Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average Irish person achievements by 30?

• 03-01-2014 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

I was reading the 1984 thread and it got me thinking, a lot of us are turning 30 this year myself included. I was wondering what has the average Irish 30 year old done with their life so far? I'm talking education, degrees, masters, temporary or permanent job, renting or house-owner, long term partners, marriage, children, traveled the world, some personal achievement (e.g. sport) etc.

Before people jump down my throat about how not all 30 year olds are the same- I KNOW THAT!! I'm talking about as a collective group in this country. For instance I have a friend in the US who became a doctor at age 50 (working in an entirely different industry all his life and went back to college to study medicine in his mid-forties). I also have family members who had marriage breakdowns in their sixties and started new relationships well into their seventies. So I'm not saying YOU SHOULD HAVE ACHIEVED X AND Y BY 30. Just looking for averages! So relax!

My own guess is that most:
    -would be qualified (either college or by trade) to some level
    -have had or are currently in 1 long term relationship
    -have no children
    -renting either by self or with partner
    -traveled a little (e.g. 1 year in australia) and gone on many foreign holidays)

So what would you like life to be like at 30? Or what was it like, for the elders among us :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Shinaynay

depressing thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Good jaysus............ The secret diary of Adrian Mole aged 30 and three quarters.

Just get on with yer lives folks.
    Forget this navel gazing and dick measuring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

I'm 28.5, have a ****e degree that's won't get me anywhere, didn't get high enough marks to persue a post grad, I'm single, living at my brothers house, out of work, had a job after college for 4 years while I rented up in the city. Feel like I haven't achieved and am in **** creek if I'm honest

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I'm 33 and I'm not married or have any kids, no mortgage - but I have a good job, loads of toys, been to some rally cool places and I've had a bloody great time the last few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I have a shed with well organised tools !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I can use a washing machine and cook, kinda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Finished all the GTA games AND Red Dead Redemption. Have since retired from that vocation to pursue other interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'd like to be happy and healthy at 30! :)

And since I'm 31, I'm achieving that mostly! (I've a chest infection at the momento)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 120 ✭✭Chefrio

I'll be 30 this year, have a 3 year old daughter with the second due in two weeks. Have a mortgage and a wife. A degree in mathematics. Decent job in the financial industry.

Can't really think of any other achievements really, though not sure I'd describe those things as achievements. Just stuff I've done. I speak a bit of german and I've started learning Italian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I manage a fantasy football team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

An ulcer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

I'm 44 and hadn't hit anything on your list except one, being a long term relationship, which failed and both of us seem happier because of it. I had rented but never by myself or with a partner. Dropped out of college, and at that point never being on Holiday in a place I thought was amazing (eg they where the same package deals, that gave me no new experiences) and no children.

Mind you since then, I'm now in college, and happy studying what I enjoy, being away to some amazing places, being living on my own for the last 6 years, and love it, still no long term commitment or children, but I'm fine if that dose or dosen't happen. Life's quite sparkly at 44. :D.

PS not a knock at your question (OP) just answered it for where I was at, at 30.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

mikom wrote: »
    Good jaysus............ The secret diary of Adrian Mole aged 30 and three quarters.

Just get on with yer lives folks.
    Forget this navel gazing and dick measuring.

The ironic thing there is most people under 30 wouldn't get your reference.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

An idea of where your career is going, or if you need to reboot it.
    A healthy cynicism.
    A car without a spoiler.
    Hobbies that go beyond smoking weed and playing computer games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

I'm 28.5, have a ****e degree that's won't get me anywhere, didn't get high enough marks to persue a post grad, I'm single, living at my brothers house, out of work, had a job after college for 4 years while I rented up in the city. Feel like I haven't achieved and am in **** creek if I'm honest

Why not do a higher diploma for a year and then do your masters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I play a millionaire at parties.

Birneybau wrote: »
    I play a millionaire at parties.

At least you'd like to

That's another achievement: memorising every Simpson's episode up till about 2001. The kids these days don't know what they're missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Achieved my boyhood dream of growing a beard.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

If you compare yourself to others you will never be happy

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I'm 32. Married. One child. Mortgage free house. A collection of cars. My own brewery. A recording studio. A couple of qualifications. Not the worst job in the world at the minute. Go on holidays several times a year. All in all, I suppose thats good going.

Is what I wanted? I've no idea. I wanted to be a famous musician. Am I happy? Most of the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 EdwardCastle

There is no such thing as a '****e degree', education is the cornerstone to making yourself anywhere in life.....if you didn't figure that out while in university then any degree would have been waste. You have to open the opportunities yourself more than ever in today's world.

In my opinion, it's your attitude you need to address. Consider going to a career guidance, they might help you think outside the box a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm one of those turning thirty this year. I have already hit a lot of life's milestones. Have 9 year old boy. Got a good uni degree. Qualified as an accountant a few years ago and bar 6 month unemployed after qualifying I have been in full time employment since. Myself and my other half got married two years ago and this year we bought our own home.

I know I should be counting my blessing and I am proud and happy with my life. But what's left to do now?! Want to start going on holidays, bar honeymoon we have had 2 hols in last 10 years.

I look to some of my friends and am a bit envious that they have so much of life ahead of them in terms of meeting partners, travelling, etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

- Projectile vomit all over a friend's bathroom wall at a house party.
    - Find kebab in bra/underpants after a heavy night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

There is no such thing as a '****e degree', education is the cornerstone to making yourself anywhere in life.....if you didn't figure that out while in university then any degree would have been waste. You have to open the opportunities yourself more than ever in today's world.

In my opinion, it's your attitude you need to address. Consider going to a career guidance, they might help you think outside the box a bit more.

I agree, I'm naturally a negative and pessimistic person, doesn't do me any favours but I am trying to change. I am hoping to start an engineering degree at night this year.
    My mother was a career guidance teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

I'm 34, and in the last fifteen years I have been in 3 long relationships, one of them very serious. Single for years now and happy enough. I am deslexic and left school with a poor leaving cert, but went to collage as a mature student. Before collage I traveled around the world visiting south east Asia, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Hawaii, and America. Cudos to Galway county council and NUIG for giving me a chance. Have a 2.1 masters degree in Philosophy, which I couldn't afford without generous help. Have had some tough times too, with being hospitalized for mental health twice. Receiving disability at the moment, but want to move on and get a job this year. I'm not down at all about my age, as I still have loads of time to get what I want out if life. Only thing is the odd worry about my folks getting on. Would be nice to meet a nice girl, but I'm not in a hurry anymore. Take my time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

have had or are currently in 1 long term relationship

How long does a relationship need to be to be called long-term? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Once I saw a blimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Papa_Bear

I maintain the pleasure/pain princliple and whenever I can find a spare moment I maintain the clever/dumb balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Finished all the GTA games AND Red Dead Redemption. Have since retired from that vocation to pursue other interests.
    Including London '61 AND '69?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I'm also turning thirty this year. Did things a bit arseways though.

I had a couple of long term relationships in my late teens/early twenties and have spent the rest of my twenties single.

I have a degree and a separate diploma in another field. Was living at home and working in the same humdrum job after I graduated (didn't travel) and then when I was 26 I upped sticks and moved to another country. Am now in a cool job, happily house-sharing with three other people and feel that I've have finally 'grown up'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I think you have a lot more going for you than you think you have. :)

You're young (bet you don't think you are, but I guarantee in five years' time you'll think 28.5 is young, not to mind 20 years' time!), you have a degree (education in and of itself is never a waste; are you sure there's no postgrad you'd have the credentials for?), four years' work experience, no ties, no big debts/fuk-ups in life (I presume).
    Would you consider heading off somewhere? What hobbies do you have? As for singledom: my uncle met his wife when he was nearly 47. First marriage. Only one significant relationship that I know of, many years before that. And he has three kids now. Late in life but he's happy out!

I'd say a lot of it is that you're the problem (and I don't mean that in a nasty way) but you're also the solution. :) (Yes, I watched Bridesmaids recently).
    antodeco wrote: »
    I'm 32. Married. One child. Mortgage free house. A collection of cars. My own brewery. A recording studio. A couple of qualifications. Not the worst job in the world at the minute. Go on holidays several times a year. All in all, I suppose thats good going.
    :eek: Yes. Yes it is. Good on ya! :)
    I'm 34, and in the last fifteen years I have been in 3 long relationships, one of them very serious. Single for years now and happy enough.
    Similar myself.
    By 30 I had a degree/masters, was in a relationship and had a job I disliked.
    Now I'm 35 and single and in a job I love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Xidu

My H is 31, married for 5 years, 2 kids, a big house, 60k mortgage, a stable job that he is happy with, lots of abroad travelling with job but guess its a good thing.

Myself is 31, quitted my job few years ago n staying home mommy, but have my own small trading business running. I am happy that I can look after my kids full time but I do hope I can expand my business in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Such a typical type of thread for this time of year, a new year and reassessing our situations.

I'm 30. In my second long term relationship now for almost four years, been living together for the past year.

I'm own the house we're living in. Lucky enough with the mortgage as it's a tracker so rates are low. Still, I'm just about in negative equity despite putting a decent deposit down. Lessons learned and all that.

Work wise I'm a Software Engineer, graduated in 2005. Money is alright, the job scene in Limerick isn't as strong as the other cities. Job is okay but would like to do something a little different in the IT industry as a change.

I feel this year is the year I really need to shake things up a bit in my life, was feeling a little antsy during November and December with no really buzz or motivation. Not sure what exactly I need to change but will dig in and find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Such a typical type of thread for this time of year, a new year and reassessing our situations.

I'm 30. In my second long term relationship now for almost four years, been living together for the past year.

I'm own the house we're living in. Lucky enough with the mortgage as it's a tracker so rates are low. Still, I'm just about in negative equity despite putting a decent deposit down. Lessons learned and all that.

Work wise I'm a Software Engineer, graduated in 2005. Money is alright, the job scene in Limerick isn't as strong as the other cities. Job is okay but would like to do something a little different in the IT industry as a change.

I feel this year is the year I really need to shake things up a bit in my life, was feeling a little antsy during November and December with no really buzz or motivation. Not sure what exactly I need to change but will dig in and find it.
    /old lady voice

Ooh you have to make an honest woman of her obviously!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

/old lady voice

Ooh you have to make an honest woman of her obviously!

Ha, if I wasn't on mobile I'd be putting up a few of those laughing emoticons!! :-)

That has been hinted at more than once and I guess it would shake things up.

Must advertise my little PC repair gig I do a bit more. The work is pretty handy for me but I really like interacting with customers and happy when they put their faith in me and I do a good job for them.

Must seriously focus on seeing if there are any opportunities I can find to create a full time business, so much more satisfying than working as an employee. Tough though. PC repairs is too saturated to make a good living out of it theses days I think.

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Been evaluating things myself lately, going on 30 very soon. I have a diploma and honours degree, but not working in the field of my degree and most likely never can. I can't seem to get another job because I don't have very much experience in any one thing. I've a bit of everything but not enough of one, so no one wants me.

I've been on three holidays this year with my boyfriend of two years. So in a way some would consider things good. This is my third long term relationship.

However considering I don't know what I want to do with my life, haven't lived in another country, hate my current job, can't get a new job, can't really afford to retrain, and have severe trust and self esteem issues, I wouldn't say I've achieved much. I've been thinking it's pathetic I haven't got anything to show for the past ten years of effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

People torturing themselves by comparing themselves to others and what the 'average 30 year old' has done. I've grown to realise there is no such thing as 'average'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I know the difference between toy animals and ones that are far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The average achievement of a 30 year old would have to be changing/translating their name on Facebook successfully to Irish, fadas and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'm 42 and fcuked if I'm posting anything for the tool brigade to use to brand me a fantasist. Married, 2 kids, erm, houses and a err, self employed. No hotel yet, so by Monopoly standards, doing crap. No utilities yet either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Currently an accomplished government artist. In residence with An Post once a week and every 4 weeks the SW office requests a commission :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I learned how to tie my laces properly when I was 29, and 15 years later, that's still one of my best achievements

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I'm 30, married to a 23 year old, no kids, no mortgage. I have an honours bachelor of science degree, working full time with a great wage. I've traveled quite a bit. Don't plan on having kids until I'm around 35. No rush anyway. I'll probably adopt too, too much alcoholism, heart disease, etc in my family history and there's too many kids uncared for these days.

goose2005 wrote: »
    Including London '61 AND '69?

Thanks. Now I have achieved NOTHING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭lennyloulou

I am 33yr, married , no kids, 150grand mortgage, both working, have ok lifestyle, cant afford kids at the min, have had couple of nice hols, never did oz for year, not really bothered if we have or have not kids, I was in a 6 yr relationship that was fantastic but we were too young, hubbie is kind and loving, we have a great laugh together, never had that before really, both of us have degrees and are studying alternative therapies as hobbies, also have a fabulous dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

I'll be 30 next week, and feeling a bit down about it.
    I've got a masters in economics, and 7yrs exp in finance, doin ok.
    I've had a serious relationship and another semi-so.
    But tbh I'm lost, probably going to go to London for a year or 2, live it up, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Jonkenji

[-0-] wrote: »
    I'm 30, married to a 23 year old, no kids, no mortgage. I have an honours bachelor of science degree, working full time with a great wage. I've traveled quite a bit. Don't plan on having kids until I'm around 35. No rush anyway. I'll probably adopt too, too much alcoholism, heart disease, etc in my family history and there's too many kids uncared for these days.

Nice. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Jonkenji wrote: »
    Nice. :pac:

Thanks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I'm 25 this year. Finished college, also have a level 6 in childcare. Recorded an album. Been on two or three great holidays. Moved around a bit. Had two long term relationships, currently in one that's fairly short term so far, but going wonderfully. No kids, and no plans to ever have any. Job I like and can and have progressed in. Back to college at night come September :)

When I'm 30, I hope to be finished college, in a career rather than a job, saving for a deposit for a house, and earning enough money to get by comfortably. :)