to North Korea, what you see and what you do is extremely tightly controlled on these trips. You will not be wandering freely experiencing North Korea, you will essentially be witnessing a theatre put on for your benefit by the rulers so that they can have some of your money.

Every other week i see a new documentary or article by somebody who's been there and it's the same story every time. They get there, anything deemed dodgy or suspicious is taken off them, they're met by some shady government officials who take them on a carefully orchestrated tour, they never get to see anything they went there to see, then they go home. It's becoming fairly old hat at this stage.

Exactly, and as far as I am aware you are even instructed as to what angles you can take photographs from (and your camera is likely checked over before you leave).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Here's a budget tour operator for anybody interested.

http://www.youngpioneertours.com/

One of their fishing trips in DPRK:

http://www.youngpioneertours.com/tour/may-dprk-fishing-trip/
    Monday 13th May 2013

Meet your YPT guide at 2pm on the 3rd floor of the Beijing City Central Hostel to go through the itinerary, receive visas and tickets etc. (Go past front desk and take the lift to the 3rd floor and go left to the bar area).
    Train takers depart Beijing Central station at 17.25pm for the 24 hour sleeper ride to Pyongyang.

14th (Tues)

Train group arrive at Dandong at 7am for Chinese border control then depart for Sinuijiu at 10 am for the same on the DPRK side.
    Flight takers depart Beijing Airport Terminal 2 on Air Koryo at 12.55 pm (Check in at counters C11-C15).
    Flight group arrive in Pyongyang at 16.00 to a warm welcome from your Korean guides.
    Train group arrive at 19.30 to an equally warm welcome.
    Have a guided tour around the Yanggakdo by your YPT guide!
    Dinner and overnight at the Yanggakdo Hotel.

15th (Wed) Morning

Fishing in the Taedong River.
    Mansudae fountain park
    Mansudae grand monument
    Kim Il Sung Square
    Walk along the Taedong River from Kim Il Sung square to Pyongyang Grand Theatre.
    Fishing on a boat in the Taedong river

Afternoon
    there's more of it, too much to quote.

An Irish guy who worked at the same university i now work at (but before my time here) went on a similar tour. There is still a copy of the English-language newspaper he brought back floating around somewhere here. He also bought a phrasebook, which had some classic stuff. Some of it was the usual "how do i get to the station?" stuff (but why not just ask your personal guard who never leaves your side) but other lines were along the lines of "I am happy to have visited a country where the people are so well educated and free to speak whatever is on their minds".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Is there any possibility they will leave him in Korea and ship out a few more of Today FMs DJs while they are at it? Darcy and Fenton maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Maybe he likes to eat Dogs?

he'll be fed to the dogs if he's not careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Seems like such an interesting place. I just finished reading Dark Tourist by Dom Joly and his visit there was so bizarre. Sometimes I think I'd like to go there but I don't know if I could handle the utter secrecy and the fact that I'd only be seeing what they wanted me to see.

is dark tourist any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Wouldn't be too comfortable legitimising and funding a despotic and murderous regime just so I can go on a scripted bubble tour and have a "fascinating" experience that i can brag about to my intellectual hipster friends at parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Am I the only person to think that his travel buddy being Dennis Rodman is the oddest part of this story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Specialun wrote: »
    is dark tourist any good?
    Don't be such a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Wouldn't be too comfortable legitimising and funding a despotic and murderous regime just so I can go on a scripted bubble tour and have a "fascinating" experience that i can brag about to my intellectual hipster friends at parties.

I have to agree. People that do it, do so only for the bragging rights, it's akin to people paying a few pennies in the last century to take a tour of Bedlam (the main insane asylum in London) and stare at the disturbed, 'because it was educational'. No it wasn't, it was just a voyeuristic freakshow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I have to agree. People that do it, do so only for the bragging rights, it's akin to people paying a few pennies in the last century to take a tour of Bedlam (the main insane asylum in London) and stare at the disturbed, 'because it was educational'. No it wasn't, it was just a voyeuristic freakshow.
    Too right. It's not legitimate tourism. It doesnt benefit the people, just a revenue outlet for the crackpot government. It's actually just facilitating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I totally agree with you. It's not somewhere I would want to see (or not see).

I was just wondering if it was difficult to get in there.

The country where you don't need to be paranoid. They really are watching and listening to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I was just wondering if it was difficult to get in there.

It is very easy actually but it is ridiculously overpriced. Once you are not a journalist, it is a case of filling out a form. You have to use one of the companies above though. Getting in and out of China is harder from a visa perspective.

Haven't been there myself but I have researched it. Looks like a horrid trip to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Matt Cooper is a lovable character. I doesn't surprise me at all that he's been recruited by North Korea :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How do you say 'prostate' in Korean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

If I was a journalist id go. A chance to view one of the most mysterious and secretive governments in the world. What journalist could resist that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

Last night Sam Smyth was doing Vincent Browne's show and had a Today FM news editor on the panel. Sam throws up a picture of Denis Rodman beside Matt Cooper arriving in N. Korea. Today FM guy seemed seriously irritated at being asked questions about it by Sam. . . what's going on here? Has Sam ruined a big surprise scoop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Paddypower have tried to distance themselves from this basketball game but are contractually obliged to their commercial agreement.
    Cooper is out there writing a book apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Jimmy444 wrote: »
    Last night Sam Smyth was doing Vincent Browne's show and had a Today FM news editor on the panel. Sam throws up a picture of Denis Rodman beside Matt Cooper arriving in N. Korea. Today FM guy seemed seriously irritated at being asked questions about it by Sam. . . what's going on here? Has Sam ruined a big surprise scoop?

I doubt it. I suspect that they are more worried about Cooper being identified as a journo by the North Koreans, if he traveled there declaring that he is not one. They are very guarded when it comes to journalists entering North Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

COYW wrote: »
    I doubt it. I suspect that they are more worried about Cooper being identified as a journo by the North Koreans, if he traveled there declaring that he is not one. They are very guarded when it comes to journalists entering North Korea.

Oops - if that's the case then I hope the NK's don't read Boards. Matt might get to do more research than he intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I'm planning a trip to North Korea sometime soon. While i'm there i'm going to tell Kim Jong Un to cop himself on. I'm sure he may be mildly annoyed but he needs to be told. I'll tell yous all about it when i get back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I actually nearly went there once and not as a tourist. I was travelling in Asia and decided to do a journalism internship on an English language newspaper in Mongolia. The female Mongolian editor went away for about a week but we weren't told where she had gone. After she came back I got talking to her and she had been in North Korea on some sort of assignment. Then she says 'I was going to send you but we couldn't get the visas sorted out in time' :eek:.

I really would like to visit but as others have said here supporting that regime in any way wouldn't sit well with me at all. I'm going to try and visit South Korea this year but I guess the closest I'll get to the north will be the DMZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I hope he declared the fact that he is a journalist before he entered the country.....