Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kingstar Tyres

• 01-01-2014 8:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Does anyone here have experience of Kingstar tyre problems. Over past several months at relatively slow speeds going around curves on a wet road (roundabout, off ramps) I have had sideways slides, once turning the car almost 180. I am pretty convinced it is a tyre problem but cannot find any real reviews online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Kingrats tyres? Absolute muck, AVOID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Cheap Chinese shit rubber. You'd have more grip on bare rims

but this website disagrees

http://megatyre.co.nz/content/2tyres/tyre-pattern-gallery-2/tyre-pattern-gallery/kingstar-car-tyres/
    All New Kingstar SK70 Tyre

The non directional “SK70 Road Fit” delivers best value, great handling, noise control and a comfortable ride. Kingstar is Hankook’s quality value tyre brand and is made in Hankook’s Chinese factories. This is not a Chinese cheapie brand, they are a great product backed up with great research and quality control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Never heard if this brand but if it was me I'd throw them in the bin before you get killed or worse still kill one of the rest of us. If you can't afford half decent tyres then you should think about another form of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Four of them on my car. Grand so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Iv heard here poor enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Does anyone here have experience of Kingstar tyre problems. Over past several months at relatively slow speeds going around curves on a wet road (roundabout, off ramps) I have had sideways slides, once turning the car almost 180. I am pretty convinced it is a tyre problem but cannot find any real reviews online.

Would you not take the hint and get new tyres.The reason for the slides would be the tyres as there the only thing that touches the road. I've never used kingstars but I've never heard anything good about them. I had Chinese crap on my car upto recently I didn't buy them they came new with the car. They probably weren't as bad as yours but weren't great I bought Goodyear excellence tyres and it's like a different car. Are the kingstars fairly new ie is there much thread left on Them as this obviously has a big effect. If you don't want to spend big money on new tyres you could get decent brand part worns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What car is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

I'mm constantly amazed at people when they buy tyres. Usual deciding factor is price for which you will get the nastiest cheapest rubbish. The most expensive tyres will give you excellent wet and dry grip but will cost twice as much.
    When you consider the only thing holding you to the road is a contact patch about the size of a cigarette box I cant help but wonder what goes through people's heads when they buy cheap tyres.
    Seriously you'd be better off with spending the same money on second hand branded tyres, but there in lies a whole different bag of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

I'mm constantly amazed at people when they buy tyres. Usual deciding factor is price for which you will get the nastiest cheapest rubbish. The most expensive tyres will give you excellent wet and dry grip but will cost twice as much.
    When you consider the only thing holding you to the road is a contact patch about the size of a cigarette box I cant help but wonder what goes through people's heads when they buy cheap tyres.
    Seriously you'd be better off with spending the same money on second hand branded tyres, but there in lies a whole different bag of issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Man with a problem

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What car is it?

Thanks for the comments. I had hoped to hear a bit more from people who actually have them on a car rather than those with strong opinions.. They were recommended by the garage and I was not looking for a cheap option. And they were not exceptionally cheap. The slides have only happened in very specific circumstances. The car is a Renault Grand Scenic. I assume all tyres sold in Ireland legally have passed the necessary standards testing. And the only reviews I can see on the web are from companies selling the things and they are universally positive. Tread depth is fine by the way.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Would you not take the hint and get new tyres.The reason for the slides would be the tyres as there the only thing that touches the road. I've never used kingstars but I've never heard anything good about them. I had Chinese crap on my car upto recently I didn't buy them they came new with the car. They probably weren't as bad as yours but weren't great I bought Goodyear excellence tyres and it's like a different car. Are the kingstars fairly new ie is there much thread left on Them as this obviously has a big effect. If you don't want to spend big money on new tyres you could get decent brand part worns.

Of course cars dont slide because of greasy roads or excessive speed...

Does the abs cut in much during braking? Would you get wheelspin going into roundabouts a bit enthusiastically?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I suspect this man will soon have another problem if he keeps driving on these cheapo tyres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

But the fact you bothered to set up a thread means your concerned and that the skidding problem has happened more than once or twice because you went around a bend too fast or hit a sloppy patch on the road. If it consistently happening on different roads and different speeds then that would suggest it is the tyres. I was only trying to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Thanks for the comments. I had hoped to hear a bit more from people who actually have them on a car rather than those with strong opinions.. They were recommended by the garage and I was not looking for a cheap option. And they were not exceptionally cheap. The slides have only happened in very specific circumstances. The car is a Renault Grand Scenic. I assume all tyres sold in Ireland legally have passed the necessary standards testing. And the only reviews I can see on the web are from companies selling the things and they are universally positive. Tread depth is fine by the way.

Having had a few sets on my cars over the years I can certainly tell you they're rubbish. Hard plasticy feel and plenty of road noise, poor grip in any condition if any kind of power is used.

But, what the hell would I know

What am I supposed to say, they're a great lasting tyre but crap everywhere else you'll be grand?

I don't know how much you value your safety but by having those things on it looks like not a lot. Bin them and buy decent rubber

Does the abs cut in much during braking? Would you get wheelspin going into roundabouts a bit enthusiastically?

Not normally.. last time I noticed the ABS was exactly when it should have cut in - having to brake hard when an idiot who had not thought ahead cut in in front of me on the motorway without indicator. I don't on the whole go into roundabouts enthusiastically, as you put it, so no wheel spin. If I did then I might not be asking the question.

Only reason I ask is that I've driven cars on other budget tyres and got those symptoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

If you experienced a 180° spin on a roundabout or slip road in a FWD people carrier due to excessive speed, you're a man with more than one problem. By your posts, you're not driving aggresively. So there's no reason for "greasy roads or excessive speed" to be causing this. Why don't you just accept it's the tyres and put something safe under your car before you cause an accident? I assume you have a family if you're driving such a car, why put them in danger by using rubber that you know is unsafe? :confused:

Or just ignore the overwhelming majority telling you that these are crap tyres, and blame something, anything else. What do I care, I don't have to be a passenger in your car.

Bpmull wrote: »
    But the fact you bothered to set up a thread means your concerned and that the skidding problem has happened more than once or twice because you went around a bend too fast or hit a sloppy patch on the road. If it consistently happening on different roads and different speeds then that would suggest it is the tyres. I was only trying to help.

I appreciate that and I appreciate the help. I dont appreciate the tone of many on here who are downright rude and extraordinarily judgemental. I am concerned and for more than me. Kingstar is a Michelin subsidiary and I have had a long term preference for Michelin tyres, but when your dealer who knows that says these are great tyres why not try them..

Your dealer is telling porkies. Kingstar is the budget chinese arm of Hankook.
    Every tyre place I've been to in the last 14 years has been giving me the old "they're made in the same factory as Michelin/Goodyear/Bridgestone"

Kingstar is a Michelin subsidiary...

Kingstar is actually a Hankook subsidiary

They're owned by Hankook. This in no way means they are made in the same factory as Hankook or are the same quality as Hankook. If they were they'd call them...Hankooks :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

They were recommended by the garage and I was not looking for a cheap option.
    Anyone from the garage travel in your car regularly? If not, it's not going to be their ass when you negotiate a corner briskly.

Can anyone from the garage show you a set of Kingstar tyres on their own personal cars?

If you experienced a 180° spin on a roundabout or slip road in a FWD people carrier due to excessive speed, you're a man with more than one problem. By your posts, you're not driving aggresively. So there's no reason for "greasy roads or excessive speed" to be causing this. Why don't you just accept it's the tyres and put something safe under your car before you cause an accident? I assume you have a family if you're driving such a car, why put them in danger by using rubber that you know is unsafe? :confused:

Or just ignore the overwhelming majority telling you that these are crap tyres, and blame something, anything else. What do I care, I don't have to be a passenger in your car.

I am trying to establish if it is the tyres or if perhaps it might be something more fundamental - Just to be clear: it is 4 events in 7 months and 15000 km driving. So everybody stop preaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Kingstar are 50/50. Quality control isnt as good as it could be but not bad enough to warrant a ban from Europe. Like any budget manufacturer they get their ingredients from varying sources.

Wikipedia has a list of tyre companies and their subsidiaries. Some surprises in the list. Apparantly Uniroyal US are owned by Michelin but Uniroyal Aus are owned by Bridgestone

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tire_companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I have had a long term preference for Michelin tyres.

Then buy michelins, problem solved. This thread wouldn't exist if you stuck with your previous buying history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

I am trying to establish if it is the tyres or if perhaps it might be something more fundamental - Just to be clear: it is 4 events in 7 months and 15000 km driving. So everybody stop preaching.

What could be more fundamental than your tyres for the experiences you had?

You know, there's very little point in coming on Boards looking for advice/guidance/opinions/experiences if your going to take umbrage at the responses you get just because they're not what you have decided you want to hear.

4 events is a lot, that's more times than my VSA light has come on or ABS has cut in over 12 months.
    Any of those events could have been a lot worse.
    Not scaremongering but a Grand Scenic isn't usually the type of car that acts like this, and the fact that its just since you got these tyres that this has been happening would tell me you need proper tyres and a new supplier.

Wikipedia has a list of tyre companies and their subsidiaries. Some surprises in the list. Apparantly Uniroyal US are owned by Michelin but Uniroyal Aus are owned by Bridgestone

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tire_companies
    Biggest shock on that list for me was Lego...

Out of curiosity, what do you think is causing a 1.5 ton people carrier to slide other than poor rubber?

No Pants wrote: »
    Biggest shock on that list for me was Lego...

Where can you buy 1" rims? :pac:

Avns1s wrote: »
    What could be more fundamental than your tyres for the experiences you had?

You know, there's very little point in coming on Boards looking for advice/guidance/opinions/experiences if your going to take umbrage at the responses you get just because they're not what you have decided you want to hear.

i am not taking umbrage.. I am shocked that you Irish who have such a reputation for charm and politeness can be so rude and judgemental.

I am pretty convinced it is a tyre problem...
    This is from your opening post. Let's move past opinion; how much are these Kingstars per corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

i am not taking umbrage.. I am shocked that you Irish who have such a reputation for charm and politeness can be so rude and judgemental.

I would say its down to frustration by members here, similar questions are asked weekly and similar answers given by them which most of the time the original poster doesn't like to hear.

You post a thread asking for advice, which was given by members who have experience of these tyres and you disregard it because a tyre fitter told you something different....and which he lied about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That's easy... car ownership is an essential for many people in this country thanks to the ****ty public transport options (if they exist at all) but the cost of motoring is ridiculous - tax (especially if you can't afford a newer car), insurance, fuel etc.

As such something has to give and as many people don't do long/high-speed runs, or even take an interest in cars beyond getting from A-B, tyres are usually the compromise .. besides €220 per tyre (for some of the premium brands in larger sizes) is mad money when you think about it!
    The "issues" are common to any second car you've ever bought, any car belonging to a friend or relative that you've ever borrowed, or possibly even your own car if you leave it in someone else's hands (eg: at a service - I saw a post here from someone a few days back that said his tracker showed that some garage had decided to take his car for a rather long "test drive").

But if you buy from reputable dealers and stick to the main brands you should be fine. I got 2 18" Michelin's last week for €100 and they're grand with plenty of thread left and far better performance than most of the tyres you'll be offered at even the €80/90 (each!) mark. Will be going back in the morning for another one (or two) thanks to a inconvenient puncture this morning to one of the remaining ones.

How many "events" would you expect in this period of time? What if the next event involves an accident where someone is injured?

By your own admission your tyres are unsafe. They are cheap Chinese crap regardless of who makes them and if they were on my car they would be dumped after the first "event".

That's not being rude or judgemental nor is any other poster on this thread. It is merely stating facts.

A factor worth remembering is test if you go to a tyre fitter, they may have more margin on a budget tyre than a premium tyre, and they may not have 4 of the brand you want in your size. Logic would then be that they want your business today, so sell you whatever they have in stock.

veetwin wrote: »
    How many "events" would you expect in this period of time? What if the next event involves an accident where someone is injured?

By your own admission your tyres are unsafe. They are cheap Chinese crap regardless of who makes them and if they were on my car they would be dumped after the first "event".

That's not being rude or judgemental nor is any other poster on this thread. It is merely stating facts.

How do ya know what caused a single event. Dumping tires after one event is silly. If you hit a very heavy patch of diesel any tire will slide

A factor worth remembering is test if you go to a tyre fitter, they may have more margin on a budget tyre than a premium tyre, and they may not have 4 of the brand you want in your size. Logic would then be that they want your business today, so sell you whatever they have in stock.

Thanks Colm. I can see why you are a moderator on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

You will be changing your name to man in a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Truckermal wrote: »
    You will be changing your name to man in a ditch.

I lol'd! :)

Fair play. I think this thread needed something to lighten it!!

corkgsxr wrote: »
    How do ya know what caused a single event. Dumping tires after one event is silly. If you hit a very heavy patch of diesel any tire will slide

If I hit a diesel patch I will be fairly confident that I can identify it as such. Are you saying you would keep Chinese crap on your car until you have a number of losses of control just to satisfy yourself that they are crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I had a set on my Puma. Ditchfinders to the core.

If I hit a diesel patch I will be fairly confident that I can identify it as such. Are you saying you would keep Chinese crap on your car until you have a number of losses of control just to satisfy yourself that they are crap?

First time it happened I was not driving and was not in the car. The person who was said speed might have been an issue. Second time it happened there was rain after a dry spell - I put it down to a greasy road. Third time it happened it was after a long journey and there was a fair amount of water on the road but speed and grease were not the problem. And it happened today. The 180 was the second time but I otherwise did not lose control of the car - it was a little slide corrected properly. There were no other cars close by on any occasion. Two roundabouts, one off ramp and one on ramp. But hey I will confess to being an irresponsible child killing, other road user endangering mad as sh1T3 driver if it satisfies the blood lust. I will be talking to the seller of the former Hankook Michelin Chinese joint venture next week and reshoeing with proper rubbers - in the meantime the rest of you experts had better stay off the road lest I side swipe you. BTW I would never buy second hand tires - I cannot think of anything more irresponsible. But there will be a set going cheap on ebay if anyone is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Those tyres are ****ing brutal.

They might be alright driving normally, it's when you need to yank the car left or right to avoid something or slam on the brakes or you misjudge a corner that you will notice why they cost 40euro.

Next time you are goin around a roundabout, pick up a bit of speed and yank the steering wheel right about a quarter to half a turn more and see if the car reacts or just keeps going straight.
    It will give you an idea of how crap they are.

Edit: do the roundabout test with both sets if you are changing the tyres soon for a better set.
    You will see a major difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Great bunch of lads.

On topic. Theres probably loads of factories with loads of suppliers making that brand as was said earlier. Anyone got any fundamental advice? I rubbed my hand against the tyres that were shown to me last time. They seemed softer, had more friction than the others. Good idea/ bad idea?

. BTW I would never buy second hand tires - I cannot think of anything more irresponsible.
    I'd have premium second hands over new plastic ones every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Another op going mad defensive after getting advice that he asked for..

Blatantly the tyres are the main problem but are you in the habit of lifting off the throttle mid corner? Just you may be upsettting the balance of the car and creating oversteer moments.

Iv had tires where iv had no reason to think there bad untill proven otherwise.

Eg

dunlop van tires
    Michelin Pilot pure bike tires

Iv found goodyears very good on the big vans. Love bridgestones on the bikes