Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average speed cameras are imminent

• 29-12-2013 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭

Did I hear this morning that they are installing average speed cameras on the motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Nooooooooooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Are they actually going ahead with that?

Shower of bastards the lot of them :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Are they actually going ahead with that?

Shower of bastards the lot of them :mad::mad::mad::mad:

It was said to me when I got up this morning that it had been on the news at 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ah jasus hopefully this doesn't come to pass :mad:. Suppose they will only be put on dangerous parts of motorways as well :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO:mad:

Sound FG another revenue spinner thinly disguised as a roadsafety exersize :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

davycc wrote: »
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO:mad:

Sound FG another revenue spinner thinly disguised as a roadsafety exersize :(:(

Not really though. I hate speed cameras, but average speed ones have to be the fairest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Not really though. I hate speed cameras, but average speed ones have to be the fairest.

id rather they spent the money on improving the dangerous, poorly thought out parts of the road networks myself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Thats just ruined motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

After travelling in the car from Germany to The Netherlands, it's surprising how bad German roads are and how cryptic their sign posting can be. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

The bad thing about average speed cameras on the motorway is that it is not unsafe to drive at 140km/h (depending on the conditions obviously) and if you are doing a long run like Cork or Galway to dublin it saves you a not insignificant amount of time. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for enforcing limits on dangerous roads but on the safest roads in the country it really is just another tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    The bad thing about average speed cameras on the motorway is that it is not unsafe to drive at 140km/h (depending on the conditions obviously) and if you are doing a long run like Cork or Galway to dublin it saves you a not insignificant amount of time. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for enforcing limits on dangerous roads but on the safest roads in the country it really is just another tax.

I hear you - but while I agree that say 80 mph on a good road is perfectly safe in good driving conditions - im not so sure that traveling at the speed limit is such a disaster.

Completely disagree with the whole thinking behind all this "road safety" stuff - like a lot of things in Ireland - it completely misses the point.

Stuff like putting on proper tyres, paying attention to your driving, anticipating dangers on the roads. Putting people through the likes of refresher training - like skid cars etc - to help boost their skills.

Oh and addressing bad overtaking - some atrocious overtaking goes on - on irish roads everyday of the week.

Some of it to my mind - would justify the drivers getting a ban.

Proper traffic policing like what the Uk do would be something to look into as well - what makes the Uk set up even more awesome (imo) is that the roads policing units also tackle criminals using the roads.

So a properly resourced roads policing type scenario with properly equipped and trained officers and good cars - could help things along better then any speed cameras.

Just my thoughts on the whole thing

Those are all things that would help SAFETY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If this sh*te goes ahead, I'll be on the backroads permanently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

dgt wrote: »
    If this sh*te goes ahead, I'll be on the backroads permanently

Better watch out for those gatso vans though. :pac: :D

pajor wrote: »
    Better watch out for those gatso vans though. :pac: :D

Block felt font can't be read so well :D airport car park couldn't my number plate, just came up as question marks :pac::pac:

*Awaits the stoned horse brigade with giant wagging foam fingers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-speeding-clampdown-with-number-plate-technology-on-way-29873591.html

Its official, the government and the guards really have nothing better to be doing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭Clonsuttonlad

I'd love to see how many of those deaths were on Motorways. It's not speed cameras we need, their basically an extra tax.

In Germany there's no limit on Motorways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Interesting report, silly comment. Automatic systems like this free up Gards who very definitely do have better things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

corktina wrote: »
    Interesting report, silly comment. Automatic systems like this free up Gards who very definitely do have better things to do.
    Agree with that, however I think the major problem we have is the lack of proper education. People are not trained how to drive. The drive training system in this country is extremely poor and I believe we should put more resources to tackle this problem together with enforcing the law we have in place already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has said he hopes to bring in legislation next year which would allow for new speed checks on motorways, using number plate recognition.

He added that this "is not an effort to collect lots of fines" and it would focus on accident blackspots across the country.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1229/495163-varadkar-speeding-measures/

I'm confused.

Are there really average speed cameras in the Jack Lynch? Not heard this before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They are going to put them on those killing fields the motorways, cash cows.

If the same cameras checked for tax and insurance I would support them, otherwise no.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Are there really average speed cameras in the Jack Lynch? Not heard this before

Not that I'm aware of.
    If they exist they aren't sending out fines anyway.

Daft having an 80 limit in the tunnel anyway, it's only a road with a roof

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

To avoid getting pinged by average speed cameras just change lane every here and there. Well established procedure in the UK.

Bizarrely this could mean trouble for middlelane hoggers and undertakers.

It won't necessarily work with our system and in the UK they generally only have average speed cameras through roadworks for worker safety and most people respect the limit anyway and the traffic is generally too have to worry about the cameras.

It is entirely possible that the "change lanes" thing is an Urban Myth.

edit ..it isn't the changing lanes that is important, it's finishing the section in a different lane to the start that counts, I don't think it's true anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Block felt font can't be read so well :D airport car park couldn't my number plate, just came up as question marks :pac::pac:

Any chance of a pic and where to get :p
    Im interested for educational purposes only :D
    Do eireplates.ie do them?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It won't necessarily work with our system and in the UK they generally only have average speed cameras through roadworks for worker safety and most people respect the limit anyway and the traffic is generally too have to worry about the cameras.

It is entirely possible that the "change lanes" thing is an Urban Myth.

edit ..it isn't the changing lanes that is important, it's finishing the section in a different lane to the start that counts, I don't think it's true anyway.

Yes it's finishing a section in a different lane that avoids the fine.

Trouble is you don't necessarily know where the sections begin or end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Yes it's finishing a section in a different lane that avoids the fine.

Way too easy to solve that issue - solution has added benefit too

gctest50 wrote: »
    Way too easy to solve that issue - solution has added benefit too

Not 100% what you mean there.

I was simply saying what happens in the UK.

I'll be fuming if this comes in, how many deaths are on motorways? Very small amount I would imagine most are on back roads were people who know the roads well have a tendency to speed.

Motorway speed limits are already to low as it imo should be at 140 to 160 in good conditions and lowered significantly in bad weather.

Can't wait to drive on a motorway in the early hours of the mornig crawling along all because of some poxy speed cameras, nothing but a an out and out cash cow as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭westdub

It used to be the case but not anymore....
    “Is it true that if you change lanes between average-speed cameras you can’t be caught?”

When you pass the first of a pair of average-speed cameras (often used when there are roadworks or lane closures), it takes a photograph of your registration plate, regardless of whether you are speeding or not.
    Another camera further down the road does the same and a calculation is made as to how quickly you covered that distance, which gives your average speed.
    The original situation was that these devices were only approved by the Home Office to monitor a single lane.
    Recently, however, their remit has been extended to cover multiple lanes, so changing lanes will not prevent a speeding ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Time to invest in a remote controlled number plate changer fort late night bolt down the empty m7!
    Not until 2015 though!:) and like everything in this country there'll be away around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Going to call that out as nonsense, no disrespect. Each lane as a camera but it doesn't matter what lane your in as they its the time your 'reg' takes to get from point A to point B. Doesn't matter which lane your are in as all cameras feed to a central timer. SPECS for instance has rolled out an updated procedure to prevent this. It was possible as reported in the Mail for a period (And lets be honest, not exactly the most scientific rag)

Static speed cameras could be defeated by this technique and yes, if you were fast enough and swerved hard enough, you could create reasonable doubt as to your speed i.e. The distance between the lines in the two photographs would be ambiguous. Those lines are currently on the M50 at Firhouse and just before the Airport for instance.

My guess is these won't be average speed, as average speed does not require the lines, I assume they will just use the existing lines and install static speed cameras.

Either way lads and ladies, its going to be obvious where these are. If you want to speed, just do it outside the zones.

By the way, it was mentioned earlier that if you can go faster than 120km/h you'll save decent time. Dublin to Cork is 255km (The longest motorway run you can do in Ireland I think)

At 120km/h thats about 2 hours 7 mins. At 140km/h, its 1 hour and 50 mins. Presuming you can maintain that speed for the entire journey i.e. Your average speed is 120 or 140 (Which means because of traffic and tolls, you'll often drop below and have to spend a period above this speed to maintain the average)

So basically the worst these cameras will rob you of is 17 mins. Even less on the shorter motorways i.e. Dublin / Galway / Limerick. Don't know if that would bother me enough to risk €80 and 2 points.

Constrast that to Germany or the States for example where you might be doing 500km in a trip. Then yes, it makes perfect sense to be a little north of 120km/h. In Ireland, its actually utterly pointless as your saving seconds and minutes, not even 30 mins (To save 30 mins on your route to Cork, you'd have to average 150km/h the entire way)

Its not about the speed, its your average. If you can't maintain it, your kidding yourself on any time you are saving.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Going to call that out as nonsense, no disrespect. ....

None taken.

However whilst it may be out of date, it isn't nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It'll more than likely be the horsebox brigade stopping you from speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Scortho wrote: »
    Time to invest in a remote controlled number plate changer fort late night bolt down the empty m7!
    Not until 2015 though!:) and like everything in this country there'll be away around it.

Yah be the one who legislates for it or the one who enforces it. i.e TD's and Gardai.

Id say mucky reg plates will be the way to go :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

The cameras are already in place and yes they are ANPR cameras.

Average speed. All that is needed is for your car to pass two sets of cameras it doesn't matter what lane your in or how many times you change lanes.

Linked to motor tax data base insurance tax and nct can be automatically checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it's ok with you guys I'll just wait for it to actually happen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

visual wrote: »
    The cameras are already in place and yes they are ANPR cameras.

Average speed. All that is needed is for your car to pass two sets of cameras it doesn't matter what lane your in or how many times to change lanes.

Linked to motor tax data base insurance tax and nct can be automatically checked.

I still havent received a single ticket in 3 years and the only time I drive under the limit is in poor conditions

Days 298 wrote: »
    Any chance of a pic and where to get :p
    Im interested for educational purposes only :D
    Do eireplates.ie do them?

Disclaimer: use for educational purposes only ;)

The font:
    Image844.jpg

Note: Not road legal. Conveniently I have the original plates in the car and er swap them for taking photos...... Hence the quick swap numberplate surround :p

Whatever way the font is, the numbers all look similar from a distance. Below is from a few feet away for example, the numbers are beginning to taper in the photo. A bit further back in the reality and it's hard to read
    IMG_0074.JPG

I got those in Colliers in Kells, €20 for a set. To me it looks well on some cars but absolutely stupid on others....

biko wrote: »
    If it's ok with you guys I'll just wait for it to actually happen..

Sure isn't that the Irish way ;), sure wait and see oh they passed it into law fcukers ah well too late nothing I can do now.

Stark wrote: »
    It'll more than likely be the horsebox brigade stopping you from speeding.

True that :D they'll save my licence :pac:

But I don't speed sure, just the odd time the tax might lapse a day or 2 into the next month I might get caught out that way if they're anpr! ;)

Sobanek wrote: »
    I still havent received a single ticket in 3 years and the only time I drive under the limit is in poor conditions

Your not the only one. I regularly travel dublin cork but can see fines in the post in new year.

James bond revolving reg plate seems attractive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

BMJD wrote: »
    I'm confused.

The articles in the papers and even the ones on the news are complete speculation.
    Varadkar was on the 9pm news just now and said it's not necessarily the case that the cameras would be on motorways as they have low incidences of fatal accidents but could be installed near black spots.
    The "meeja" have assumed the cameras will be on motorways.
    There's an average speed trap just north of Newry on the old road while the motorway that runs alongside it doesn't have one.
    I'd imagine they could put the cameras on N roads or places like Kilmacanogue on the N11 which are continually suffering accidents.

Still, I'll round it off by saying that installing cameras won't stop people filling themselves with gargle and crashing during the night or people in cars that aren't roadworthy having accidents.
    Uncle Gaybo will be creaming his knickers though :rolleyes:

Heroditas wrote: »
    The articles in the papers and even the ones on the news are complete speculation.
    Varadkar was on the 9pm news just now and said it's not necessarily the case that the cameras would be on motorways as they have low incidences of fatal accidents but could be installed near black spots.
    There's an average speed trap just north of Newry on the old road while the motorway that runs alongside it doesn't have one.
    I'd imagine they could put the cameras on N roads or places like Kilmacanogue on the N11 which are continually suffering accidents.

Still, I'll round it off by saying that installing cameras won't stop people filling themselves with gargle and crashing during the night or people in cars that aren't roadworthy having accidents.

Sounds awfully familiar to what they said about the speed trap vans and look how that has turned out, don't think one of them things has ever been near a black spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

visual wrote: »
    Your not the only one. I regularly travel dublin cork but can see fines in the post in new year.

Same here.. Camera van in the lay-by between exits 10 and 9 two nights ago @ around 10pm. Think it got me doing around 130 as there was a flash but I'd just passed another car so maybe it'll be inconclusive.

Won't change anything though.. 2 points I can live with. Safety my @ss :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Sounds awfully familiar to what they said about the speed trap vans and look how that has turned out, don't think one of them things has ever been near a black spot.

Exactly. Expect to see them on the N3 outbound by the overbridge by the Phoenix Park train station and on the Stillorgan Dual Carriageway by UCD.

Heroditas wrote: »

Every motorway I have driven has the cameras fitted quite a while now. They where originally fitted under the pretence that they measure travel time. Varadkal is talking out the wrong hole as usual and will be defending that statement save lives not revenue generating.

Gaybo isn't fit to tie his shoes as the credit he robbed from road improvements has long since dried up with no more money for motorways.

RSA need serious reform instead of old boys club