If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Gavlor wrote: »
    You forgot to mention the fact that she's only a girl.

ha ha good effort but not personal enough:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Ososlo wrote: »
    I think we need my ma on the management team. She can ring me every day and tell me how useless and slow I am and I'll go from strength to strength:D
    All's back to normal in the world of Ososlo:D

:) So funny! My dad asked me recently if I was doing the marathon this year. when I said 'no', her said 'Ah, good, I knew it was a bit much for you.'
    Red rag to a bull! I began to think maybe I WOULD do it after all! (I won't though, I'm determined not to, but more than anything else it made me want to.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

HelenAnne wrote: »
    :) So funny! My dad asked me recently if I was doing the marathon this year. when I said 'no', her said 'Ah, good, I knew it was a bit much for you.'
    Red rag to a bull! I began to think maybe I WOULD do it after all! (I won't though, I'm determined not to, but more than anything else it made me want to.)

Must be something about Dads ! If I mention running he tells me about the 4 people he knows who died running ! It starts like this: did I tell you about the boy 'x' - he dropped dead while running - heart exploded - and the boy 'y' .... you get the picture. I only told him I was doing my first marathon two days beforehand and ran for cover :rolleyes:

kit3 wrote: »
    Must be something about Dads ! If I mention running he tells me about the 4 people he knows who died running ! It starts like this: did I tell you about the boy 'x' - he dropped dead while running - heart exploded - and the boy 'y' .... you get the picture. I only told him I was doing my first marathon two days beforehand and ran for cover :rolleyes:

Mine used to run marathons himself, and is very encouraging to my husband running them, he just thinks I'm useless at them :).

ha ha I know the feeling. I think my mother must be secretly reading Boards. She knows it all now:rolleyes:. The latest is: 'listen to your body':confused: Where the feck is she getting that from:confused:
    Ah she's the best mother in the world really:D

What are your plans for the year HelenAnne?

Sunday 17 June
    35 mins recovery

For once I have nothing to say about a run:p 'Cause I can't remember anything about it!
    Weekly total: circa 30 miles

Monday 18 June
    45 mins easy :rolleyes:

Nice break in the sunshine so headed out for an easy one. Ear phones in, enjoyable little plod, saving all the energies for the harder stuff so.. la-dee-da easy breezy... Until... I hear this 'mind if I run with you?' beside me. Sure what can you say? No? Can't really do that. I don't have it in me to be very rude (believe it or not!) Had to go with it. I just don't like running with people. I'm a bit of a misanthropic runner but happy with it.

Told him I was slow (not Ososlo:D) and just doing an easy run and he was 'oh that's no problem, I'm happy to just jog for a bit with you'. Couldn't shake him off:rolleyes:
    Interesting guy all the same. Got all his pbs and vital statistics within 20 mins - sub 16 min 5k time, he's 50 now so his auldfella pb time is 18ish. Currently 5k training so we had a lot in common (except for the speed of course).
    Meanwhile, the pace was getting faster and faster and we were going uphill and running on uneven terrain and the pace ended up like a tempo run. Much too fast for me for an easy run anyway:( I was happy enough to listen to him prattle on but didn't want to answer any questions 'cause he was running too fast:(
    So it's confirmed once again, I'm just a very unsociable runner. I much prefer running on my own. Not one for the ole 'chat an run'.
    Then when I stopped running I could feel something pulling at the back of my knee:eek:. EMERGENCY AIS SESSION to the rescue and I think everything's ok. I hadn't warmed up for this faster run and stopped to a halt to get rid of "Mr. Sociable":( Feels ok now, fingers crossed.
    Lesson for the day: Learn to be rude! Just say NO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Sunday 17 June
    35 mins recovery

For once I have nothing to say about a run:p 'Cause I can't remember anything about it!

Monday 18 June

Nice break in the sunshine so headed out for an easy one. Ear phones in, enjoyable little plod, saving all the energies for the harder stuff so.. la-dee-da easy breezy... Until... I hear this 'mind if I run with you?' beside me. Sure what can you say? No? Can't really do that. I don't have it in me to be very rude (believe it or not!) Had to go with it. I just don't like running with people. I'm a bit of a misanthropic runner but happy with it.

Told him I was slow (not Ososlo:D) and just doing an easy run and he was 'oh that's no problem, I'm happy to just jog for a bit with you'. Couldn't shake him off:rolleyes:
    Interesting guy all the same. Got all his pbs and vital statistics within 20 mins - sub 16 min 5k time, he's 50 now so his auldfella pb time is 18ish. Currently 5k training so we had a lot in common (except for the speed of course).
    Meanwhile, the pace was getting faster and faster and we were going uphill and running on uneven terrain and the pace ended up like a tempo run. Much too fast for me for an easy run anyway:( I was happy enough to listen to him prattle on but didn't want to answer any questions 'cause he was running too fast:(
    So it's confirmed once again, I'm just a very unsociable runner. I much prefer running on my own. Not one for the ole 'chat an run'.
    Then when I stopped running I could feel something pulling at the back of my knee:eek:. EMERGENCY AIS SESSION to the rescue and I think everything's ok. I hadn't warmed up for this faster run and stopped to a halt to get rid of "Mr. Sociable":( Feels ok now, fingers crossed.

Are you sure it wasn't stazza!!:D

Now that would be weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Jeez...you sure do attract them Ososlo! :)

RedRunner wrote: »
    Jeez...you sure do attract them Ososlo! :)

It's been eventful of late that's for sure. He was a nice man though, not sleazy at all, just too fast and chatty for me:)

ha ha I know the feeling. I think my mother must be secretly reading Boards. She knows it all now:rolleyes:. The latest is: 'listen to your body':confused: Where the feck is she getting that from:confused:
    Ah she's the best mother in the world really:D

What are your plans for the year HelenAnne?

My plans are to do the race series up to half marathon, and hopefully get back to where I was before last year's marathon training for all distances, but esp 5 & 10k.

Hope I am getting there - ran 2-miles in 4 secs off my PB last week, so was happy with that.

Well done on all your sessions!

Sunday 17 June
    35 mins recovery

Monday 18 June

I think I met him in Clontarf! In his 50s, 18 min 5ker! Is he generally a 5k runner but currently also training for two half marathons with relatives? If so, he ran with me a week or so ago (also just asked if he could). He was v nice! (I love running with others though, I'm definitely a chatty runner).

My plans are to do the race series up to half marathon, and hopefully get back to where I was before last year's marathon training for all distances, but esp 5 & 10k.

Hope I am getting there - ran 2-miles in 4 secs off my PB last week, so was happy with that.

Well done on all your sessions!

Thanks and well done with the 2 mile pb! Good luck with the plans and expect to see your name on the wimmen's roundnumber leaderboard again over the coming months!

I think I met him in Clontarf! In his 50s, 18 min 5ker! Is he generally a 5k runner but currently also training for two half marathons with relatives? If so, he ran with me a week or so ago (also just asked if he could). He was v nice! (I love running with others though, I'm definitely a chatty runner).

Ha ha that's funny could be same fella alright! He was lovely alright but his pace might suit you a bit better ;)

Thanks and well done with the 2 mile pb! Good luck with the plans and expect to see your name on the wimmen's leaderboard again over the coming months!

I think I'm a bit off that board still. I can do the 5-mile (the easiest one) but the others are a bit out of reach, I think.

You're not too far off the 5 k from what I remember and with the specific 5k and 10k training I'd say you'll do it sooner rather than later. Will you do another marathon in the future do you think?
    I'll wait until dcm next year at the very least I think.

You're not too far off the 5 k from what I remember and with the specific 5k and 10k training I'd say you'll do it sooner rather than later. Will you do another marathon in the future do you think?
    I'll wait until dcm next year at the very least I think.

I ran 20.54 in Malahide parkrun the week before last, so I've a bit to go, but I'd love to break 20 this year.

I think I'll do DCM 2015. My friend -- kyomi on boards, but she doesn't post much -- wants to do it then too, so we can train together, so see you there :).

I am leaving a tiny chink of possibility open that I might do DCM 2014, but I almost definitely won't. I'll do the long runs with the marathon people though, just to build my mileage up. I'd also love to do the Paris marathon sometime, and maybe an American one.

I ran 20.54 in Malahide parkrun the week before last, so I've a bit to go, but I'd love to break 20 this year.

I think I'll do DCM 2015. My friend -- kyomi on boards, but she doesn't post much -- wants to do it then too, so we can train together, so see you there :).

I am leaving a tiny chink of possibility open that I might do DCM 2014, but I almost definitely won't. I'll do the long runs with the marathon people though, just to build my mileage up. I'd also love to do the Paris marathon sometime, and maybe an American one.

Bet you can do it before the year's out. My ambition is to someday get on the roundnumbers table:o probably for the 5 miler (or maybe the beer mile if they include it!). It's a long long long long way off.................. I'll probably die trying, but at least if I did it and then died I'd die happily enough:D
    Well good luck with your summer of training and all those long training runs! I remember you left it 'till quite late last year to make up your mind about DCM too so I won't be totally surprised if you throw your hat in!

Bet you can do it before the year's out. My ambition is to someday get on the table:o probably for the 5 miler (or maybe the beer mile if they include it!). It's a long long long long way off.................. I'll probably die trying, but at least if I did it and then died I'd die happily enough:D
    Well good luck with your summer of training and all those long training runs! I remember you left it 'till quite late last year to make up your mind about DCM too so I won't be totally surprised if you throw your hat in!

you're getting so much faster, AND you have the base and the endurance, so you should have a go at the half marathon time. I think it's quite doable if you have the staying power, which you definitely have.

Jaysus you're getting WAY ahead of yourself there:D but thanks!

Tuesday 24 June
    Rest. Didn't sleep and felt dreadful all day so nothing to be gained by a plod.

Wednesday 25 June
    45 mins easy.
    Lovely run in the warm summer rain, just how I like it. Easy pace was just under 10 min/mile putting no real effort in at all, so that feels like progress. Never look at the watch for these runs and don't care how slow they are. They're all about keeping the legs fresh and ticking over until the next hard workout.
    Went for dinner and didn't drink even though all around me were! I'm really surprising myself with my dedication to the cause these days!

Thursday 26 June
    45 mins easy with 8 x 25 sec strides

Felt a bit more tired than yesterday due to insufficient winks last night but enjoyable all the same. Fun throwing in the strides to spice up the fourth mile a bit. And I'm feelin' good..
    I DID IT! A post with no smilies!

Tuesday 24 June
    Rest. Didn't sleep and felt dreadful all day so nothing to be gained by a plod.

Wednesday 25 June
    45 mins easy.
    Lovely run in the warm summer rain, just how I like it. Easy pace was just under 10 min/mile putting no real effort in at all, so that feels like progress. Never look at the watch for these runs and don't care how slow they are. They're all about keeping the legs fresh and ticking over until the next hard workout.
    Went for dinner and didn't drink even though all around me were! I'm really surprising myself with my dedication to the cause these days!

Thursday 26 June
    45 mins easy with 8 x 25 sec strides

Felt a bit more tired than yesterday due to insufficient winks last night but enjoyable all the same. Fun throwing in the strides to spice up the fourth mile a bit. And I'm feelin' good..
    I DID IT! A post with no smilies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

You running Kilcock tomorrow evening?

tang1 wrote: »
    You running Kilcock tomorrow evening?

No..stuff came up.
    Did you not hear, I'm turning to the track:D
    Something coming up soon...

Friday 27 June
    Rest

Terrible sleep Thursday night so was a bit all over the place in the morning. Slipped on a soap spillage in the bathroom at work (wearing heels I hadn't worn in a while) and landed on my right knee and then went onto my right glute/hip. My face missed the marble sink by 2 inches so I was very lucky not to do some serious damage. Filing incident report, took some pictures of it and hopefully if I need physio I can get it covered by work. Very very painful initially and I'll admit it, I did almost cry but once I picked myself up off the floor it wasn't too bad. Assessed the damage.
    Knee was sore and marked and felt very bruised and was throbbing for the day and very hot, but it didn't seem to be changing my gait too much. Phew.
    Decided not to run that day and just rest up but was very worried about it as due to race Sunday.

Saturday 28 June

Leg didn't bother me in the night and slept well. However, knee gone black and blue and when I got out of bed it was sore with the impact of each footstep. No pain, just soreness. Side of right glute/hip also a bit bruised and sore throughout the day. Oh what to do.... First race of the year tomorrow and this has to happen. Great timing:rolleyes: Foam rolled everything well. Went for 25 min tester run fearing the worst. The impact of each step on the ground caused soreness but not pain and I didn't feel that my form was being impeded. Did a few 10 second pickups and hurt a little more. Oh what to do:confused:.. Iced a good bit during the day. Looked up some other races to do instead but I really want to get the first one out of the way asap. Made up my mind to do the race unless things got really bad in the next 12 hours. Spent the day worrying.

On a side note, I'm recording some very low resting heart rates in the past few days. When I'm fit, like in the midst of marathon training last year it's in the early 50s. The last few days it's been consistently 46/47 last thing at night and first thing in the morning. barryoneill50's rhr - watch out!
    30 mins easy

Sunday 29 June
    Race 1 following 15 Week 5k Training Programme
    Funlavin 5k - DNF

Woke up and the glute was quite sore but the knee had calmed down a lot and swelling gone down a lot. It's now a lovely mixture of black and green!
    Did some foam rolling (really relieves the glute discomfort) and some AIS and things felt a good bit better so decided to give the race a shot. Wasn't feeling very confident due to the recent incident so tried not to put too much pressure on myself and as I'm going to do another race next weekend anyway, thought to myself that today can just be a test run.

I really didn't know what pace I'd be capable of holding for this. I always had 7:40 pace in mind as that was the target for my 1600s and my recent 400s would suggest that I should be able to do around 23:50 today. So I decided to go out at 7:40 and see how that felt and what might be realistic after that.

Did a 2 mile warmup with the last 3 mins around 8:45 pace and 5 x 15 second strides. Was roasting hot by the time the warmup was done. I might have done a tad too much considering the heat as the sweat was really pouring off me. I really don't handle heat well and wasn't prepared for the sun beaming down as it had been quite overcast the last few days. We were waiting around for ages for the start, about 20-25 mins I'd say so I felt the benefit of my warmup was gone as it was so long ago at that point.

Mile 1: 7:40 - bang on and felt good (first k was done in 7:20 pace which was WAY too fast for me).
    Mile 2: it all started to go wrong. Could feel the glute nagging at me a bit but that wasn't the real problem. I was just way too hot and sweating way too much and my breathing was way too hard. Really struggling badly and mentally not in a good place. Mile 2 felt like mile 3 should have when one is really badly mentally struggling but one manages to push on through as there's only a mile to go. Pace creeping up to 8min/mile wtf? Mile 2 came in around 8:10 pace (too depressed to look at the watch stats but I think it was something around that pace).
    I just lost heart at that point and mentally opted out of the race as I felt at the time it was pointless to continue as I was so badly off target pace.
    So, I made the irreversible and detrimental decision to hit stop on the watch :(Idiot:mad: (around 3 mins into mile 3 I think and pace hovering around 8:18 afaicr)

In hindsight I should have completed it as I still would have managed a one minute pb and maybe better if I had found some extra mental strength somewhere. Took my chip off and jogged back to the finish.
    Didn't pick up my water or banana or go to the hall or anything as I didn't feel I deserved it due to not finishing the race and really wasn't in the mood. My very kind bf dealt with the situation impeccably, giving just the right amount of sympathy (not too much as I hate it!) and some very gentle encouragement about why I shouldn't give up on this 5k malarky and jump into marathon training or take up darts...

I'm not going to beat myself up over it anymore (I did plenty of that for a few hours after the race) as it's my first go at a race in 6 months and I was really just using it as a tester to see where I'm at. The accident on Friday put me in a very negative frame of mind going into this race and I wasn't even sure I'd be able to run until this morning. However, I'm not using the accident as an excuse for how poorly I did as I don't think it had too much of an impact physically. It was nagging at me a bit but not painful.
    I'm looking forward to getting in another 5k next week and I'll keep plugging away at them every week/fortnight until I do something decent.
    SH!T HAPPENS.

Lessons learned:
    - I went off too fast but I really didn't know what I'd be capable of as I said above so it's a learning experience for me. I should have started at 7:50 pace perhaps or even slower. I've a lot to learn about race strategy and my capabilities and that learning process started today.
    It hurts to say this, but perhaps I'm less fit than I think I am so need to be more realistic about my goals. In saying that, I truly did think I'd be capable of 7:40 pace today, I really did. I've visited the 'pain cave' so many times in training at this stage that I feel I'm quite familiar with being there - but maybe not quite 'comfortable' enough being in there. I thought that running at that pace in a race should feel easier than banging out these reps on my own but it didn't feel like that today. It felt harder.

- I should have finished the damn thing even though I wasn't on target to hit my desired goal. That mentality of just 'giving up' as things aren't going my way is not going to get me anywhere. As TbL said in jest:confused: on my log recently, I'm just not 'mentally tough enough'. YET TbL YET
    - I should have done the beer mile as my first race of the year. Guaranteed first female and a national title. That would have set me up nicely for the rest of the racing season:)
    - I should have rung my mother this morning for some negative "pep-talking". This is the greatest mistake I made:eek: If anyone ever needs her number to get all fired up to pb, just pm me:) She's great!

pm
    5 mile Consolation/Stupid Girl Run. Ran my guts off to get rid of some of my frustration. This was a Progression Run in reverse order. I was really upset setting off so just blasted the first few miles and then got steadily slower and slower. Realised I hadn't eaten anything since my breakfast at 8 this morning and had drunk very little and it was roasting so felt like fainting. Glute hurting a little now so hopefully I didn't do any damage but sometimes one's gotta just run for the hell of it.

Ever wish you didn't have a log?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Hard luck today, the fall at work impacted you regardless if you dont want to use it as an excuse. Its a learning experience, 5k is a bitch of a distance to judge pace wise and take many attempts to get it right.

Put it down to another lesson learnt, forget about it and move on. You'll be back twice as prepared and ready next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

tang1 wrote: »
    Hard luck today, the fall at work impacted you regardless if you dont want to use it as an excuse. Its a learning experience, 5k is a bitch of a distance to judge pace wise and take many attempts to get it right.

Put it down to another lesson learnt, forget about it and move on. You'll be back twice as prepared and ready next time.

Big + 1 to all of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

Hard luck, that's a tough break, but in fairness to you, you've the work done. So wait until your 100% and have another crack at it, don't worry about today just take experience from it and move on. Keep the faith!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Agreed. And lots of credit due for even toeing the line!

You are as tough as they come girl.
    Now make sure that knee is ok and away ya go again. I had a very bad race in clontarf last year and I was absolutely gutted. In hindsight it was the best thing that happened me as I used it for motivation. I know you are not into football but a while back Macedonia beat Ireland, and from then on mick McCarthy made the worst player in trainning wear a Macedonia Jersey, which I thought was genius. On a last run before a race I wear the t-shirt I got that day in clontarf and I say to myself I won't have another clontarf. So use this race for motivation, don't have another funlavin........
    Friday 27 June
    Rest

Terrible sleep Thursday night so was a bit all over the place in the morning. Slipped on a soap spillage in the bathroom at work (wearing heels I hadn't worn in a while) and landed on my right knee and then went onto my right glute/hip. My face missed the marble sink by 2 inches so I was very lucky not to do some serious damage. Filing incident report, took some pictures of it and hopefully if I need physio I can get it covered by work. Very very painful initially and I'll admit it, I did almost cry but once I picked myself up off the floor it wasn't too bad. Assessed the damage.
    Knee was sore and marked and felt very bruised and was throbbing for the day and very hot, but it didn't seem to be changing my gait too much. Phew.
    Decided not to run that day and just rest up but was very worried about it as due to race Sunday.

Saturday 28 June

Leg didn't bother me in the night and slept well. However, knee gone black and blue and when I got out of bed it was sore with the impact of each footstep. No pain, just soreness. Side of right glute/hip also a bit bruised and sore throughout the day. Oh what to do.... First race of the year tomorrow and this has to happen. Great timing:rolleyes: Foam rolled everything well. Went for 25 min tester run fearing the worst. The impact of each step on the ground caused soreness but not pain and I didn't feel that my form was being impeded. Did a few 10 second pickups and hurt a little more. Oh what to do:confused:.. Iced a good bit during the day. Looked up some other races to do instead but I really want to get the first one out of the way asap. Made up my mind to do the race unless things got really bad in the next 12 hours. Spent the day worrying.

On a side note, I'm recording some very low resting heart rates in the past few days. When I'm fit, like in the midst of marathon training last year it's in the early 50s. The last few days it's been consistently 46/47 last thing at night and first thing in the morning. barryoneill50's rhr - watch out!
    30 mins easy

Sunday 29 June
    Race 1 following 15 Week 5k Training Programme
    Funlavin 5k - DNF

Woke up and the glute was quite sore but the knee had calmed down a lot and swelling gone down a lot. It's now a lovely mixture of black and green!
    Did some foam rolling (really relieves the glute discomfort) and some AIS and things felt a good bit better so decided to give the race a shot. Wasn't feeling very confident due to the recent incident so tried not to put too much pressure on myself and as I'm going to do another race next weekend anyway, thought to myself that today can just be a test run.

I really didn't know what pace I'd be capable of holding for this. I always had 7:40 pace in mind as that was the target for my 1600s and my recent 400s would suggest that I should be able to do around 23:50 today. So I decided to go out at 7:40 and see how that felt and what might be realistic after that.

Did a 2 mile warmup with the last 3 mins around 8:45 pace and 5 x 15 second strides. Was roasting hot by the time the warmup was done. I might have done a tad too much considering the heat as the sweat was really pouring off me. I really don't handle heat well and wasn't prepared for the sun beaming down as it had been quite overcast the last few days. We were waiting around for ages for the start, about 20-25 mins I'd say so I felt the benefit of my warmup was gone as it was so long ago at that point.

Mile 1: 7:40 - bang on and felt good (first k was done in 7:20 pace which was WAY too fast for me).
    Mile 2: it all started to go wrong. Could feel the glute nagging at me a bit but that wasn't the real problem. I was just way too hot and sweating way too much and my breathing was way too hard. Really struggling badly and mentally not in a good place. Mile 2 felt like mile 3 should have when one is really badly mentally struggling but one manages to push on through as there's only a mile to go. Pace creeping up to 8min/mile wtf? Mile 2 came in around 8:10 pace (too depressed to look at the watch stats but I think it was something around that pace).
    I just lost heart at that point and mentally opted out of the race as I felt at the time it was pointless to continue as I was so badly off target pace.
    So, I made the irreversible and detrimental decision to hit stop on the watch :(Idiot:mad: (around 3 mins into mile 3 I think and pace hovering around 8:18 afaicr)

In hindsight I should have completed it as I still would have managed a one minute pb and maybe better if I had found some extra mental strength somewhere. Took my chip off and jogged back to the finish.
    Didn't pick up my water or banana or go to the hall or anything as I didn't feel I deserved it due to not finishing the race and really wasn't in the mood. My very kind bf dealt with the situation impeccably, giving just the right amount of sympathy (not too much as I hate it!) and some very gentle encouragement about why I shouldn't give up on this 5k malarky and jump into marathon training or take up darts...

I'm not going to beat myself up over it anymore (I did plenty of that for a few hours after the race) as it's my first go at a race in 6 months and I was really just using it as a tester to see where I'm at. The accident on Friday put me in a very negative frame of mind going into this race and I wasn't even sure I'd be able to run until this morning. However, I'm not using the accident as an excuse for how poorly I did as I don't think it had too much of an impact physically. It was nagging at me a bit but not painful.
    I'm looking forward to getting in another 5k next week and I'll keep plugging away at them every week/fortnight until I do something decent.
    SH!T HAPPENS.

Lessons learned:
    - I went off too fast but I really didn't know what I'd be capable of as I said above so it's a learning experience for me. I should have started at 7:50 pace perhaps or even slower. I've a lot to learn about race strategy and my capabilities and that learning process started today.
    It hurts to say this, but perhaps I'm less fit than I think I am so need to be more realistic about my goals. In saying that, I truly did think I'd be capable of 7:40 pace today, I really did. I've visited the 'pain cave' so many times in training at this stage that I feel I'm quite familiar with being there - but maybe not quite 'comfortable' enough being in there. I thought that running at that pace in a race should feel easier than banging out these reps on my own but it didn't feel like that today. It felt harder.

- I should have finished the damn thing even though I wasn't on target to hit my desired goal. That mentality of just 'giving up' as things aren't going my way is not going to get me anywhere. As TbL said in jest:confused: on my log recently, I'm just not 'mentally tough enough'. YET TbL YET
    - I should have done the beer mile as my first race of the year. Guaranteed first female and a national title. That would have set me up nicely for the rest of the racing season:)
    - I should have rung my mother this morning for some negative "pep-talking". This is the greatest mistake I made:eek: If anyone ever needs her number to get all fired up to pb, just pm me:) She's great!

pm
    5 mile Consolation/Stupid Girl Run. Ran my guts off to get rid of some of my frustration. This was a Progression Run in reverse order. I was really upset setting off so just blasted the first few miles and then got steadily slower and slower. Realised I hadn't eaten anything since my breakfast at 8 this morning and had drunk very little and it was roasting so felt like fainting. Glute hurting a little now so hopefully I didn't do any damage but sometimes one's gotta just run for the hell of it.

Ever wish you didn't have a log?