If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

your updates are getting so long - you might need to go back to daily updates :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭aero2k

Ososlo wrote: »
    Got a little shout out on this run from Boards legend aero2k who must have recognised me from a photo I posted here. Had a really lovely chat. Absolute gent and really enjoyed chatting running, this place, and stuff... Till the next time sir!
    Not much of a legend, just a former marathon runner...

Lovely to meet you too, I usually hate stopping when I'm cold, but the chat was fun and I forgot about the wind.

Apart from the running and boards we have at least two other things in common - a love for the old 305 (mine is sadly a "late parrot") and an arse in the bucket running style - though I only know about yours 'cos you just mentioned it, you looked fine to me.
    ! And I'll certainly take you up on your offers in the future. Both of them ;-) Oh and sorry for saying 'bye aero':o to you. Hopefully you didn't hear!

Sheesh! All the girls will be looking for offers! If you carry on with remarks like that I'll tell everyone that you give hugs to skinny baldy auld lads in the park.:D

I'm just catching up on your log after a long period of self-absorption. Great consistency and impressive mileage. You might be interested to know I've run my two most recent marathons off approx 50 mpw - your hard work will stand you in good stead for anything you target in future.

On the hunching over the desk thing, can you try it standing up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

aero2k wrote: »
    Not much of a legend, just a former marathon runner...

Lovely to meet you too, I usually hate stopping when I'm cold, but the chat was fun and I forgot about the wind.

Apart from the running and boards we have at least two other things in common - a love for the old 305 (mine is sadly a "late parrot") and an arse in the bucket running style - though I only know about yours 'cos you just mentioned it, you looked fine to me.

Sheesh! All the girls will be looking for offers! If you carry on with remarks like that I'll tell everyone that you give hugs to skinny baldy auld lads in the park.:D

I'm just catching up on your log after a long period of self-absorption. Great consistency and impressive mileage. You might be interested to know I've run my two most recent marathons off approx 50 mpw - your hard work will stand you in good stead for anything you target in future.

Aero......."former" ??

Yep, after 32 years it's time for a change of focus.:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Aero......."former" ??

Don't mind him. He's told me it's his last marathon after every marathon!

Just like a stopped clock, if you wait long enough I'll be right.

Besides, you're telling porkies, you weren't around in '83!

Sorry for the hijack Ososlo, I'm off now to squat on RQ's log.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

The Muppet wrote: »
    Wow that's some running fair play to you.

Re the watch sports direct have some good deals at the moment.

My 305 is working perfectly now again but will defo keep an eye on Sports Direct for deals. Thanks for that!
    your updates are getting so long - you might need to go back to daily updates :)

Ha ha I do go on a bit, don't I! There's always the option not to read ;)

Thanks. You did only see me 'head on' so not a good view of the arse in the bucket in action! Good to see my arse is in good company so:D
    Sheesh! All the girls will be looking for offers! If you carry on with remarks like that I'll tell everyone that you give hugs to skinny baldy auld lads in the park.:D.

Careful now or I'll hold you to that 10 min/mile running date;) and I'll make it a very very long one!

Oh I've tried it every way you can imagine:D Standing up, sitting down, backwards, forwards, shake it all about, but it just doesn't flow properly and I don't have enough control doing it any other way!

Thanks. You did only see me 'head on' so not a good view of the arse in the bucket in action! Good to see my arse is in good company so:D

So you're telling me I need a good look at you from behind - jaysus I'm enough of a pervert already, don't be encouraging me.

I'm afraid you're arse is going to be lonely if it's relying on mine for company - Mrs aero has announced, more than once, that due to excessive training I no longer have an arse:D.

Oh I've tried it every way you can imagine:D Standing up, sitting down, backwards, forwards, shake it all about, but it just doesn't flow properly and I don't have enough control doing it any other way!

Tell me more, I've a very limited imagination...God loves a trier!

So you're telling me I need a good look at you from behind - jaysus I'm enough of a pervert already, don't be encouraging me.
    And a very honest pervert too apparently!
    I'm afraid you're arse is going to be lonely if it's relying on mine for company - Mrs aero has announced, more than once, that due to excessive training I no longer have an arse:D.
    Best get working on that bootie so! Gotta keep the Mrs happy:D
    Tell me more, I've a very limited imagination...God loves a trier!
    On yer bike son!

Best get working on that bootie so!

Maybe I'll use the money I'm going to save on running shoes to buy some implants - or a pair of those padded yokes you can wear.
    Gotta keep the Mrs happy:D

She's a woman - I can make her happy, but keeping her that way is far beyond me!

Monday 16 November
    am: 45 mins easy @ 9:51
    pm: 60 mins easy @ 9:52

Forgot to write anything about these runs after the event so can't remember anything about them except Strava promises they happened!

Tuesday 17 November
    Rest

Wind, long day at work, visitors to entertain when I got home, alcohol consumption, chocolate consumption, and back to back episodes of Downton Abbey. Excuses excuses and more excuses for sitting on my bum and acting like a lazy waster. Maybe sometimes you just gotta go with the flow though.

Wednesday 18 November
    8 miles easy @ 9:34

Look at what a day off does to Ososlo's easy pace! Woo hoo! My brother who's a runner says the secret lies in the rest days. Fecker rests a lot more than he runs but can still blast out a 1:23 half off a few very haphazard weeks of training.
    Great run this. Single days should only be 60ish mins but I listened very closely to my body and it was telling me very loudly that it wanted to run a bit further than the plan said, so I just did what I was told!
    Reached 2,000 miles for the year tonight according to my watch. I have done some watchless runs and races however so it's a bit higher than that in reality (20-30 miles). No fanfare or fireworks:), just me on me tod plodding about the streets of Dublin 9 in the cold and the wind and the wintery drissle. Bliss...

Thursday 19 November
    70 mins w/6x45 sec pickups @ 5k

The long strides session I normally do was on the cards but we rejigged a little as I only just did it at weekend and I want to save up loads of energy for the weekend's very long run so compromise was reached. Enjoyable. Passed Murph_D on the last mile looking very strong doing a MP session. Catch you the next time D.

Friday 20 November
    6 miles easy @ 9:39

Had a little wild garlic with my morning coffee! As always, it was a pleasure sir! Always fun to chat about all things running with you!
    Bloody freezin tonight! It was 'colder than a gut-shot bitch wolf dog with nine sucking pups dragging a No. 4 trap up a hill in the dead of a winter in a snowstorm with a mouthful of porcupine quills.' Tom Waits anyone?

Saturday 21 November
    am: 60 mins easy @ 9:29

Not sure why that was so fast for easy effort. It was honestly done with minimal effort and I really relaxed into the wind and didn't force anything. Felt bloody great. Is it possible? Could I really be getting fitter? I did have 9 hours of sleep last night so that possibly had something to do with it. Lovely morning for it. Park looking good and grass dried out a good bit for the XC tomorrow except for one very deep river that shouldn't be there from the recent stormy weather!
    pm: 45 mins easy @ 9:12
    Yeah seems WAY too fast for easy for me but as above, I just ran by feel, and it is what it is. First mile is a little skewed though due to poor Garmin satellite but definitely a lot faster than usual. The key could all lie in the sleep....

Sunday 22 November
    20 miles long slow run @ 9:38

Went really well despite a night of next to no sleep. Delighted with the splits today. Ran by feel and kept the effort very easy and relaxed. Did 4 loops of running up Chesterfield and down the North Road so did have a stiff enough breeze for that long stretch up the Avenue 4 times, but just relaxed into it and didn't let it bother me. Stunning day in the park and lovely running conditions but was glad to have long sleeved top on.
    Stopped twice briefly, once to pee after the first mile and once to have a quick drink half way through so no more than half a minute each time. Could easily have run another 6.2 miles at that pace at the end which would give me a big marathon pb. I feel very strong these days. Not necessarily very fast, but very strong. Legs felt great during and after the run. Body feels great in general!

Oh and my Garmin 305. I was worried it wouldn't last the distance today so I bought a Casio stopwatch in Argos to have as a backup today and wore it on the other wrist. It'll be handy for races too.
    It gave me a warning 2 hours into the run that the battery was low. Well lo and behold there wasn't a peep out of it again after that! Amazed by it. Really am. It's like it's been given a whole new lease of life with the recent soft reset.

63.7 miles weekly total

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Sunday 22 October
    20 miles long slow run @ 9:38

have run another 6.2 miles at that pace at the end which would give me a big marathon pb.

it would, and?? :D*

*stir stir

Firedance wrote: »
    it would, and?? :D*

*stir stir

ha ha and nothing! No racing marathons until DCM 2016!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Mod note: Any more reference to 'the watch' or 'there's life in the old dog' in any part of Athletics/Running, from anyone, then people will be taking a little break from A/R.

Well done on your 20 miler. Are you training for a marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Well done on your 20 miler. Are you training for a marathon?

Some base training if not, alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Wednesday 18 November
    8 miles easy @ 9:34

Look at what a day off does to Ososlo's easy pace! Woo hoo! My brother who's a runner says the secret lies in the rest days. Fecker rests a lot more than he runs but can still blast out a 1:23 half off a few very haphazard weeks of training.
    Great run this. Single days should only be 60ish mins but I listened very closely to my body and it was telling me very loudly that it wanted to run a bit further than the plan said, so I just did what I was told!
    Reached 2,000 miles for the year tonight according to my watch. I have done some watchless runs and races however so it's a bit higher than that in reality (20-30 miles). No fanfare or fireworks:), just me on me tod plodding about the streets of Dublin 9 in the cold and the wind and the wintery drissle. Bliss...

Thursday 19 October
    70 mins w/6x45 sec pickups @ 5k

The long strides session I normally do was on the cards but we rejigged a little as I only just did it at weekend and I want to save up loads of energy for the weekend's very long run so compromise was reached. Enjoyable. Passed Murph_D on the last mile looking very strong doing a MP session. Catch you the next time D.

So, where did you park the Delorean?

yaboya1 wrote: »
    So, where did you park the Delorean?

Oops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Ha, made yis look:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Ha, made yis look:D

Late Entry for post of the year???

pistol_75 wrote: »
    <snip>

Ah no P. Closed account:(:mad::mad::mad:
    Can't believe we've lost another great poster over something so ridiculous.
    You'll be missed. A lot:( Thanks for your support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

55763182.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

C'mon Dom....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Gavlor wrote: »
    C'mon Dom....

Crossed my legs when I opened that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    55763182.jpg

If we can find where she parked the Delorean, we can go back to yesterday and find out :)

Bloody freezin tonight! It was 'colder than a gut-shot bitch wolf dog with nine sucking pups dragging a No. 4 trap up a hill in the dead of a winter in a snowstorm with a mouthful of porcupine quills.' Tom Waits anyone?

I was going to post on the thread about being bored with boards, and how I was going to give it up, and then you restore my faith in the younger generation by mentioning this guy:).

Don't you dare go anywhere.

What's not to love https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AayN7lwNyRM

Saw him in Phoenix Park in 2008.

ps love Kentucky Avenue. Sad and beautiful.