Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When (what date) will you take down your Christmas tree/decorations?

• 29-12-2013 8:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭

Three houses close to us have already taken down their spectacular Christmas light displays, which have been up since the beginning of December. But isn't the 6th of January (Epiphany/Little Christmas) the traditional night to take them down? The twelve days of Christmas start on Christmas day and end on the 6th of January.

When do you take your lights, tree & decorations down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I assume you mean the 6th of January. I don't have any to take down because I didn't put any up, didnt see the point, I don't have any kids and I hate cleaning and tidying so wh would I make more work for myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I don't put any up

Commercialist ****e.

It's a scam by the ESB so the buggers can earn a few bob off the fairy lights and burn some of us in our beds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I took mine down in 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

January 6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

On St. Knut's Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

whenever I feel like it between now and the end of the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Prob Tues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

January 6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭muirsheen

New Years Day, they are annoying me already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Whenever i sober up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

LordSutch wrote: »
    Three houses close to us have already taken down their spectacular Christmas light displays, which have been up since the beginning of December. But isn't the 6th of January (Epiphany/Little Christmas) the traditional night to take them down? The twelve days of Christmas start on Christmas day and end on the 6th of January.

When do you take your lights, tree & decorations down?

ASAP. Stoopid fukkin' things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭kirb42

Now if I could...won't happen though, wife and daughter love them...

I have discovered this though, Christmas begins kicks in around the start of November, ends then early Jan, that's 2 months or so, of every year...therefore If I live until I'm 90 years of age,and hopefully I do... I will have spent a solid 15 years of my life celebrating the Christmas spirit....Marketing as it's best....

I feel so sad when they come down, I love Christmas. I hate knowing it's going to be around 11 months before I can put my sparkly stuff up again.

I'll take them down at the weekend when I get back, I'll be too busy the week after. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

7th of January. Won't miss them, didn't get the whole Christmas spirit thing this year, no matter how much I drank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

we're leaving ours up -it'll save an hour or two next december.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I already have my easter tree up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

6th or 7th of January. They only went up on the 17th of December. Tree goes into storage fully decorated, couldn't be bothered trying to take all the lights off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

On New Year's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I'll probably start on Sunday 5th January, but that's because I will have help with the bigger items that day.

I love christmas, and all the gaiety and brightness the tree and decorations bring, and just can't see why some people bother at all when they are putting their decorations up on 21/12 and taking them down on 26/12. Such a waste of time and money. Why do they bother at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When it turns colour, then I'll ring the tree hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Ah, she'll take them down when she's good and ready I suppose. As long as she doesn't wake me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

January 7th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

the 7th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

Taken down tonight, place hoovered floors washed.. it was a hard enough task... it's all ahead of you people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's nice to leave things up until after New Years at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

On Nollaig na mBan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Never put up a tree this year as we were in Spain for Christmas.

Did not put one up last year either as we were in UK for Christmas 2012 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I don't put any up

Commercialist ****e.

It's a scam by the ESB so the buggers can earn a few bob off the fairy lights and burn some of us in our beds.

is the fact that you're a taxation mod just a co-incidence that you won't lighten up for a few days a year?! :P

i'll probably leave mine up, don't really use the room that the tree is in. saves the hassle next year too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

January 10th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

New Years Day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Tree came down in May due to an inspection from landlords. Came straight back out of the hot press the following day and there it shall remain until the next inspection. I hate Xmas btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I suppose sometime in April, when the babby starts walking and it gets on my nerves.......but in reality Jan 6th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I only take stuff down on the 3rd date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Strange that while Christmas can start earlier and earlier it has to end just after Christmas Day for some. In fact this is the Christmas period, until the 7th Jan ( today is the fifth day of Christmas), the tree used to go up on the 24th and ended the 7 th. Now decorations go up far too early and are taken down often before the kids go back to school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Strange that while Christmas can start earlier and earlier it has to end just after Christmas Day for some. In fact this is the Christmas period, until the 7th Jan ( today is the fifth day of Christmas), the tree used to go up on the 24th and ended the 7 th. Now decorations go up far too early and are taken down often before the kids go back to school.

I am baffled too by certain issues relating to Christmas. The first of these is yes indeed we are building up to it from early November and decorations often go up early December. Then, the 25th comes and it is gone for many. For others, it is there until 6th January and gone today of a sudden. Personally, I would think Christmas should last well into January and should not begin as early. Schools should close from around 20 December to 20 January as it makes more sense to have time off here due to unpleasant driving conditions. Schools reopening yesterday was wrong and a step backwards. More of tampering with traditions that disimprove things for the people. Why have so much of a buildup if it is for a very short period?

The next major feasts are St Patrick's day and Easter. The former is probably the second biggest single day feast in Ireland after Christmas but it is one day or weekend. There is no huge hype leading up to it. Easter is rather a non-event in Ireland (it is massive in Russia and other places) which is surprising based on our history!

With Independence day and Thanksgiving massive rivals to Christmas, Christmas is not alone as a massive feast day in America. In Ireland, only St Patrick's day rivals it and Patrick's day is just for the day. There is no equivalent to Christmas' buildup.

It is a bit disappointing with all the buildup that we do not get a longer Christmas? The 2 months of buildup deserve at least a month of celebrations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Only remembered they were still up when I saw the title of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Was supposed to do it tonight but was not in the mood. Tomorrow isn't looking to great either. The tree will probably walk out by itself soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

I'm surprised at the number of people who say Jan. 6th. That is the last day of Christmas. If you do go by the traditional calendar and leave them up so long -you should wait until the 7th at the earliest.

Also Jan 6th, Nollaig na mBan is supposed to be a day off for the women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gabria

Time to cry about taking them down again :(. I will clear my house either Friday or Saturday. Clutching at straws I know but its still Christmas yet my big office is already back to its sterile grey decking.

+1 what an earlier poster here said about Christmas ending so abruptly. I know in Spain they spread out the celebrations a bit better (Epiphany day is celebrated literally with more gifts giving). I would like to see the Christmas moved to the end of January so its not so close to Thanksgiving & Halloween and winter becomes more tolerable. Ringing in the new year can then be part of the buildup rather than part of the hangover. Let the late George and Chris Rea croon still in December for sake of old times but not any earlier

Probably stretching things now but in line with the corresponding postponement of the Advent weeks, Id also like to see Lent kickstart after St. Patricks day bringing Easter into May. No excuses for breaking from Lent to go on the lash during the parade :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

gabria wrote: »
    Time to cry about taking them down again :(. I will clear my house either Friday or Saturday. Clutching at straws I know but its still Christmas yet my big office is already back to its sterile grey decking.

+1 what an earlier poster here said about Christmas ending so abruptly. I know in Spain they spread out the celebrations a bit better (Epiphany day is celebrated literally with more gifts giving). I would like to see the Christmas moved to the end of January so its not so close to Thanksgiving & Halloween and winter becomes more tolerable. Ringing in the new year can then be part of the buildup rather than part of the hangover. Let the late George and Chris Rea croon still in December for sake of old times but not any earlier

Probably stretching things now but in line with the corresponding postponement of the Advent weeks, Id also like to see Lent kickstart after St. Patricks day bringing Easter into May. No excuses for breaking from Lent to go on the lash during the parade :pac:

It is still Christmas despite what some would want us to believe. It is best to stick to our traditions I feel. Christmas always lasted until the 6th January or the weekend of that time (like this year) so the 8th January is the last day of Christmas this year.

The Christmas season religiously lasts all of January into the start of February. There is no reason why special things couldn't be done in this period. This secular atheist culture the media want to force on us has a lot of downsides of course and its lack of respect for the good older traditions is one of these.

I'm sure that if this commercial obsession with all this dieting and fitness was replaced by some Christmas Day or New Years Eve/Day type celebration for the Epiphany, things would improve! It is insulting for people who enjoy Christmas without doing things to excess to be told by people in the media (who themselves have no notion of dieting or getting extra fit and who will no doubt wine and dine on all the massive money they get for writing these articles and presenting these programmes: EXTREME case in point of course being Gerry Ryan as original presenter of Operation Transformation!!) to diet and 'get fit'. It is the usual 'Taliban mentality': one law for the ordinary people not obeyed by the makers of these laws!

I believe Christmas brightens up much of the winter. I believe More should be done in the period after Christmas and that traditions like the Epiphany need to be marked as well. January is what one makes of it: continuation of Christmas or a month where one succumbs to the dictates of the dietitians' and gym's Taliban mentality? It is up to us all. For me, Christmas continues to this weekend and after that it is back to doing things the same as I did prior to Christmas Eve.

Bottom line is this: I am not an atheist and I am not a religious fanatic either. I don't want EITHER side telling me what to do! I don't like these modern day media types trying to replace religion and come out and try and make us believe they know it all. Our traditions like having Christmas until at least the 6th January is what Irish people have been doing for many centuries and why should some idiot who writes in a paper or sits behind a microphone or a screen with an agenda try to change this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Finally got round to taking them down about a half hour ago... mostly the wife though. I'm just the muscle.
    Late coming down this year for us... wife likes them up early (last weekend in November for the toy show) so I usually get my way and have them down on the 2nd Jan. They're just depressing to look at after New Year's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Min were very simple. A Crib and a star with lights in just one window..Usually I leave all that there for the Quarantaine, ie the full forty days... But as i am getting ready to move house, all came down immediately after Christmas as that is the room I am using for the packed boxes etc,

Christmas like Easter is in the heart. Lovely to see it in lights.. BUt stays in the heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Will be taking ours down on the night of the last day of Christmas, or the next day!
    Friday night or Saturday morning more likely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Down already. Since Monday last - the 2nd of January. Herself couldn't wait to take them down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just came down now, also giving me a chance to tidy under the stairs when putting them away.

Won't have time over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Time for me to put up with the 'Daddy killed Christmas' taunts from the rest of the family.

The decorations are coming down tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

June I think is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Winterlong wrote: »
    Time for me to put up with the 'Daddy killed Christmas' taunts from the rest of the family.

The decorations are coming down tomorrow.
    Why don't you leave them up all winter long?

(Sorry!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Usually take them down on the 6th but I took them down today because i had some time and sitting there knowing they had to come down was making me feel a bit claustrophobic.

I didn't really "take" the tree down. It sort of fell down on top of me and also I kind of bundled the lights together so I know it's going to be painful next Christmas trying to untangle them but that's ages away :)