Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

141 Reg Cars.

• 01-01-2014 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭

It's that time of year again.......Happy new year to everyone. Little quiz to start it off. Spot the difference. He's changed again.....

v1e6.jpg

131ls.jpg

12ls1.jpg

Seem to have lost my 2011 pic but it was also a red one........

01012010216.jpg

Either someone was late getting up this morning or 141 LS 1 was already booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Auto lights and wipers this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Now DGT your a happy camper now Mal..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If they spent €1000 getting 141LS2 they are insane. If LS1 was gone I would have left it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

If they spent €1000 getting 141LS2 they are insane. If LS1 was gone I would have left it at that.

I think someone pointed out before that the car is probably being registered after midnight on New Years Eve, so therefor manages to get first number each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Good Luck with your new car.

Happy & safe motoring in 2014

Best Wishes:)

Good Luck with your new car.

Happy & safe motoring in 2014

Best Wishes:)

By the way............it's not me.:eek: This fella changes for same car every year and always has it for New Years Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Jomcc wrote: »
    By the way............it's not me.:eek: This fella changes for same car every year and always has it for New Years Day.

Good for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

How much would you say he gets on the trade in?

ie how much does the new car cost him in real terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Has anyone ever seen his old ones for sale or on the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah it's officially new years day again in motors, thanks Jomcc! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Jeju

IMO if anything would be better to have 141 LS 141 than 141LS 2

ba_barabus wrote: »

Oh yes, See many LS 201 and recently LS 1's around Portlaoise. I've no doubt his cars are probably sold well before the arrive in the garage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

ba_barabus wrote: »

Seen a red Focus with ??-LS-1 on it near Newtown Forbes during the summer, can't remember the first digits, maybe 09 or 10 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭pillphil

Where's 132 LS 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

pillphil wrote: »
    Where's 132 LS 1?

Someone got there before him this year!
    He must have something to do with the motor trade to have it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I was speaking to the receptionist in a dealers a few months back discussing how on the first of July there was a huge spike on last year, with only 1 registered in 2012 and triple figures in 2013.

It should be noted that it was a Sunday in 2012, to which her response was "what poor gob****e opened on a sunday last year to register a car?".

I think she had a fair point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Where's 132 LS 1?

On the back of a Nissan Qashqai it seems...

The stingey fecker :D

ryanf1 wrote: »
    Someone got there before him this year!
    He must have something to do with the motor trade to have it already.

He's a retired gentleman. Definitely no connection to motor trade as far as I know. I recon he's only a valued customer. As for question about 132 LS 1, wonder if he meant 141 LS 1. I'm guessing this could end up on a Kavanagh's bus or something. Surely it was pretty booked by someone. Very unlikely that two people in motor trade were up at midnight registering cars.

I meant did he not change his car buying patterns to match the new licence plate issuing pattern? I'm posting this in the "The stingiest thing you've seen a stingy person do" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I thought the tax office had to be open to issue numbers i.e. no new numbers would be seen until the first working day of the new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

jca wrote: »
    I thought the tax office had to be open to issue numbers i.e. no new numbers would be seen until the first working day of the new year.

I think it's all computerised for the last few years.

I meant did he not change his car buying patterns to match the new licence plate issuing pattern? I'm posting this in the "The stingiest thing you've seen a stingy person do" thread.

I actually drove past his house in July to see if he changed the car to get new number. Dunno who's worse, him or me.. :O

Bpmull wrote: »
    I think it's all computerised for the last few years.

Shows how many new cars I've owned/registered:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Are they going keeping the three digit format 141. I thought they just done it in 2013 as people would think 13 was bad luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭087brain21

Are they going keeping the three digit format 141. I thought they just done it in 2013 as people would think 13 was bad luck.

ya it was untill there was a spike in sales when it flicked over to 132,a bit nuts tbh because 131 and 132 and still brand new cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Jeju wrote: »
    IMO if anything would be better to have 141 LS 141 than 141LS 2

I disagree. He would be better off getting 141 LS 151. That way he would get 2 years out of the # plates.
    Knew a guy in Dublin years ago and got 98D99 on a limo. People thought it was a new car in 99 also.:cool:

087brain21 wrote: »
    ya it was untill there was a spike in sales when it flicked over to 132,a bit nuts tbh because 131 and 132 and still brand new cars

I'm reasonably sure it was brought in to create a spike in july and that the unlucky 13 thing isn't true at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Spotted my first 141 plate today - 141-KE-63 (Hyundai (or Kia?) Jeep)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Silvera wrote: »
    Spotted my first 141 plate today - 141-KE-63 (Hyundai (or Kia?) Jeep)

Wasn't a Jeep if it was a Hyundai or Kia.
    Think You mean 4x4.....or more likely a front wheel drive car on stilts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭d1234

Was passing by Brady's in Castleknock today and they had a few 141 regd. Mercs. Was also passing the Mansion House this morn. and the lord mayor still had his 131-D-1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Saw a 141-D Honda Civic in the carpark of Dundrum Town Centre earlier this evening, only one I've spotted so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That guys a real Ford Focus fan, eh!

Saw 141 WX 22 today a Civic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I used to know a guy in cork who would get a new car every year in January, every year a base spec 1.4 petrol focus.

He told me once it cost him about 3 grand to upgrade every year, and he tried to justify it to himself and others saying I never need to get new tyres or a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I used to know a guy in cork who would get a new car every year in January, every year a base spec 1.4 petrol focus.

He told me once it cost him about 3 grand to upgrade every year, and he tried to justify it to himself and others saying I never need to get new tyres or a service.

Its a reasonable enough plan. Even if he was to get a new car every 3 years for example, it was still going to cost him many thousands so the penalty in that case for buying a focus every year seems tiny.
    Of course it costs much more than servicing and running an old car but not hugely more than running a newish car and then also shelling out for servicing, repairs etc.
    Its only really a runner on a cheap car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I used to deal with the same couple every year, would buy an avensis 1.6 strata in a good colour and do very small mileage and keep the car immaculate. Used to change them for very small money every year (used to take their car in at a little under the cost of a hire drive) and would always sell it on very easily. This was when you'd sell used petrol avensiss in your sleep.
    Never made much money out of them but always appreciated the repeat business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭PatM65

141 T 1 is on a white Opel Insignia - for sale at Kevin O'Leary Motors in Clonmel. Of particular interest as it's the first ever T Reg taking over from TS and TN.

PatM65 wrote: »
    141 T 1 is on a white Opel Insignia - for sale at Kevin O'Leary Motors in Clonmel. Of particular interest as it's the first ever T Reg taking over from TS and TN.

Wonder if its a valid plate though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

colm_mcm wrote: »

It is look at this link

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_registration_plates_of_Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

V.W.L 11 wrote: »
    It is look at this link

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_registration_plates_of_Ireland[/QUOTE]

I think Colm was referring to the number 1 as oppose the T bit. No. 1 was usually reserved for official cars driven by the mayor, etc in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

Are you monitoring this guy? Have you cameras trained on him or something ?

bazz26 wrote: »
    It is look at this link

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_registration_plates_of_Ireland[/QUOTE]

I think Colm was referring to the number 1 as oppose the T bit. No. 1 was usually reserved for official cars driven by the mayor, etc in the past.

Is thatvonly in the cities???the "T" is new though as is "L" instead of that and "LK" in limerick and "W" instead of that and "WD" in waterford

Definitely genuine - spoke to the General Manager there today.

Is it a demo or sold already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Is thatvonly in the cities???the "T" is new though as is "L" instead of that and "LK" in limerick and "W" instead of that and "WD" in waterford

In Limerick anyway, the city mayor used always drive around in a brand new car with the reg: XX L 1 up to a few years ago but they stopped it when austerity was introduced.

Is it a demo or sold already?

It's for sale at €34k or thereabouts. Didn't see it - just spoke to them over the phone. Not buying, just doing a piece for work on the first T registration.

In Limerick anyway, the city mayor used always drive around in a brand new car with the reg: XX L 1 up to a few years ago but they stopped it when austerity was introduced.

Same here in cork but now the lord mayor gets a new one every 6 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Same here in cork but now the lord mayor gets a new one every 6 months

Ford don't charge city hall for that car though. The other cities have to pay

ninty9er wrote: »

Ford don't charge city hall for that car though. The other cities have to pay

Do volvo not give the Dublin one for free too?