Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone watch Speed With Guy Martin.....

• 19-12-2013 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭

A bit early to add to the Sky+ but Guy Martin has a new series out called "Speed". One of the episodes he tries to break the British cycle speed record on a weird enough looking bike. I like Guy Martin's presenting style so should be good!

DSCN7292-800x600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

A bit early to add to the Sky+ but Guy Martin has a new series out called "Speed". One of the episodes he tries to break the British cycle speed record on a weird enough looking bike. I like Guy Martin's presenting style so should be good!

DSCN7292-800x600.jpg

No drop bars or aero bars? Wide tyres? Interesting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

No drop bars or aero bars? Wide tyres? Interesting..

He seems to be doing the attempt in a slipstream so doesn't need aero.

"Guy recruits an unlikely team made up of a truck racer, an Olympic gold medallist, a bicycle builder and a design engineer more used to working on next-generation military aircraft. Together they work out how to modify a 1000-horsepower racing lorry to create a large enough slipstream for Guy to cycle in, and build a unique bicycle gearing system capable of triple-figure speeds.

As he lines up at Pendine Sands in Wales – the scene of Sir Malcolm Campbell’s historic land speed record attempts in Bluebird – it is without question the most dangerous thing this Isle of Man TT racer has ever done. ."

Some more pics here

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Similar to Fred's setup

Wereldrecord_fiets.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

He seems to be doing the attempt in a slipstream so doesn't need aero.

Cheating, got it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭inc21

He badly need's haircut and a shave I think. Even in slipstream at that speed he's facial hair is going to rip his face off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Hate to get stuck at a red light on that yoke. I struggle to start off in the big ring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

detones wrote: »
    Hate to get stuck at a red light on that yoke. I struggle to start off in the big ring!
    I'm thinking about the lights at the church on the village side of Howth! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

DSCN7292-800x600.jpg

He really needs the help of coach, champ and all around good guy David LeGrys:

Still going strong too, despite at least one brush with death.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

LeGrys setting the UK speed record on the M42 (presumably before it was opened!!) at 110mph

road%20record%20attempt.jpg

Beasty wrote: »
    LeGrys setting the UK speed record on the M42 (presumably before it was opened!!) at 110mph

road%20record%20attempt.jpg

SD1's all over

It looks like they shut the M42 specially for that attempt, can't see that happening these days... I wonder if they'll shut the M50 for me so I can have a lash. Between the N2 and N3 it's slightly downhill and if I can get a tail wind...
    Well if you offer the appropriate authority enough cash (enough to take a big chunk of the national debt off say) then anything's possible ;)

They only completed the M42 in 1989 - can't see they would have closed it for this - I presume it was done on a new section before it was opened

Well if you offer the appropriate authority enough cash (enough to take a big chunk of the national debt off say) then anything's possible ;)

They only completed the M42 in 1989 - can't see they would have closed it for this - I presume it was done on a new section before it was opened

I might be wrong (it's not rare :D), just looked like cars following him and others waiting to go at the end.

All cars following him were Rover SD1s though. Bit of a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

on C4 tonight.

Cycling at over 100mph for a flat mile.

Thats MPH, not KPH.

Makes my 70kph odd down a hill pretty meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Excellent show, some bike and some truck, proper big boys toys there.

Watching it now on 4Seven. Thanks OP

inc21 wrote: »
    Watching it now on 4Seven. Thanks OP

Is it on there already? 4Seven just seems to be 4+2 at times.

Was watching it on 4+1 my self.

Available here

Dave LeGrys has already said he wants the record back, and is looking for sponsors ...

I've moved related posts from the off-topic thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

guy martin is a legend in motorbiking circles. the guy (haha) is just a breath of fresh air. Met him a few years ago when he was racing the motorbike in skerries. proper nutjob.

Why did they do it on sand? Surely there is 3 mile long straight bit of road in UK

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Why did they do it on sand? Surely there is 3 mile long straight bit of road in UK

This. It seemed like the hardest way to do it.

He is also mental. Entertaining but full on proper mental! His reaction to becoming a missile at 170mph at the TT was hilarious-didn't knock a hop off him, even in the hospital bed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

It's on the 4OD section on the sky 'on-demand' on the sky box for anyone interested.
    Good watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Road closures are much more difficult to obtain in GB than in Ireland (north or south). Hence the lack of road racing and all rallies being held in forests.

Still seems odd though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Just watched it there, that was really good. My flatmate and I were glued to it (he likes his engineering stuff).

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

It's not just any road though - Le Grys set the record the day before they opened the M42 - you don't get new motorway openings very often nowadays. I'm also guessing there must be some stipulation regarding how flat the course is.

It may well be easier to get a road closure over here - I might even make the suggestion to Le Grys if he does decide to take it on again;)

Fair play to him anyway. For somebody not cycling for living, to go that fast is impressive.

That's why I think Le Grys will go for the record again. With the same sort of support (and on tarmac, or salt flats) I think he'll hammer the record (even though he's in his late 50s now - he's still a class rider). His previous record was set with what looks like a much less efficient drafting system than Guy Martin was able to take advantage of

Any footage about Le Grys record attempt?

Found that alright ^^^
    Is there any backstory for him, same kind of way Guy had it. It would be interesting to watch and compare the two.

The only "back" story is he broke his in a tandem crash at the 1978 Commonwealth Games which effectively finished his track career

He turned pro for a while then set up as a coach. However he made a return to track cycling with the World Masters winning numerous golds over the years. He remains a top track cycling coach

All edited now.
    Story about his back, very interesting also unfortunate. Thanks Beasty

Still seems odd though

I was surprised too. I thought there would be too much drag from the sand. However, I don't think there would be any road in NI suitable for the attempt and they probably wanted to do it on the 'mainland'.

The lack of road closure legislation in GB is how the IOM TT came about. The GB Rally is always held in forests whereas when the WRC came to Ireland it was held on closed public roads. Although I'm sure there are exceptions, if Rally GB can't get a road closure order then I doubt if C4 and Guy Martin would be able to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I assume they wanted to do the record in Great Britain and as NI isn't technically GB (it's United Kingdom). You'd like to think that they would be accommodated on a motorway at 3am.

Another 10km/h easily on smooth black stuff

I assume they wanted to do the record in Great Britain and as NI isn't technically GB (it's United Kingdom). You'd like to think that they would be accommodated on a motorway at 3am.
    Don't think I've ever heard of a motorway being closed in GB for a sporting event - may even need a special act of Parliament. Even then the motoring lobby would be up in arms about it. Virtually all GB motorways have traffic (particlarly articulated trucks making deliveries) through the night - closing them for repairs/upgrades is difficult enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

Befor I started cycling I raced supersports 600's in Mondello and have followed Guy for a long long time. He's a brilliant character and is extremely entertaining to watch. Rest of the series should be very good if last nights episode is anything to go by.

Don't think I've ever heard of a motorway being closed in GB for a sporting event

London marathon?

Edit: Ah that's not on motorways... :)

London marathon?

Edit: Ah that's not on motorways... :)
    Actually I think they do close a short section of inner-city motorway in Newcastle for the Great North Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

ah balls. Anyone know when its being repeated?

i cant steam things, at all, stupid 1mb connection

Just watched this and it was entertaining alright. However as a physical feat I'd really wonder how impressive this was. Guys own test results as an athlete were average. I suppose the impressive part would be the balls it takes to do this. However I'd summise that most Amateur racing cyclist could physically do this if they were brave/mad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Just watched this and it was entertaining alright. However as a physical feat I'd really wonder how impressive this was. Guys own test results as an athlete were average. I suppose the impressive part would be the balls it takes to do this. However I'd summise that most Amateur racing cyclist could physically do this if they were brave/mad enough.

I wonder though ?
    Guy Martin would have a fairly high level of latent fitness anyway.
    I'd say that the real key to this is his natural bike handling(from the motorbikes) and most importantly his complete lack of fear.
    Sure a good amateur cyclist would give it a go but you could say the same about downhill racing.
    Sure how hard is it to just sit up on a bike and let it go down the side of a mountain?:D

Vizzy wrote: »
    I wonder though ?
    I'd say that the real key to this is his natural bike handling(from the motorbikes) and most importantly his complete lack of fear.
    Sure a good amateur cyclist would give it a go but you could say the same about downhill racing.
    Sure how hard is it to just sit up on a bike and let it go down the side of a mountain?:D

I thought it was better to crouch down right over the cross bar.

Although the speed wobble at just under 80km was enough for me to add a little extra pressure to the brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Im involved in organising rallys in the UK. They can close a road for events like the London surrey bike ride and the Tour of Britian but the traffic laws stay in place. So speed limits still apply.

They can close roads in Scotland as they run a rally up there on public roads.

A funny story is that Wales rally GB ran a 200 metre section of road in 2008 and a tick arse of a cop sat at the end with a speed gun. He caught all the top guys at about 90MPH. They all landed for the event in 2009 and most were hauled into court and banned for a year but thankfully he did it inclusive of when they did it so were able to take part in the event.

The roads in the UK are alot more busy than the Republic. No chance of closing a motorway these days.

Vizzy wrote: »
    I wonder though ?

To be honest it all just seemed a bit easy. The edited show over an hour probably didn't help but it just seemed to happen without any real drama. Quick bit of training on a turbo hop on the tarmac for a test and he already hits over 100. Then for the actual run on sand the same thing. There was no real sacrifice or hardship to achieve this, no big failures were he picked himself back up again. No real moments where he thought he'd never do it. I suppose the show gave us no real concept of time passes though.

No, they briefly mentioned he had five months to prepare. I think the bit where he's told he has average fitness does make it seem like anyone could have a crack at it.

Note to everyone:

This Sunday @ 8:00pm on C4 the second episode in this series will be shown:
    Guy attempts to set the world record for riding a motorcycle on the surface of water.

With the help of a Cambridge professor and a team of marine engineers, Guy's stunt hinges on Sir Isaac Newton's Third Law of Motion: that every action has an equal and opposite reaction.

If he can maintain enough speed on his bike, the 250-year-old theory says he should be able to achieve the seemingly impossible: to ride on water.

The team master the engineering on the back wheel and the extra fittings on the bike to enable it to skim across the surface of a lake.

Crashing is inevitable, so Guy endures a rigorous training schedule, trying to escape underwater from a submersion rig and then conducting a series of dizzying trial runs, hitting the water at 30mph head first.

The final record attempt takes place at Bala Lake in Snowdonia - which is so deep a 10-storey building could be submerged in it - with Guy surrounded by an army of rescue teams and emergency divers.

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/speed-with-guy-martin/episode-guide