Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copper Dock Day

• 02-01-2014 8:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Kept my powder dry the last few days to save myself for Copper Dock tomorrow night at Dundalk. Backed him big time the last day thinking he was well in over 6 here but he was disappointing, he seemed to be travelling well in the straight but got hampered and didn't recover after that. I might be generous giving him another chance but he was dropped a massive five lbs for that.

Skeptical as to whether he is as good over 7 as six, but he did win at Leopardstown over 7 in the past off a mark of 68, and going back a few years was beaten under a length over this C&D off 33 lbs higher. Mick Hussey rides him and isn't drawn badly in 6 with only 8-8 on his back. This is his last chance but I think this horse is seriously, seriously well handicapped. Would worry about Elusive in Paris most, took all of the 14s on this fella and may go in again.

Even his run when ninth behind English Deer in November would give him a squeak having dropped 20lbs since then beaten six lengths. Think he has a much better chance than the market suggests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Have one for Dundalk tomorrow that I am really, really keen on. Looks like it will be favourite, so getting the early price will be key. Horse races in the one before Copper Dock (7:15), so might be worth pairing up with that for a cheeky double.

As for the race itself, the bottom 3 in the weights look a long way off being good enough to win this one. Trinity Rules, Lily's Prince and Dancing With Angels have shown nothing, so it's hard to see them being anywhere near good enough to win this one. Wild China is another I discount as this will be its first race after a 122 day absence, the draw it has won't suit either. Tsar Paul has been mediocre over the distance, so the race tomorrow shouldn't be ideal. Amazing Star as previous ability over AW at a higher mark, but has shown precious little since, going to discount that one too. Busalla has the excellent Conor King on board, but unless he can pull an amazing ride out the bag, this one has shown precious little.

That leaves three with decent chances.

Maontri looks unexposed here. Got a very decent 3rd place on AW debut over course and distance. Murtagh not on board this time and the draw is a negative.

Badger Daly has won over course and distance, but not for quite some time. Has a credit 3rd place in a stronger race than this last time out. Definitely a danger.

That leaves my horse, Atlas Peak. Loves Dundalk, has won over course and distance, should be fit thanks to recent run, narrowly beaten into second by California Rose last time out. Has the benefit of a good draw, so everything clicks into place here. If I can get 4/1 or so, I will be all over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Benalex park is already being backed for Dennis hogan at musselbrough...hopefully he can make us a few bob following his unlucky fall on Zekyra at the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Two for me tomorrow and have to go with Copper Dock after the write up.

One I put up in other thread Solidago at 3/1 2.40 Musselburgh.

Another I've spotted that I think is overpriced is Shabra Emperor in the 8.45 at 25/1.
    The negatives: extremely inconsistent, has a ten pound claimer on board having only his fourth ride under rules, and Oliver Brady has had one all weather winner in 5 years!!

The Positives: Wasn't miles off two of the market leaders tomorrow night(Gretzky/Shake the Bucket) in his two runs in Dundalk in Nov/Dec. 3 and 4 lengths back respectively and seems to be close enough on the weights now. Also is as well off as Home Secretary as far as I can see.
    Ran a 1/2 length behind Tannery back in 2012 off 65, Tannerys gone up about 20 stone since in what was a very strong race. He's off 64 tomorrow.
    Ten pound claimer :-) was given the leg up by Halford on Cebuano so he could be half-decent.
    The race has plenty of recent winners so I'm hoping the handicapper has them by the neck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Have a job horse for tomorrow in Dundalk will post when I get the word its off,easy to spot ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Hoe Hoe looks a bit overpriced had a nice win here a month ago I think he can improve loads and I'm going to have a dabble at 7's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Could do with a winner tomorrow, hasn't been the kindest Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Can we change the thread title to the Lucinda Russell benefit day. I'd say she could win 3/4 races in Musselburgh tomorrow. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

kiers47 wrote: »
    Can we change the thread title to the Lucinda Russell benefit day. I'd say she could win 3/4 races in Musselburgh tomorrow. :)

Her last 5 runners have been beaten by at least 18 lengths wouldnt go near her horses couldnt train ivy up a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

How about a horse in every race at Dundalk Thread?

I Noverre Princess 12/1 (815 Dundalk) into my tracker after what I felt was a suspect ride 5 days ago. The horse has never won a race though and I cant watch the race again on my phone.

Can someone have a look at the end of its last race and give an opinion.

Ta.

ste2010 wrote: »
    Benalex park is already being backed for Dennis hogan at musselbrough...hopefully he can make us a few bob following his unlucky fall on Zekyra at the weekend!
    Fcuking rogues!

Beaten by 48l last time out.
    Beaten by 21l the time before that.
    Beaten by 69l the time before that.
    Beaten by 41l the time before that.
    Beaten by 135l the time before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

armed guard is huge at 12/1

armed guard
    settle for red
    shake the bucket
    doc holliday

lucky 15

hucklebuck wrote: »
    How about a horse in every race at Dundalk Thread?

I Noverre Princess 12/1 (815 Dundalk) into my tracker after what I felt was a suspect ride 5 days ago. The horse has never won a race though and I cant watch the race again on my phone.

Can someone have a look at the end of its last race and give an opinion.

Ta.
    Just had a look and I would say it was more of a bad ride than anything malicious. If you look at the winner (Bomber Jackson), you can see Downey got to work on that a lot sooner than Coakley did on Noverre Princess. Coakley definitely eased up towards the end though when it was clear the window of opportunity to win the race was over.

Fcuking rogues!

Beaten by 48l last time out.
    Beaten by 21l the time before that.
    Beaten by 69l the time before that.
    Beaten by 41l the time before that.
    Beaten by 135l the time before that.

Yep that's the hogan style! Interesting to see if it wins. Have put a small bet on both hogans horses today

Just had a look and I would say it was more of a bad ride than anything malicious. If you look at the winner (Bomber Jackson), you can see Downey got to work on that a lot sooner than Coakley did on Noverre Princess. Coakley definitely eased up towards the end though when it was clear the window of opportunity to win the race was over.

Cheers Francie, cant watch it til I get home. Stupid IT have betting and racing blocked!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Can't back a Hogan horse that man is on the list with Byrnes O'Grady Jonjo

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Can't back a Hogan horse that man is on the list with Byrnes O'Grady Jonjo

The knights of the oval shaped table

I call them gee gee bags

Have one for Dundalk tomorrow that I am really, really keen on. Looks like it will be favourite, so getting the early price will be key. Horse races in the one before Copper Dock (7:15), so might be worth pairing up with that for a cheeky double.

As for the race itself, the bottom 3 in the weights look a long way off being good enough to win this one. Trinity Rules, Lily's Prince and Dancing With Angels have shown nothing, so it's hard to see them being anywhere near good enough to win this one. Wild China is another I discount as this will be its first race after a 122 day absence, the draw it has won't suit either. Tsar Paul has been mediocre over the distance, so the race tomorrow shouldn't be ideal. Amazing Star as previous ability over AW at a higher mark, but has shown precious little since, going to discount that one too. Busalla has the excellent Conor King on board, but unless he can pull an amazing ride out the bag, this one has shown precious little.

That leaves three with decent chances.

Maontri looks unexposed here. Got a very decent 3rd place on AW debut over course and distance. Murtagh not on board this time and the draw is a negative.

Badger Daly has won over course and distance, but not for quite some time. Has a credit 3rd place in a stronger race than this last time out. Definitely a danger.

That leaves my horse, Atlas Peak. Loves Dundalk, has won over course and distance, should be fit thanks to recent run, narrowly beaten into second by California Rose last time out. Has the benefit of a good draw, so everything clicks into place here. If I can get 4/1 or so, I will be all over this.
    9/2 at 888, get on early, get on often :)

Also decided to follow the forum in on Copper Dock, got 12/1 (Coral) with him and have picked out Denny Crane at 14/1 (Bet 365) ridden by the excellent Robbie Downey in the 7:45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

First bet in about 6 months! Placed a tenner on the double of the first two horses mentioned in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Nice one Centurion Nice one:D

Can we please rename the thread benalex park day :-)...I'm finally rid of the disease haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Jesus that's some drift.

Can we please rename the thread benalex park day :-)...I'm finally rid of the disease haha
    Cowboys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭rabwaygal

Jesus that's some drift.

What did he finish up at? Am at work so cant view sites.

Great stuff Stevie boy. Oonly have pocket change did 2ew at 5 and BOG at 14 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

Well done nice one lads.

Seen the drift and said feck it I'm not backing that.

What a plonker I am

rabwaygal wrote: »
    What did he finish up at? Am at work so cant view sites.

14s

Cowboys!

There's one thing form doesn't tell..the hogan factor and the knights of the oval table

Going to go on Tim Halfords horse in the 2.40 based alone on the jockey booking.
    Jet master in the next

F*ck me - about time. Past 2 weeks were dry until yesterday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

My one for today is Ryton Runner. Speculative but looks relatively well handicapped and i think can win off this mark at some stage. Whether today will be the day is a big if!!!
    Took 9/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

happy out with my 5 euro e/w,,,, ganster is right on mr hogan terrible form, stevie boy you must work in the yards.. haha nice one

Denny Crane 10/1 is one to look at tonight 4 time winner.

Will win because I've given up backing him. :D

Luap wrote: »
    Denny Crane 10/1 is one to look at tonight 4 time winner.

Will win because I've given up backing him. :D
    Looks chucked in here, good luck.

Just going to watch, if he gets a bit of luck in running I can see him winning only 10 runners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 davesmith7

Richard Hannon has his first runner as a trainer in Wolverhampton at five.

I'd imagine he will really want to win. Unscripted 6/4

Really hope no one was put off by my post on that horse Hogan had :)

Returned 2-1:)

Really hope no one was put off by my post on that horse Hogan had :)

Bad case of the fear francie??

Luap wrote: »
    Just going to watch, if he gets a bit of luck in running I can see him winning only 10 runners.

Now you tell us you haven't backed him...

No probs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭hawkhead

Liberty to Rock looks to have a bit of a chance in the 6-45.

Won 4 times at the track and is 1 lb lower than his last winning mark.

Yeah Liberty to Rock is due a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Daniel Thomas has come in for support in the next at Wolverhampton.
    [ 5/1 now ]

Winter is his time of year and has career low mark today

Very well done BCQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

davesmith7 wrote: »
    Very well done BQQ

Thanks.

Was going to post earlier, but decided to see if there was some money for it first.
    Didn't want to look a fool if it rolled in last. :o

Have been given Dancing with Angels 7:15 Dundalk 10-1

Can't let Trinity rules go here without my tuppence on. Huge price on the machines.

I'll get the handbrake off some night. Bookies taking some hammering tonight.

28s on Copper Dock on bf also.